• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 359 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 359

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KyleA
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    This game is beastly. It provides everything I want in an MMO. 1.Hard learning curve, so that basically means the chances of meeting douche little ten year-olds is rare. 2.Instant gratification doesn't exist. no everyday noob can have a bad-ass capital ship ship given to them. type of ship reflects experience of the pilot well. 3.Loads of different career paths. You can be a This game is beastly. It provides everything I want in an MMO. 1.Hard learning curve, so that basically means the chances of meeting douche little ten year-olds is rare. 2.Instant gratification doesn't exist. no everyday noob can have a bad-ass capital ship ship given to them. type of ship reflects experience of the pilot well. 3.Loads of different career paths. You can be a multi-Millionaire industrialist, 0.0 sec pirate, Bounty hunter, miner, the list goes on. 4.Player driven economy. When i say player driven I aint kidding, NPCs don't take part of the trading system AT ALL. 5.PvP. If you like pvp this game is your holy grail. whether your a pirate or bounty hunter, theres no greater feeling than sitting in a low sec area waiting for an unlucky sucker to warp in and have their ass jammed and blown to kingdom-kom. 6. Lots of motivation. their are always bigger and better ships out there you're just dying to get. 7. Repetitiveness doesn't exist. Every enemy you face, whether it be player or NPC, will be outfitted differently to take you out. 8.Consequences. If your the kinda guy who wants to screw with people and keep killing them over and over expect them to get back at you in the future because they'll gather a fleet up, have an agent locate where you are, set an ambush for you, and kill your ass. It's that simple. Yes the game is not new user friendly, it takes a long time to get used to, and if you have the attention span of a gnat this is NOT the game for you. Once again don't expect instant gratification, it takes months to train in the stuff you want to do. Expand
  2. May 19, 2013
    9
    If your a Hardcore MMO gamer than EVE Online is the experience your looking for. Its depth is about as large as the universe its self and has an extremely high learning curve. While this may be good for those that have already found this gem, it does make it hard for new blood to enter. Despite this new pilots appear every day. With integration of a PS Network FPS called Dust 514 it adds aIf your a Hardcore MMO gamer than EVE Online is the experience your looking for. Its depth is about as large as the universe its self and has an extremely high learning curve. While this may be good for those that have already found this gem, it does make it hard for new blood to enter. Despite this new pilots appear every day. With integration of a PS Network FPS called Dust 514 it adds a unique game play element never before seen, where a PC player can unleash a fiery hell from the skies on a console fan boy. The entire economy is player driven, everything bought and sold is from the player base. Making for yet a another way to play eve, as a market SIM. Expand
  3. MartinK.
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    Really good and versatile game, you can practicly do what ever you want and in your own pace
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    EVE Online hit its 10 year anniversary this year. It is one of only a few monthly sub MMO's left on the market. It has an ever expanding playerbase that now exceeds 500,000 players. It is unforgiving and brutal and has a massive learning curve. It has a UI that would make a genius cry.

    There is no set way to play EVE. It rewards create thinking. It encourages ponzi schemes, AWOXing,
    EVE Online hit its 10 year anniversary this year. It is one of only a few monthly sub MMO's left on the market. It has an ever expanding playerbase that now exceeds 500,000 players. It is unforgiving and brutal and has a massive learning curve. It has a UI that would make a genius cry.

    There is no set way to play EVE. It rewards create thinking. It encourages ponzi schemes, AWOXing, market PvP, and scamming. The only time you are truly safe is when you are docked up in a station. Your spaceships are merely consumables. You will die and your spaceships will explode. Earn enough ingame money (ISK) and you can buy 30 day extensions to your account. Or join a player corporation, work your way up the ranks, and then steal all their money and ships.

    EVE Online is not a kids game and you will find few 10 year old kids with enough patience to continue playing EVE. There is no "I win" button. Having the biggest spaceship does not make you more powerful. It will make you an easy target for smaller, far more agile ships.

    There is no other MMO on the market like EVE. It stands alone as one of the deepest, most rewarding MMO's experiences released to date. Whole communities of EVE players generate daily content within and outside of the game. It is the ultimate sandbox.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    This is the one game that has been able to keep my attention for years. The learning curve is high, and sometimes you can get infuriated, but it's all for the right reasons. There are only intelligent people who play this game because of this, and whenever you die from someone else's shots, you know they worked hard to do it. The devs release 2 FREE expansion packs every year, which alwaysThis is the one game that has been able to keep my attention for years. The learning curve is high, and sometimes you can get infuriated, but it's all for the right reasons. There are only intelligent people who play this game because of this, and whenever you die from someone else's shots, you know they worked hard to do it. The devs release 2 FREE expansion packs every year, which always adds new content, and features to keep the game fresh no matter how much you play it, whether a couple minutes a day, or hours at a time. This is the best game in the world in my opinion. Expand
  6. CalumG
    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    LOL, all the people who gave it a 0 sound like whiney noobs. Just because it takes a while to learn doesn't mean that its bad. Also the guy who said "First week you'll have maybe 500k ISK (in-game currency), and in a couple of weeks you'll have probably about 10 million isk, then in a couple months, you'll have about 70 mil" is talking rubbish. By my first week i had LOL, all the people who gave it a 0 sound like whiney noobs. Just because it takes a while to learn doesn't mean that its bad. Also the guy who said "First week you'll have maybe 500k ISK (in-game currency), and in a couple of weeks you'll have probably about 10 million isk, then in a couple months, you'll have about 70 mil" is talking rubbish. By my first week i had >50 million, maybe you were just carebear mining, and even then you must have been mining veldspar or something XD. Expand
  7. SasukeH
    May 23, 2009
    10
    I have been playing Eve for over 6 months now, and... frankly, anyone who tells you the game is too hard should just go back to playing WoW. If you want a game that requires you to learn and to adapt and to explore places that are oft-uncharted, then look no further. This is not a cookie-cutter MMO in any sense, in that it is constantly evolving and there is no one way to make money, or I have been playing Eve for over 6 months now, and... frankly, anyone who tells you the game is too hard should just go back to playing WoW. If you want a game that requires you to learn and to adapt and to explore places that are oft-uncharted, then look no further. This is not a cookie-cutter MMO in any sense, in that it is constantly evolving and there is no one way to make money, or do anything else for that matter. With Apocrypha, money making is incredibly simple and anyone who gives the game more than a passing glance can see that. The game itself is not without it's flaws however, but that is not to say they are game-breaking.... Anyways, bottom line, Eve is a great experience if you are willing to invest time and patience into an MMO that requires learning, and not just grinding. Expand
  8. RyanFortney
    Mar 12, 2010
    10
    I just wanted to say that, anyone giving this game a 0, probably didn't have the attention span to get past the first sentence of the tutorial.
  9. MikeS
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    When you look away from how much it is to learn, EVE online is the only game of it's kind! I don't need to say more, so many ships and things to do, finaly i dont have to grind anymore! :D
  10. KarlK
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    The game is awesome and you dont have to pay for expansions which is amazing. The game needs patience and smarts, its open and free, i highly
  11. danielb
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    i have only been playing EVE for 3 months but can already notice that is is an amazing game. HIE H is wrong in all that he/she claims. this game is pretty much built upon player interaction to make it enjoyable. the fact that your character can progress even while you are not playing is actually a huge help because it means that you do not have to endlessly grind low level areas to level i have only been playing EVE for 3 months but can already notice that is is an amazing game. HIE H is wrong in all that he/she claims. this game is pretty much built upon player interaction to make it enjoyable. the fact that your character can progress even while you are not playing is actually a huge help because it means that you do not have to endlessly grind low level areas to level up. as for the game costing alot of money. it doesnt if you have played EVE you would know that there is a way that players can buy time in game with money they make ingame. i payed for this month with osk i produced myself. overall hie h is misleading and this game is definately worth it. Expand
  12. DavidM.
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, beautiful atmospheric, sense of scale is awe inspiring.
  13. AshleyB.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    10/10 this is a tough game to get started in, but that just weeds out the annoying kids who play just to irritate everyone. One you get your head down and really get into the game the universe is your oyster and anything is possible. One of my favourite things about EVE Online is the way a new player can still have a MASSIVE effect on a battle and no 2 ships you meet will be the same, 10/10 this is a tough game to get started in, but that just weeds out the annoying kids who play just to irritate everyone. One you get your head down and really get into the game the universe is your oyster and anything is possible. One of my favourite things about EVE Online is the way a new player can still have a MASSIVE effect on a battle and no 2 ships you meet will be the same, even if they look the same you can guarantee that one will have fitted out their ship one way, and the next another. So, unlike WoW and WAR you don't have the repetition of "Oh look it's another one of those, I know exactly what to do" be that run or fight. In EVE Online little ship piloted by a 3 day old player can still severly annoy and disrupt an enemy vessel, holding on to them while backup arrives. Sure mining and mission running are boring, but they are the premium way to make a good buck in EVE Online, if you decide to go for the more fun option of 'ratting' (basically npc farming) you could get an amazing drop that goes for 60million on the market, or something worthless, and it's hit and miss with PvP too, depending on how your opponents fit their ship, but the guarantee is you'll have fun doing it. Eve Online provides so many possibilities and so much character/ship customisation that you always have a chance in a battle and, with a lot of work you can make a lot of money. But be warned, nothing comes easy or without a price in EVE Online. Expand
  14. MoratG.
    Mar 4, 2010
    10
    This game was designed by Darwin himself to weed out the weak. It is hard to learn, impossible to master and everything you do has consequences. Where is the reward without risk? Where is the fun without danger? To enjoy this game you have to be utterly ruthless, and you have to be prepared to work hard to find a niche in which you can prosper. For those that say "oh, it's too hard" This game was designed by Darwin himself to weed out the weak. It is hard to learn, impossible to master and everything you do has consequences. Where is the reward without risk? Where is the fun without danger? To enjoy this game you have to be utterly ruthless, and you have to be prepared to work hard to find a niche in which you can prosper. For those that say "oh, it's too hard" - you're just sore losers. Expand
  15. BillK.
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    Eve online is a fantastic game, the thing I like most is the economy, so far no game has an entirely player based one however Perpetuum (A new MMO) may have it.
  16. Addisonw
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    EvE is an amazing game, but I will say that it requires a above average amount of intelligence to play, Yes it is insanely complex and requires lots of patience, I've been playing for a year and I still can not fly capital ships on average it takes about 2+ years of playing to fly capital ships correctly. But I have yet to run into the average annoying WoW esk player when playing eve.
  17. MaxwellE
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    This game is not for the faint of heart. The learning curve is steep, there is no true safety anywhere. When you undock, you risk losing whatever you're flying. Your character's reputation follows you throughout the game. The skill training mechanic renders "alts" untenable. What you do, you live with. If you rob someone, the word will spread. They will remember you. A year from This game is not for the faint of heart. The learning curve is steep, there is no true safety anywhere. When you undock, you risk losing whatever you're flying. Your character's reputation follows you throughout the game. The skill training mechanic renders "alts" untenable. What you do, you live with. If you rob someone, the word will spread. They will remember you. A year from now, they'll use a locator agent to find you, declare war on your corporation, and come visit your home system with a fleet. They'll scan you down in your rat plex and an interceptor will pin you to an asteroid while a sniper fleet riddles you with holes. And then they'll go home. This game is exactly as boring as the person who plays it. It will harden you up, and you will thank it for it later. I'd have given it a ten, but honestly that bit with Z axis being "up" and "down" really irritates me, and 9.5 wasn't an option. And yes. That's my only complaint. Expand
  18. BradA.
    Mar 4, 2010
    9
    I've played quite a few other MMOs for various lengths of time, but EVE is the only one that keeps me coming back. Unlike World of Warcraft, whose end-game focuses on grinding for gear that will be obsolete in a few months, progress in EVE actually matters from one patch to the next. The tradeoff is a steep learning curve and slower progress, but in my opinion it's worth it. I've played quite a few other MMOs for various lengths of time, but EVE is the only one that keeps me coming back. Unlike World of Warcraft, whose end-game focuses on grinding for gear that will be obsolete in a few months, progress in EVE actually matters from one patch to the next. The tradeoff is a steep learning curve and slower progress, but in my opinion it's worth it. Unlike PVP in other MMOs, battles come down to more than who has the better gear, or bigger ship. Most of the ships in the game are viable in PVP, which is nice, since it lets you fly pretty much whatever you want. Another great aspect of the game is the sheer volume of options. You can be a miner, an industrialist, a business executive, an entrepreneur, a pirate, a mercenary, and you can switch between them more or less at will. I suppose the biggest drawback to the game is the pace. You can only learn skills, which affect how well you use equipment, etc., at a set rate, which continues even when logged out. However, I find this makes the pace of the game much more relaxed than in other "grind grind grind" MMOs. Oh, another great incentive for progressing in the game is that, when you start making enough in-game money you can buy game time with the in-game currency. Or, if you want to be able to make a big purchase right away, you can sell game-time for in-game money in the game itself, which means you don't have to deal with shady gold farmers. Overall, I'd say that EVE takes much more patience than other MMOs, and isn't for everyone, but is much more rewarding. Expand
  19. SteveH
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Ok I see alot of negative responces which I dont understand why. Eve Online Is a SANDBOX MMO which means you can Virtually do ANYTHING you want. What to be an Industrialist? Go for it!, Pirating is your thing Go ti "lowsec" and raid a belt or 2 and see who you can kill. Want to be a part of a large "nullsec" alliance? By all means. Just be warned Like RL if you get your stuff blown up You Ok I see alot of negative responces which I dont understand why. Eve Online Is a SANDBOX MMO which means you can Virtually do ANYTHING you want. What to be an Industrialist? Go for it!, Pirating is your thing Go ti "lowsec" and raid a belt or 2 and see who you can kill. Want to be a part of a large "nullsec" alliance? By all means. Just be warned Like RL if you get your stuff blown up You better have insured it. Granted that this game does have a steep learning curve and may be a little slow starting for some players, but if you stick with it and build a friend base your actions can effect the game community more then you think. I have been playing this game for 5 years and Im still learning new skills, Their is no "lvl Cap" like other MMO games. CCP tries to keep the farmers at bay and recently purged alot of Farming accounts to better the player experience. By best suggestion is if you are not a patient person not bother. Expand
  20. HiroakiM
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Best MMORPG Ive ever seen till now, and with the 3D avatar thing and more coming, this will be the best and the only MMORPG alive 10 years later!
  21. AlexD
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Pretty amazing game but not for kids or those with no patience, every poor review i have read here is from a noob who simply didn't know what to do....have patience and after about a week of playing it all begins to make sense, the user interface becomes intuitive and you become more immersed in the complexity of the game rather than the mechanics. One of the things that makes it so Pretty amazing game but not for kids or those with no patience, every poor review i have read here is from a noob who simply didn't know what to do....have patience and after about a week of playing it all begins to make sense, the user interface becomes intuitive and you become more immersed in the complexity of the game rather than the mechanics. One of the things that makes it so good is how well it mimics real life when it comes to player interaction, in EVE people don't have to be nice....they can be downright evil and EVE is a better game for it, annoy someone, blow their ship up (or heaven forbid pod them - muahahaha) or tell them their mother resembles something you stepped in and they might well harbour a desire to spread your atoms across a star system and in EVE there are very few places you can be totally safe.....you think you're untouchable in high security systems with the space filth keeping a careful eye out? think again! annoy someone enough and you might have a war declaration on your hands and if that happens you are safe.....nowhere! There's so much do in EVE it would take too long to type but worthy of mention is the real time skill learning, no more 'grinding' as in most mmo's, having to shoot arrows at a rat for hours to get your archery skill up, in EVE you simply select a skill and it has a certain amount of time to learn whether you're logged in or not, this is great as you play because you want to have fun, not because you need to grind up a level and for those of us who have jobs, a partner, a family.....you can play eve a few hours a week and rest easy knowing that you're still getting more skilled all the time. Eve.....there is nothing else like it! Expand
  22. NateS
    Dec 5, 2009
    9
    I've been playing the game for just a few days now and I have to say that it's pretty awsome. Money is simple to get, skills keep going whether your online or not and when you accomplish goals in the game you really had to work for it to achieve it. As you spend more time in the game and begin to become more skilled it starts to take quite a while to complete skills and I've been playing the game for just a few days now and I have to say that it's pretty awsome. Money is simple to get, skills keep going whether your online or not and when you accomplish goals in the game you really had to work for it to achieve it. As you spend more time in the game and begin to become more skilled it starts to take quite a while to complete skills and therefore becomes even more rewarding. The "learning curve" people constantly whine about isn't hard at all the turorials are more than enough to get you started if people actually took the time to read them. Plus there are plenty of sites out there that are dedicated to Eve that are actually very helpful if your not quite sure where to begin with skills. Even though patience is key for many parts of the game theres never a moment where your just sitting there staring at your skills waiting for them to upgrade, your always doing something to keep you busy. Also all the exspansions are free and theres a system in the game that can potentially allow you to play for free if you make enough extra in game cash to purchase the time, honestly theres to many good things that out weigh anything you may not care for in the game. Input provided by Stew at - http://gaming-pc-manic.blogspot.com/ Expand
  23. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Have to love EVE with a very big qualification: This game will NOT appeal to a majority of gamers. Most people should not even look at this game. This game is the rare thing: a game for adults. And for wierdos who want to be better than others and have a lot of patience interms of sitting over their keyboard squintinting at the tiny font, making 'real' political alliances in a make believeHave to love EVE with a very big qualification: This game will NOT appeal to a majority of gamers. Most people should not even look at this game. This game is the rare thing: a game for adults. And for wierdos who want to be better than others and have a lot of patience interms of sitting over their keyboard squintinting at the tiny font, making 'real' political alliances in a make believe space fantasy world. EVE does a great job of discouraging beginners, and ends up having a truly dedicated, and interesting fan base and truly interesting political dimensions. If all of this sounds like your cup of tea, then boil up the kettle, and pour yourself a pot. Take it slow (it starts very slow). Be polite and all the best! Expand
  24. May 22, 2013
    9
    EVE is a truly unique MMO experience. It's slower paced (most of the time, there are still ridiculous adrenaline rushes) than all of the other major MMOs out there, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. For example, character skill training is a continuous process happening whether you're online or not, which takes out the repetitive grinding for XP (or similar) most of these gamesEVE is a truly unique MMO experience. It's slower paced (most of the time, there are still ridiculous adrenaline rushes) than all of the other major MMOs out there, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. For example, character skill training is a continuous process happening whether you're online or not, which takes out the repetitive grinding for XP (or similar) most of these games have.
    The game also has a steep learning curve, which while frustrating does weed out the 10 year old American kids with rich but ignorant parents. Once you've got over the initial hurdle, you get a chance at probably the largest, most in depth MMOs going, with a sandbox system that really does have almost unlimited potential. Want to spend your time mining? Feel free, and depending on where you go you're probably going to have to fight (realistically run away from) other players shooting you just for the hell of it. Piracy is potentially lucrative, ensnaring and ransoming other players. Or if you're more into the MetaGaming side of things get involved in the massive alliances and engage in somewhat questionable out of game activities.

    Eve is an MMO for the thinkers, not for the point and shoot OMG EXPLOSIONS!!!!!11!eleven enthusiasts. Try it.
    Expand
  25. XextreemX
    Dec 7, 2009
    8
    I have played this game over 1year. And its hard to play. The people below me with 5 rate have no idea what the are talking about. Just relax and join in. the game is best if you hit the 30mil skill points. Enjoy your stay.
  26. Mattw
    Jan 10, 2010
    9
    Really fun game, lots of really good people to help you get started. Worth the money if you play for the full 14-day trial and not just toss the game away because you didn't listen to the tutorial. PvP gets really hard after a while and you'd need to join a corp to even get in on the action. some bots but they arn't really a problem. PvE is fun, alot funner than PvP. Really fun game, lots of really good people to help you get started. Worth the money if you play for the full 14-day trial and not just toss the game away because you didn't listen to the tutorial. PvP gets really hard after a while and you'd need to join a corp to even get in on the action. some bots but they arn't really a problem. PvE is fun, alot funner than PvP. Missions and mining seem to be the only way to get money though. Other that fun game, and worth trying out!! Expand
  27. ChrisC
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Great game, bit of a learning curve but it only takes a few days. It's super easy for a new player to get involved and be helpful even from day one! Love it. Also it doesn't take a lot of time to train since you train passively (ie you don't need to be logged in)
  28. MohdF.
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome!! the server is stable..the client is good.everything going so well in game.you choose your destiny.
  29. Jimm
    Mar 27, 2010
    10
    Homeworld meets Tradewars. Need i say more? If they had a AA type of meeting for people being in love with this game, I would have to attend daily!
  30. SaschaS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    i play eve onlineame for around 1,5 years and its the best game i ever played. balanced! fair! dont consume alot of time! no lvling like wow!
  31. WillM
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    This Game has everything. It is the most expansive and inclusive game I've ever played. There is something for everybody. (except low IQ people who likes fast twitch games which require no brain power, if you like games like that go play sports...we all know how much fun those are.) For everyone else with brain cells, the game has everything you could want. If you want to destroy, be This Game has everything. It is the most expansive and inclusive game I've ever played. There is something for everybody. (except low IQ people who likes fast twitch games which require no brain power, if you like games like that go play sports...we all know how much fun those are.) For everyone else with brain cells, the game has everything you could want. If you want to destroy, be a pirate. IF yuo want create, be a industrialist. If you want to make money on what others have created, be a trader. The game truly is player controlled and the players honestly have a decent say on what comes in the next expansion. (which by the way are all free. unlike WoW...) While it is true the game takes a while to let you have the freedom to do all the things I've mentioned, I believe learning the things it takes to do those things succesfully in the game is the most fun I've ever had in a game. I wish I could go back to day one in the game in 2003 asking questions like 'can i ever fly a different ship'. Learning the game is a good fun. But alas I can not give it a 10, because a steep learning curve is a drawback and it does take a while to get from one place to another. But after 6 years of playing I can say this is the greatest game I've ever played. And I will play it till i die, or they say I can play it no more. Expand
  32. ChrisB
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Its an amazing experience. It took me pretty long to find my way through the game and it's economy. But once I was in there I was hooked. Keep it up CCP!
  33. ChrisW
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    Incredibly complicated but when you get into it and start socializing and interacting with the other players its the best game I have ever played. The PvP is fast paced and actually makes your heart beat and adrenaline rush. The fact that you can loose your ship and your hard earned items makes it meaningful and risky. PvP in EVE actually means something. There's something for Incredibly complicated but when you get into it and start socializing and interacting with the other players its the best game I have ever played. The PvP is fast paced and actually makes your heart beat and adrenaline rush. The fact that you can loose your ship and your hard earned items makes it meaningful and risky. PvP in EVE actually means something. There's something for everyone as well: Industry, Mining, small gang or large scale PvP, pirating, trading, missioning... the list goes on. The game keeps getting better with each expansion as well. Oh and did I mention... there are no elves and very few immature kids ruining your game. Expand
  34. Sep 5, 2010
    9
    Eve Online offers the most depth, involvement and achievement of any MMO so far, but it does require dedication as the gameplay opportunities remain quite limited for at least the first few months. As a starting pilot, you will find the scope of the game daunting, but if you're up for a challenge and like the idea of a huge gameworld which will not cease to deliver entertainment andEve Online offers the most depth, involvement and achievement of any MMO so far, but it does require dedication as the gameplay opportunities remain quite limited for at least the first few months. As a starting pilot, you will find the scope of the game daunting, but if you're up for a challenge and like the idea of a huge gameworld which will not cease to deliver entertainment and adversity even after years of playing, then the complete freedom and open-endedness of CCP's creation will capture like no other. Expand
  35. HandsomeJoe
    May 13, 2009
    9
    Great game. It isn't that harsh of an environment. You can lose a ship and its equipment, but most likely you will get about 70% of the value of the ship back with your insurance claim. It has many ways to make money, such as resource gathering/processing, manufacturing ships/equipment, doing missions (solo and group), exploration, pirating/ransoming/extortion, and salvaging. It is Great game. It isn't that harsh of an environment. You can lose a ship and its equipment, but most likely you will get about 70% of the value of the ship back with your insurance claim. It has many ways to make money, such as resource gathering/processing, manufacturing ships/equipment, doing missions (solo and group), exploration, pirating/ransoming/extortion, and salvaging. It is very possible to do all the above with the same character. The game is a bit complicated for someone wanting to dive into it. The good news is that the complexity of it means less kids that are younger than 17, and those that are, are more mature than the average WoW hunter. Lastly, you don't lose things you can't just buy back when you die, unless you are careless. Skill points(sort of 'experience') accumulate whether you are logged in or not, and you don't lose them if you buy a good clone. Clones are not expensive. You might lose your battleship, but the mantra is "don't fly what you can't afford to lose". Expand
  36. JohnT
    May 22, 2009
    10
    If you have above average wits then you will simply love this game. This game is not for those that are looking for heavily structured entertainment tailored to younger gamers. EVE offers the most meaningful game experience of any such game. The gameplay is incredibly deep and the amount of freedom you have is unmatched. The subscriber numbers are probably the best indicator as EVE is now If you have above average wits then you will simply love this game. This game is not for those that are looking for heavily structured entertainment tailored to younger gamers. EVE offers the most meaningful game experience of any such game. The gameplay is incredibly deep and the amount of freedom you have is unmatched. The subscriber numbers are probably the best indicator as EVE is now only second in size after WoW in the MMO space, so EVE isn´t a small niche game anymore. Just remember two things, it takes about a month to get into the groove of things and join a player run corporation as soon as you can. Have fun, John. Expand
  37. DukeN
    May 23, 2009
    10
    While I do agree that Eve, and the Eve Universe, is a harsh place I do not feel that this is a short coming, quite the opposite in fact. Eve is to MMO's what No Holds Barred Poker is to gaming. It's a winner takes all game that is by it's very nature a difficult game to begin to master. Other MMO titles have audiences that expect to be returned quickly into combat even While I do agree that Eve, and the Eve Universe, is a harsh place I do not feel that this is a short coming, quite the opposite in fact. Eve is to MMO's what No Holds Barred Poker is to gaming. It's a winner takes all game that is by it's very nature a difficult game to begin to master. Other MMO titles have audiences that expect to be returned quickly into combat even though they just died, giving them either a death penalty or making them run a marathon from a grave yard. Eve is unlike these titles containing the purest form of PvP experience, you die you loose your stuff; as in poker you do not bet unless you are sure the odds are good. With the Apocrypha update CCP have incorporated additional content that goes far beyond an expected, paid for boxed copy content update - WoW, Guild Wars, I look at you. In a FREE content update CCP have introduce 40% more real estate to the game in the form of Wormhole systems, where a new race (with new ships) have been introduced! Most importantly to new players the New Player Experience has been overhauled to something that now handholds new players through their character selection to their initial ventures out in the game world. New to Apocrypha are the Tech 3, modular ships (think killer lego space ships and you'll be somewhere close) that can only be created through Wormhole expeditions, which require groups of players to co-operate. For a flat $15 per month, with all content updates free (that's right, no additional pay to update content) you cannot go wrong, CCP amaze me with the depth of the game and the players amaze me with what they do in the open world gaming arena that is New Eden. Is Eve the perfect game? No, it has it's flaws such as the step initial learning curve, however if you like MMO your gaming to be of the serious no holds barred variety then this is a title you should try out. Expand
  38. ServingWench
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    I've been playing EVE nearly 3 years now (December of 2006). This is not a game for little kids, or people without a modicum of patience. If you want a game that you can learn, and max out a character in a month or two, look to WoW, or any other cookie cutter MMORPG (LOTRO, etc) that displays zero thought or ingenuity in it's design. EVE is all about freedom. The company (CCP) I've been playing EVE nearly 3 years now (December of 2006). This is not a game for little kids, or people without a modicum of patience. If you want a game that you can learn, and max out a character in a month or two, look to WoW, or any other cookie cutter MMORPG (LOTRO, etc) that displays zero thought or ingenuity in it's design. EVE is all about freedom. The company (CCP) actually endorses scamming other players as a legitimate money making occupation, something rare in MMORPG's. For those who state that the only reason to play this game is it's graphics, I would beg to differ, as EVE has been around since 2003, and only recently had its graphics engine completely overhauled to utilize DirectX 10. The engine before wasn't bad, but certainly didn't qualify as "Eye Candy". The gameplay is certainly complex, but it's not unlearnable (if you make an effort). Skill training can be accomplished whether you're playing or not, which is nice if you won't be able to play for a while due to work or other life issues. Bottom line is this game is for those players who want something to that will challenge them for years, not weeks/months. I give it 9/10 simply because heck.. there's always room for improvement. Expand
  39. willH
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    The game is amazing, but the learning curve is incredibly high. This is by far the most complex game i have ever played, i tried it three different times before i became hooked. once you get over the curve the game opens up to the player in a very large sandboxy way. you can do whatever you want, so long as you have patience. my only gripe is that visually it isn't much to look at, The game is amazing, but the learning curve is incredibly high. This is by far the most complex game i have ever played, i tried it three different times before i became hooked. once you get over the curve the game opens up to the player in a very large sandboxy way. you can do whatever you want, so long as you have patience. my only gripe is that visually it isn't much to look at, and that that combat does not challenge quick reflexes. I would say that this is the second best MMO i have ever played after WoW. Expand
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Eve Online is an amazing game, and fills the niche where every online space sim destines. The scale is absurdly awesome. Eve online is more of a strategy than a twitch-trigger space sim.
  41. KornelH
    Jun 12, 2009
    10
    This game is the best MMO I've ever played. I played it for 2 and a half years. Very addictive, be prepared. You can't ever reach an endgame scenario. Perhaps I will return once.
  42. CraigB
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    EVE Online is a fantastic MMO which I spend many hours per week playing. It's a game where the harsh realities of life are blown out of all proportion in a virtual world. You can be as nice as you want and please your fellow players, or you can be the lowest of the low and make the lives of other players a total misery. And if you're a fan of big ships and working with others, EVE Online is a fantastic MMO which I spend many hours per week playing. It's a game where the harsh realities of life are blown out of all proportion in a virtual world. You can be as nice as you want and please your fellow players, or you can be the lowest of the low and make the lives of other players a total misery. And if you're a fan of big ships and working with others, then factional warfare or joining an alliance might be right up your alley. It's a definate 10/10 for me, no question about it. Expand
  43. philb
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This is truly the first MMORPG that actually makes you think about what your doing. Unlike most MMOs where the higher the lvl the better, EVE is more of the strategy type game. And if you buy the game, remember, 1 month is a long time.
  44. Anteep
    Jul 4, 2009
    9
    Very good game, and fun, and as Bill said - it can indeed become free to play. James E.'s smartness is something to be debated because if your ship gets destroyed, you have a pod to travel around in until you buy yourself a new ship and besides, you get given a starter ship when you arrive at any station in a pod.
  45. WouterF
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the bést game I have ever played. I have been playing this game for nearly 4 years now, and what you really do notice is that the game is totally under your own control! You can choose to manufacture everything you need, or have others manufacture for you. You can join alliances, go into war, or go the carebear style and mine your way to the top! This game really is Absolutely the bést game I have ever played. I have been playing this game for nearly 4 years now, and what you really do notice is that the game is totally under your own control! You can choose to manufacture everything you need, or have others manufacture for you. You can join alliances, go into war, or go the carebear style and mine your way to the top! This game really is unique, and the best of all the MMO's I have played in like... forever. Expand
  46. DaveB
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    The first thing to say is that this game is not for everyone! If you crave instant gratification, dont want to work closely with others or don't like the idea of being shot at by other players then I really wouldn't bother. On the other hand, if you are an intelligent adult with patience who values the social side of MMOs highly you will not be dissapointed. Its is the marmite The first thing to say is that this game is not for everyone! If you crave instant gratification, dont want to work closely with others or don't like the idea of being shot at by other players then I really wouldn't bother. On the other hand, if you are an intelligent adult with patience who values the social side of MMOs highly you will not be dissapointed. Its is the marmite of MMOs. Many will not make it past the tutorial, but for those who persevere the rewards are huge. I have been playing for just under three years. I started with nothing, found some like minded people to fly with, learned to fight in an increasingly powerful set of ships and policed the pirates in a very dangerous area of low-security space to their near extinction. Soon we joined forces with similar groups of players and formed an alliance in order to conquer our own area of space. This grew to one of the largest groups of players ever seen in online gaming, with nearly 3000 members at its peak. We struggled with more established groups as part of an ongoing war between tens of thousands of players in deep space. No other game allows this kind of epic experience. Expand
  47. MattR
    May 24, 2009
    10
    great game play, constant updates and takes longer then 20 years to train all the skills. with constant updates and additions to the game new skills and items are added. game play is always fun from fighting npc's to huge 1000 player battles. great graphics show off the beauty of the universe and the great unique design of the ships. different factions each with there own set of great game play, constant updates and takes longer then 20 years to train all the skills. with constant updates and additions to the game new skills and items are added. game play is always fun from fighting npc's to huge 1000 player battles. great graphics show off the beauty of the universe and the great unique design of the ships. different factions each with there own set of skills, items, and ships. game offers a unique style of play unseen in any other mmo's. Expand
  48. Dineer
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    The game is quite good and my clan buddies enjoy all the new missions. Though the game still has a steep learning curve, as shown when my brother throw the keyboard cross the room in frustration and went back to Warcraft 3.
  49. BillR.
    Jun 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome game, and can be free to play if you make enough money in game! (not hard!)
  50. JonR.
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Fascinatingly in-depth game with so much to do, just a shame trial users get to see so little of what's out there. Worth subscribing and getting out into far reaches of space, nothing quite like the rush of PVP with consequences.
  51. HikaruK.
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. Almost infinite places for discover and fight. A huge social game, persistent universe and a lot of items, ships and ways to play. EVE is a revolutionary scifi game, never seen before.
  52. TimS.
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    I like this game. The best MMO ever. There is so many different ways to spend your time, that u don't even need to change game you currently playing to get something different... A little bit hard for newcomers, it's hardcore and slowpaced game (be ready to train your character for monthes and years) But it worth it. Plus it has the best Economic System i have ever seen in MMOs I like this game. The best MMO ever. There is so many different ways to spend your time, that u don't even need to change game you currently playing to get something different... A little bit hard for newcomers, it's hardcore and slowpaced game (be ready to train your character for monthes and years) But it worth it. Plus it has the best Economic System i have ever seen in MMOs (For me it's very important, i like trading, and it's possible to become a trader in EVE from the beginning, you don't need a lot of money actually to start trading). Expand
  53. JamesV
    Jul 18, 2009
    8
    Although not as
  54. AaronH.
    Feb 26, 2010
    9
    I'm going to keep this short and sweet. this game is NOT perfect. it takes a lot of patience, and quite honestly obsessing over wanting a certain ship or something else ingame makes it into a chore rather than a game. if you are one who likes getting goals within days or months, then dont play. this game is very slow paced and tends to appeal to older people. to put it bluntly, dont I'm going to keep this short and sweet. this game is NOT perfect. it takes a lot of patience, and quite honestly obsessing over wanting a certain ship or something else ingame makes it into a chore rather than a game. if you are one who likes getting goals within days or months, then dont play. this game is very slow paced and tends to appeal to older people. to put it bluntly, dont expect to get yourself in pvp until around a year or so of playing. however, if you are like me and like getting on for fun, rather than trying to achieve a goal, this is a wonderful game. i give it a 9 because while i do like the game, and play it a lot, it does not appeal to a broad audience. also just to be clear, most people saying there is no player to player interaction, this mostly happens when in small clans, who usually end up negotiating and working with others. as opposed to large clans who usually are too large to effectively do so. if you play this game. do not set goals, just play to play. happy flights! Expand
  55. S.A.W.
    Mar 11, 2010
    10
    That's the best game I've ever played! The only thing you need is a nice corp which has the same goals like you :) see you in space. Fly save.
  56. LukasA
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    I gave this game a 9, only because of the price you have to pay every month (But believe me its worth, but it's still a hefty price) The ones giving this game 0 or 1 havent played it enough to fully enjoy it!
  57. ShannonS
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    I would like to start by saying that Eve Online is the first MMORPG that I ever played, and the first game I have ever subscribed to. I love the game's dynamics and completely emergent experience. The quality you will get out of this game is what you put into it. The first thing you should do is join a player corporation and find some people to play with. You need a headset/mic for I would like to start by saying that Eve Online is the first MMORPG that I ever played, and the first game I have ever subscribed to. I love the game's dynamics and completely emergent experience. The quality you will get out of this game is what you put into it. The first thing you should do is join a player corporation and find some people to play with. You need a headset/mic for this game because it is essential to communicate with your fellow players whether in the corp you are in or a fleet out flying around. I cannot believe the comment below from Hie H: "There is almost no player to player interaction, and even then its for higher powered people." That is 100% on you, buddy. I have never interacted more with people online, or in any game really, as much as I do in Eve. Heck, even playing XBox Live I don't interact personally as much! The game is HARD. No doubt about that. But if you want a game that you should actually be proud to be good at, this is one of them. Expand
  58. RaistcaK
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    As far as space mmos go, this is the only true game out there. It is vast and interesting, with lots of different ways to succeed. If you need your hand held, though, go play WoW, because there is a large learning curve to this game. Recent beginner tutorials have eased that curve slightly, but it's still there, and one of the main things that makes this game such a joy. Who wants to As far as space mmos go, this is the only true game out there. It is vast and interesting, with lots of different ways to succeed. If you need your hand held, though, go play WoW, because there is a large learning curve to this game. Recent beginner tutorials have eased that curve slightly, but it's still there, and one of the main things that makes this game such a joy. Who wants to learn everything there is to know about an mmo in the first 20 minutes? That's boring. Expand
  59. CharlesW
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    EVE Online is simply the BEST online game ever!
  60. JonahD
    Dec 14, 2009
    9
    Excellent game especially if you have friends to join you. the only downside is it can become repetitive when mining for money but that is the same with all MMO's in my opinion
  61. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    EvE Online: Why I keep coming back, and leaving

    Every one loves a space opera, probably. I love space operas, definitely. Vast space, the feeling of being a tiny spec in an endlessly large ocean. Industriously burrowing away at an asteroid for hours at a time while I read a book. Stacking up credits. Improving my lot one ore bit at a time. EvE online appeals to all these sentiments.
    EvE Online: Why I keep coming back, and leaving

    Every one loves a space opera, probably. I love space operas, definitely. Vast space, the feeling of being a tiny spec in an endlessly large ocean. Industriously burrowing away at an asteroid for hours at a time while I read a book. Stacking up credits. Improving my lot one ore bit at a time.

    EvE online appeals to all these sentiments. Space is compounded by achingly beautiful visuals and the well measured soundtrack bouncing through the halls of my ship.

    Against other mmorpg's EvE stands well apart. There's no levelling arms race at play to motivate you, no endless level grinding to ruin your nights. Your motivation is primarily in how much of the universe you want to turn over. It's all under your own volition away from any peer pressure.

    But EvE suffers in some development choices. Once you have created your character and jumped into the game you land ass first in a space ship in the middle of who-knows-where. "What the hell is going on?" and "What am I doing here?" are the first couple of questions to go through your head. You just automatically happen to be in a space ship from the off. Yes, this is exactly what I'm playing this game for but there is no build up at all! It would have been simple to develop a story line over half an hour or so while the character finds his way to a ship and launches into space. All manner of back history could subtly and simply be woven into these first few minutes. Alas instead you are faced with a half hour tutorial that pretty much covers everything there is to do in the game, ever. I have thus far(this is my 5th odd return to the game) logged out twice during this particular stab at the tutorial and I'm pretty sure it's all down to not having any emotional investment in my character or ship.

    This build up would of course need a third person walk around section. Something that EvE lacks. All that time you spent creating your character and choosing nice clothes boil down to the thumbnail image attached to your ship. To create a physical presence and platform for the characters is absolutely necessary but likely to be part of a long development process.

    Aside from that, I want to be able to land on planets. These beautiful orbs just hang in space enticing you towards them but on approach they are to be found totally void of function. You can't land, mine or colonise. What use is a space opera without a home world to counterpoint off? Aside from that and back to my first few points, EvE Online has captured the space odyssey feeling perfectly. It just has a few teething problems it needs to get out of the way before it's absolutely immersive. Perhaps by the time I return for the 8th time it will have these all sorted out.
    Expand
  62. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    This is without doubt the greatest and most innovative MMO every created. Nothing can compete in regards the depth and complexities of the game play and mechanics. PvP is incredible with literally billions of customisation variations for fitting your ships. The player driven economy and market place is the most in depth I have ever seen. The regional markets allow players to beThis is without doubt the greatest and most innovative MMO every created. Nothing can compete in regards the depth and complexities of the game play and mechanics. PvP is incredible with literally billions of customisation variations for fitting your ships. The player driven economy and market place is the most in depth I have ever seen. The regional markets allow players to be genuinely entrepreneurial and you can really make big money through trading. The game is very well balanced and there are always strenghts and weakness that can allow you the victory in PvP. Some people may find it a bit of a grind at first as there is quite a steep learning curve but the player base are very helpful because working in groups is the key to success. Saying that it is still possible to have a great time and make lots of currency solo. As a new player however it is often best to meet some good folk and learn the ropes before you go off to build your empire. There is just to much to mention that is outstanding about EvE Online. You really have to experience it. The 14 day free trial is very generous and is ample time to get to grips with the basics of the game. The career tutorial missions also give a good taste of the career paths. You are not limited in any way as to which skills you hone or activities you undertake, if you want to specialise you can but are free to change your direction at any time and do what you like. One of the really cool things about EvE Online where you can test things out without worrying about losing assets in the game. Every item and ship costs 100 game currency and there are mass tests where you can mingle with CCP staff. They often give you access to advanced skills and ships during mass testing events and it is really good fun. CCP have done a fantastic job with EvE online and it is constantly getting better and better all the time. The graphics are stunning even on lower spec computers and this makes the game really accessible. You don't need a top spec gaming monster of a PC to enjoy and participate in EvE. The only word of warning is that once you start playing it will probably put you off any other MMO you are playing. This really is the best MMO out there and highly recommend it. There is nothing else quite like it. Expand
  63. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    If you want intense action, an extensive open market to buy and sell, detailed political drama between player alliances and corporations, and the ability to do whatever the hell you want, then EVE Online is for you. Oh, and CCP develops free expansion packs.
  64. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    If you can get over the learning curve and repetitiveness of EVE, it becomes one of the most unqiue games you can play. iamtypingthissothaticanpost
  65. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    The most deep, complex. hardcore mmorpg ever created. CCp has an excellent support to his title with two expansions every year. A must play for all the hardcore mmorpg fans that need to play something different.
  66. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Fear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you knowFear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you know what I'm talking about (and are obviously interested in this type of game) - give it a go, the trial is free. Expand
  67. JadenM.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This is a MMO for adults. Not because of violence. Or of sex. But because of the unbelievable complexity it has. It's mindnumbing at first. Even discouraging if you haven't got what it takes. It takes patience, takes endurance, takes decent planning. It takes a lot of what minors just don't have yet. Thus it's a game for adults. No offense, don't get me wrong! This is a MMO for adults. Not because of violence. Or of sex. But because of the unbelievable complexity it has. It's mindnumbing at first. Even discouraging if you haven't got what it takes. It takes patience, takes endurance, takes decent planning. It takes a lot of what minors just don't have yet. Thus it's a game for adults. No offense, don't get me wrong! I've just seen too many toddlers try, fail - and return to WoW. If there was ever a virtual world that earned the title of being a "whole world of its own", then it's Eve. You get the most authentic sandbox experience one could ever hope from a MMO. It challenges you - each and every day. It tries to break you - just like the real thing. The secret of success in Eve? You simply have to stand your ground and see it through. Whatever it is you want to do. Mmm, does it sound that I'm addicted...? Expand
  68. JeffF
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game, have been playing for over 3 years now with 4 different accounts. One of the things that I absolutely love about this game is that I can play it for free, game time (PLEX) can be bought with the game currency (ISK). There are many different ways to make ISK; PVP, Mission Running, Mining, Manufacturing, Exploration, and Trading are some that come to mind. I absolutely love this game, have been playing for over 3 years now with 4 different accounts. One of the things that I absolutely love about this game is that I can play it for free, game time (PLEX) can be bought with the game currency (ISK). There are many different ways to make ISK; PVP, Mission Running, Mining, Manufacturing, Exploration, and Trading are some that come to mind. Depending on my mood influences how I am going to play to get the experience that I desire while still keeping the game free to play for me. (I'm AFK mining in high sec while I am surfing the internet atm.) I highly recommend first time players to do the tutorial, it answers many of the issues that people have with gameplay. Expand
  69. TomW
    May 15, 2009
    9
    This game proves to be a great brain twister and that is something that I like every so often. I was out mining the other day and I decided to try out some container mining at the risk of having it stolen. Well wouldn't you know it sure enough I got one cargo haul in but the very next one I laid out was pirated from me! This group of guys just warped in from out of nowhere and I know This game proves to be a great brain twister and that is something that I like every so often. I was out mining the other day and I decided to try out some container mining at the risk of having it stolen. Well wouldn't you know it sure enough I got one cargo haul in but the very next one I laid out was pirated from me! This group of guys just warped in from out of nowhere and I know a lot of you would be pissed but I honestly thought it was just the coolest thing. I have never played a game where you have that much freedom before. I give it 2 thumbs up. Expand
  70. TacoJ
    May 17, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING. DO NOT listen to George D. He is a giant nub... He has no idea what he is talking about. This game is simply a must buy. Its oblivion status gigantic, and absolutely intriguing and complex. If you are not a smart person like George D. Stay away from big scary hard games, Oh NO!!! Whatever you do, don't complain about a game being too good.
  71. Brassgerbil
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    The MMO for the high IQ set. If you're tired of hacking your way through orcs, you are a patient adult, and math doesn't scare you, try EVE. It's like Traveler come to life.
  72. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I love the respons people give for not liking EvE. Most of them are the very reasons I DO like it. Theone thing I will say though is expect to put 6 months worth into this game before you start to get much back. Does that put you off? Then EvE probably isn't for you. You like shooty blasty kiddy games? EvE probably isn't for you either. WHich is great as it means adults with low attentionI love the respons people give for not liking EvE. Most of them are the very reasons I DO like it. Theone thing I will say though is expect to put 6 months worth into this game before you start to get much back. Does that put you off? Then EvE probably isn't for you. You like shooty blasty kiddy games? EvE probably isn't for you either. WHich is great as it means adults with low attention spans and snotty kids with their l33t speak and trash talking are generally not present in the game. HOORAY FOR THAT. I have one character that has only left a spacestation once in the past 3 months, and she makes me about 150 million ISK a day..day trading. I have another account that is "all action" and a third that mines. Yup 45 euros a month, and for me - worth every single penny. Expand
  73. michaell
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Very deep, very interesting, VERY fun. Best MMO available.
  74. OliverG
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This game really depends on your taste really, its not a world like WoW its a universe, making it more challenging and immensely addictive. Within 7 days I have had 3 of my ships destroyed over my ignorance, but that is a hard lesson to it. Firstly you cannot go about in ships on mining zones without A. People around wanting to kill the damn NPC fighters or B. You having basic guns to This game really depends on your taste really, its not a world like WoW its a universe, making it more challenging and immensely addictive. Within 7 days I have had 3 of my ships destroyed over my ignorance, but that is a hard lesson to it. Firstly you cannot go about in ships on mining zones without A. People around wanting to kill the damn NPC fighters or B. You having basic guns to take them out yourself. So let me start,firstly you have missions, missions are fun and engage you, theres missions on salvaging, fighting, transporting, mining, higher level battles vs 20 other ships and everything you can think of. These missions give you from 20K per mission to a massive 200K per mission with bonuses, they are also a way to get free ships from agents that give you said missions. There is about 3 days of being a noob and doing missions, earning money etc till you get the skils and the cash to get either a good frigate or a destroyer class. Next you have mining, mining allows you to strip ore off asteroids, bring it to a space station and have two options, refine it and sell it or sell it as main ore. Refining is instant and BANG veldspar becomes tritanium. Mining is also essential to industry in order to build things on time. Then you have industy, industy is ALMIGHTY, it is all about moving large amounts of maerials from one place to the other, assembling equipment for cheaper than you would in stores with those materials and thenselling them to players for gobsmackingly cheaper prices or just selling em to the local space station. Finally I couldn't ignore pirating, pirating is killing other players to scavenge their ships and to add an option, you can make them pay you not to pod kill them and send them to their clone. However you should have a cruiser at LEAST or have a powerful destroyer/frigate that has powerful RIG's on it ( ship modifications ) to take damage and deal lots of damage. T Expand
  75. DavidM
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    I've been playing EVE for about 6 months now and I'm getting to the point where everything takes about two weeks to train a single skill, but there's so much to do at this point - higher level missions, pvp, pirating, etc. - that it doesn't even bother me. The learning curve is quite big, but having started before Apocrypha came out, it has shrunk dramatically. I've been playing EVE for about 6 months now and I'm getting to the point where everything takes about two weeks to train a single skill, but there's so much to do at this point - higher level missions, pvp, pirating, etc. - that it doesn't even bother me. The learning curve is quite big, but having started before Apocrypha came out, it has shrunk dramatically. Seriously, if you can't figure out how to play the game after about an hour, you probably don't have the income to play the game in the first place or you're just too impatient and therefore of no use to the EVE universe. Doing things in-game does indeed take time, but its much more enjoyable doing that than mining ore in Arathi Basin. Also, as far as "not having enough money", your income grows exponentially. First week you'll have maybe 500k ISK (in-game currency), and in a couple of weeks you'll have probably about 10 million isk, then in a couple months, you'll have about 70 mil, if you're doing it right, and so on and so forth. The people who complain about this game are two kinds of people - WoW trolls, both in-game and in-forum, who have their moms pay for their accounts even though they're 32 years old and who expect to have everything they want instantly due to mommy's pampering and those who are unaware that MMO's are pay-to-play (they don't even know what WoW is or they don't really care). So, given the learning curve I'd say this game deserves a 9. This game could be easily understood by everyone if they would just take their time, read what's on the screen, follow the tutorials, and prosper. Play this game! Do it nao! See you in EVE!!! Expand
  76. JensK
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    Impressive and immersive game! There's always something to do, but don't expect anyone to babysit you while you're at it; this game rewards both skill and intellect, but not idleness. Find a good corporation, and head out there with newfound friends... Take on enemy fleets, and use your wits and strategic knowledge to co-operatively bring them all to your knees. Hundreds of Impressive and immersive game! There's always something to do, but don't expect anyone to babysit you while you're at it; this game rewards both skill and intellect, but not idleness. Find a good corporation, and head out there with newfound friends... Take on enemy fleets, and use your wits and strategic knowledge to co-operatively bring them all to your knees. Hundreds of hours of potential fun! There are a few drawbacks, obviously, with a somewhat poorly coded graphics engine, and you only get as much as you give. These are minor issues, though... Give the trial a whirl! See you in space! o7. Expand
  77. FD
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    I like EvE because I found it actually makes you think ahead. In a game that isn't grind, quest, grind, rinse, repeat and takes days if not weeks if not months of real life time, it doesn't make sense to wake up one morning and say, "today I'll change my PvP character to a miner." Toss in a near infinite number of skill, ship, and equipment combinations, and you get an MMO I like EvE because I found it actually makes you think ahead. In a game that isn't grind, quest, grind, rinse, repeat and takes days if not weeks if not months of real life time, it doesn't make sense to wake up one morning and say, "today I'll change my PvP character to a miner." Toss in a near infinite number of skill, ship, and equipment combinations, and you get an MMO that the player can create a personalized character. Another benefit of the real-time skill training is that the player that is on maybe a total of an hour a week can level up at (theoretically) the same rate as the non-stop endurance gamer that clocks 16 hours a day. I say theoretically because there really isn't 1) It's hard to say how you level up and 2) different skills take different times depending on player stats and implants, so you rarely see two characters training the same skill at the same time. But it's this infinite number of combinations I give it an 8 instead of a 10. Even after playing it for a while there is still that sense of overwhelmingness. Of course the other aspects of the game are jaw dropping. The time it takes to go from one side of the EvE universe to the other is a job that makes me happy there's an auto pilot and a laptop I can leave on over night (but I don't recommend it). The models are amazing and highly varied. The number of players online at any given time can populate a small city. Except for a few small aspects, the economy is player driven. Once you reach the outer boundaries of the map, NPC security vanishes and player corporations are free to do as they please. And while doing quests, every now and then you get a storyline quest so it actually feels like when going from A to B, your getting closer to B instead of looking at it with binoculars from A. To summarize, it's big, it's open ended, it's breathtaking, it takes a while to get the wheels spinning, but once they do, they don't stop. Expand
  78. ZD
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    I like EVE a lot, and this expansion included some great stuff. One of the greatest things about EVE is it makes you think, and has a lot to do. It also keeps the retards like James E. out, so you have a lot more mature and intelligent people in the game, unlike other MMO's.
  79. JackR
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    There are truly limitless possibilities here for someone willing to spend the time and effort required to get into it. The most important thing here is to join a corporation, ask advice from your new friends, and you can have an experience like no other. There is the freedom to do pretty much anything; the entire world is player driven. Be a pirate, merchant, or become the in-game There are truly limitless possibilities here for someone willing to spend the time and effort required to get into it. The most important thing here is to join a corporation, ask advice from your new friends, and you can have an experience like no other. There is the freedom to do pretty much anything; the entire world is player driven. Be a pirate, merchant, or become the in-game equivalent to a trucker. All up to you. Dropped to 9 because the graphics could use some work and things like clipping issues and various other bugs can hurt the immersion a bit. Expand
  80. suzannahl
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    My god, talk about someone not having a clue... James E must not have ever even played the game. lol. you make money to buy new ships. bah.. why try to explain. Best MMO out there. Believe the rest of us, try it out for a month, and you'll love it. Good riddance James!
  81. Christopher
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Very enjoyable game, but, it does have a very steep learning curve. I have had the fortune to have one of my friends be a heavy player of the game and was able to explain things to me. Very in depth though, so if you are looking for a game that is deep, with the - they thought of everthing - to it, then this would be on of them.
  82. John
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This game is probably the most complex MMO ever made. It take you days to understand basics, months to be a goodf player, to be a very good one even years. I'm playing it for three years nor and there are still things I don't know. But this giant, dynamic universe gives you incedible freedom in choosing your path to power and fame, you can be a battle pilot, a pirate, This game is probably the most complex MMO ever made. It take you days to understand basics, months to be a goodf player, to be a very good one even years. I'm playing it for three years nor and there are still things I don't know. But this giant, dynamic universe gives you incedible freedom in choosing your path to power and fame, you can be a battle pilot, a pirate, inudustrialist, miner, mercenary... Or even do a little bit of all that! There are no classes, your path is always your own and you can do anything with it. If you have patience, try this game - than you will find that it's different tha any other. Expand
  83. JoeBobH.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Those on a trial account who haven't played EVE more than a couple of weeks are offering a review based upon about 5% of the game (if that). It is, indeed, likely the most complex MMO out there, even outdoing the complexity of most single-player space games. I didn't give the game a 10 rating only because the missioning, mining, etc., if rated only by themselves, are average at Those on a trial account who haven't played EVE more than a couple of weeks are offering a review based upon about 5% of the game (if that). It is, indeed, likely the most complex MMO out there, even outdoing the complexity of most single-player space games. I didn't give the game a 10 rating only because the missioning, mining, etc., if rated only by themselves, are average at best and even boring at times, and the player tutorials and attention-grabbing effects could be done better to prevent people from quitting before getting into the real meat of the game. I mention this because a player with a 14 day trial will likely only experience one or two sides of the many options of play in the game, and thus will likely only experience very average gameplay. However, when you take the game as a whole: missioning, mining, worm-hole exploration, hacking, creating usable in-game equipment, trading on the market, manipulating the market, mining, building player-owned stations that are static structures in the game, flying capital ships that literally take a year or more in real-time to skill up to, fleet combat in high security, gang warfare in low security, 100s of ships in a single fleet engagement in null-security (the wild west of the game), solo pirating to extort money from other players, running corporations, becoming a member of a real player corporation, the real politics between major real-player alliances that own certain parts of space, and on and on; when you take all of these interesting things into account, and without getting into the many cool nuances of PVP, optimizing ship fittings to the type of engagements, and the seemingly endless possibilities for setting up your character, you have an absolutely astounding game that takes many months or even years to fully grasp, and it is a game that evolves so that there is always something new to learn or do no matter how long you've been playing. There are over 5000 solar systems in the game, and I haven't been to more than a third of them myself. Many players have *never* lived in 0.0 security areas in the years that they've played. Also nice is the ability to skill up when you're not playing online and the ability to buy and sell player time with in-game money (ISK). It is actually possible to play the game for free and without restrictions if you play enough lot to earn a lot of in-game-ISK every month, and it is also possible to re-supply your own in-game money (ISK) by buying playing time and selling it on the in-game market, all completely legally. All that to say, this is a great game, and it will take a while fully experience its beauty. Just don't expect twitch shooting and point-and-click laser blasts. It is a game for those who like nuance in a game, who don't mind planning wars and engagements rather than blindly barging into them, and who enjoy strategy and complexity. Expand
  84. Dec 9, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. But it s really hard for news players. I regret no french language too. I think a lot of french people want start the experience but they can t. the game is really complex and give a lot of satisfaction. It s true you pilot with mouse and it s not the best for a star ship game but you need see around this. it s a rich spatial simulation game. Expand
  85. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This game is not for kids or people with mental disorder you need some brains to play this game. The real fun begins when you join military alliance then all of its beauty reveals.Some people dont like it thats normal. EVE community is very nice because its 95% made of mature people no 12yo running arround
  86. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The greatest game I have ever played. More complex than any game I have ever played, but more immersive than any other. I have logged over 2000 hours so far into this game, and not an ounce of boredom. There are so many different things you can do. You can spend your time sitting in safe calm space manufacturing ships for combat pilots, or be on the front lines fighting over territory andThe greatest game I have ever played. More complex than any game I have ever played, but more immersive than any other. I have logged over 2000 hours so far into this game, and not an ounce of boredom. There are so many different things you can do. You can spend your time sitting in safe calm space manufacturing ships for combat pilots, or be on the front lines fighting over territory and power with your faction. The player corporations (guilds) can actually control territory. Massive wars take place. Battles of thousands of players all at the same place. You can choose to fight for good, or for power and wealth. Backstabbings and betreyals, loyalty to your corporation, becoming a better pilot. Eve is a neverending adventure with limitless entertainment and opportunity. Expand
  87. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Nearly unlimited amount of spaceship-themed mini- and meta-games combined with nice graphic engine and healthy economy slightly spoiled by extremely slow character progression and lack of territorial expansions turning players into so-called "bittervets" over time. Yet until that "bittervet"-ness moment you'll have a lot of positive (and a bit of negative) emotions.

    Highly recommended
    Nearly unlimited amount of spaceship-themed mini- and meta-games combined with nice graphic engine and healthy economy slightly spoiled by extremely slow character progression and lack of territorial expansions turning players into so-called "bittervets" over time. Yet until that "bittervet"-ness moment you'll have a lot of positive (and a bit of negative) emotions.

    Highly recommended while there isn't any meaningful MMO spaceship sandbox game alternative.
    Expand
  88. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Eve is not a spaceshooter game, it is about to command your ship like a STAR TREK way, lets put that way.

    You need to worry about your actions instead of maneuvering the ship. It is all about the strategy and team work, when you face battle fleets fights. The game is complex and can (and will) entertaining you for a long time. You have free will to decide your destiny. Want be a
    Eve is not a spaceshooter game, it is about to command your ship like a STAR TREK way, lets put that way.

    You need to worry about your actions instead of maneuvering the ship. It is all about the strategy and team work, when you face battle fleets fights.

    The game is complex and can (and will) entertaining you for a long time. You have free will to decide your destiny. Want be a pirate and scam people, or leave inside a wormhole hunting invaders, it is up to you. You have some many place to explore as the EVE galaxy is HUGE, and so many ships to fly which different roles and ways of pilot" that you will like it a lot.

    Other good aspect of the game is the relationship between developers and the community, that are composed of mature people. They always in touch and developers hear and produces what the communities ask in their bi-annual expansion. So you will play a game made by the feedback of other players that always looks for a way to improve the experience.

    Give it a try and see if it suitable for you. Of course it is not for everyone.
    Expand
  89. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    The one and only MMORPG game what i can play more than 1 hour.
    I played much MMORPG's, from World of warcraft to blade and soul, everything is peace of **** without soul, i can't play the game with PRESS YOUR SKILL ROTATIONS instead of gameplay.
  90. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Eve is beautiful, extravagant and challenging. It has a unique ability to filter out 12 year old trolls with its difficult learning curve. For a older gamer like myself this provides a deeper sense of exploration because you never quite know what you will find or figure out next. The diverse group of gamers that play EVE provide a very realistic world in which there are genuinely helpful,Eve is beautiful, extravagant and challenging. It has a unique ability to filter out 12 year old trolls with its difficult learning curve. For a older gamer like myself this provides a deeper sense of exploration because you never quite know what you will find or figure out next. The diverse group of gamers that play EVE provide a very realistic world in which there are genuinely helpful, interesting people that you may meet along the way but there are also pirates that will plunder you for all you've got. All this adds to the intense and relentless environment that you frequently visit on your travels. In the gigantic Galaxy of EVE there are thousands of planets all with different security ratings to provide you with knowledge of where you are visiting and where you shouldn't pass through; however tempting it is. EVE is like no other MMO and i highly recommend it to anyone looking for a challenging game to sink there teeth into. Its truly one of the best. Expand
  91. May 24, 2014
    9
    Hard to learn-easy to master

    Like I said. The first few hours of this game where a living hell. Tutorials didn't help. Controls made no sense. A dick community didn't help, either. But then I got used to it. I found a few people that helped me through the starting hours. I adjusted myself to the controls. Then it was great. Granted, this isn't much more than a standard MMO, but this
    Hard to learn-easy to master

    Like I said. The first few hours of this game where a living hell. Tutorials didn't help. Controls made no sense. A dick community didn't help, either. But then I got used to it. I found a few people that helped me through the starting hours. I adjusted myself to the controls. Then it was great. Granted, this isn't much more than a standard MMO, but this time, it has space-ships. The game takes place entirely in the cockpit of a ship. You grind to get better parts, and a better ship. Simple as that. Granted, this is a very specific MMO, aimed at a specific audience. Its for people that will spent hours on end figuring it out. Once you get it, its fun. Your ship becomes a god, your raking in money, and who knows, you can even do some of that corporate sabotage.
    Expand
  92. May 12, 2014
    10
    This game has had me hooked for a year so far. There is so much to do. The player to player interaction keeps you on your toes constantly even in the safest parts of the game. I'm absolubtly hooked to this game.
  93. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    The so-called defaults of this game are it's best features and game concepts. It's hard to learn in Eve? Because there is so much to learn. You can't learn everything on your own? Because you're not supposed to: it's a social game, you can't learn everything there is to know by yourself, contact people, speak to them, learn from them, analyse the spaceship that killed you in the killThe so-called defaults of this game are it's best features and game concepts. It's hard to learn in Eve? Because there is so much to learn. You can't learn everything on your own? Because you're not supposed to: it's a social game, you can't learn everything there is to know by yourself, contact people, speak to them, learn from them, analyse the spaceship that killed you in the kill report to improve your own ship, find a mentor... If you have difficulties to do so, Eve is the oldest MMO online, so there really is a lot of content outside, to help players, dozens of very good websites to provide you information.

    It takes few weeks to find your own path in Eve, to choose a career. This will be your newbie time. But don't trust the people explaining you need month to be efficient. You want to be a pirate? There is PvP corporations recruiting whoever can fit a warp disruptor on their ship: they will train you even if you are a two-days newbie struggling with the tutorials. They know new pilots are a ressource, and they better have to treat you well and to train you properly if they want you to fight with them.

    Eve is hard, Eve seems unfriendly for the people who want everything immediatly. But Eve has the best community you could find: players ready to help the new ones, school-corporations, hundreds of new-pilots friendly corps. It worth a try.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. EVE Online retains its old shortcomings (Not being able to leave your ship ord control it directly.), but certainly offers a lot of content for a small amount of your money.
  2. Despite some partially unfinished features and a few annoying balance issues, EVE Online is greater than the sum of its parts and the best "sandbox" MMO in a market cluttered by canned content. Still a bit harsh to newbies, but with the release of Apocrypha more accessible than ever before. If you can get over the initial hurdles, potentially more addictive than World of Warcraft - you have been warned.
  3. EVE Online: Apocrypha brings more territory to discover and explore and a softer learning curve.