EVE Online PC

EVE Online Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 275 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The spectacular space combat, commerce, and exploration game, whose breathtaking graphics, special effects, and intricate gameplay provide an experience unlike any other. Played on the Internet, this massively multiplayer online persistent world game takes place in a universe teeming withThe spectacular space combat, commerce, and exploration game, whose breathtaking graphics, special effects, and intricate gameplay provide an experience unlike any other. Played on the Internet, this massively multiplayer online persistent world game takes place in a universe teeming with life every hour of every day. Take on the role of a spaceship captain cruising around the universe, trading, fighting and communicating with other players and create a life beyond imagination. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. A robust tutorial. Classless character builds. Overwhelmingly open-ended gameplay. Ship designs you’ll need to wear a bib for. And a breed of PvP that’ll make adrenaline junkies sign up for rehab. Sci-fi worshipers: This is your Mecca.
  2. You could play this game for years before you really started to feel like you might have seen everything it had to offer. If you can just get past the rough beginning, the difficulty, and the steep learning curve, Eve Online is the biggest game you could possibly hope to play.
  3. Despite its flaws though, EVE is deeply, deeply addictive.
  4. You must have patience and be excited about non-structured gameplay in order for it to be worth the price of admission. Action hungry thrill-mongers will do themselves a favor by steering clear of this one.
  5. EVE offers little in the way of instant gratification, and progress in the game is slow and often unnoticeable.
  6. Computer Gaming World
    40
    This stunning mood is crushed by an interface that has all the charm and convenience of a TPS report. [Sept 2003, p.95]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 116
  2. Negative: 40 out of 116
  1. SdifudS.
    May 29, 2003
    10
    Great Game.
  2. SprigegA.
    May 12, 2003
    10
    Best friggin game ever made.
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best "game" in the world. As ever, a reader should discard any review of a multiplayer game where the reviewer has failed to play the game with other people. Lo and behold, most of the negative reviews on this game are from people who start out saying "I spent a day figuring this game out" or "I couldn't get into it" or "who plays this piece of crap" or "I like the character creator herpderp". If you aren't willing to take the time to play a multiplayer game with multiple players, you've never played it. That's rule number zero. Rule number one is increasing reward for increased risk. With EVE, this is true ingame and out. Risk more time and more resources, put yourself out there and meet new people and you may well be rewarded with endless fun and the best gaming experience there is -- or your name might be googlebombed if you try to become an internet celebrity like The Mittani did. Risk your ship and your ISK and you might make it big, or you might get ganked on the way there. The trick is managing those risks. Rule number two: EVE can be modelled as one big series of prisoner's dilemmas. Is the chatty guy in local out to get you? At what point should you grab the loot accrued with your newfound friend and run? Are the people around you whom you have chosen to risk trusting going to take everything from you tomorrow, or while you sleep?

    Rule number three: specialize. Yes, there are people smarter than you who have been playing this game for almost a decade. Yes, you may never catch up to them. But skills work such that no one character has them all, and this is unlikely ever to happen as CCP grows the game. If you choose a niche or playstyle (do your research) and if you apply the resources to hand intelligently, and better yet if you team up with people you can trust, nothing can stand in your way. A corollary of this is specialist knowledge: don't hand out the tricks of your trade for free, or you won't be able to charge as much for them. And so, I leave the rest of the rules for you to discover. Here's a rubik's cube. Go **** yourself.
    Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    They have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course theThey have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course the game controls were mouse based but that has changed too, now they habe key bindings and usual mmo stuff so you can actually play it by using mouse+kb, the sandbox concept in which economy is completely run by players (they mine, craft, farm and do all related stuff) plus the politics, alliances, pirates, and so on is what makes this game stand out from the rest, and now you can even have your very own 3d avatar created by an top notch character creator. You definitely have to give this game a try, if you find it diffcult to learn is because is like nothing you have played so far, but that is not bad, just ask your questions on chat, grab a corporation and learn the ways of the game, it really worth it. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    6
    I have played EVE off and on since it came out 8 years ago, about 5-6 months total. Just recently logged in again to see the changes.

    THE
    I have played EVE off and on since it came out 8 years ago, about 5-6 months total. Just recently logged in again to see the changes.

    THE GOOD: excellent dev support - constant high quality updates. Massive universe, 5,000+ star systems, well modeled planet / moon systems. Immersive gameworld - lots to discover. Interesting game mechanics. Complex interactions between ship systems means lots of quality OCD time for detail-oriented strategy gamers. Combat is an intricate dance of range, speed and damage types vs. defense types. Game rewards planning and quick thinking.

    The experience of being a new player in EVE is akin to being in in a Firefly class ship in the Star Wars universe, although instead of two sides there are hundreds. You can live a desperate life on the raggedy edge of space or join a corporation as low scout on the totem pole. Both roles are fun for awhile but you will spend most of your time in either case trying not to get destroyed. Run, Forrest, run!

    THE BAD: You will never be awesome. Skills train in real time - unless you can time travel back to 2004 you will always suck. A skilled player with several years of skill-time can blow your battleship to flinders using his escape pod. It's like fighting vampires.

    Unrealistic physics model. No Newtonian movement system. Cut power and you coast to a stop. No gravity. No science in the fiction - Okay, so call it science-fantasy instead - but it lacks appeal there as well. Ships flip around on their central point instead of using maneuver jets or making graceful Star Trek turns. Battleships should not flip around like frigates. Combat ranges reduce everything to blips - you can't see your enemy - not interesting.

    Unappealing ship models. Badly designed. Asymmetrical in a bad, ugly way. No freedom of design - only fittings (and there are usually only a few ways to fit a given ship properly) - confusing ship names instead of classes. (Quick! What's a Rapier class? A Tengu? A Prophecy? What's attacking you? Too late, you're dead).

    CONCLUSION: If you are a fan of the epic space opera genre and a hardcore strategy game fan you owe it to yourself to play EVE for a couple of months. It is worth the money. It is also a tantalizing look at things to come. Someday there is going to be a game on this scale (or larger) with much better game mechanics.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2015
    3
    After playing the 14-day trial, here's why I don't think you should subscribe:

    First, PvE combat is simple and repetitive. Just stay at the
    After playing the 14-day trial, here's why I don't think you should subscribe:

    First, PvE combat is simple and repetitive. Just stay at the optimal range of your weapons and pick off enemies as they follow you in a straight line. The scenarios I played had no real variation in NPC placement or tactics, and a player frigate is more than a match for even an NPC battlecruiser. The game assigned me the same missions multiple times, although I hardly noticed given that missions were so indistinguishable.

    But let's talk about PvP, which everyone says is EVE's strong suit. Unfortunately, a large part of PvP is equally repetitive. Apart from large-scale corporation warfare, most kills are scored by campers who set up near the gates between star systems and kill incoming ships before they can react. EVE veterans will tell you this game mechanic helps make the game harsh and unforgiving, and they're right. It just doesn't make it challenging.

    Let's assume you slip past the gate camps and find some players to fight. For PvP, there are some deep game mechanics in which skills to train first and which equipment to buy. Unfortunately these choices are all trumped by quantity. If your opponent has brought more of his friends, has spent more in-game money on his ship, or has accrued more skill points purely by playing the game longer than you have, then it doesn't really matter whether you fit your ship with Anode Light Electron Particle Cannon I or 125mm Carbide Railgun I, does it?

    This means that a typical PvP encounter will be either easy or impossible. For example, Easy: You (and possibly your buddies) ambush an asteroid miner, who may even not even be actively playing. Impossible: You and your buddies are attacked by a pirate gang with large ships and years worth of skill points.

    You can take steps to get more of the easy encounters and fewer of the impossible ones. Scanning probes, cloaking, and warp travel introduce elements of stealth and speed. These can be entertaining (and very suspenseful!). They also makes it easier for you or your enemies to slip away, further reducing the chance of a real fight.

    Long-time players say that unless you have lots of skill points (and lots of real-world skill as a gamer), you will lose money on PvP. To get that money back you'll need to mine asteroids (basically sit AFK), hauling goods (again sit AFK), or run repetitive PvE missions (you can probably go AFK for some of those too). There are plenty of games out there that provide more challenging PvP combat without any need for PvE grinding.

    EVE is a huge community and obviously I can only review the part of the game I played. You might have a great time in a huge null-sec alliance participating in fleet battles. But I've seen the YouTube videos of these battles, and I don't believe they're worth months of grinding and real money payments.
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    Welcome to I have no life and need to make other people's lives a living hell to fell good about myself simulator.

    My friend gave me a
    Welcome to I have no life and need to make other people's lives a living hell to fell good about myself simulator.

    My friend gave me a trial for this game and I have to say in my 20 years of gaming it's the most boring, unrewarding experience I ever had.

    I really did try to like the game but they expect you to be bored out of your mind for months on end just for brief moments of satisfaction.

    If you're someone with no life who will invest all of their free time for months on end grinding to impress random people online then this is the game for you. If you'd actually like to enjoy your time spend "gaming" go look elsewhere.

    I'd also like to add the community is the most toxic group of trolls you will ever come across.
    Expand

See all 116 User Reviews