Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    A perfect balance between an RPG and a strategy game, between turn based gameplay and lively action. Although it has some flaws, I was able to turn a blind eye to them, as it offers at least 20 hours of great, absorbing fun. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.70]
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    90
    For the patient gamer willing to spend time with a game and learn its quirks, Expeditions: Conquistador is a definite boon. The branching storyline, seeing the long-term consequences of your actions and the already-mentioned people and equipment management will assuredly entertain those who used to play Sid Meier’s Pirates! and new fans alike. For me personally, this is one of the best and most unique games that I’ve played this year.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    85
    Expedition: Conquistadors is very entertaining strategic role playing game, about an interesting subject, too [Nov 2013]
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    A very good game, with interesting narration, nice characters and some solid mechanics. It's got its limits and you can clearly see the small budget, but it's also got a big heart.
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    At the very least, Conquistador's acceptance of player failure makes it possible to experience its excellent writing.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    80
    Despite a few flaws, it’s easy to recommend Expeditions: Conquistador for a number of reasons - the storyline, the strategic battles, the exploration and levelling. As an example of any one genre it’s hard to pin down, as it (generally) succeeds in trying lots of things and combining them into a fun and challenging experience. The result is a rewarding and nuanced game with few peers.
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    80
    A big surprise, Conquistadores is an intelligent mix, capable of presenting a good moral system inside an nice adventure. Another good game from Kickstarter.
  8. Jun 21, 2013
    80
    This exploration-based role-playing game is a lot more enjoyable and engrossing than it looks, thanks in part to some really great writing. Highly recommended for fans of role-playing, strategy and even history.
  9. Jun 19, 2013
    80
    You will not be bored a single second in Expeditions : Conquistador, if you're the type of gamer who loves this bland of turn-based strategy, RPG and New World atmosphere. This subtle genre cocktail finds new dynamics with the complexities of the story embedded in all the game's aspects. The story approach is the main innovation of this first title by Logic Artist, and propels it far above any regular indie game.
  10. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A great strategy-RPG hybrid that’s a patch or two away from being an exceptional one.
  11. Jun 2, 2013
    80
    Engaging turn-based battles with neat RPG system that is remarkable for its several quest solving options and its motivating map exploring.
  12. Aug 26, 2013
    75
    I wish I could have explored the world of Expeditions longer, but the map is not that big, and the story is short. I wasn’t trying to look in every nook and cranny, but did not rush, and the whole campaign took me just 15 hours to beat.
  13. Jul 19, 2013
    75
    There's a force in this game that tells us that they tried to do something different, even though there are some aspects that should have been improved. Still, it is a good options for those interested in the genre or the topic.
  14. Jul 2, 2013
    75
    All in all, Conquistadors is a pretty solid game – the New World is full of wonder and danger, and there’s just enough RPG in the mix to make you feel like a real explorer, dealing with realistic problems.
  15. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Expeditions definitely has some strong points like the narrative, the choices or its dynamics. But when it comes to the presentation in general and the battle tactics it is not as strong.
  16. 72
    A solid designed strategy-RPG-mixture in an unused historical setting. You’ll leading a spanish expedition on an Caribbean island. The gameplay is turn-based and reminds to Heroes of Might & Magic. Same for the combat-system. But it’s not that much complex and the technical presentation of the game is just average quality.
  17. Jun 3, 2013
    72
    Strategy and RPG mixed together in a formula that works. Too bad for the many burrs due to some inexperience.
  18. Aug 1, 2013
    70
    An intriguing strategy/RPG hybrid with a lot to offer those who can conquer its more obvious flaws. [Aug 2013, p.88]
  19. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    FX Interactive gives us a strategic videogame especially suited to the super fan of the genre.
  20. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    The story provides a nice backdrop for the exploration, and your party members feel like actual humans and not disposable toy soldiers.
  21. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Conqiustador's main problem is its small budget. You can't shake the feeling that lots of things weren't finished properly or were simply drafted. The developer's ambition was big, the end result is not that great. There are too few adventures, a too simple character development system, too schematic battles and the game lacks the option to act for yourself (instead, you always work for someone). All of this adds up to a sandbox game with an interesting universe and original story, that is boring and limited.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. May 30, 2013
    8
    To preface this review I have so-far only played ~5 hours. This game is a gem, in my opinion. It is a nice strategy/rpg game when we have a sore lack of good ones that aren't a decade old. The setting is fantastic and original and so far the story isn't disappointing. Being able to select who you want to bring and the customization is fantastic. Although I would like to see a bit more and have it a little deeper it is still good as is. The randomization is nice and makes you have to play dynamically and with ironman turned on it is a pleasure. I will have to re-rate when I finish but preliminary review says it is very good. I am a but worried about replayability, however. I was hoping it would be sort of like x-com replayability but the terrain looks like it will be the same each time you play.

    Bottom-line: if this seems even remotely interesting to you you should definitely pick it up.
    Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    I've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW your party, they have personalities and you get to like them and agonize when you loose them(or in some cases hate them and consider loosing them!). It is not perfect, no game is, but it is well thought out and well executed. And the setting is brilliant. Can we have an expansionpack please? "Visit" the Mayans perhaps? Full Review »
  3. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    First of all about this game: reading. If you don't like reading and using your imagination, don't even bother since those are the two pre requisites to playing this.
    The story tells you that you're a captain and an explorer and you're off to the New World to discover everything you can, be famous and bring glory to Spain. But before any of that happens, you must choose the name, gender and some qualities for your conquistador (like tactics, leadership, diplomacy etc), then you must choose 10 from a lot of different characters to bring on your adventure with you. Each one of them have 3 different attributes varying from Racist to Altruistic and that affects how you play the game, since choosing, for example, all peaceful followers will make you lose morale (a very important factor in this game) each time you enter a battle you could choose not to. Low morale means the risk of mutiny and the loss of the game, making you start it all over again. So, you have to think how you'll want to play the game before you even do so when choosing your followers and their characteristics.
    But that's not the end of that, each follower have a different class, from doctor to hunter, scholar, soldier and scout and they too play differently. Doctors are used manly for heal either inside or outside the battle. Soldiers will do the heavy work and guard your camp from thieves and raiders. Each class is unique and choosing the followers atributes along with their classes greatly changes the game, making for more a lot of replayability.
    After you're through with all that you actually begin the game, but the reading and the choices never cease. Every dialogue have more than one option to play out and every choice has an impact that will last not only in your group, but how the NPCs treat you and what they talk.
    Best part about that is: the writing in this game is done very nicely. You won't be tired of reading and reading because you'll actually care about what people are telling you and since the choices last for the whole game you'll really think about what you're going to do and how it'll affect you in the long term.
    I've seem a lot of people complain about the map, since you can't zoom out enough, making it difficult to choose a good path. I agree with them, but only to an extent. I think you should be able to see more of the map, but not all of it, since it'd ruin your exploration (making it too easy) and this game is all about walking around exploring everything. Making the map easier would do this game no good.
    The cons are, in my opinion, that the game starts way too hard and, at some point, it just gets way too easy. I had to restart the game 5 times until I've learned everything I was doing wrong but, when I learned, it was just a piece of cake and not challenging at all. I'd end up with so many rations, medicine, valuables, equipment and experience that I had no idea what to do with it but stock it up. That wasn't game breaking (far from it), but something felt missing. I'll still play it on a harder difficult to see if that makes it more challenging.
    Another con is not having the option to fast forward the enemy turn. Sometimes they'd have 12 soldiers to move and I had to wait each and everyone of them before I could start playing my turn or just retreat (if I knew I wasn't going to win). It felt like a waste of time, but even that is only a minor problem that I had.
    I've spent more than 30 hours in this game and I'm looking forward to going to my second playthrough with different followers and maknig different choices.
    I recommend this game, it delivers a lot for a fair price. If this review interested you, play it.
    If reading, choosing and not so good looking graphics turn you off, then you're better off not buying this.
    Full Review »