EverQuest II PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 79
  2. Negative: 13 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BlakeT.
    Nov 11, 2004
    6
    I've been waiting for this game for years. I'm a big MMO player and have played COH, FFXI, SWG, AC2, and EQ. First, lets give them credit for the great things in this game. The music is amazing! The NPC voice acting is wonderful. And, some of the graphics are wonderful to view. The problems? Over-thought interface. Inconsistent graphics - some parts are beautiful and some are I've been waiting for this game for years. I'm a big MMO player and have played COH, FFXI, SWG, AC2, and EQ. First, lets give them credit for the great things in this game. The music is amazing! The NPC voice acting is wonderful. And, some of the graphics are wonderful to view. The problems? Over-thought interface. Inconsistent graphics - some parts are beautiful and some are just so-so. Server/connection setup is too complicated and doesn't allow for any movement between servers. Fighting, like the original, is pretty boring in solo mode. Click and watch the attack play out. Spells and feats are pre-decided - not a lot of movement here either. Stick with COH and wait for WOW to come out. Expand
  2. RilusZ.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    The graphics, in general, are nice, but the characters and monsters look too fake; like they're made of plastic. The environments in general are also very sterile and the classes and subclasses seem to almost be carbon copies of each other. Not recommened, yet. There's other games in the horizon already much more polished than Everquest 2.
  3. SaschaP.
    Nov 16, 2004
    6
    The graphics are up to date, but otherwise the game has some serious flaws and is just less fun than the competition.
  4. J
    May 9, 2005
    5
    I was never really an Everquest fan, and I probably will never be at this rate. The game was a re-graphic, redesign of the original everquest, just with online fees. Online fees brings my rating down a point, only because it takes a hack in my part-time paycheck. Gameplay was ok, skills were nicely balanced but I would reccomend switchiong to Guild Wars, or maybe even World of Warcraft, I was never really an Everquest fan, and I probably will never be at this rate. The game was a re-graphic, redesign of the original everquest, just with online fees. Online fees brings my rating down a point, only because it takes a hack in my part-time paycheck. Gameplay was ok, skills were nicely balanced but I would reccomend switchiong to Guild Wars, or maybe even World of Warcraft, unless you played warcraft 3, then youd be dissapointed. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    Graphics was good 8 years ago, but sometimes i has fps laggs. I don't like the sound, simetimes crappy. There are a lots of quests, i heard about 5000-6000 number of quests. EQ2 realased 2-3weeks before WoW, and some things worse than the WoW. I don't really like, that some places have invisible walls and when you go to an another shire, always have a loading screen and this broken theGraphics was good 8 years ago, but sometimes i has fps laggs. I don't like the sound, simetimes crappy. There are a lots of quests, i heard about 5000-6000 number of quests. EQ2 realased 2-3weeks before WoW, and some things worse than the WoW. I don't really like, that some places have invisible walls and when you go to an another shire, always have a loading screen and this broken the continuous game. Started with an Inquisitor. All spells what i used has a cooldown time 10sec to some minutes, and when all my spells has cooldown, i must waiting some time. Not really have lots of players in low levels and i'm feels along self. Free to Play you can try for free. All times when you stop the game, it opens a new tab internet browser with premium contents. So, it was a good game 7-8 years ago, but now have better Free to Play games. Expand
  6. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    6
    Based on the original Everquest 1, with much better graphics, EQ 2 was supposed to lead the MMOs like its predecessor. But then WoW came out. EQ2 originally tried to keep up the legacy of non solo able content of EQ1 (even worse) you had to get a group (real hard) to do anything really. WoW had tons of solo content and PvP. So WoW became the new king of MMOs and still is. Things changedBased on the original Everquest 1, with much better graphics, EQ 2 was supposed to lead the MMOs like its predecessor. But then WoW came out. EQ2 originally tried to keep up the legacy of non solo able content of EQ1 (even worse) you had to get a group (real hard) to do anything really. WoW had tons of solo content and PvP. So WoW became the new king of MMOs and still is. Things changed later for EQ2 but it was too late. Still, its a huge game, with tons of quests and nice community. Its graphics haven't aged well though. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. So while EverQuest II isn't the massive step for the genre that its predecessor was, it can still be a fun and addictive online role-playing experience that has a lot to offer new and experienced players alike.
  2. All of these details get wound into a very straightforward game world that is absolutely packed with quests and other things to do. In most MMOs, characters spend their first 10 or 20 levels looking for enough things to do to earn better powers and weapons. Here, a ceaseless barrage of possible tasks begins with the orientation area (on the Isle of Refuge) and continues deep into the game.
  3. Challenging games are becoming an endangered species in the MMORG genre; several of the latest releases seem to cater to the lowest common denominator of the gaming community. EverQuest II reverses that trend.