Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 727 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Europa Universalis IV explores the world history in an experience crafted by Paradox Development Studio, the masters of Grand Strategy. The experiences of true exploration, trade, warfare and diplomacy will be brought to life in this epic title rife with rich strategic and tactical depth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    The ultimate strategic simulator of an early modern history state with wide options for both success and failure. Do you want to unite Britain under Scotland, thwart the Spanish Reconquista or maintain the Inca empire? Suit yourself. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    95
    Paradox Development Studio has shown that it understands grand strategy like no other studio. Europa Universalis IV is the defining game in the genre, laying out the whole world in front of players and just letting them have at it. It's a polished, almost terrifyingly vast title that gets its hooks in you the moment you click on that first country, and simply refuses to let go.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    So, Paradox have done it again – learning from the design of Crusader Kings II, Europa Universalis is an excellent starting foundation.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    The newest installment in the “Europa Universalis” franchise is yet another evolutionary step forward. If you liked EU1 – EU3, you will want to pick this one up. If you are interested in grand strategy and you have not played it, you should pick up a copy. If only they could fix the combat system.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    How does it feel to lead a nation over a couple of centuries? As fascinating as it is frustrating. The handling is overly complicated, you can get overwhelmed by the most simple matters. But if you’re willing to invest time, you might just etch your name in history.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    Europa Universalis IV is the game of August for all the proud PC owners. Paradox Interactive wanted to give to his Grand Strategy game a fourth chapter that is even more refined.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Europa Universalis IV is the game you graduate to when you’re tired of Civilization. That’s ultimately also why all those numbers are there, beneath the surface: because you never graduate away from Europa Universalis IV. It drops you in the deep end before you’re ready, but if you can swim back towards the shallows during those first five hours, you’ll unlock a game so rich, it’ll be helping you tell stories for years.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 169
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    WOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. Their games have been for the most part tedious, pretentious and ugly, with cluttered mechanisms, and hideous micromanagement. Most of the Paradox efforts suffered from terrible tutorials and ridiculous learning curved that discouraged any vaguely casual gamers. But beyond inaccessibility, the games were finally not that good, because even when you figured out the mechanisms they were still too MECHANICAL: not even really worth learning in the end because they were all variations of a sausage machine. However something miraculous happened with Crusaders Kings 2, and echoes of the good things we saw in earlier games (Hearts of Iron 2) reappeared: Better looking graphics. Simpler, yet DEEPER gameplay. The machine kept churning away but Paradox learned to save us from the worst of it, and the gameplay began to blossom. Europa Universalis IV seems to demonstrate that Paradox has really turned the corner. The game is beautiful. Gameplay is fluid. The depth and complication is welcome, but it has been softened with a more thoughtful and gaming friendly structure! GREAT WORK PARADOX! Good things take time, and your grand ambitions are finally bearing fruit. I'm very excited about where this will lead with the Hearts of Iron series, because all the design wisdom that we can see in CK2 and EU4 is leading in the absolute correct direction. If you love strategy gaming please go and buy this game and support this developer! This is a FAR, FAR superior game to Civilizations 1-5 as well as anything put out by Creative Assembly. It's been a long wait but worth it. Can't wait to see what we get when the final few pieces of the game design puzzle fall into place. If they get the budget to build something with a more solid multiplayer experience we will see the PERFECT game. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Positively the best grand strategy game I've ever played. Unlike any previous paradox games, EU4 focuses on strategic decision maker. Sure in CK2 and Eu3 you made decisions, but in EU4, there is usually more than one right answer to every decision! In EU3, there was usually one correct answer, in EU4, there are multiple, and it truly adds skill to the game. Additionally, the scope of the game is amazing. The game is not needlessly complicated, and it's a blast! Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    "Europa Universalis IV is the game you graduate to when you’re tired of Civilization" Edge

    I completely agree with this sentiment and
    will echo what others said. This is a big jump up in terms of tutorials and learning. The game has yet to have any major bugs that ruin the game for me. It's been a total blast so far to play and i'd have paid $60 bucks like a typical AAA game.

    In my play through with england there were many times where i felt my back was up against the wall. I was bordering on bankruptcy then had to fight hordes of rebellions but i managed to make it through and rebuild. There was a war with France vs the rest of the world, me (england), Spain, Portugal, Vienna, Scotland, etc and they had about 130 ground units. They had occupied most of the typical french territory plus almost all of spain. I had to make a seperate peace and give up some of my territory in NW europe on the mainland but it stopped the horde. Fast forward 50 years later with the start of the Protestant religion and France starts pulling itself apart from religious strife. The same coalition is able to go in and dismantle France piece by piece. All that remains now is ile-de-france and the area all around it are the smaller sovereign regions.

    This game is an amazing roller coaster you have to try to believe.
    Expand
  4. May 21, 2014
    9
    A great grand strategy game with great width and depth. A successful combination of war, diplomacy, economy, colonization and more. A numbers game to a large extent with great level of detail for the one interested. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    A masterpiece! One of the best strategy games I've ever played. EUIII was a very good game but full of flaws and boring mechanics. In EUIV, Paradox got a lot of that and corrected the way they should do it. It's not a perfect game, sure, but it got close. Correct the bugs, especially the achievements ones, and some minor problems, like England being too weak and France too powerfull, and voilá a 10 will be deserved. Right now, I am content with the 9. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    After sinking (way too much) time into this game, I can say that I absolutely LOVE it.
    However, be warned that this style fits a particular
    kind of strategy gamer, not all of them. For example, if you enjoy Total War games (which I also love), EU IV might not necessarily give you the right thrill.

    For one thing, it has a steep learning curve for newcomers (such as myself), who didn't play EU III or similar installments from Paradox, but if you have the patience to learn the details (and there are many of them), you get to play a game that covers a fascinating historic period, on an unsurpassed scale - the entire span of the globe, no less, from East to West.
    It has a deep diplomatic model, which can be very satisfying to use. Wars, in particular, are not a matter of extermination, but can rather serve as a means to weaken an enemy, gain some territory, or (my favorite) force enemies to grant independence to countries they had annexed earlier.

    On the other hand, the satisfaction EU IV provides is mostly cerebral. There is a lot of satisfaction in seeing your carefully laid plans bear fruit, but your time is spent gazing at the map which, as pretty as it may be, is still a map; and at numerous icons, texts, and information sheets. EU IV might be a very complex board game, but that's what it is, basically. In regards to audio-visual entertainment, the cover image is the most exciting part of the game, so if that's what you're after, I suggest looking elsewhere.

    Still, if you enjoy strategizing, outwitting foes, and growing a country that you picked to scary proportions, I believe you will love Europa Universalis IV almost as much as I do.
    Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    0
    Sadly, a lot of work was put into this game and I wanted hard to like it but no, it sucks. If civ5 is a little predictable, EU4 is soo random. EU4 is superior to civ5 as to diplomacy BUT: Constant clock watching and reading of mundane pop-ups of bad news. Very few units and buildings and 90% of that implies no visuals. Not to mention that the battles are devoid of any strategy besides terrain modifiers and adding generals and admirals (which is more of a choice than a strategy anyways). Overly hard, boring and complicated. Virtually no tutorials. Nice graphics though. Expand

See all 169 User Reviews