Evil Genius PC

Evil Genius Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You're a malevolent mastermind bent on achieving global domination through the construction of the ultimate doomsday device. Build a secret base, gain notoriety by completing daring missions, repel the forces of justice in real-time combat, and develop evil super-weapons to complete yourYou're a malevolent mastermind bent on achieving global domination through the construction of the ultimate doomsday device. Build a secret base, gain notoriety by completing daring missions, repel the forces of justice in real-time combat, and develop evil super-weapons to complete your nefarious master plan. Evil Genius is a tongue-in-cheek take on the spy thrillers of the '60s, offering you the unique opportunity to play the villain as you control a secret island fortress complete with powerful henchmen, loyal minions, ice-cold beauty queens, and a host of hilarious gizmos. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. The excellent balancing of gameplay and humor make this game a worthy companion piece to VU Games' superlative "No One Lives Forever" franchise.
  2. The humour shines through, the base design and the battle against the agents will keep you occupied for hours and hours on end. Graphics, sounds and the whole gameplay looks smooth and solid.
  3. Like Austin Powers it adopts the faux-Bond villain theme very well, without becoming too camp or dampening the challenges. Above all, it's hugely entertaining and manages to keep dishing out the surprises all the way through.
  4. The rare success of style over substance. It has everything an Austin Powers movie offers, but draws it out over twenty hours instead of two. There are sparks of genuine delight that make you wish the game was balanced better.
  5. Evil Genius overcomes its flaws and ultimately satisfies. Building an evil empire is a good idea, and the way Elixir's constructed the game is thoughtful, enterprising and occasionally inspired.
  6. Edge Magazine
    70
    While there are awkward moments on this malignant management escapade, it’s never less than charming. The exaggerated ‘60’s spy-movie design is familiar and entertainingly fresh, and although flawed, it’s still far more appealing than Republic. [Nov 2004, p.104]
  7. Computer Gaming World
    50
    Could have been great. Instead, it's a near miss - a great idea poorly presented and inadequately explained. And that ain't my bag, baby. [Dec 2004, p.94]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. WilliamM
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Evil Genius was a game that begged for a sequel and one was FINISHED, but the creators of Tropico shelved it when they acquired the rights.
  2. DarylN
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    All claims about this game being frustrating and to much micromanagement are simply incorrect. Once you learn how to set up your base All claims about this game being frustrating and to much micromanagement are simply incorrect. Once you learn how to set up your base correctly it'll practically run itself (if you want it to). This is truly one of the best games I have ever played and I have played them all. It can be difficult to figure everything out in the beginning so it is worth having a look at one of the fan sites for tips. Don't cheat yourself out of a great experience do take the time to learn the mechanics and this game will keep on giving. Also note that technically this game was ahead of its time back in 2004 and even by today standards the graphics are quite good. Expand
  3. MeritL
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    With this game you're actually playing two games at once by switching back and forth via the tab button. Great music & humor, It's With this game you're actually playing two games at once by switching back and forth via the tab button. Great music & humor, It's still one of my very favorite games because of how unique and inovative it was for its time. It is bit old now though.. I only wish they made an Evil Genius 2 ;( Expand
  4. ChrisJ
    Jun 18, 2007
    8
    Origonal and entertaining. Great game, funny and additive. Sometimes i find it hard to pry my fingers from the computer it's really that Origonal and entertaining. Great game, funny and additive. Sometimes i find it hard to pry my fingers from the computer it's really that good, takes a long time to do some missions tho. I enjoy when people try getting in your base. Good fun. The music is incrediable, really sets the theme. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    8
    got this game on a whim because I like real time strategy games, as soon as I opened the game I was transported to the 60s in to a James bond/got this game on a whim because I like real time strategy games, as soon as I opened the game I was transported to the 60s in to a James bond/ Austin Powers cartoon. You play one of three evil geniuses, every different evil genius has different skills so choose your evil genius wisely. You may have noticed you have three basic minions and one henchman, like your evil genius your Henchman has his own specific skills too. Your goal is to take over the world. How I hear you ask? Build an underground lair of course. Be careful with the design of your rooms once its build you cant go back. You cant run the world with that number of staff, so you will need to build a barracks straight away to get more minions in your staff roster. At the start of the game. It will look like your building a hotel for your minions but once you have build the basic rooms (more importantly your control room.) You will have the ability to send your minions world wide to Plot, Steal and complete jobs. This is where your multitask skills would come in handy. You will find your self cycling back and forward to your lair to map view trying to juggle killing spies or capturing them and sending your guys to steal, plot or do jobs. Worth mentioning also is you will have to micromanage mostly everything especially your avatar evil genius you do not want him in any room with spies. Don't worry though you can build traps, Armoury and freezer rooms to help you out. Oh No the electric cut off just remember to save a big room for your power plant this will get annoying once you build many rooms but I am afraid it as to be done. In the later game you will have enough minions to upgrade to scientist minions and enough money to build better new exciting rooms for all your staff. You will see a lot of the objects have upgraded like doors and traps. You will also be building a hotel to keep the spies occupied and off your tail. So there is a lot to do in this Fun packed 60s James Bond cliche game. Its to bad this game didn't get as famous but there is still devoted fans websites out there for this game. I loved it 8 out of 10 Expand
  6. LysanderS
    Nov 7, 2009
    7
    Great game, but offset by a slow pace and a number of AI bugs.
  7. Jok`RdeMo
    Oct 21, 2004
    3
    They have just taken Dungeon Keeper and made it little bit different (I could say weak, bad etc). I can just say that Dungeon Keeper2 was They have just taken Dungeon Keeper and made it little bit different (I could say weak, bad etc). I can just say that Dungeon Keeper2 was much more interesting than this. Very, very boring game. Collapse

See all 36 User Reviews