User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 5 out of 56
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Vaclav
    Jan 16, 2004
    8
    Great game- beats empire earth which had about as much depth and feel as a muddy puddle. One thing that I find strange is the super units like the "taoist" that can cast volcano's. What the hell was Goodman thinking?! I guess he must of been high at the time. Apart from that its a great game.
  2. [Anonymous]
    Mar 2, 2004
    9
    How do you zoom-in like on this screenshots? http://www.empiresrts.com/civilizations/screenshots/china_4.jpg
  3. AnonymousMC
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    To be honest i must agree that the single played random map mode is not the best, on the other hand the multiplayer games are really fun as there are limitless ways to win and new strategies to adopt. The fact that the game has a editor also means that you can make your own maps/scns to play to :D. Basically i think the online play is fun fun fun.
  4. BrunoR.
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    v v v good:) 1 of the best i bought.
  5. MaxHeadroom
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    While a smaller timeframe, this game has more depth than EE or RoN as each civ has fully unique art and units (not just 1 or 2) and each unit has extra abilities which make the combat more fun since you have something to do rather than just send them in and watch. Also the camera control is great: you can zoom all the way in to the ground for a breathtaking action view or rotate the While a smaller timeframe, this game has more depth than EE or RoN as each civ has fully unique art and units (not just 1 or 2) and each unit has extra abilities which make the combat more fun since you have something to do rather than just send them in and watch. Also the camera control is great: you can zoom all the way in to the ground for a breathtaking action view or rotate the camera around with both mouse buttons to see the action from any angle. They just released a patch (Dec 03) with a new map, balance tweaks, bug fixes, and a whole mess of new multiplayer options. Expand
  6. LocutusOfBorg
    Feb 9, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing. It seriously beats any RTS i've played before. So what, graphics aren't brilliant but the amount of fun it gives is great.
  7. MannyB.
    May 3, 2005
    8
    To me this is one of the best RTS games I have ever played, the only bad thing about it is the lack of variety of Countries to play and troops.
  8. Nan-Tasarion
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Massive fan of this game, I have been a player for 5 years and still find it to be one of the best RTS games there is. Multiplayer is definantly the best aspect of this game, though the number of players has decreased over the years. Still interesting and a good community keeping it alive. LONG LIVE EDMW!
  9. D.Fili
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    This game is perfect!! i don't know how you could posibly give it a mark smaller than 9!
  10. JerryS.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    Awesome baby! kicks AOE II butt.
  11. BobJ.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    It kicks some wicked ass, i couldnt help from drooling, in fact i have a pond now.
  12. VinceC.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    2 thumbs up! Incredible graphics and gameplay.
  13. BryonM.
    Oct 27, 2003
    9
    I think this game is good but its not as good as rise of nations.
  14. ClaudioOlivastri
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    probably the best RTS i've ever played, graphics, gamplay and everything are at the top level.
  15. SimonTheSorcerer
    Oct 30, 2003
    8
    Goooood stuff...
  16. Rob
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    AWESOME.
  17. AlessandroT.
    Nov 29, 2004
    8
    I really like this game. The nations really differentiate themselves during the game and the graphics are very beautiful. You can also implement massive cities and armies and the game is still fluent. Very good game, an improvement from Empire Earth. The campaing are also long and interesting (Richard Lionheart, General Patton, Admiral Yi).
  18. TravisF.
    Feb 25, 2004
    9
    Empires has awesome graphics with sweet camera views. Loved how you could have such a high population limit. The only bad thing was the lack of Civs to use.
  19. A.A.
    Oct 22, 2003
    10
    This game will definitly be my entertainment for the next couple of months!
  20. YeaY.
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Good stuff.
  21. §?.Ang?®M??A???©A
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Hey jon S. its because you have a crappy PC you say its a piece of crap. and i say its Amazing so i give it a 10.
  22. RichH.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    3 computers and it doesn't work? Try buying the real thing instead of pirating it, you cheap #*!$ This game is really great, at least as enjoyable as Rise of Nations, IMO.
  23. Dan
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    Great game - a lot of depth and detail in all civs.
  24. DomG
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Let me just start out to say that this is a game that I personally love. This game features many different environments and civilizations. Very high quality game and I recommend it.
  25. MattK.
    Dec 25, 2003
    9
    Ok yes we know the game isnt realistic, with the insane sorceros and plagues and exploding oxen, but this game is for people who want FUN over realism. ya thats right, F-U-N. it isnt deep, its simple, but the graphics rule its immersive and just fun!
  26. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    It's an amazing game! The best classical RTS ever created. It's very balanced, whit a lot of nations, lot of units, and they are very different each other. The graphics were amazing at the time.
    Includes an editor, good skirmish mode, campaign, multiplayer, and it's very interesting to start from old ages to the ww2. Also the planes manage very well compared to other similar games (they
    It's an amazing game! The best classical RTS ever created. It's very balanced, whit a lot of nations, lot of units, and they are very different each other. The graphics were amazing at the time.
    Includes an editor, good skirmish mode, campaign, multiplayer, and it's very interesting to start from old ages to the ww2. Also the planes manage very well compared to other similar games (they are not static)
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Computer Gaming World
    80
    A solid entry that makes some great, if initially unapparent, changes to the standard formula. [Feb 2004, p.66]
  2. 88
    I simply can't think of an RTS this good that lets you get this close to your units. When dropped down the ground, the camera reveals lots of fantastic detail on each of the units.
  3. A great Real Time Strategy from the company behind "Empire Earth," this game will keep you coming back for more.