EVE Online PC

EVE Online Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The spectacular space combat, commerce, and exploration game, whose breathtaking graphics, special effects, and intricate gameplay provide an experience unlike any other. Played on the Internet, this massively multiplayer online persistent world game takes place in a universe teeming withThe spectacular space combat, commerce, and exploration game, whose breathtaking graphics, special effects, and intricate gameplay provide an experience unlike any other. Played on the Internet, this massively multiplayer online persistent world game takes place in a universe teeming with life every hour of every day. Take on the role of a spaceship captain cruising around the universe, trading, fighting and communicating with other players and create a life beyond imagination. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. A robust tutorial. Classless character builds. Overwhelmingly open-ended gameplay. Ship designs you’ll need to wear a bib for. And a breed of PvP that’ll make adrenaline junkies sign up for rehab. Sci-fi worshipers: This is your Mecca.
  2. You could play this game for years before you really started to feel like you might have seen everything it had to offer. If you can just get past the rough beginning, the difficulty, and the steep learning curve, Eve Online is the biggest game you could possibly hope to play.
  3. Despite its flaws though, EVE is deeply, deeply addictive.
  4. You must have patience and be excited about non-structured gameplay in order for it to be worth the price of admission. Action hungry thrill-mongers will do themselves a favor by steering clear of this one.
  5. EVE offers little in the way of instant gratification, and progress in the game is slow and often unnoticeable.
  6. Computer Gaming World
    40
    This stunning mood is crushed by an interface that has all the charm and convenience of a TPS report. [Sept 2003, p.95]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 113
  2. Negative: 39 out of 113
  1. Mats
    May 29, 2003
    10
    Love it love it love it love it.
  2. SprigegA.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    Best friggin game ever made.
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best "game" in the world. As ever, a reader should discard any review of a multiplayer game where the reviewer has failed to play the game with other people. Lo and behold, most of the negative reviews on this game are from people who start out saying "I spent a day figuring this game out" or "I couldn't get into it" or "who plays this piece of crap" or "I like the character creator herpderp". If you aren't willing to take the time to play a multiplayer game with multiple players, you've never played it. That's rule number zero. Rule number one is increasing reward for increased risk. With EVE, this is true ingame and out. Risk more time and more resources, put yourself out there and meet new people and you may well be rewarded with endless fun and the best gaming experience there is -- or your name might be googlebombed if you try to become an internet celebrity like The Mittani did. Risk your ship and your ISK and you might make it big, or you might get ganked on the way there. The trick is managing those risks. Rule number two: EVE can be modelled as one big series of prisoner's dilemmas. Is the chatty guy in local out to get you? At what point should you grab the loot accrued with your newfound friend and run? Are the people around you whom you have chosen to risk trusting going to take everything from you tomorrow, or while you sleep?

    Rule number three: specialize. Yes, there are people smarter than you who have been playing this game for almost a decade. Yes, you may never catch up to them. But skills work such that no one character has them all, and this is unlikely ever to happen as CCP grows the game. If you choose a niche or playstyle (do your research) and if you apply the resources to hand intelligently, and better yet if you team up with people you can trust, nothing can stand in your way. A corollary of this is specialist knowledge: don't hand out the tricks of your trade for free, or you won't be able to charge as much for them. And so, I leave the rest of the rules for you to discover. Here's a rubik's cube. Go **** yourself.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    They have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course theThey have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course the game controls were mouse based but that has changed too, now they habe key bindings and usual mmo stuff so you can actually play it by using mouse+kb, the sandbox concept in which economy is completely run by players (they mine, craft, farm and do all related stuff) plus the politics, alliances, pirates, and so on is what makes this game stand out from the rest, and now you can even have your very own 3d avatar created by an top notch character creator. You definitely have to give this game a try, if you find it diffcult to learn is because is like nothing you have played so far, but that is not bad, just ask your questions on chat, grab a corporation and learn the ways of the game, it really worth it. Expand
  5. JoeT.
    May 26, 2003
    6
    Very good, but still quite buggy.
  6. Feb 14, 2014
    3
    "Players looking for repetitive gaming won't like EVE, whereas those with creative thinking will" says one of the trailers for EVE. "Oh God","Players looking for repetitive gaming won't like EVE, whereas those with creative thinking will" says one of the trailers for EVE. "Oh God", thought I. "Finally something different. Totally disgusted with WoW kind of games". After a bit of youtube watching I decided to try out this beautiful looking, breathtaking and very brain-promising space simulation ready to buy subscription.
    ------
    After installation which also runs on MAC, I proceeded to character creation. "Very detailed, very easy to use" thought I with joy, taking care and time to perfection my in game myself. I can even get scarfs, even change lighting. What a beginning.
    ------
    I read with interest information about the in game factions and carefully chose my bloodline. Ready.
    ------
    "I wish you see this. I am in a vast, huge futuristic station. It's far bigger anything you've ever seen. Tutorial asks me to undock. Click. Now, I am actually flying in the space! I can zoom out and in totally, looking in every detail of my little ship. Or is it capsule? It's like an egg. Let me think why would it be shaped that way. Aerodynamics. Look at all these buttons around. I am sure all mean something and I am sure everything is there for a reason. Oh wait. I am flying.. ou, just straight towards a huge planet. It must be it's gravity pulling me down. Oh no, no.. how do I stop it? Oh... well.... I just flew trough planet."
    ------
    My simulation expecations were shattered. My hopes for learning about science were shattered. My illusions for exploring and knowing the Universe were shattered.
    ------
    Being let down, kept playing. My impression is going to improve. I learn a bits from tutorial. About ship equipment, wait, it reminds me a little bit of Wow gear or all other games, no, just coinsidance. About combat - you actually lock target and then press buttons and shoot shoot shoot shoot shoot. No, only coinsidance this game is about much more than that. It's not like the others. This game is made out of real players. Not any Npcs. Does it say agent? What does it do when I accept this mission? Oh. I have to fly somewhere, kill something and bring something back. No.. it's... did I use word coinsidance?
    ------
    Ehm... I do like 25th tutorial missions. I kind of stopped reading it. Only clicking accept, then wrap to (it's flying around 5 light years in a second) then take or kill and then come back, then complete mission. No, surely NPC is not going to tell me how amazing I am whatsoever, or that I did something noone has done before.
    ------
    Well.. it's like my 30hour of gameplay maybe and I... I feel like quitting. Or should I play another 1000 hours (people in Eve spent even 10.000 hours of pure gameplay) just to earn trillion or gear up or kill another player? Oh right, the original system such as this has its cost. You know, let me evaluate. In there, you have gun level 1. When you want gun level 2, you need money. To earn money you besically need to study a book. Wide one. When you get your gun level 2, you can kill player with gun level 1. Target him and ratatatatatatata shoot shoot shoot. And he actually detonates. I am not kidding.
    ------
    Today, right decision was made. Low security part of the Universe, that was my brave destination. With warm and eager heart I set my autopilot and watched all these wallpapers on the screen that look like stars and planets. I might put one on my desktop. Finally arriving. Ratatatatatatatata bum. I am webbed I cannot escape. I scream out for my life for the pirates to let me be. They do not listen. They charge. After amazing and memorable 2seconds fight I explode. Still in my capsule. Bum bum bum, my capsule explodes and with last swearing I end up my final breath, my body falls upon indifferentness of the Universe. This is the end.
    ------
    All of a sudden, i wake up in new, identical body. With all money, maybe even all skills having all ships I had in the dock. End of my story. Epic story. I heard EVE are submitting user stories? Will you help me to send them this one?
    Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2015
    0
    Rogue moderation. Will ban you for no reason or if you differ in opinion with staff. This company is founded in another country so they followRogue moderation. Will ban you for no reason or if you differ in opinion with staff. This company is founded in another country so they follow a different set of rules. Also unethical gameplay within game with no cap on how far someone can go. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews