Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 424 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This galaxy is ancient, and its first intelligent life was the civilization we call the Endless. Long before our eyes gazed upon the stars they flew between them, though all that remains of this people is what we call Dust. A substance found scattered or in forgotten temples, it once gave powers to admirals and galactic governors. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    The highlight of the game by far is exploitation.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    I could honestly write a thousand words more on what makes Endless Space so much more addicting and absorbing than the bulk of its contemporaries. Visually, it's detailed and opulent where it needs to be, yet simple and clean everywhere else. It makes its voluminous level of complexity accessible with a terrific interface which affords a pace and ease of management that few other games in the genre can match. But I'm not going to write those thousand more words, folks. I've got a galaxy that's waiting to be conquered, one more time.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    83
    Master of Orion still retains its throne, but Endless Space with its enticing atmosphere and fluid gameplay is one of the best 4X games in recent years. [Sept 2012]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    A smart, polished and intelligent game of countless permutations. Its strength lies in how carefully and how cleverly it's balanced, as well as how it rewards all kinds of playing styles. We haven't seen a strategy game quite like this in a while.
  5. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Endless Space smooths over a lot of the issues typical to 4x space, but it also bulldozes perhaps a bit much in the combat.
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    It's a must for anyone looking to experience the genre for the first time; it's very newcomer friendly, but old hats might find it a bit wanting. Its longevity may also be increased by the multiplayer mode, but I personally don't have the patience for all these people who take far too long to take their turn. On the whole, it's more than worthy of your interest.
  7. 30
    It works but it's more of an "MS Excel strategy" than a regular game – controls are minimalistic and the motivation to game is absent. [Sept 2012]

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 155
  2. Negative: 31 out of 155
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    4x space strategy game for people who love strategy. This is the best sci fy 4x game since master of orion 2. For me find the combat a tad bit poorer then moo2 but this game deserves to be named in the same sentence. I played this game from alpha to beta and now as a release, and I have enjoyed playing the game from day one. The feeling that each game is unique makes you feel that you are playing a new game eache time you play. The different races gives the game also different flavor which for makes hours and hours of fun. As if that was not enough to make you buy this game ill add something more. The game is working stabile and has very few bugs, and you don Expand
  2. May 7, 2013
    9
    It is a good game to get into the 4x genre. It has nice artwork, streamlined gui and got lots of free dlcs.
    It isn't as complex as SOTS2 or
    similar games but that's not always a bad thing isn't it ^^ Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I have played loads of 4X space games and I have to say that I love Endless Space. recently this genre has been decaying much like every other niche genre of computer gaming. This game is therefore refreshing to play. The game includes all of the expected 4X features - exploration, combat, diplomacy, trading, finance, research, building and empire, keeping it happy. But it also includes other things such as locating artifacts, surveying moons, obtaining luxury resources etc. Espionage in the only thing missing and that has been promised for the future. The difference between this game and most others of its type, is its simplistic on the surface which makes it very easy to get into but its got loads of depth. You can control colonies with a couple of clicks, you play turns in seconds, and you take an overview of your growing empire.

    You control battles by playing tactics cards which represent orders from the fleet admiral. The combat is therefore mainly observed and got out of the way quickly so you can continue playing the strategy part of the game. At the moment the combat is nice to watch but it could perhaps do with some more control being made available. Also Enemies are known to spam fleets later in the game and there is a limit to the size of fleets so you get a lot of fleets with few ships thrown at you later. This could do with changing. It isn't very bad but it could do with looking at.

    Another thing that sets this game out from its competition is it is beautiful to play. Graphics are really crisp and colourful. It looks like its been made by a large developer not a small Indie one.

    Having played many games like this I have to say this is one of the best and only going to get better. The game is mostly a cross between Masters of Orion 2 and Civilization. It is highly recommended for being very accessible, easy to pick up and difficult to put down, it has hidden strategic depth, and it has beautiful graphics.
    Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    I'd really like to give this game a 7.5.

    This is not the best 4x game I've played and it seems to be lacking in some areas (combat) and has
    generally low customizability (compared to Galactic Civilizations and others) and become rather boring at higher levels of game play.

    However, as a pre-order player, I was very impressed by the responsiveness of the developers which seems to matter more and more. They are very dedicated to creating a quality experience and I'm sure it will get better with time.

    I like this game and it had some neat ideas and implementations (resources, for example), but it is lacking in ways that reduce my desire to keep playing it and I've found myself returning to older classics instead.
    Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    6
    The first couple of hours playing this were great, but it gets kind of stale after a while. The technology tree is only maximising existing stats even further (no new Weapons to be unlocked. no new building options besides building more and better stuff of the same type you already got) and the pretty nice graphics are hiding the missing depht of this game. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    5
    Another title claiming to be the heir to Master of Orion 2. I buy every title that claims to be that heir. I guess it's my fault, I should just go play that game. Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2012
    0
    Nope. Not a game you want, whether or not it's a Steam Free Weekend this weekend (11/30/12-12/2/12). Yuck. It's like intergalactic Risk: It's slow, you can't figure out what to do, and basically, it's not a game I want in any way, shape, or form. Expand

See all 155 User Reviews