Europa Universalis: Rome PC

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    92
    Europa Universalis: Rome is fantastic simulation and historically very accurate. I'm still wondering if that in Rome it would be more rewarding to play with one dynasty as in Crusader King, now there is lot of lost potential. Anyway, Europa Universal: Rome is another masterpiece in the Europa Universalis series. [June 2008]
  2. AceGamez
    90
    The slick look and easy to use feel of Europa Universalis: Rome combine with its astonishing depth and freeform style to provide a truly compelling and quite unusual game experience.
  3. 87
    For the rare gamers who can happily lose themselves in a world where the ability to create armies is more valued than the ability to lead them on the field of battle, the EU games are a revelation. When you combine that approach with the appeal of the historical Roman setting, it's like an arrow of happiness aimed straight at our hearts.
  4. I think this is a great game, it has wonderful features and the strategy is solid.
  5. Interesting content, ease of use and the ability to remove huge chunks of your life combine to make one of the best historically accurate strategy games out there.
  6. From strategic trading, the recruiting of legions, where to garrison them, who’s right for the job from governor to general – Rome is possibly one of the only games out there that can really give gamers a glimpse into just how pressured emerging super powers were. After all Rome wasn’t built in a day, let Paradox show you why.
  7. 80
    Even though Rome is still plenty intimidating to anyone who has never experienced an EU game before, refinements to the interface and core gameplay make it surprisingly easy to sit down and start playing.
  8. Sitting down for half an hour will quickly lead to you looking at the clock and only to discover its 5 am three days later.
  9. PC Zone UK
    79
    If the Europa Universalis series is your thing, Rome is a welcome evolution. [July 2008, p.74]
  10. PC Gamer UK
    78
    Rome is so lean and tooltippy, you may not need to open the manual at all. [June 2008, p.82]
  11. When you want to ‘civilize’ some barbarians with the blade of an empire, Europa Universalis: Rome is the game to play.
  12. Rome is another largely enjoyable offering from Paradox, and the fresh personnel management aspects add an interesting new twist to the series.
  13. PC PowerPlay
    70
    Not for the casual gamer, Europa Universalis: Rome requires patience, the ability to micromanage and, quite possibly, post-graduate qualifications in ancient history. And if you don’t have them before you start playing, you will after. [Jul 2008, p.57]
  14. If you liked the Rome version of the Total War series, you will definitely be disappointed here. My advice is to download and test the demo version and afterwards decide, if you want to hurry to the local store to get the full game or not.
  15. 60
    Unfortunately getting to a multiplayer game is more trouble than it's worth.
  16. Play (Poland)
    60
    One of the best series of hardcore strategies became envious of Total Wars' 3D graphics and accessibility. Consequently, it has lost its best features, becoming a game of moving the armies around. What barbarism! [June 2008]
  17. EU Rome is a title only recommended for fans of micro-management. If you have the wish to virtually visit the battlefields of the ancient Rome, other games are much more satisfying.
  18. PC Gamer
    55
    Also disturbing is how readily the game plays itself, with little to no input necessary from the player. [July 2008, p.64]
  19. 50
    It's downright cruel -- the fans who might be able to stomach the interface are exactly the ones who will be let down by the A.I. And the casual players who might not realize how bad the A.I. is won't get past the interface.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. WagnerM.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    For those who love a good deep strategy game, with the possibility to change history, this is the game to stay playing for hours and hours, For those who love a good deep strategy game, with the possibility to change history, this is the game to stay playing for hours and hours, and hours. Full Review »
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    2
    Acquired this game on the cheap at a Salvation Army thrift store for a few bucks. I won't even get into Paradox's policy of locking downAcquired this game on the cheap at a Salvation Army thrift store for a few bucks. I won't even get into Paradox's policy of locking down support and other technical issues behind a forum that requires fresh reg codes, and their support of the forum troll's who's answer to everything is snark and sarcasm. This is about the game itself...

    Europa Universalis: Rome, I went into after much play on Europa Universalis 3. The game seems graphically the same, just on a far smaller map. The game did not strike me as fun, as while EU3 was very much more straightforward by comparison, this game has a Crusader Kings-like game with various characters that you have no reason to get invested in or care about, and the game does not explain just why you SHOULD care. It screams that you SHOULD pay attention to them, that approving this person as a General or this person to office gives some character of yours points, but with so many different characters and none of them to really call YOURS (Whereas some games let you focus on and build a dynasty), the characters here lead to a sense of detachment to the game. And that may of killed a part of the game that others feel is crucial: The entire characters side of it. The Total War games give you a reason to care about what happens to your character, by simply not overwhelming you, and showing you just how your actions influence that character. My Roman General in TW has a knack for management? Then I'll assign him to govern that frontier post that is crucial to my expansion. My Roman General in EU:Rome got a job and I get higher standing with him? Okay, tell me why that matters? The game seems to want you to care about this, but it is incapable of telling you why.

    The other side of the game, Empire management, comes off as severely limited when compared to EU3 as well. The tech path is very slow, and you don't get a feel for progress, and playing as any other side but Rome is just asking for a beating. This side alone, unlike what I experienced in TW: Rome which starts you off with a divided Rome and the prize of a united Rome MUST be earned, just didn't seem to suck me in either. Both sides of the game, just did not catch my interest nor hold me in it.

    What DID I like? Well, the music is nice. Paradox games usually has nice music.

    The game did have several bugs, which seems to be fixed by the Patch hiding as an Expansion, and I'm getting a growing dislike for Paradox game's policy of rolling out severely buggy games, and fixing them only with patches you have to buy.

    This game gets a 2, but only cause of the music and..well..the music. The game was acquired at the Salvation Army, and after a few years of collecting dust on my shelf, it is slated to go back there this weekend.

    I much more recommend you get Total War: Rome 1.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    4
    What a buggy mess! I've tried 3 times playing this game and always end up crashing after a while. Also the battles sometimes make no sense, myWhat a buggy mess! I've tried 3 times playing this game and always end up crashing after a while. Also the battles sometimes make no sense, my 100000 troops get slaughtered and the enemy loses 10 troops or something. Disappointed and just spent my money on a game I'll probably not play above 5 hours. Avoid this is my recommendation. Full Review »