Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. There’s always something new to discover!
  2. I felt a fantastic feeling of adventure that I hadn’t experienced since the first EverQuest. It was all propelled by the sense of interaction and community that only a MMORPG can offer up.
  3. EQ II is immersive, and certainly challenging as well as entertaining. For a strictly PvE game, EQ II is a tasty entry in the MMO genre.
  4. Crack has been refined and made anew with EverQuest II. It’s an addicting game as well as being very deep. It probably won’t be for the casual gamer, but anybody that enjoyed EQ will pick this up, and find the game more enjoyable then the original.
  5. 91
    SOE has managed to bring back the addiction. I don't know if I should thank them or curse them for that. I do know one thing for sure, though: Everquest II is the best MMORPG currently available on the market.
  6. The game is by no means perfect, but it's a wonderful evolving experience that it's a pleasure to be part of.
  7. With voiceovers and the ability to team up with other characters there is more of a sense of community than ever before.
  8. Has less instant fun than "World of Warcraft," but there is a stronger sense of accomplishment.
  9. With frequent updates, it is obvious that they are trying to get this title as far to the front of the pack as possible. Only time will tell just how “massive” this MMORPG game will become.
  10. The least flawed of all the MMORPGs presently out.
  11. A modernised sequel to the MMORPG classic. The basic idea is pretty much the same, but the new class system is good and the game looks awesome. Content is rather fluffy, although it is easy to get into and a lot of fun to play. [Feb 05]
  12. It might be too friendly for old-school, hardcore EQ players to make the jump, but for gamers looking for a classic fantasy MMO, EverQuest II should fit the bill very nicely. [Feb 2005, p.72]
  13. A brilliantly reworked world with technology to die for. [March 2005, p.66]
  14. To put it simply: if you are a fan of the MMO genre, you absolutely must try this game. It sucks you in from the first click and doesn't let go. Graphics, sound, and gameplay are all here and representing the best there is to offer in the MMO pride.
  15. You can spin superlatives about the sound effects in Everquest 2 but nothing could justify the sheer amount of work that has obviously gone into making this game an audio delight.
  16. As a game Everquest II improves on many aspects of the original, boasting some of the most detailed graphics in any game to date, a feature rich community toolset, a very well thought out crafting system, meaningful character choices, highly interactive combat and a lot more besides.
  17. Takes the addicting gameplay pioneered by EverQuest and makes it more streamlined, accessible, and more enjoyable than before.
  18. 85
    There's no doubt that EverQuest 2 is the most refined expression of the model that the first game sparked. The beauty of the visuals and the variety of quests are definitely the high points for the game, but you shouldn't discount the game's presentation either.
  19. If you have the time, EverQuest II is, in my opinion, the best group-orientated MMORPG on the market. Its one major drawback being that it still requires a serious commitment of time to experience the game the way it was intended. [Feb 2005, p.85]
  20. It is evident that the five years of development were well spent, and you can see that EverQuest II was, is, and will likely continue to be a labor of love. If you want a satisfying, intriguing title full with potential, look no further.
  21. 84
    EverQuest II does not make a profound mark on MMORPG titles that its predecessor did. However, this doesn't mean it's by any means a bad MMORPG; it's just not innovative.
  22. It's not as revolutionary as the original, but is addictive and fun. There always seems to be a goal that's “just out of your reach” that kept me interested in playing.
  23. Challenging games are becoming an endangered species in the MMORG genre; several of the latest releases seem to cater to the lowest common denominator of the gaming community. EverQuest II reverses that trend.
  24. Just don’t expect to see too much in the way of innovation or earth-shattering new ideas being brought to the table and you won’t be disappointed.
  25. By design, you’d expect any MMORPG to offer you a wealth of layers to delve through during the days, weeks and months that you exist within it; even by these standards, though, Everquest II’s scope is almost beyond compare. [Jan 2005, p.98]
  26. The only thing missing from it is a larger player base and it’s going to take a lot of work to get diehard World of Warcraft players to give this a shot.
  27. A brilliantly crafted work art in almost every respect. It just never became fun for me. It always seemed like I was supposed to be working for something, but I never figured out what that this was.
  28. 80
    Even as it stands now, EverQuest II is extremely fun to play, frequently rewarding, and designed with just the right amount of user convenience in mind.
  29. There are off-line games equally or even more spectacular in immediate scenery or character models, but what game can offer such outrageous landscapes on such a grandiose scale? It's not just the sheer footslogging size of it, but the way the environment is realised to enhance this impression of immense vista and truly epic proportions.
  30. EQII beats any other MMO at release; the developers have learnt a lot from its competitors and there's a full game here, ready to play and have fun with. [Christmas 2004, p.116]
  31. The environments are beautiful, sound is quality, and community is strongly encouraged. You do not have to be running this game all the time to be enjoying it.
  32. While EverQuest II may not be the revolutionary title that the original was it does take steps in the right direction despite not offering anything that hasn’t already been done in other titles.
  33. 80
    EverQuest II a metric crapload of game, to be sure-complex, huge, versatile, and lots of fun with friends, but slow-paced and visually schizophrenic. When Norrath calls, you'd better be prepared to give a very long answer.
  34. All of these details get wound into a very straightforward game world that is absolutely packed with quests and other things to do. In most MMOs, characters spend their first 10 or 20 levels looking for enough things to do to earn better powers and weapons. Here, a ceaseless barrage of possible tasks begins with the orientation area (on the Isle of Refuge) and continues deep into the game.
  35. 80
    An undeniably polished game. It will offer you months and months of new things to do and experience.
  36. So while EverQuest II isn't the massive step for the genre that its predecessor was, it can still be a fun and addictive online role-playing experience that has a lot to offer new and experienced players alike.
  37. A solid game that does everything at least mostly right, but almost everything seems a little duller and more tedious than you'd expect from a next-generation MMORPG. [Feb 2005, p.76]
  38. Faithful to such profiling, the EverQuest universe does not stray from the tried-and-true formulas. EQ2, from conception to execution, was never able to think outside of the box.
  39. 75
    It's everything its predecessor was, only with better presentation, incredible graphics, and a lot of the simple, necessary improvements that have become standard since the days of the original EQ. On the other hand, players who never cared for the first game will find that the core gameplay has changed very little.
  40. Some dull environments and lame voice over, as well as steep hardware requirements, might chase you away to... whiter pastures. [Jan 2005, p.76]
  41. It takes place in a gigantic world with loads of great content, and the seemingly endless number of small quests means that if you only have a half-hour to play, you can actually get something done. However, Everquest II isn’t terribly intuitive or noob-friendly when you’re just starting out.
  42. Sure, EQ II has its share of great quests, including one that requires helping a crew to rebuild a ship that you then sail on, defending it against bad guys. But the run-of-the-mill quests never had that crackle of humor or drama that "World of Warcraft" captured so well.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. LuckbadthePirate
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    By far the best MMO out at the moment. It has everything any player who is a fan of the standard MMORPG model could want, whether you're a PvE or PvP player. EverQuest II updates more often than any other game out there for free, and has had more content in the form of expansions and adventure packs than any of the competition.

    If you are into online gaming and haven't tried this game out, do so. You can try it out for free at trialoftheisle.com.
    Full Review »
  2. BlakeT.
    Nov 11, 2004
    6
    I've been waiting for this game for years. I'm a big MMO player and have played COH, FFXI, SWG, AC2, and EQ. First, lets give them credit for the great things in this game. The music is amazing! The NPC voice acting is wonderful. And, some of the graphics are wonderful to view. The problems? Over-thought interface. Inconsistent graphics - some parts are beautiful and some are just so-so. Server/connection setup is too complicated and doesn't allow for any movement between servers. Fighting, like the original, is pretty boring in solo mode. Click and watch the attack play out. Spells and feats are pre-decided - not a lot of movement here either. Stick with COH and wait for WOW to come out. Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2013
    4
    I would like to start off with something totally positive. Compared to a s**t tone of other MMO/MMORPG currently on the market, Everquest II has an impressive selection of races. I played dozens of MMOs before and NEVER before were I able to control a half-dragon, rat or pixie. The selection of classes is equally good. We have 4 basic archetypes fighter, mage, priest and scout. However, each of them covers a whooping 6 classes. Another thing that really helped me to immerse into the game was the idea of character alignments (something like D&D, but only with the basic good, evil, neutral). The graphics, though outdated, look pretty much OK. However, on first glance that's it...

    The combat system is terribly outdated. It's a real shame how many games have to torment players with the 'click to attack' system. Addition of WSAD does add to maneuverability, true, but doesn't help much in the long run. Animations are extremely bad. I frequently found myself attacking a monster, dealing damage yet not really waving with my wand/rod/sword/hand. That hurt especially when playing monk. I really wanted to immerse into EQ2 as a Kerra monk, ferocious and wild. The problem was I just couldn't with all that irregular waving! Skill animations probably suck the most Unfortunately, the interface and written text seems unappealing as well. I hate when the text in-game is plain and/or is written in those default Word fonts, like Arial or Times New Roman. I've seen it in only 1 game before and hated it with passion, too ;P.

    The last thing I completely fail to understand is why the same company offers two games that are almost identical Everquest II and Vanguard? I tried Vanguard and then Everquest II, and later I suddenly realized the games are exactly the same thing graphic-wise and race/class-wise. Sure, there are some difference, but the first impression is rather discouraging...

    All in all, I'll give the game a 4/10. It is rather old, outdated and rough in overall. However, it gave me the feel that there actually are MMO games that have a lore you can really touch, and which aren't so ridiculously generic :P. Also, if you enjoyed WoW, Everquest II might be an interesting choice anyway.
    Full Review »