Evoland PC

Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    65
    A terrific idea – Evoland lets us gradually unlock milestones in evolution of RPG games and see how they influence the experience. Unfortunately about halfway through this charming game turns into a torture chamber, because it wasn’t thought out well enough in terms of gameplay. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.79]
  2. May 16, 2013
    60
    Evoland is by no means a bad game but really just feels middling once you really get into it.
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    RPGs are usually very long, and as many of us have grown up, we simply don’t have the time to play through them anymore, making Evoland an extraordinary journey through a much simpler time that won’t be forgotten anytime soon.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    Evoland’s short length means the conceit never tires, and it does provide a rather brilliant excuse for the game beneath being rather unoriginal. Sadly, Evoland’s barebones take on turn-based battles leads to some other unnecessary padding – but this is still a pleasant walk down memory lane.
  5. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    An odd mix of homage, parody and documentary of the RPG genre.
  6. Apr 9, 2013
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    60
    Evoland is both original and a rather banal at the same time, in that it presents the evolution of the RPG/adventure genre in a mostly interesting and entertaining manner. The problem with this game is that this evolutionary gimmick is all there is to it. The game underneath is rather shallow and not very interesting.
  8. Apr 28, 2013
    50
    Intentionally, Evoland is evoking memories on some of the most amazing games in the solar system, but the game itself is not the amazing one. Half of it is an illustrative and funny excursion to history of the video game industry, half of it is dull as ditch water. So it's about fifty-fifty.
  9. Apr 10, 2013
    50
    Evoland goes through the motions of imitating some great games, but never evolves into a good game itself.
  10. Jun 5, 2013
    65
    Evoland is a great concept but comes across as more of a “proof of concept” than an original adventure. There are some great ideas here, but too much time is spent paying tribute to its RPG predecessors than it does crafting an identity of its own. Shiro Games has a great concept here, now they need to build on it.
  11. Apr 18, 2013
    61
    If you find the game on sale for $2 or $3, it might be worth a go, but the problem is that even at that low price there are better, more ambitious games you can play; games that move the industry into the future instead of slavishly trying to recreate the past.
  12. Hyper Magazine
    May 9, 2013
    60
    There are some moments during which Evoland truly lives up to the premise but far too often the developers simply name check. [June 2013, p.72]
  13. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    Despite the messy execution, there are moments of true beauty hidden inside Evoland (unlocking HD pre-rendered backgrounds being one) and there will be moments when you’re legitimately impressed with the next evolution, but there’s nothing in this game that makes it worth the $US10 asking price.
  14. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    74
    The old-school approach of the gameplay is not that fresh anymore and the steep price cannot justify the overpriced sentimentality. [May 2013]
  15. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    70
    Evoland is a frustrating affair. Its premise is great and it has potential to spare, but instead of an inspired retro journey all you get is a combination of lazy jokes, bland Zelda-esque gameplay and numbingly tedious JRPG battles. [June 2013]
  16. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    Evoland is a small game, but if there’s anything it could have learned from the big titles it draws inspiration from is that it should have picked one style of gameplay and fleshed it out. Instead there’s several subpar reflections of olden styles, painted in a fresh coat of nostalgia.
  17. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    There are some issues that prevent it from becoming a solid offer, but if you're looking for a nostalgia dose, then you will forgive its mistakes.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 153 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 52
  2. Negative: 16 out of 52
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    0
    Please understand me: There is no game here. There are no goals or adversity. There is absolutely no story and no message--that is unlessPlease understand me: There is no game here. There are no goals or adversity. There is absolutely no story and no message--that is unless the story is that the author has played a few RPGs over the years and he also remembers some of the mechanics from those games. The experience can be described as "walk a little and then we mention something RPGs used to have". Evoland fails to deliver, or even propose, as much as a single aesthetic other than this.

    What's more is that the creators of Evoland have managed to reference this list of RPG mechanics and then fully divorce them from the reason we played the games that originally used them. Sure, these mechanics were present In the original works that inspired Evoland. However, in those works, we had a reason to fight the random battles, we had a reason to pick up the first sword, we had a reason to visit a village. In Evoland, these mechanics serve no purpose other than for the sake of listing them.

    A lot of game makers have made the mistake of analyzing a successful game and concluding that the game's success is only due to the mechanics that make up the game. When a game maker tries to follow a "formula" in this manner but also fails to adequately serve any aesthetic, then you have a guaranteed bad game because the audience will not have a reason to engage in any of those mechanics. I thought since Evoland was supposed to be a nod to the history of RPG mechanics, that it would naturally avoid this pitfall by using those mechanics as a means to remind us why we played those old RPGs in the first place. Sadly, it's just a rote list of disembodied RPG mechanics.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    Wow! I didn't expect this game could be so good. Great ideas, perfect solutions, very innovation gameplay.

    History of jRPG from NES/GBC to
    Wow! I didn't expect this game could be so good. Great ideas, perfect solutions, very innovation gameplay.

    History of jRPG from NES/GBC to PS2 very ironic, but sentimental and charming.

    Only problem in this game is short lenght.

    First 8 min on YT:
    youtube.com/watch?v=lTQYXYX7_RM
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    My childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on myMy childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on my face. This is the dumbest review I could write, but I think that someone else can understand what I mean. Full Review »