Evoland Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evoland is a game and a story. The story of action adventure gaming as seen in the Zelda or Final Fantasy series, starting with the early age of action RPGs, when a few pixels were enough to make us dream for hours. New players will discover a bit of video game history and a very funEvoland is a game and a story. The story of action adventure gaming as seen in the Zelda or Final Fantasy series, starting with the early age of action RPGs, when a few pixels were enough to make us dream for hours. New players will discover a bit of video game history and a very fun gameplay, and veterans will also enjoy a host of references to legendary titles scattered along the game. [Shiro] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. May 6, 2013
    80
    Evoland is a game that evokes nostalgic feelings in old veteran players but that probably will leave the younger ones, despite an extremely fun gameplay hybrid, disappointed.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Evoland is a good chance for nostalgic gamers to revisit the better memories from their childhood with RPGs.
  3. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    74
    The old-school approach of the gameplay is not that fresh anymore and the steep price cannot justify the overpriced sentimentality. [May 2013]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    There are some issues that prevent it from becoming a solid offer, but if you're looking for a nostalgia dose, then you will forgive its mistakes.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    May 9, 2013
    60
    There are some moments during which Evoland truly lives up to the premise but far too often the developers simply name check. [June 2013, p.72]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    An odd mix of homage, parody and documentary of the RPG genre.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    40
    Evoland lives off your nostalgia, which, in turn, is the only reason for you to keep on playing it. After the first 30 minutes, where the evolutionary steps come in entertainingly swift succession, the game actually stops evolving much, settling for a mixture of mindless fighting and lowbrow puzzles, chucking in the occasional graphics update. Also, it promises to be a virtual history lesson of the genre, only to perpetually being stuck on A Link to the Past and Final Fantasy VII. Evoland early on just loses track of what it set out to do.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 55
  2. Negative: 15 out of 55
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    My childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on myMy childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on my face. This is the dumbest review I could write, but I think that someone else can understand what I mean. Expand
  2. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. If you want an interesting progression of how action adventure RPG's progressed over the decades this is pretty good.This game is awesome. If you want an interesting progression of how action adventure RPG's progressed over the decades this is pretty good. It has a suitably generic storyline but that suits the rest of the game perfectly. It's also cool how you swap between new old style. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    The value of Evoland is not in a good story, or in its delivery of punchlines. It's meant to be a nostalgic experience, and if you don't feelThe value of Evoland is not in a good story, or in its delivery of punchlines. It's meant to be a nostalgic experience, and if you don't feel the affect of it, or at least recognize it, then this game is not meant for you. If you are looking for an adventure game with an incredible plotline, twists and turns, and good characters, go play Zelda or Final Fantasy. Evoland is meant to be played by those who remember what those games used to be, and want nothing more than a chance for just one moment to feel that way again. This game isn't for everyone. But for those it is meant for see the beauty in it. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    This game is actually really good, even though it is a bit short, it starts combining simple things that make an rpg fun and makes it fun toThis game is actually really good, even though it is a bit short, it starts combining simple things that make an rpg fun and makes it fun to unlock. The turn based battling like FF isn't that deep, but it's still something interesting and fun, and it would be great if the developer could further develop this game. The legend of zelda style puzzles and gameplay is also quite fun. Two words = TOO.SHORT.

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: 6/10
    Music: 8/10
    Presentation: 7.5/10
    Length: 5/10
    Overall: 7/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    6
    There is no reason to call this anything other than a mediocre game. The first hour is fun as you go about collecting the powerups that createThere is no reason to call this anything other than a mediocre game. The first hour is fun as you go about collecting the powerups that create the 3D RPG world as we know it, but beyond that, the last two hours are all drudgery. Near the end, certain RPG tripes are introduced that are interesting (e.g. a quest based around talking to villagers, a Diablo-esque mission, and an interesting final boss battle), but everything leading up to that point is mostly worthless. I was mostly disappointed in the number of encounters that you face on the world map. I honestly couldn't walk on the world map for more than 4 seconds without an encounter. It was very annoying traveling between locations knowing that it would take 5-10 minutes longer than I want because of the random encounters. Your character can level up through these battles, but there's no reason to- all you gain is a bit more life. All the enemies are either killed in one hit, two hits, or more- leveling up doesn't change that.

    Luckily, I got this game for cheap so I got enough satisfaction from it from the actual evolution stages of the game, but I guarantee that I'll never play the game again or recommend it to friends.
    Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    The game has a good sense of humor, but sometimes faithfulness to the old way of doing things stops being fun. Example: random battles every 5The game has a good sense of humor, but sometimes faithfulness to the old way of doing things stops being fun. Example: random battles every 5 seconds get tedious. You have unlimited healing, which in one way makes them less irritating, but in another way makes them even more pointless.
    I don't know if this was specific to my computer, but there was a point (the cave where you get the second half of the amulet) when my frame rate fell through the floor and the game became unplayable. This game's nostalgic graphics really shouldn't be causing that to happen. What I could see of the gameplay at 1 FPS made it look like it would be frustrating anyway.
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2016
    0
    Evoland is basically every bad old RPG rolled up into one. Boring enemies, boring combat, excuse plot, character who dies who you just don’tEvoland is basically every bad old RPG rolled up into one. Boring enemies, boring combat, excuse plot, character who dies who you just don’t care about at all (or indeed, care about any of the characters at all), ect.

    The game is meant to poke fun at old RPGs, including Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest, Zelda, Diablo, and others, but frankly, it falls flat. All of the “humor” in the game is basically the game pointing and saying “isn’t this dumb?” It is basically explaining the joke, except there is no joke, just a reference to an older game which isn’t very funny.

    The game seems to suggest that you’re going to gradually move through various eras of games, but by about a third of the way into the game, you’re already up to 3D graphics, and it doesn’t really go beyond that. The game feels almost as if it has to rush through to unlock all the earlier stuff and then get to 3D for some reason, even though, quite frankly, the 3D gameplay isn’t very good (but then, neither is the 2D gameplay).

    Ultimately, the game is meant to be funny, but isn’t, and is meant to be fun, and also isn’t. The gameplay is as tedious as any old, poorly designed game with very little content; the JRPG overworld encounters happen every five steps or so and are pointless and tedious, while the dungeon Zelda-type movement is very basic, containing very little variety of monsters, none of which are particularly interesting to fight. The game contains three bosses, two of which are pretty boring; one of them is basically “stand there and hit it until it dies”, and another is a standard “dodge the charge and hit them” boss. Only the final boss shows any signs of real gameplay, and even there, it was kind of tepid.

    There’s just nothing here for anyone. If you’re looking for humor, the game isn’t funny; if you’re looking for a game which is fun to play, this isn’t. It doesn’t even feel original, as literally everything in it is referential, meaning any “originality” it might have from the whole idea of evolving into the modern day of gameplay is basically dead on arrival, buried under a pile of old video game references.
    Expand

See all 55 User Reviews