EVE Online: Special Edition PC

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 369
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    The greatest game I have ever played. More complex than any game I have ever played, but more immersive than any other. I have logged over 2000 hours so far into this game, and not an ounce of boredom. There are so many different things you can do. You can spend your time sitting in safe calm space manufacturing ships for combat pilots, or be on the front lines fighting over territory andThe greatest game I have ever played. More complex than any game I have ever played, but more immersive than any other. I have logged over 2000 hours so far into this game, and not an ounce of boredom. There are so many different things you can do. You can spend your time sitting in safe calm space manufacturing ships for combat pilots, or be on the front lines fighting over territory and power with your faction. The player corporations (guilds) can actually control territory. Massive wars take place. Battles of thousands of players all at the same place. You can choose to fight for good, or for power and wealth. Backstabbings and betreyals, loyalty to your corporation, becoming a better pilot. Eve is a neverending adventure with limitless entertainment and opportunity. Expand
  2. Shnuggles
    Jun 26, 2009
    6
    After playing the game for nearly 2 months I have to say I can see the draw and drawbacks of Eve:Online. Funny enough the best ratings from the Users are around the 6 vote. People like George D really hit the nail on the head with this game. Its good to note that the graphics and sounds are fantastic and probably what saves this game by keeping players playing. Its also good to note that After playing the game for nearly 2 months I have to say I can see the draw and drawbacks of Eve:Online. Funny enough the best ratings from the Users are around the 6 vote. People like George D really hit the nail on the head with this game. Its good to note that the graphics and sounds are fantastic and probably what saves this game by keeping players playing. Its also good to note that the player base is mature and always willing to help with advise as there is a steep learning curve with this game. Unfortunately like many, the gameplay is just too slow and boring. I want to get into a game quickly and have fun right away, not grind away slowly hoping something around the corner will make the game more exciting. Eve is worth a look and maybe a play for a month as this really is a nice looking game. Check it out but just be aware that the gameplay can be very slow and tedious once training is complete. If you're willing to work past it and play for more then 2 months then you can be rewarded. Give it a go, have a look and see for yourself. Just remember to Insure your space ship like you would your car! Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    This is without doubt the greatest and most innovative MMO every created. Nothing can compete in regards the depth and complexities of the game play and mechanics. PvP is incredible with literally billions of customisation variations for fitting your ships. The player driven economy and market place is the most in depth I have ever seen. The regional markets allow players to beThis is without doubt the greatest and most innovative MMO every created. Nothing can compete in regards the depth and complexities of the game play and mechanics. PvP is incredible with literally billions of customisation variations for fitting your ships. The player driven economy and market place is the most in depth I have ever seen. The regional markets allow players to be genuinely entrepreneurial and you can really make big money through trading. The game is very well balanced and there are always strenghts and weakness that can allow you the victory in PvP. Some people may find it a bit of a grind at first as there is quite a steep learning curve but the player base are very helpful because working in groups is the key to success. Saying that it is still possible to have a great time and make lots of currency solo. As a new player however it is often best to meet some good folk and learn the ropes before you go off to build your empire. There is just to much to mention that is outstanding about EvE Online. You really have to experience it. The 14 day free trial is very generous and is ample time to get to grips with the basics of the game. The career tutorial missions also give a good taste of the career paths. You are not limited in any way as to which skills you hone or activities you undertake, if you want to specialise you can but are free to change your direction at any time and do what you like. One of the really cool things about EvE Online where you can test things out without worrying about losing assets in the game. Every item and ship costs 100 game currency and there are mass tests where you can mingle with CCP staff. They often give you access to advanced skills and ships during mass testing events and it is really good fun. CCP have done a fantastic job with EvE online and it is constantly getting better and better all the time. The graphics are stunning even on lower spec computers and this makes the game really accessible. You don't need a top spec gaming monster of a PC to enjoy and participate in EvE. The only word of warning is that once you start playing it will probably put you off any other MMO you are playing. This really is the best MMO out there and highly recommend it. There is nothing else quite like it. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    If you want intense action, an extensive open market to buy and sell, detailed political drama between player alliances and corporations, and the ability to do whatever the hell you want, then EVE Online is for you. Oh, and CCP develops free expansion packs.
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    If you can get over the learning curve and repetitiveness of EVE, it becomes one of the most unqiue games you can play. iamtypingthissothaticanpost
  6. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    The most deep, complex. hardcore mmorpg ever created. CCp has an excellent support to his title with two expansions every year. A must play for all the hardcore mmorpg fans that need to play something different.
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Fear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you knowFear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you know what I'm talking about (and are obviously interested in this type of game) - give it a go, the trial is free. Expand
  8. JadenM.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This is a MMO for adults. Not because of violence. Or of sex. But because of the unbelievable complexity it has. It's mindnumbing at first. Even discouraging if you haven't got what it takes. It takes patience, takes endurance, takes decent planning. It takes a lot of what minors just don't have yet. Thus it's a game for adults. No offense, don't get me wrong! This is a MMO for adults. Not because of violence. Or of sex. But because of the unbelievable complexity it has. It's mindnumbing at first. Even discouraging if you haven't got what it takes. It takes patience, takes endurance, takes decent planning. It takes a lot of what minors just don't have yet. Thus it's a game for adults. No offense, don't get me wrong! I've just seen too many toddlers try, fail - and return to WoW. If there was ever a virtual world that earned the title of being a "whole world of its own", then it's Eve. You get the most authentic sandbox experience one could ever hope from a MMO. It challenges you - each and every day. It tries to break you - just like the real thing. The secret of success in Eve? You simply have to stand your ground and see it through. Whatever it is you want to do. Mmm, does it sound that I'm addicted...? Expand
  9. JeffF
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game, have been playing for over 3 years now with 4 different accounts. One of the things that I absolutely love about this game is that I can play it for free, game time (PLEX) can be bought with the game currency (ISK). There are many different ways to make ISK; PVP, Mission Running, Mining, Manufacturing, Exploration, and Trading are some that come to mind. I absolutely love this game, have been playing for over 3 years now with 4 different accounts. One of the things that I absolutely love about this game is that I can play it for free, game time (PLEX) can be bought with the game currency (ISK). There are many different ways to make ISK; PVP, Mission Running, Mining, Manufacturing, Exploration, and Trading are some that come to mind. Depending on my mood influences how I am going to play to get the experience that I desire while still keeping the game free to play for me. (I'm AFK mining in high sec while I am surfing the internet atm.) I highly recommend first time players to do the tutorial, it answers many of the issues that people have with gameplay. Expand
  10. TomW
    May 15, 2009
    9
    This game proves to be a great brain twister and that is something that I like every so often. I was out mining the other day and I decided to try out some container mining at the risk of having it stolen. Well wouldn't you know it sure enough I got one cargo haul in but the very next one I laid out was pirated from me! This group of guys just warped in from out of nowhere and I know This game proves to be a great brain twister and that is something that I like every so often. I was out mining the other day and I decided to try out some container mining at the risk of having it stolen. Well wouldn't you know it sure enough I got one cargo haul in but the very next one I laid out was pirated from me! This group of guys just warped in from out of nowhere and I know a lot of you would be pissed but I honestly thought it was just the coolest thing. I have never played a game where you have that much freedom before. I give it 2 thumbs up. Expand
  11. TacoJ
    May 17, 2009
    10
    This game is AMAZING. DO NOT listen to George D. He is a giant nub... He has no idea what he is talking about. This game is simply a must buy. Its oblivion status gigantic, and absolutely intriguing and complex. If you are not a smart person like George D. Stay away from big scary hard games, Oh NO!!! Whatever you do, don't complain about a game being too good.
  12. Brassgerbil
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    The MMO for the high IQ set. If you're tired of hacking your way through orcs, you are a patient adult, and math doesn't scare you, try EVE. It's like Traveler come to life.
  13. Feb 8, 2014
    9
    Eve is beautiful, extravagant and challenging. It has a unique ability to filter out 12 year old trolls with its difficult learning curve. For a older gamer like myself this provides a deeper sense of exploration because you never quite know what you will find or figure out next. The diverse group of gamers that play EVE provide a very realistic world in which there are genuinely helpful,Eve is beautiful, extravagant and challenging. It has a unique ability to filter out 12 year old trolls with its difficult learning curve. For a older gamer like myself this provides a deeper sense of exploration because you never quite know what you will find or figure out next. The diverse group of gamers that play EVE provide a very realistic world in which there are genuinely helpful, interesting people that you may meet along the way but there are also pirates that will plunder you for all you've got. All this adds to the intense and relentless environment that you frequently visit on your travels. In the gigantic Galaxy of EVE there are thousands of planets all with different security ratings to provide you with knowledge of where you are visiting and where you shouldn't pass through; however tempting it is. EVE is like no other MMO and i highly recommend it to anyone looking for a challenging game to sink there teeth into. Its truly one of the best. Expand
  14. michaell
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Very deep, very interesting, VERY fun. Best MMO available.
  15. OliverG
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This game really depends on your taste really, its not a world like WoW its a universe, making it more challenging and immensely addictive. Within 7 days I have had 3 of my ships destroyed over my ignorance, but that is a hard lesson to it. Firstly you cannot go about in ships on mining zones without A. People around wanting to kill the damn NPC fighters or B. You having basic guns to This game really depends on your taste really, its not a world like WoW its a universe, making it more challenging and immensely addictive. Within 7 days I have had 3 of my ships destroyed over my ignorance, but that is a hard lesson to it. Firstly you cannot go about in ships on mining zones without A. People around wanting to kill the damn NPC fighters or B. You having basic guns to take them out yourself. So let me start,firstly you have missions, missions are fun and engage you, theres missions on salvaging, fighting, transporting, mining, higher level battles vs 20 other ships and everything you can think of. These missions give you from 20K per mission to a massive 200K per mission with bonuses, they are also a way to get free ships from agents that give you said missions. There is about 3 days of being a noob and doing missions, earning money etc till you get the skils and the cash to get either a good frigate or a destroyer class. Next you have mining, mining allows you to strip ore off asteroids, bring it to a space station and have two options, refine it and sell it or sell it as main ore. Refining is instant and BANG veldspar becomes tritanium. Mining is also essential to industry in order to build things on time. Then you have industy, industy is ALMIGHTY, it is all about moving large amounts of maerials from one place to the other, assembling equipment for cheaper than you would in stores with those materials and thenselling them to players for gobsmackingly cheaper prices or just selling em to the local space station. Finally I couldn't ignore pirating, pirating is killing other players to scavenge their ships and to add an option, you can make them pay you not to pod kill them and send them to their clone. However you should have a cruiser at LEAST or have a powerful destroyer/frigate that has powerful RIG's on it ( ship modifications ) to take damage and deal lots of damage. T Expand
  16. DavidM
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    I've been playing EVE for about 6 months now and I'm getting to the point where everything takes about two weeks to train a single skill, but there's so much to do at this point - higher level missions, pvp, pirating, etc. - that it doesn't even bother me. The learning curve is quite big, but having started before Apocrypha came out, it has shrunk dramatically. I've been playing EVE for about 6 months now and I'm getting to the point where everything takes about two weeks to train a single skill, but there's so much to do at this point - higher level missions, pvp, pirating, etc. - that it doesn't even bother me. The learning curve is quite big, but having started before Apocrypha came out, it has shrunk dramatically. Seriously, if you can't figure out how to play the game after about an hour, you probably don't have the income to play the game in the first place or you're just too impatient and therefore of no use to the EVE universe. Doing things in-game does indeed take time, but its much more enjoyable doing that than mining ore in Arathi Basin. Also, as far as "not having enough money", your income grows exponentially. First week you'll have maybe 500k ISK (in-game currency), and in a couple of weeks you'll have probably about 10 million isk, then in a couple months, you'll have about 70 mil, if you're doing it right, and so on and so forth. The people who complain about this game are two kinds of people - WoW trolls, both in-game and in-forum, who have their moms pay for their accounts even though they're 32 years old and who expect to have everything they want instantly due to mommy's pampering and those who are unaware that MMO's are pay-to-play (they don't even know what WoW is or they don't really care). So, given the learning curve I'd say this game deserves a 9. This game could be easily understood by everyone if they would just take their time, read what's on the screen, follow the tutorials, and prosper. Play this game! Do it nao! See you in EVE!!! Expand
  17. JensK
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    Impressive and immersive game! There's always something to do, but don't expect anyone to babysit you while you're at it; this game rewards both skill and intellect, but not idleness. Find a good corporation, and head out there with newfound friends... Take on enemy fleets, and use your wits and strategic knowledge to co-operatively bring them all to your knees. Hundreds of Impressive and immersive game! There's always something to do, but don't expect anyone to babysit you while you're at it; this game rewards both skill and intellect, but not idleness. Find a good corporation, and head out there with newfound friends... Take on enemy fleets, and use your wits and strategic knowledge to co-operatively bring them all to your knees. Hundreds of hours of potential fun! There are a few drawbacks, obviously, with a somewhat poorly coded graphics engine, and you only get as much as you give. These are minor issues, though... Give the trial a whirl! See you in space! o7. Expand
  18. FD
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    I like EvE because I found it actually makes you think ahead. In a game that isn't grind, quest, grind, rinse, repeat and takes days if not weeks if not months of real life time, it doesn't make sense to wake up one morning and say, "today I'll change my PvP character to a miner." Toss in a near infinite number of skill, ship, and equipment combinations, and you get an MMO I like EvE because I found it actually makes you think ahead. In a game that isn't grind, quest, grind, rinse, repeat and takes days if not weeks if not months of real life time, it doesn't make sense to wake up one morning and say, "today I'll change my PvP character to a miner." Toss in a near infinite number of skill, ship, and equipment combinations, and you get an MMO that the player can create a personalized character. Another benefit of the real-time skill training is that the player that is on maybe a total of an hour a week can level up at (theoretically) the same rate as the non-stop endurance gamer that clocks 16 hours a day. I say theoretically because there really isn't 1) It's hard to say how you level up and 2) different skills take different times depending on player stats and implants, so you rarely see two characters training the same skill at the same time. But it's this infinite number of combinations I give it an 8 instead of a 10. Even after playing it for a while there is still that sense of overwhelmingness. Of course the other aspects of the game are jaw dropping. The time it takes to go from one side of the EvE universe to the other is a job that makes me happy there's an auto pilot and a laptop I can leave on over night (but I don't recommend it). The models are amazing and highly varied. The number of players online at any given time can populate a small city. Except for a few small aspects, the economy is player driven. Once you reach the outer boundaries of the map, NPC security vanishes and player corporations are free to do as they please. And while doing quests, every now and then you get a storyline quest so it actually feels like when going from A to B, your getting closer to B instead of looking at it with binoculars from A. To summarize, it's big, it's open ended, it's breathtaking, it takes a while to get the wheels spinning, but once they do, they don't stop. Expand
  19. ZD
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    I like EVE a lot, and this expansion included some great stuff. One of the greatest things about EVE is it makes you think, and has a lot to do. It also keeps the retards like James E. out, so you have a lot more mature and intelligent people in the game, unlike other MMO's.
  20. JackR
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    There are truly limitless possibilities here for someone willing to spend the time and effort required to get into it. The most important thing here is to join a corporation, ask advice from your new friends, and you can have an experience like no other. There is the freedom to do pretty much anything; the entire world is player driven. Be a pirate, merchant, or become the in-game There are truly limitless possibilities here for someone willing to spend the time and effort required to get into it. The most important thing here is to join a corporation, ask advice from your new friends, and you can have an experience like no other. There is the freedom to do pretty much anything; the entire world is player driven. Be a pirate, merchant, or become the in-game equivalent to a trucker. All up to you. Dropped to 9 because the graphics could use some work and things like clipping issues and various other bugs can hurt the immersion a bit. Expand
  21. suzannahl
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    My god, talk about someone not having a clue... James E must not have ever even played the game. lol. you make money to buy new ships. bah.. why try to explain. Best MMO out there. Believe the rest of us, try it out for a month, and you'll love it. Good riddance James!
  22. Christopher
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Very enjoyable game, but, it does have a very steep learning curve. I have had the fortune to have one of my friends be a heavy player of the game and was able to explain things to me. Very in depth though, so if you are looking for a game that is deep, with the - they thought of everthing - to it, then this would be on of them.
  23. John
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    This game is probably the most complex MMO ever made. It take you days to understand basics, months to be a goodf player, to be a very good one even years. I'm playing it for three years nor and there are still things I don't know. But this giant, dynamic universe gives you incedible freedom in choosing your path to power and fame, you can be a battle pilot, a pirate, This game is probably the most complex MMO ever made. It take you days to understand basics, months to be a goodf player, to be a very good one even years. I'm playing it for three years nor and there are still things I don't know. But this giant, dynamic universe gives you incedible freedom in choosing your path to power and fame, you can be a battle pilot, a pirate, inudustrialist, miner, mercenary... Or even do a little bit of all that! There are no classes, your path is always your own and you can do anything with it. If you have patience, try this game - than you will find that it's different tha any other. Expand
  24. JoeBobH.
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    Those on a trial account who haven't played EVE more than a couple of weeks are offering a review based upon about 5% of the game (if that). It is, indeed, likely the most complex MMO out there, even outdoing the complexity of most single-player space games. I didn't give the game a 10 rating only because the missioning, mining, etc., if rated only by themselves, are average at Those on a trial account who haven't played EVE more than a couple of weeks are offering a review based upon about 5% of the game (if that). It is, indeed, likely the most complex MMO out there, even outdoing the complexity of most single-player space games. I didn't give the game a 10 rating only because the missioning, mining, etc., if rated only by themselves, are average at best and even boring at times, and the player tutorials and attention-grabbing effects could be done better to prevent people from quitting before getting into the real meat of the game. I mention this because a player with a 14 day trial will likely only experience one or two sides of the many options of play in the game, and thus will likely only experience very average gameplay. However, when you take the game as a whole: missioning, mining, worm-hole exploration, hacking, creating usable in-game equipment, trading on the market, manipulating the market, mining, building player-owned stations that are static structures in the game, flying capital ships that literally take a year or more in real-time to skill up to, fleet combat in high security, gang warfare in low security, 100s of ships in a single fleet engagement in null-security (the wild west of the game), solo pirating to extort money from other players, running corporations, becoming a member of a real player corporation, the real politics between major real-player alliances that own certain parts of space, and on and on; when you take all of these interesting things into account, and without getting into the many cool nuances of PVP, optimizing ship fittings to the type of engagements, and the seemingly endless possibilities for setting up your character, you have an absolutely astounding game that takes many months or even years to fully grasp, and it is a game that evolves so that there is always something new to learn or do no matter how long you've been playing. There are over 5000 solar systems in the game, and I haven't been to more than a third of them myself. Many players have *never* lived in 0.0 security areas in the years that they've played. Also nice is the ability to skill up when you're not playing online and the ability to buy and sell player time with in-game money (ISK). It is actually possible to play the game for free and without restrictions if you play enough lot to earn a lot of in-game-ISK every month, and it is also possible to re-supply your own in-game money (ISK) by buying playing time and selling it on the in-game market, all completely legally. All that to say, this is a great game, and it will take a while fully experience its beauty. Just don't expect twitch shooting and point-and-click laser blasts. It is a game for those who like nuance in a game, who don't mind planning wars and engagements rather than blindly barging into them, and who enjoy strategy and complexity. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    I've been playing eve on and off for about 10 months and I've actually gotten good at it, been a member of a null security corporation, and been in a few space battles. This game is buggy, it's frequently boring, it's extremely frustrating, and punishes you if you like to take risks. Especially early on... In short it's kind of the anti-game... And yet, I play it.

    Joining a
    I've been playing eve on and off for about 10 months and I've actually gotten good at it, been a member of a null security corporation, and been in a few space battles. This game is buggy, it's frequently boring, it's extremely frustrating, and punishes you if you like to take risks. Especially early on... In short it's kind of the anti-game... And yet, I play it.

    Joining a corporation early on and going to battleclinic and reading about how to build ships right is key, but those are not game mechanics, they're human mechanics that are outside the game. Ultimately, that is what eve is about, and because of that, the strategic elements are very much like real life. You want power in the game? Get in a corp and move up the ladder, its just like real life. You want money? Do the same. Thats the hardest aspect for new people to realize, you can't win eve on your own, its absolutely a group activity like going to work everyday.

    Eve is also a hobby. People write software to interact with the EVE api, its a big part of eve in fact as some of these user created tools are absolutely key to success in the game... Sound weird? It is, and yet, it's better for it. It's the human element.

    When you think about it, the universe is pretty boring and stupid, but, humans get together and shape it how we want it to be, thats what Eve is like, a boring place made better by the presence of humans.

    Because it relies so much on humans, and the kinds of things lots of people try to avoid in playing games in the first place (like work), I think the game deserves to be knocked down a couple notches. But all in all it's an interesting world, and if you join the right corporation, and take the time to train your skills up right, it takes a LOT of time, you might find yourself having more fun more often with Eve than your other games.
    Expand
  26. EbenduP
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Played Evo-online for 6 months.I got to a point where I could not stop playing .My eating habbits changed.Social life got bad to worse.I hated my self for that.Unfortunatly i'm going to give it a 6 out of 10 not because it's a bad game but because you will end up playing eve online till you die If the game gets you.
  27. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    I love the respons people give for not liking EvE. Most of them are the very reasons I DO like it. Theone thing I will say though is expect to put 6 months worth into this game before you start to get much back. Does that put you off? Then EvE probably isn't for you. You like shooty blasty kiddy games? EvE probably isn't for you either. WHich is great as it means adults with low attentionI love the respons people give for not liking EvE. Most of them are the very reasons I DO like it. Theone thing I will say though is expect to put 6 months worth into this game before you start to get much back. Does that put you off? Then EvE probably isn't for you. You like shooty blasty kiddy games? EvE probably isn't for you either. WHich is great as it means adults with low attention spans and snotty kids with their l33t speak and trash talking are generally not present in the game. HOORAY FOR THAT. I have one character that has only left a spacestation once in the past 3 months, and she makes me about 150 million ISK a day..day trading. I have another account that is "all action" and a third that mines. Yup 45 euros a month, and for me - worth every single penny. Expand
  28. Dec 9, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. But it s really hard for news players. I regret no french language too. I think a lot of french people want start the experience but they can t. the game is really complex and give a lot of satisfaction. It s true you pilot with mouse and it s not the best for a star ship game but you need see around this. it s a rich spatial simulation game. Expand
  29. b00tsyc
    Sep 4, 2009
    6
    Ive been doing the free trail for a couple of days now and here is my review based on the couple of days. First of all this game reminds me a lot of the text based sci-fi strategy browser games ive played for years, games like Galactic Conquest and Unification Wars. So for that matter this game does not bring much new, it only has a nice 3D setting. The game progression is extremely slow. Ive been doing the free trail for a couple of days now and here is my review based on the couple of days. First of all this game reminds me a lot of the text based sci-fi strategy browser games ive played for years, games like Galactic Conquest and Unification Wars. So for that matter this game does not bring much new, it only has a nice 3D setting. The game progression is extremely slow. On my first day it already takes more then 24 hours to upgrade a new skill. I have plenty of money ingame already to buy nice ships etc, but no skills enough to purchase it...so that sucks. This game is a MMO, but other then the (annoying) chat window i don't notice at all that i am playing it together with other players. Ive been fighting and interacting with NPC's only so far. Because there is no interaction with other players or not much and the slow game progression the game is not very exciting. Its a nice game to play while your watching TV or doing something else on the side. The graphics in the game are okay, but not special or anything. Infact a lot of textures that have been used reminds me of Hlf-Life textures that were modified a bit. Asking 15 Euro's every freaking month for this game is pretty insane, its totaly not worth it. If they would ask half that price it would still be pretty steep, but i might just play it then for some months to see how it goes. !5 Euro's, no way. Further, they advertise this game with 250.000 subscribtions, but i only see 4k players online at max and when i login i see that there are 27k active accounts so far (5k free trail accounts). I hardly call this a MASSIVE multi player game. If they would reduce the price by half they would have a LOT more players online. For this current price i can buy about 8 top selling and new released games in a year time.... For now i feel i am much better of to buy a bunch of other games that has multi player online modes aswell instead of spending the money on EVE. All in all, Its not a bad game, infact i like it. Its just way to over priced and to much NPC interaction. Expand
  30. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    Basiclie a very very good game grafics frkn awesome community very friendly helpfull etc.. but 3 points less because u need just i would say 3 months for only skilling to have fun on this game thats a bit annojing
  31. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This game is not for kids or people with mental disorder you need some brains to play this game. The real fun begins when you join military alliance then all of its beauty reveals.Some people dont like it thats normal. EVE community is very nice because its 95% made of mature people no 12yo running arround
  32. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    Nearly unlimited amount of spaceship-themed mini- and meta-games combined with nice graphic engine and healthy economy slightly spoiled by extremely slow character progression and lack of territorial expansions turning players into so-called "bittervets" over time. Yet until that "bittervet"-ness moment you'll have a lot of positive (and a bit of negative) emotions.

    Highly recommended
    Nearly unlimited amount of spaceship-themed mini- and meta-games combined with nice graphic engine and healthy economy slightly spoiled by extremely slow character progression and lack of territorial expansions turning players into so-called "bittervets" over time. Yet until that "bittervet"-ness moment you'll have a lot of positive (and a bit of negative) emotions.

    Highly recommended while there isn't any meaningful MMO spaceship sandbox game alternative.
    Expand
  33. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Eve is not a spaceshooter game, it is about to command your ship like a STAR TREK way, lets put that way.

    You need to worry about your actions instead of maneuvering the ship. It is all about the strategy and team work, when you face battle fleets fights. The game is complex and can (and will) entertaining you for a long time. You have free will to decide your destiny. Want be a
    Eve is not a spaceshooter game, it is about to command your ship like a STAR TREK way, lets put that way.

    You need to worry about your actions instead of maneuvering the ship. It is all about the strategy and team work, when you face battle fleets fights.

    The game is complex and can (and will) entertaining you for a long time. You have free will to decide your destiny. Want be a pirate and scam people, or leave inside a wormhole hunting invaders, it is up to you. You have some many place to explore as the EVE galaxy is HUGE, and so many ships to fly which different roles and ways of pilot" that you will like it a lot.

    Other good aspect of the game is the relationship between developers and the community, that are composed of mature people. They always in touch and developers hear and produces what the communities ask in their bi-annual expansion. So you will play a game made by the feedback of other players that always looks for a way to improve the experience.

    Give it a try and see if it suitable for you. Of course it is not for everyone.
    Expand
  34. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    The one and only MMORPG game what i can play more than 1 hour.
    I played much MMORPG's, from World of warcraft to blade and soul, everything is peace of **** without soul, i can't play the game with PRESS YOUR SKILL ROTATIONS instead of gameplay.
  35. May 24, 2014
    9
    Hard to learn-easy to master

    Like I said. The first few hours of this game where a living hell. Tutorials didn't help. Controls made no sense. A dick community didn't help, either. But then I got used to it. I found a few people that helped me through the starting hours. I adjusted myself to the controls. Then it was great. Granted, this isn't much more than a standard MMO, but this
    Hard to learn-easy to master

    Like I said. The first few hours of this game where a living hell. Tutorials didn't help. Controls made no sense. A dick community didn't help, either. But then I got used to it. I found a few people that helped me through the starting hours. I adjusted myself to the controls. Then it was great. Granted, this isn't much more than a standard MMO, but this time, it has space-ships. The game takes place entirely in the cockpit of a ship. You grind to get better parts, and a better ship. Simple as that. Granted, this is a very specific MMO, aimed at a specific audience. Its for people that will spent hours on end figuring it out. Once you get it, its fun. Your ship becomes a god, your raking in money, and who knows, you can even do some of that corporate sabotage.
    Expand
  36. May 12, 2014
    10
    This game has had me hooked for a year so far. There is so much to do. The player to player interaction keeps you on your toes constantly even in the safest parts of the game. I'm absolubtly hooked to this game.
  37. Jun 30, 2015
    10
    The so-called defaults of this game are it's best features and game concepts. It's hard to learn in Eve? Because there is so much to learn. You can't learn everything on your own? Because you're not supposed to: it's a social game, you can't learn everything there is to know by yourself, contact people, speak to them, learn from them, analyse the spaceship that killed you in the killThe so-called defaults of this game are it's best features and game concepts. It's hard to learn in Eve? Because there is so much to learn. You can't learn everything on your own? Because you're not supposed to: it's a social game, you can't learn everything there is to know by yourself, contact people, speak to them, learn from them, analyse the spaceship that killed you in the kill report to improve your own ship, find a mentor... If you have difficulties to do so, Eve is the oldest MMO online, so there really is a lot of content outside, to help players, dozens of very good websites to provide you information.

    It takes few weeks to find your own path in Eve, to choose a career. This will be your newbie time. But don't trust the people explaining you need month to be efficient. You want to be a pirate? There is PvP corporations recruiting whoever can fit a warp disruptor on their ship: they will train you even if you are a two-days newbie struggling with the tutorials. They know new pilots are a ressource, and they better have to treat you well and to train you properly if they want you to fight with them.

    Eve is hard, Eve seems unfriendly for the people who want everything immediatly. But Eve has the best community you could find: players ready to help the new ones, school-corporations, hundreds of new-pilots friendly corps. It worth a try.
    Expand
  38. Jun 25, 2016
    1
    I have discovered where all the psychopaths go to play. While there are a lot of good people playing Eve, there are also quite a few people (if you can call them people) that need Eve to make them feel powerful. I doubt any of them could get a F-16 off the ground and by their own standards, that makes them morons. You know the kind.

    Now... If you have money...
  39. May 22, 2013
    0
    EVE is a truly unique MMO experience. It's slower paced (most of the time, there are still ridiculous adrenaline rushes) than all of the other major MMOs out there, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. For example, character skill training is a continuous process happening whether you're online or not, which takes out the repetitive grinding for XP (or similar) most of these gamesEVE is a truly unique MMO experience. It's slower paced (most of the time, there are still ridiculous adrenaline rushes) than all of the other major MMOs out there, but this isn't necessarily a bad thing. For example, character skill training is a continuous process happening whether you're online or not, which takes out the repetitive grinding for XP (or similar) most of these games have.
    The game also has a steep learning curve, which while frustrating does weed out the 10 year old American kids with rich but ignorant parents. Once you've got over the initial hurdle, you get a chance at probably the largest, most in depth MMOs going, with a sandbox system that really does have almost unlimited potential. Want to spend your time mining? Feel free, and depending on where you go you're probably going to have to fight (realistically run away from) other players shooting you just for the hell of it. Piracy is potentially lucrative, ensnaring and ransoming other players. Or if you're more into the MetaGaming side of things get involved in the massive alliances and engage in somewhat questionable out of game activities.

    Eve is an MMO for the thinkers, not for the point and shoot OMG EXPLOSIONS!!!!!11!eleven enthusiasts. Try it.
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. EVE Online retains its old shortcomings (Not being able to leave your ship ord control it directly.), but certainly offers a lot of content for a small amount of your money.
  2. Despite some partially unfinished features and a few annoying balance issues, EVE Online is greater than the sum of its parts and the best "sandbox" MMO in a market cluttered by canned content. Still a bit harsh to newbies, but with the release of Apocrypha more accessible than ever before. If you can get over the initial hurdles, potentially more addictive than World of Warcraft - you have been warned.
  3. EVE Online: Apocrypha brings more territory to discover and explore and a softer learning curve.