Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare to enter an enormous virtual environment-an entire world with its own diverse species, economic systems, alliances, and politics. Choose from a variety of races and classes, customize your character, and begin your quest in any number of cities of villages throughout multiplePrepare to enter an enormous virtual environment-an entire world with its own diverse species, economic systems, alliances, and politics. Choose from a variety of races and classes, customize your character, and begin your quest in any number of cities of villages throughout multiple continents. Equip yourself for adventure, seek allies and knowledge, and experience a rich world of dungeons, towers, crypts, evil abbeys-anything is possible-even planes and realities beyond your imagination. Meet new friends from around the world to face epic challenges. Make yourself a noble human knight, a vicious dark elf thief, a greedy dwarven merchant, or whatever suits your desire. [Sony Online Entertainment] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The bar for online gaming has not so much been raised as obliterated. For once, a game lives up to its expectations.
  2. A game which reaches out of the box, grabs you by the throat, and won't let go. The game has consumed endless hours of my time, and the world of Norrath has visited my dreams more than Tyra Banks.
  3. Everquest has an extremely long replay value simply because there is so much to explore and so many classes to play. So what the hell are you waiting for?
  4. EverQuest strikes me as a great idea well executed. I found myself irrevocably attached to my character and, once I gained enough power, thoroughly enjoyed helping others advance themselves.
  5. Give Verant a little while to iron out a few problems, and EverQuest will be everything you could want in an online RPG. [June 1999, p.122]
  6. The game world is huge and the developers have done a wonderful job of making each area in the game very unique. I am constantly looking forward to visiting a new zone and discovering new adventures.
  7. Perhaps the biggest complaint about EQ over UO is the utter lack of an interesting dynamic economy and the structures UO allowed you to build before they ran out of room.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. CarlC.
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Great end game content. Great deal, for 30 bucks you get the original + first 12 expansion packs. Devs make a new expansion every 7-8 months. Great end game content. Great deal, for 30 bucks you get the original + first 12 expansion packs. Devs make a new expansion every 7-8 months. Massive World. PvP isn't good tho. Collapse
  2. MikeS.
    Feb 27, 2003
    10
    OMG this game rocks!!!! Best mmorpg I've seen yet.
  3. XidariaP.
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Now listen to me... you will buy this highly addictive game... you will spend endless hours of enjoyment... you will eat, sleep, & breatheNow listen to me... you will buy this highly addictive game... you will spend endless hours of enjoyment... you will eat, sleep, & breathe Everquest ! -Xidaria Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Came back recently after a 10 year hiatus. I am loving it!
    The game has improved immensely. It's more user friendly than it used to be, but
    Came back recently after a 10 year hiatus. I am loving it!
    The game has improved immensely. It's more user friendly than it used to be, but not "easy mode" like most newer MMORPGs. I think it's a good balance between challenge and reward.
    It also has a TON of free content (18 of 20 expansions are included in F2P).
    I highly recommend checking it out either if you used to play or are bored with modern MMOs.
    Make sure to play the Tutorial, as it explains the game very well.
    Expand
  5. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    8
    A great game at its time, also there were too few of them then It defined the MMOs for the time to come, yes even WoW, i know WoW fans mayA great game at its time, also there were too few of them then It defined the MMOs for the time to come, yes even WoW, i know WoW fans may find it hard to believe it. Now some of its legacies were good, some not, still that was the Original!! In many aspects i haven't seen a better MMO like classes with role defining abilities, immersing world (even day/night had a major impact) etc. Still its lack of soloability, and the raid oriented content of later expansions left it with a relatively few dedicated players in major guilds and the rest moved to EQ2 or WoW mostly. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    6
    I was there during beta and I left for 8 years later on and returned some 8 months ago. Yes it has aged a lot but it has such a huge body ofI was there during beta and I left for 8 years later on and returned some 8 months ago. Yes it has aged a lot but it has such a huge body of content and depth of story that it is definitely worth a look.

    The biggest issue with Everquest is that Sony Online Entertainment have it. This is a company that treat gaming customers with utter contempt and let's be honest, do you trust these guys with your personal data?

    Everquest will run on anything, has huge depth and a much more mature user base than many MMO. You can play it your own way and have plenty of opportunities to play for a long time to come but bear in mind, it is very very old and it shows. Having made that comment, having beta tested and brought virtually every other MMO release since I keep EQ installed since returning and find I like to drop in and play from my laptop when in hotels bored or just when I want to slow the pace a bit.

    Dont expect PvP on EQ, it didnt work 14 years ago and it doesnt work now. SOE in particular seem to be hopelessly unable to make PvP which is balanced and engaging. The early days of EQ saw some of the best PvP experiences I ever had in an online game but then SOE brought it and did nothing positive with it.
    Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    3
    Dethstar's review of EQ was spot on. SOE (Sony Online Entertainment), is possibly the poorest managed company you will encounter in yourDethstar's review of EQ was spot on. SOE (Sony Online Entertainment), is possibly the poorest managed company you will encounter in your lifetime!

    A few years ago I left the game owing to horrible customer service. A few things you might see from this company: an hour plus being on hold while trying to correct a billing error, and good luck finding the cancel button for your auto bill... it's hidden. Or how about this all too common response “That’s a known issue, we can’t help you”… ran into that several times. To sum up customer service (which is based on management): they are either unwilling or unable to help you, and you will be expected to jump through red tape and hoops to have things done which are automated in other games. They’re not going to help you, so don’t even try!

    So after about 5 years of being away from this game (mostly playing wow) I figured to give it a try again (2013), hoping they would have new management… they don’t, same thing. When a company forgets who pays the bills (the customer), it’s a long or short road to bankruptcy. Our best hope is that SOE goes under soon and a well managed company buys the software.

    With that said, this game has a ton of potential, depth in content, a leveling/gear strategy that blows the competition away! PVE that is challenging, and a game playing style which truly supports team play and interaction with other gaming members. After some minor changes, I like this games design more than any other on the market.

    Simply put, I refuse to give money to a company which is run this way.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews