EVE Online: Special Edition PC

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 360 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 360

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2015
    5
    unless your an otaku with 20 hrs per day on your hands, you prob wont enjoy this game too much. high sec only serves as introduction area. playing vs npc is fun for a short amount of time but it doesnt cover "leveling up" 50 mio xp. low sec is you vs 50 noobs destroying you no problem. 0 sec is where the real action is. unfortunately whatever ur doing, lots of waiting is a big part of it.unless your an otaku with 20 hrs per day on your hands, you prob wont enjoy this game too much. high sec only serves as introduction area. playing vs npc is fun for a short amount of time but it doesnt cover "leveling up" 50 mio xp. low sec is you vs 50 noobs destroying you no problem. 0 sec is where the real action is. unfortunately whatever ur doing, lots of waiting is a big part of it. iam sorry guys, but waiting 80% of my gametime is not how i want my games. are you a spy ? omg, really it is just a game. Expand
  2. G
    Dec 21, 2009
    5
    Ok Graphics - Great potential for pvp - Poor Pve - Great economy - Moderate Learning curve - Poor Customer Service
  3. JamesM.
    Dec 6, 2009
    5
    I played EVE Online for around a year or two before deciding to quit a while back, and recently tried to get back in after playing WoW. I remember my time spent in EVE fondly, but starting a new character proved too unrewarding. While the game was a lot of fun being in 0.0 security space and not worrying about the in-game police, I realized that on this new character, I would have to wait I played EVE Online for around a year or two before deciding to quit a while back, and recently tried to get back in after playing WoW. I remember my time spent in EVE fondly, but starting a new character proved too unrewarding. While the game was a lot of fun being in 0.0 security space and not worrying about the in-game police, I realized that on this new character, I would have to wait several months to be able to reach the level I had previously attained. Even if I had billions of ISK to spend, I literally had to wait months while my character sat still in a space station, and the skillpoints clicked away while I was logged out, so that I could fly the ships that would actually do anything in 0.0 space. The game can be fun, but the skill system kills it for me now by serving as an insurmountable barrier to keep characters from having access to certain game mechanics. It would be different if I could actively do something to make the wait shorter, like levelling through combat or what have you, but skill training is the only way. It works out that through your early subscription months, you are paying a set fee to unlock skills very slowly, no matter how good you are, no matter how much money you have. The game is very fun once you truly have the freedom to do what you want, but getting there takes months of shelling out money for the subscription and waiting while a timer tells you when those skills are ready. Expand
  4. Joe
    Nov 1, 2009
    5
    Simply an overated game. I read people talking about a high learning curve...i honestly did not notice that. It has good tutorial misions to get you started and the rest kinda explainst it self. The game looks nice, but game progress way to slow to keep me interested. to be honest after a couple of weeks I already got so bored with it that i stoped playing. I agree with the reviewer that Simply an overated game. I read people talking about a high learning curve...i honestly did not notice that. It has good tutorial misions to get you started and the rest kinda explainst it self. The game looks nice, but game progress way to slow to keep me interested. to be honest after a couple of weeks I already got so bored with it that i stoped playing. I agree with the reviewer that mentions it not a real MMO. It is mostly npc misions and not much interaction with other players. The pont here is not if you can aford to pay it every month, the point is that it is not worth it. All those people here that rates it with 10 receive probably in-game bonusus for writing the 10 star reviews. Expand
  5. LockH
    Jun 14, 2009
    5
    Free and completely ridden of all boundaries telling you what you can't do in all its complexities, yet still dull and repetitive enough to deter most of the fun of that freedom.
  6. EarlB
    Mar 9, 2010
    5
    Good game, bad game mechanics - play for longer than 3 months it becomes a waste of time.
  7. InvaderTak
    Oct 31, 2009
    5
    I've been playing EVE for 3 years now, and you might ask why I gave it a 5? Well here is my answer. Despite what some have said EVE is not a complex game to understand, it's mostly easy to grasp the ship to ship combat, electronic warfare, industry, mining or the many other areas aspects of the game, it's a very detailed and well thought out game environment. But that
  8. GeorgeD
    May 4, 2009
    6
    EVE is probably the most intricate 4E game ever crafted and that's probably it's biggest downfall. All of the intricacies lead to a nearly overwhelming amount of frustration for new players, as they are unsurreptitiously dumped into an extremely hostile game environment and left to fend for themselves. There is, to it's credit, a rather rudementary introduction mission that EVE is probably the most intricate 4E game ever crafted and that's probably it's biggest downfall. All of the intricacies lead to a nearly overwhelming amount of frustration for new players, as they are unsurreptitiously dumped into an extremely hostile game environment and left to fend for themselves. There is, to it's credit, a rather rudementary introduction mission that walks each player through most of the basics of the game, and provides a decent starting ship. What most don't realize is exactly the level of hostility the game goes to. In EVE when your character is killed, you don't simply respawn. Quite the contrary as everything you had is permanently destroyed. Your ship and all its weapons, outfittings, and cargo are gone. To make matters even worse, if you don't have a good clone and your 'pod' (IE your character) is detroyed in addition to your ship you can loose months or even years of skill training. A close example that many will be familiar with is if your 80th level character in WoW got killed in a raid and was dumped back at the starter grounds at first level with no equipment. This can happen. While the loss of skills are rare, the loss of ships are not. To combat these problems you must come up with low risk ways to make ISK, the games currency. The problem with that is that there are few ways to do it that doesn't take literally years to get access to or loads of time to accomplish. There are missions that you can do in Empire space that have a slow but steady payout. It would take approximatly 5-10 missions to get enough ISK to be able to buy a battleship and outfitt it. These missions can take 1-3 hours to complete. To compound the problem, it will take at least 3-6 months of training to be competent enough to complete these high payout missions without loosing your ships regularly. An often used alternative is mining. Which, really is perhaps the most boring thing available to do in any current MMO. You fly to an asteroid field, lock onto an asteroid, wait 3 minutes untill your cargo is full then fly back to a station, drop it off and repeat. Compounding the problems with mining is that you also have to refine it which takes skills and time to do right. Making matters worse, rarely is the best price for the minerals offered in the system in which you are mining, and you have to spend hours transporting it to get a good price. This leads to the most efficient way to get ISK. Which is simply to buy it. The buying of ISK is fully supported by the developers. You first by a time code for say one month of game time, then sell that time code to another player for ISK. While this is efficient, it can really up the cost required to get meaningful enjoyment out of EVE. Because sadly, it can be a very fun game, it just makes it way to hard to get the fun parts. Expand
  9. TCM
    Oct 15, 2009
    7
    I like EVE. Looking at the other comments I am not the average person who likes EVE. I am not big on corporations, gang activities or making new friends on-line - although I have enjoyed that side of EVE. I am a role-player, of the old-skool stay-in-character and get immersed in the world kind. The EVE sandbox and universe is flexible enough to make it possible for me to play EVE like a I like EVE. Looking at the other comments I am not the average person who likes EVE. I am not big on corporations, gang activities or making new friends on-line - although I have enjoyed that side of EVE. I am a role-player, of the old-skool stay-in-character and get immersed in the world kind. The EVE sandbox and universe is flexible enough to make it possible for me to play EVE like a game, to be a character in a fictional world living a fictional life, having fun with the challenges and achievements provided by the EVE universe. It is a lot easier to be a roleplayer in EVE than in other MMORPGs I have played. Why? Because it is big enough and because you have the freedom to live your characters life without having to jump through mandated arbitrary hoops that would spoil the immersion Unfortunately, the RP side of the gime is let down by the fact that the majority of the players don't RP, so interacting with them in chat requires skill to maintain in-game enjoyment. This is a shame, no biggie though, there are RP corps in EVE, I have not found one that suited me, so I formed one myself. If I have a complaint about EVE it is that even though it is supposed to be a space game you have to make an effort to continually ignore the created environment, which is not very space like. It is more like underwater, the stars shimmer and twinkle and the sky is filled with in-your-face nebula and glowing things. Barely an inch of space is actually black. Also the interface is organized with a consistent up and down which really spoils things. This is a really big shame because the universe itself is true 3D, it seems that a simple toggle "reduced nebula" and "free 3D camera mode" would solve this issue completely. I am still playing EVE after 4 years and still enjoying it. I have nothing but respect for CCP for not straying from their goals in the design of EVE over the years. Keeping it sandbox and PVP and yet still making it more accessible to new players. I rate it 7. It has no competitors at the moment. Expand
  10. TravisR
    Oct 29, 2009
    6
    Ive played EvE Online for about 5 months. I just canceled my sub after this time. EvE is an incredibly complex game. Often there are jokes made by players that the game has a learning cliff, not a learning curve. I started out missioning and mining, and eventually just missioned primarily. The game can be highly entertaining, however for me, eventually the novelty wore off. Missioning Ive played EvE Online for about 5 months. I just canceled my sub after this time. EvE is an incredibly complex game. Often there are jokes made by players that the game has a learning cliff, not a learning curve. I started out missioning and mining, and eventually just missioned primarily. The game can be highly entertaining, however for me, eventually the novelty wore off. Missioning became extremely repetitive as I was given the same missions over and over again. The game has no real direction as it is a true sandbox MMO. Outfitting your ship correctly is paramount as not doing so can result in the permanent loss of your ship. Theres a plethora of activities to participate in EvE such as mining, missioning, probing, and trading to name a few. However its common to see folks logging back on after being inactive for months or even years. I believe this is because once the novelty wears off the game becomes stale and boring. Id like to give it a better score as I did have some fun in EvE, but overall there was not enough there to keep me interested, despite EvE being a huge game. Expand
  11. AnselT
    May 21, 2009
    6
    This game has amazing graphics, awesome systems, and its huge. but it isn't very fun. You can make money with mining. Slow, boring, and repetitive. Also missions, although they are slow, repetitive, and long, after about 20 you can buy a good ship! i would play this game more if it didn't cost 20 fricken dollars to play each months! that's really a major downfall of this game.
  12. Shnuggles
    Jun 26, 2009
    6
    After playing the game for nearly 2 months I have to say I can see the draw and drawbacks of Eve:Online. Funny enough the best ratings from the Users are around the 6 vote. People like George D really hit the nail on the head with this game. Its good to note that the graphics and sounds are fantastic and probably what saves this game by keeping players playing. Its also good to note that After playing the game for nearly 2 months I have to say I can see the draw and drawbacks of Eve:Online. Funny enough the best ratings from the Users are around the 6 vote. People like George D really hit the nail on the head with this game. Its good to note that the graphics and sounds are fantastic and probably what saves this game by keeping players playing. Its also good to note that the player base is mature and always willing to help with advise as there is a steep learning curve with this game. Unfortunately like many, the gameplay is just too slow and boring. I want to get into a game quickly and have fun right away, not grind away slowly hoping something around the corner will make the game more exciting. Eve is worth a look and maybe a play for a month as this really is a nice looking game. Check it out but just be aware that the gameplay can be very slow and tedious once training is complete. If you're willing to work past it and play for more then 2 months then you can be rewarded. Give it a go, have a look and see for yourself. Just remember to Insure your space ship like you would your car! Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    I've been playing eve on and off for about 10 months and I've actually gotten good at it, been a member of a null security corporation, and been in a few space battles. This game is buggy, it's frequently boring, it's extremely frustrating, and punishes you if you like to take risks. Especially early on... In short it's kind of the anti-game... And yet, I play it.

    Joining a
    I've been playing eve on and off for about 10 months and I've actually gotten good at it, been a member of a null security corporation, and been in a few space battles. This game is buggy, it's frequently boring, it's extremely frustrating, and punishes you if you like to take risks. Especially early on... In short it's kind of the anti-game... And yet, I play it.

    Joining a corporation early on and going to battleclinic and reading about how to build ships right is key, but those are not game mechanics, they're human mechanics that are outside the game. Ultimately, that is what eve is about, and because of that, the strategic elements are very much like real life. You want power in the game? Get in a corp and move up the ladder, its just like real life. You want money? Do the same. Thats the hardest aspect for new people to realize, you can't win eve on your own, its absolutely a group activity like going to work everyday.

    Eve is also a hobby. People write software to interact with the EVE api, its a big part of eve in fact as some of these user created tools are absolutely key to success in the game... Sound weird? It is, and yet, it's better for it. It's the human element.

    When you think about it, the universe is pretty boring and stupid, but, humans get together and shape it how we want it to be, thats what Eve is like, a boring place made better by the presence of humans.

    Because it relies so much on humans, and the kinds of things lots of people try to avoid in playing games in the first place (like work), I think the game deserves to be knocked down a couple notches. But all in all it's an interesting world, and if you join the right corporation, and take the time to train your skills up right, it takes a LOT of time, you might find yourself having more fun more often with Eve than your other games.
    Expand
  14. EbenduP
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Played Evo-online for 6 months.I got to a point where I could not stop playing .My eating habbits changed.Social life got bad to worse.I hated my self for that.Unfortunatly i'm going to give it a 6 out of 10 not because it's a bad game but because you will end up playing eve online till you die If the game gets you.
  15. b00tsyc
    Sep 4, 2009
    6
    Ive been doing the free trail for a couple of days now and here is my review based on the couple of days. First of all this game reminds me a lot of the text based sci-fi strategy browser games ive played for years, games like Galactic Conquest and Unification Wars. So for that matter this game does not bring much new, it only has a nice 3D setting. The game progression is extremely slow. Ive been doing the free trail for a couple of days now and here is my review based on the couple of days. First of all this game reminds me a lot of the text based sci-fi strategy browser games ive played for years, games like Galactic Conquest and Unification Wars. So for that matter this game does not bring much new, it only has a nice 3D setting. The game progression is extremely slow. On my first day it already takes more then 24 hours to upgrade a new skill. I have plenty of money ingame already to buy nice ships etc, but no skills enough to purchase it...so that sucks. This game is a MMO, but other then the (annoying) chat window i don't notice at all that i am playing it together with other players. Ive been fighting and interacting with NPC's only so far. Because there is no interaction with other players or not much and the slow game progression the game is not very exciting. Its a nice game to play while your watching TV or doing something else on the side. The graphics in the game are okay, but not special or anything. Infact a lot of textures that have been used reminds me of Hlf-Life textures that were modified a bit. Asking 15 Euro's every freaking month for this game is pretty insane, its totaly not worth it. If they would ask half that price it would still be pretty steep, but i might just play it then for some months to see how it goes. !5 Euro's, no way. Further, they advertise this game with 250.000 subscribtions, but i only see 4k players online at max and when i login i see that there are 27k active accounts so far (5k free trail accounts). I hardly call this a MASSIVE multi player game. If they would reduce the price by half they would have a LOT more players online. For this current price i can buy about 8 top selling and new released games in a year time.... For now i feel i am much better of to buy a bunch of other games that has multi player online modes aswell instead of spending the money on EVE. All in all, Its not a bad game, infact i like it. Its just way to over priced and to much NPC interaction. Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    Basiclie a very very good game grafics frkn awesome community very friendly helpfull etc.. but 3 points less because u need just i would say 3 months for only skilling to have fun on this game thats a bit annojing
  17. Dec 10, 2014
    5
    Well, Eve online is very complex. And have many interesting features. But the feeling I have in the end is that the game is Pay-to-Wait... Not Pay-to-Play.
    This happens because every single skill in the game is limited by real world time spent in the skill... You can't simply hack more, or mine more , or spend a vacation doing stuff to increase statistics... If you want to fully
    Well, Eve online is very complex. And have many interesting features. But the feeling I have in the end is that the game is Pay-to-Wait... Not Pay-to-Play.
    This happens because every single skill in the game is limited by real world time spent in the skill... You can't simply hack more, or mine more , or spend a vacation doing stuff to increase statistics... If you want to fully experience all this game have to offer, you must pay and wait... for years, even, depending on what you are trying to achieve... This makes the game become old kind of quickly... And you feel kind of shut-off from many game features, for a long time (unless you resort to buying a character from other player)...
    This also means, that you don't have a rewarding experience exploring alternative character development... If you do a wrong decision, your character will be marked by that decision, and you will have to spend months trying to correct that... Or wait for another couple years to develop a better character... Another time, pay-to-wait.
    Yes, I agree, some people will find this a kind of a feature, and not an issue. That is why this game have good reviews as well... But I simply can't keep paying a game, and keep waiting, for years just to be able to experiment a game feature that was just there all the time...
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. EVE Online retains its old shortcomings (Not being able to leave your ship ord control it directly.), but certainly offers a lot of content for a small amount of your money.
  2. Despite some partially unfinished features and a few annoying balance issues, EVE Online is greater than the sum of its parts and the best "sandbox" MMO in a market cluttered by canned content. Still a bit harsh to newbies, but with the release of Apocrypha more accessible than ever before. If you can get over the initial hurdles, potentially more addictive than World of Warcraft - you have been warned.
  3. EVE Online: Apocrypha brings more territory to discover and explore and a softer learning curve.