Evoland Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evoland is a game and a story. The story of action adventure gaming as seen in the Zelda or Final Fantasy series, starting with the early age of action RPGs, when a few pixels were enough to make us dream for hours. New players will discover a bit of video game history and a very fun gameplay, and veterans will also enjoy a host of references to legendary titles scattered along the game. [Shiro] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. May 6, 2013
    80
    Evoland is a game that evokes nostalgic feelings in old veteran players but that probably will leave the younger ones, despite an extremely fun gameplay hybrid, disappointed.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Evoland is a good chance for nostalgic gamers to revisit the better memories from their childhood with RPGs.
  3. 74
    The old-school approach of the gameplay is not that fresh anymore and the steep price cannot justify the overpriced sentimentality. [May 2013]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    There are some issues that prevent it from becoming a solid offer, but if you're looking for a nostalgia dose, then you will forgive its mistakes.
  5. May 9, 2013
    60
    There are some moments during which Evoland truly lives up to the premise but far too often the developers simply name check. [June 2013, p.72]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    An odd mix of homage, parody and documentary of the RPG genre.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    40
    Evoland lives off your nostalgia, which, in turn, is the only reason for you to keep on playing it. After the first 30 minutes, where the evolutionary steps come in entertainingly swift succession, the game actually stops evolving much, settling for a mixture of mindless fighting and lowbrow puzzles, chucking in the occasional graphics update. Also, it promises to be a virtual history lesson of the genre, only to perpetually being stuck on A Link to the Past and Final Fantasy VII. Evoland early on just loses track of what it set out to do.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 42
  2. Negative: 13 out of 42
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    My childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on my face. This is the dumbest review I could write, but I think that someone else can understand what I mean. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing game. Albeit short it provides flashbacks to the history of video games as well as fun game play and several humorous references. Another unexpected plus from this game was the music, which was far better than expected. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    Wow! I didn't expect this game could be so good. Great ideas, perfect solutions, very innovation gameplay.

    History of jRPG from NES/GBC to
    PS2 very ironic, but sentimental and charming.

    Only problem in this game is short lenght.

    First 8 min on YT:
    youtube.com/watch?v=lTQYXYX7_RM
    Expand
  4. KST
    Apr 16, 2013
    6
    It's a short but wonderful game which offers a lot of nostalgia feeling for gamers who played during the 80 's and 90 's. You will find yourself smiling quite often if you know the rpg classics. But don't expect a story, complex game mechanics or any replay value.

    If you think that 3-4 hours of fun are worth 10 bucks, go ahead and buy it. If you don't want to spend that much money, pick it up on the next steam sales.
    Collapse
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    5
    This game is short, at three hours. In the first hour or two of the game, it is fairly enjoyable. The difficulty is not unreasonable, although the gameplay isn't very varied either, so isn't deep. The final hour on the other hand is a perfect demonstration of why these types of games are no longer popular and are relegated to nostalgic memories. As the difficulty ramps up you have to hope for the best that spamming the attack button will save you, and in the case of the final two bosses, of the first you must exploit the terrain if you want a real chance of winning, and for the final boss they have implemented a typical early-2000s timing attack boss with a doughnut shaped platform. This is an exercise in frustration and taints the rest of the relatively easy, nostalgia filled, game.

    I went into the game wondering why the reviews were generally negative, and while the game was still constantly rewarding me with upgrades to the engine, and being genuinely fun, I still considered it good, but by the end it was clear the designer does not know the difference between difficulty and frustrating situations.

    Before the frustrating parts of the game settled in, I had another major problem; the designer was trying too hard to be funny. It came off as trite and bland, and constant attempts to parody the genre (and Final Fantasy in particular) were forced, unfunny and broke the sense of nostalgic immersion I was experiencing. This game would have worked better as a simple, easy, nostalgia fueled game that had references, but not parodies, to other games in the genre.

    I would not recommend this to anyone who didn't experience the first generations of action/adventure/RPG games, pre-2005, because if you didn't, you probably won't find this game fun at all, and I instead recommend you play games that actually came out pre-2005 to experience them first hand. This game does not do them justice.
    Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    I have a problem with this game - it is constantly reminding me that it is a game. Throughout play, the game 'evolves' the technical and play mechanics. It is this persistent reminder, and the jokes the game makes at its own expense, that irk me, jar me out of the experience and sometimes confuse the issue of what the goals are during play. Am I seeking the next chest to unlock a new mechanic?

    Because it was reminding me it's a game, I continued noting the evolution of play and spoting inconsistencies as things updated. The game can't help but do this. And after awhile, I began to miss playing Zelda because Evoland might as well have said, "Hey, I'm not Zelda, but this is sort of how that game works and we are imitating something already created." In fact, I stopped playing and turned on that great NES classic.

    Buy this if you're curious but wait for it to go on sale. Evoland is not a game that seems to want to stand on its own merit except for novelty.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game, its nothing more than a Frankenstein of references to older games. There is little to no strategy involved in playing the game, most of the time you're just walking around talking to a person who will ask you to talk to another person.

    The game is short, the challenges are so bland, a five year old can complete the game, and you couldn't even call the story-line a real story.

    save your money, buy something else.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews