Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 807 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Europa Universalis IV explores the world history in an experience crafted by Paradox Development Studio, the masters of Grand Strategy. The experiences of true exploration, trade, warfare and diplomacy will be brought to life in this epic title rife with rich strategic and tactical depth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    The ultimate strategic simulator of an early modern history state with wide options for both success and failure. Do you want to unite Britain under Scotland, thwart the Spanish Reconquista or maintain the Inca empire? Suit yourself. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    95
    Paradox Development Studio has shown that it understands grand strategy like no other studio. Europa Universalis IV is the defining game in the genre, laying out the whole world in front of players and just letting them have at it. It's a polished, almost terrifyingly vast title that gets its hooks in you the moment you click on that first country, and simply refuses to let go.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    So, Paradox have done it again – learning from the design of Crusader Kings II, Europa Universalis is an excellent starting foundation.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    The newest installment in the “Europa Universalis” franchise is yet another evolutionary step forward. If you liked EU1 – EU3, you will want to pick this one up. If you are interested in grand strategy and you have not played it, you should pick up a copy. If only they could fix the combat system.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    How does it feel to lead a nation over a couple of centuries? As fascinating as it is frustrating. The handling is overly complicated, you can get overwhelmed by the most simple matters. But if you’re willing to invest time, you might just etch your name in history.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    Europa Universalis IV is the game of August for all the proud PC owners. Paradox Interactive wanted to give to his Grand Strategy game a fourth chapter that is even more refined.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Europa Universalis IV is the game you graduate to when you’re tired of Civilization. That’s ultimately also why all those numbers are there, beneath the surface: because you never graduate away from Europa Universalis IV. It drops you in the deep end before you’re ready, but if you can swim back towards the shallows during those first five hours, you’ll unlock a game so rich, it’ll be helping you tell stories for years.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 177
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    WOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. TheirWOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. Their games have been for the most part tedious, pretentious and ugly, with cluttered mechanisms, and hideous micromanagement. Most of the Paradox efforts suffered from terrible tutorials and ridiculous learning curved that discouraged any vaguely casual gamers. But beyond inaccessibility, the games were finally not that good, because even when you figured out the mechanisms they were still too MECHANICAL: not even really worth learning in the end because they were all variations of a sausage machine. However something miraculous happened with Crusaders Kings 2, and echoes of the good things we saw in earlier games (Hearts of Iron 2) reappeared: Better looking graphics. Simpler, yet DEEPER gameplay. The machine kept churning away but Paradox learned to save us from the worst of it, and the gameplay began to blossom. Europa Universalis IV seems to demonstrate that Paradox has really turned the corner. The game is beautiful. Gameplay is fluid. The depth and complication is welcome, but it has been softened with a more thoughtful and gaming friendly structure! GREAT WORK PARADOX! Good things take time, and your grand ambitions are finally bearing fruit. I'm very excited about where this will lead with the Hearts of Iron series, because all the design wisdom that we can see in CK2 and EU4 is leading in the absolute correct direction. If you love strategy gaming please go and buy this game and support this developer! This is a FAR, FAR superior game to Civilizations 1-5 as well as anything put out by Creative Assembly. It's been a long wait but worth it. Can't wait to see what we get when the final few pieces of the game design puzzle fall into place. If they get the budget to build something with a more solid multiplayer experience we will see the PERFECT game. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Positively the best grand strategy game I've ever played. Unlike any previous paradox games, EU4 focuses on strategic decision maker. Sure inPositively the best grand strategy game I've ever played. Unlike any previous paradox games, EU4 focuses on strategic decision maker. Sure in CK2 and Eu3 you made decisions, but in EU4, there is usually more than one right answer to every decision! In EU3, there was usually one correct answer, in EU4, there are multiple, and it truly adds skill to the game. Additionally, the scope of the game is amazing. The game is not needlessly complicated, and it's a blast! Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Writing this review immediately after one for Rome 2 it is perfectly clear where the best team of strategy game designers can presently beWriting this review immediately after one for Rome 2 it is perfectly clear where the best team of strategy game designers can presently be found. It's HERE! The problems, or weaknesses in this game exist, of course. Few games are truly perfect. The font size is irritating. The concessions to simplicity can sometimes exceed the necessities of elegance and render gameplay somewhat anemic in comparison to previous iterations. Indeed. Indeed. Granted. Paradox can still do better. The point is that they are TRYING and improving steadily. Not only this game. All their titles. Thanks for a great game! Many of the issues players have will be solved when Paradox finally integrates a solid server based multiplayer experience, and allows a more comprehensive game-set-up interface where players can enable or disable individual 'advanced' features. Let the one game have the capacity to play well for both strategy novices and hard core players and you will achieve perfection. May it be SOON.

    Orctowngrot.

    Orctowngrot.
    Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    I'm a big fan of strategy games but have always found it hard to find that special sense of satisfaction towards the end game. Many timesI'm a big fan of strategy games but have always found it hard to find that special sense of satisfaction towards the end game. Many times conquering or in other ways dominating the world can be a repetitive and somewhat boring process. The Europa Universalis-series have been one out of a very few games delivering and with the latest version the team over at Paradox has made it easier than ever for new players to jump in. That said, this isn't a game for the casual player and the amount of information clearly surpasses games like Civilization. But for me, who don't mind some learning, planning and strategic thinking, it's as close to a PC-game blessing as is possible. The satisfaction of transforming an insignificant little European country in nowadays Germany or Italy into the worlds most powerful nation is immense. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic game and it corrects some of the problems with EUIII. Your nation is now more reliant on your monarch and while some findThis is a fantastic game and it corrects some of the problems with EUIII. Your nation is now more reliant on your monarch and while some find this frustrating, it definitely makes for a more interesting game. In EUIII, anyone could overcome a bad ruler with little effort. Really, anyone with a decent amount of experience could by mid-game dominate EUIII. EUIV corrects this problem by tying your ruler more closely with your nations fortunes. A bad ruler will make it hard for your country to advance, conduct war and keep stability. It is frustrating fantastic.

    Overall I am very happy with it and it feels like a matured EUIII. For those that are new to the series, the learning curve is the fun part. Stick with it a few dozen hours and you will begin to understand the depth and mechanics.

    I did give it a 9 because it is still needing some content additions which I'm sure will come in the form of free patches or paid DLC. Some of the countries have a generic feel. With a game this massive, I would think it to be impossible to make every country historically unique, but there is room to grow, hence the 9.

    Last note, special thanks to Paradox for publishing this to Linux. As a Linux user for about a decade, Paradox games were the one wish I had for gaming. Their support is amazing and appreciated.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    After sinking (way too much) time into this game, I can say that I absolutely LOVE it.
    However, be warned that this style fits a particular
    After sinking (way too much) time into this game, I can say that I absolutely LOVE it.
    However, be warned that this style fits a particular kind of strategy gamer, not all of them. For example, if you enjoy Total War games (which I also love), EU IV might not necessarily give you the right thrill.

    For one thing, it has a steep learning curve for newcomers (such as myself), who didn't play EU III or similar installments from Paradox, but if you have the patience to learn the details (and there are many of them), you get to play a game that covers a fascinating historic period, on an unsurpassed scale - the entire span of the globe, no less, from East to West.
    It has a deep diplomatic model, which can be very satisfying to use. Wars, in particular, are not a matter of extermination, but can rather serve as a means to weaken an enemy, gain some territory, or (my favorite) force enemies to grant independence to countries they had annexed earlier.

    On the other hand, the satisfaction EU IV provides is mostly cerebral. There is a lot of satisfaction in seeing your carefully laid plans bear fruit, but your time is spent gazing at the map which, as pretty as it may be, is still a map; and at numerous icons, texts, and information sheets. EU IV might be a very complex board game, but that's what it is, basically. In regards to audio-visual entertainment, the cover image is the most exciting part of the game, so if that's what you're after, I suggest looking elsewhere.

    Still, if you enjoy strategizing, outwitting foes, and growing a country that you picked to scary proportions, I believe you will love Europa Universalis IV almost as much as I do.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    0
    Sadly, a lot of work was put into this game and I wanted hard to like it but no, it sucks. If civ5 is a little predictable, EU4 is soo random.Sadly, a lot of work was put into this game and I wanted hard to like it but no, it sucks. If civ5 is a little predictable, EU4 is soo random. EU4 is superior to civ5 as to diplomacy BUT: Constant clock watching and reading of mundane pop-ups of bad news. Very few units and buildings and 90% of that implies no visuals. Not to mention that the battles are devoid of any strategy besides terrain modifiers and adding generals and admirals (which is more of a choice than a strategy anyways). Overly hard, boring and complicated. Virtually no tutorials. Nice graphics though. Expand

See all 177 User Reviews