Euro Truck Simulator 2 Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 812 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Travel across Europe as king of the road, a trucker who delivers important cargo across impressive distances! With dozens of cities to explore from the UK, Belgium, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, and many more, your endurance, skill and speed will all be pushed to their limits. IfTravel across Europe as king of the road, a trucker who delivers important cargo across impressive distances! With dozens of cities to explore from the UK, Belgium, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, and many more, your endurance, skill and speed will all be pushed to their limits. If you've got what it takes to be part of an elite trucking force, get behind the wheel and prove it! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    95
    With its stellar gameplay and presentation, Euro Truck Simulator 2 set a new standard for the simulation genre.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Unexpectedly engrossing. Heed the mockers and you'll miss one of the PC's finest and freshest driving games.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    If you love trucks Euro Truck Simulator 2 is a essential for your collection.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    80
    A surprising truly well-done simulation that puts you behind a truck letting you enjoy discovering and exploring Europe.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Nov 12, 2012
    75
    Improved controls, believable driving physics and a lot of other improvements make this the best freight vehicle simulator.
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    70
    Driving around in virtual Europe while listening to the radio or a good podcast is a surprisingly enjoyable and relaxing experience. An acquired taste, perhaps, but still a good game.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 179
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Who would have ever thought that a Euro Truck Simulator would get a rating this high? This simulator is one of the most relaxing games ever,Who would have ever thought that a Euro Truck Simulator would get a rating this high? This simulator is one of the most relaxing games ever, but can also be very intense when carrying fragile cargo. The scenery is beautiful. When it rains ingame, I get the same warm feeling inside as when it rains in real life. I give it a perfect score because I just can't find anything "wrong" with it. Get this game. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    I'm absolutely surprised how much fun I'm having driving this truck around. Though, for me, with just the stock engines and transmissions, theI'm absolutely surprised how much fun I'm having driving this truck around. Though, for me, with just the stock engines and transmissions, the game drags out the experience too close to home. So, modded, with powerful engines and transmissions, combined with my favorite driving soundtracks, this game is very addictive and relaxing. Such a nice change from all the teeth grinding, bone-crushing FPS games out there. The scenary is awesome, and there are many little subtities that make this game not just a drive through a repetitive map over and over. Landmarks, cars, pedestrians, hills, birds, sun, moon, rain, even the different rails used in different areas, all makes it so refreshing.

    There are lots of customization, and while there are many aesthetics, some of them are merely disguised. One commentor below said that there is no difference between the 4x2, 6x2-4 and the 6x4 chassis..This is NOT only false, but shows that he was not very vigilant even as a real life trucker.
    The 4x2 provides the largest fuel capacity, can be styled with side protectors, but comes at a cost of less braking power, though it is the cheapest option.
    The 6x2-4 has the extra braking power but has a very limited fuel capacity.
    While the 6x4 has the braking power, and a slightly larger fuel capacity but at a more costlier price than the 6x2-4.

    Considering the depth of the explained game mechanics above, that should put a cork into anyone thinking that SCS isn't very thoroughly thought out. Realistic? Well, for $25 retail price, you are getting what you pay for, and quite frankly, the gameplay is most important, not the specific kind of sounds you want to hear from your truck, and I'm sure there's a mod out there that lets you feel the full 25 tons of your cargo load and totally hamper your driving..hey, everyone has their fetishes.

    I just feel this game is very deserving of this mark, and I hope everyone can enjoy this game as much as I did. Good day.
    Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Es que no hace falta ni que te gusten los camiones, es probar el juego y alucinar con las opciones. Con un mando mejora muchísimo laEs que no hace falta ni que te gusten los camiones, es probar el juego y alucinar con las opciones. Con un mando mejora muchísimo la jugabilidad, y con volante ni te cuento.

    Puedo tirarme todo el día jugando y no aburrirme, es increíble.

    Recomiendo encarecidamente que lo probéis y juzguéis por vosotros mismos.

    Se le pueden poner pegas? claro, el antialias por defecto del juego no es una maravilla, hay detalles que pueden pulirse como los avatares de los camioneros, poner más peatones que hay muy pocos.. etc, pero son cosas que se ve que van arreglando en cada actualización, y el fin del juego es entretener y divertir (si puede sorprender) al usuario, y esto lo cumple perfectamente.

    Sinceramente se merece un 10.
    Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Created an account solely so I could write a review for this. In all honesty, I have only played the demo, but I have to say there isCreated an account solely so I could write a review for this. In all honesty, I have only played the demo, but I have to say there is something strangely cathartic about this game. I do not like trucks, not into simulators at all and frankly the idea of Europe is foreign to me. So, why am I in love with this game? As others have said, it is so relaxing. I mocked this game when I saw it, downloaded a demo on a whim and thought "Oh my God! This is amazing." I hate driving games but something about this made me smile. I love driving through the countryside and staying in the right lane. Even if you don't like trucks or driving, I recommend playing the demo, if not the whole thing. As a first person twitch shooter who plays Saints Row the Third laughing while running over people, this game blew me away. Very good, looking forward to buying the complete version. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Strangely enough, this game has already proven to be a better simulator than simcity 2013. I don't know what it is about it but it is reallyStrangely enough, this game has already proven to be a better simulator than simcity 2013. I don't know what it is about it but it is really fun! I'm pretty sure I'll get bored of it by next week but it really is a very in depth game. 9/10 Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2015
    8
    I'm not a trucking fan at all. When I first heard about this game, I laughed aloud. Who would want to play that, right? I was wrong. II'm not a trucking fan at all. When I first heard about this game, I laughed aloud. Who would want to play that, right? I was wrong. I wouldn't want to be pro truck driver, but in small portions it is surprisingly interesting. Driving a truck is very different from normal cars, you have to consider a lot of unique things. Physics are pretty good, trucks feel like heavy traffic that they are. The game is best with FFB wheel, as it is a simulation. The map is huge, although not even close to IRL scale, it still feels like you are on a trip across Europe. Many details in landscape and cities, many famous landmarks. The game has also some business management and skill point system. The most important part however, is that ETS2 has full mod support and large & talented modding community. With the right set of HD texture mods, decent PC and little tweaking, you can get almost photorealistic graphics, only seen in most recent 2014 driving games. Also high quality map mods available, free of charge. You can add map mods of Mediterranean, West Russia and Scandinavia, that are more detailed and well made than the original game. There is also hundreds of cars, trucks, trailers and buses, done by modders in a quality that surpasses that of original game. If you play this game as vanilla, you are really missing the whole point. Game itself is under 1 Gb, but I have +20 Gb of mods (over 130 separate mods) and with them the game really shines as driving simulator. You can tailor everything the way you want. The most important mods are ProMods, Improved Weather r5, FAEL enviroment HD textures by rafaelbc (or some other HD texture set), Realistic Headlights 1.5.1 and car packs by Jazzycat. Other ones are just extra.. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2014
    0
    This game has a couple of positives, however the number of negatives within this game is absolutely outrageous! YOU CALL THIS A SIMULATOR,This game has a couple of positives, however the number of negatives within this game is absolutely outrageous! YOU CALL THIS A SIMULATOR, more like a sim-see-you-later. firstly you cannot see your hands on the steering wheel whilst driving, also the fuel magically goes into the truck with no person or even a pump attached to the truck. not forgetting to mention the stupidly expensive fines and awful traffic, the timing is all wrong and near my house is not accurate at all, the house are the wrong shapes and sizes. i cant even recognize my neighbourhood. awful game! Expand

See all 179 User Reviews