Expeditions: Conquistador PC

Expeditions: Conquistador Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Expeditions: Conquistador is a story-driven tactical roleplaying game with a touch of strategic resource management and a pinch of choose-your-own-adventure.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. CD-Action
    Jul 2, 2013
    90
    A perfect balance between an RPG and a strategy game, between turn based gameplay and lively action. Although it has some flaws, I was able to turn a blind eye to them, as it offers at least 20 hours of great, absorbing fun. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.70]
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    At the very least, Conquistador's acceptance of player failure makes it possible to experience its excellent writing.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 11, 2014
    85
    Expedition: Conquistadors is very entertaining strategic role playing game, about an interesting subject, too [Nov 2013]
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    80
    Engaging turn-based battles with neat RPG system that is remarkable for its several quest solving options and its motivating map exploring.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    75
    There's a force in this game that tells us that they tried to do something different, even though there are some aspects that should have been improved. Still, it is a good options for those interested in the genre or the topic.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Expeditions definitely has some strong points like the narrative, the choices or its dynamics. But when it comes to the presentation in general and the battle tactics it is not as strong.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Conqiustador's main problem is its small budget. You can't shake the feeling that lots of things weren't finished properly or were simply drafted. The developer's ambition was big, the end result is not that great. There are too few adventures, a too simple character development system, too schematic battles and the game lacks the option to act for yourself (instead, you always work for someone). All of this adds up to a sandbox game with an interesting universe and original story, that is boring and limited.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    I've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW yourI've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW your party, they have personalities and you get to like them and agonize when you loose them(or in some cases hate them and consider loosing them!). It is not perfect, no game is, but it is well thought out and well executed. And the setting is brilliant. Can we have an expansionpack please? "Visit" the Mayans perhaps? Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2014
    10
    I really enjoy this game. I have not played any other game that I can think of that has the same subject matter. It also explore somethingI really enjoy this game. I have not played any other game that I can think of that has the same subject matter. It also explore something most/all games shy away from, racism.
    It plays out kind of like DnD. It is a turn based tactics game, and plays out in a more complex manner than you initially give it credit for. The 'dialogue' in it is also amazing. There are lots of side conversations, many of which affect how your followers view you.
    My only real complaint with this game is that it is not voice acted, but this is only a small complaint, and this being an indie developer there is no way they could have done a great job with all the voice acting. (There is a lot of dialogue in this game). So they likely chose to not voice act it to keep the quality up.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    9
    This game is one of those you don;t see in this age anymore.How many games of this type gives you option to choose your party,manage yourThis game is one of those you don;t see in this age anymore.How many games of this type gives you option to choose your party,manage your party,have elements like hunting,guarding has very good AI and in some cases it can be a bit to much challenging especially for casual players,but you can modify difficulty and even on normal (and most likely on easy) its very satisfying,my point is its very in-dept strategy game and it has wide range of options both for casual and old hardcore players who were dying hard for challenge.Also you need to worry about random events like disease,you need to worry about supplies especially food,because you can't venture and explore without it and not raise rebellion among your followers and a lot more.Also story is pen 'n' paper but its written very well,its like reading good book,if you like books you will find yourself lost in very well dialogs,even if you are not fan of the books you will like it.Also there are standard perks like leadership,tactic now every one of them including diplomacy is important,because depending on which you choose it will affect your character and at the end there is moral element in the game.Graphics are nice,it keeps retro look and it still look like modern game.Music is very nice,first thing i usually do is turnoff sound in game and than launch my playlist,but not this time.There are a lot of feature and they did very good job with tutorials and tooltips so with a little of reading and watching illustration you will learn mechanics and features in no time,but will you master the game My only compliant is camera and world map.Now you can rotate camera to fit your angle,but it has limited line of sight and trees can get in the way.And world map is not detailed enough,most of the time i have to move my head really close to monitor to see patches even if i play on max resolution and compass is confusing,But you get use to it very fast so its not big deal but because of that i can't give this game 10. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    HoMM in a semi historical setting and better story, imo. Getting sloppy with tactics in battles can really slap you in the face though. MyHoMM in a semi historical setting and better story, imo. Getting sloppy with tactics in battles can really slap you in the face though. My first attempt I let one of my doctors go on another expedition for a week. Well I got sloppy in a battle with the rebels and 3 guys sustained critical wounds. Wasn't enough doctors in the group to pull me back from that. Graphics are acceptable and I found the story somewhat interesting to begin with but after 8 hours I just started clicking through things. Easily worth the small price they're asking for. Btw, developer apparently gets more money from buying on GMG, don't worry Steam key no their awful capsule, than they do through Steam directly. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    8
    If you can look past the slightly drab presentation this is a really well thought out indie game that combines exploration with teamIf you can look past the slightly drab presentation this is a really well thought out indie game that combines exploration with team management with tactical combat. Unfortunately the hex battles feel a little shallow at first and are slow to pick up speed, but are enough to give fans of old-school tbs another fix.
    The team management and travel options are great if you liked the Dark Eye computer games, you'll love this.
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    7
    Expeditions: Conquistador is an enjoyable strategy RPG, which has a strong atmosphere and a classic charm to it, allowing you to see past theExpeditions: Conquistador is an enjoyable strategy RPG, which has a strong atmosphere and a classic charm to it, allowing you to see past the few flaws it has. Some of the battles can come out of nowhere and be sort of cheap (good luck fighting powerful ranged enemies with your melee-focused battle team or vice versa at certain points), and the story can be wildly inconsistent, switching between a normal adventurous tone to an attempt at being dark, for example during one dialogue sequence it said that one of my party members walked up with a eating grin, which seemed entirely out of place. It's pretty enjoyable and if you want a strategy RPG with a sometimes inconsistent story, this is worth checking out. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    game constantly hangs, crashes, save incorrectly loaded.
    would put 9 but only now 0 points.
    so it was necessary to ruin a good game. I hope
    game constantly hangs, crashes, save incorrectly loaded.
    would put 9 but only now 0 points.
    so it was necessary to ruin a good game.
    I hope to fix crash or hang.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings