Evoland Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evoland is a game and a story. The story of action adventure gaming as seen in the Zelda or Final Fantasy series, starting with the early age of action RPGs, when a few pixels were enough to make us dream for hours. New players will discover a bit of video game history and a very fun gameplay, and veterans will also enjoy a host of references to legendary titles scattered along the game. [Shiro] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. May 6, 2013
    80
    Evoland is a game that evokes nostalgic feelings in old veteran players but that probably will leave the younger ones, despite an extremely fun gameplay hybrid, disappointed.
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    75
    Evoland is a good chance for nostalgic gamers to revisit the better memories from their childhood with RPGs.
  3. 74
    The old-school approach of the gameplay is not that fresh anymore and the steep price cannot justify the overpriced sentimentality. [May 2013]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    There are some issues that prevent it from becoming a solid offer, but if you're looking for a nostalgia dose, then you will forgive its mistakes.
  5. May 9, 2013
    60
    There are some moments during which Evoland truly lives up to the premise but far too often the developers simply name check. [June 2013, p.72]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    50
    An odd mix of homage, parody and documentary of the RPG genre.
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    40
    Evoland lives off your nostalgia, which, in turn, is the only reason for you to keep on playing it. After the first 30 minutes, where the evolutionary steps come in entertainingly swift succession, the game actually stops evolving much, settling for a mixture of mindless fighting and lowbrow puzzles, chucking in the occasional graphics update. Also, it promises to be a virtual history lesson of the genre, only to perpetually being stuck on A Link to the Past and Final Fantasy VII. Evoland early on just loses track of what it set out to do.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 47
  2. Negative: 13 out of 47
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    My childhood is back, I can't remember the last time I felt so good playing a game. Every treasure I discover a nostalgic smile appears on my face. This is the dumbest review I could write, but I think that someone else can understand what I mean. Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    The value of Evoland is not in a good story, or in its delivery of punchlines. It's meant to be a nostalgic experience, and if you don't feel the affect of it, or at least recognize it, then this game is not meant for you. If you are looking for an adventure game with an incredible plotline, twists and turns, and good characters, go play Zelda or Final Fantasy. Evoland is meant to be played by those who remember what those games used to be, and want nothing more than a chance for just one moment to feel that way again. This game isn't for everyone. But for those it is meant for see the beauty in it. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Just really enjoyed the game and found it very interesting. Would definitely recommend this game to anyone. some parts become frustrating and drag on a bit but very much enjoyed it overall Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    This is not a bad indie game if you buy it during the steam sale. An interesting mix between Zelda and Final Fantasy.

    Lots of fun during
    the first half of the game when you open chests that are evolving the world around you. The problem is the second half of the game when the game loses his main idea (evolution of the world) and tries to be just a classic RPG. The hitbox of the two hands of the final boss is bad. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2013
    5
    Controls are awkward there are a few other thing which bug/annoy me as well. However, overall it is a great idea. You are not just developing your character and progressing through the story you are also progressing through the develop of the genre which i find really enjoyable. Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    5
    The game has a good sense of humor, but sometimes faithfulness to the old way of doing things stops being fun. Example: random battles every 5 seconds get tedious. You have unlimited healing, which in one way makes them less irritating, but in another way makes them even more pointless.
    I don't know if this was specific to my computer, but there was a point (the cave where you get the second half of the amulet) when my frame rate fell through the floor and the game became unplayable. This game's nostalgic graphics really shouldn't be causing that to happen. What I could see of the gameplay at 1 FPS made it look like it would be frustrating anyway.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game, its nothing more than a Frankenstein of references to older games. There is little to no strategy involved in playing the game, most of the time you're just walking around talking to a person who will ask you to talk to another person.

    The game is short, the challenges are so bland, a five year old can complete the game, and you couldn't even call the story-line a real story.

    save your money, buy something else.
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews