Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Expeditions: Conquistador is a story-driven tactical roleplaying game with a touch of strategic resource management and a pinch of choose-your-own-adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    A perfect balance between an RPG and a strategy game, between turn based gameplay and lively action. Although it has some flaws, I was able to turn a blind eye to them, as it offers at least 20 hours of great, absorbing fun. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.70]
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    At the very least, Conquistador's acceptance of player failure makes it possible to experience its excellent writing.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    85
    Expedition: Conquistadors is very entertaining strategic role playing game, about an interesting subject, too [Nov 2013]
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    80
    Engaging turn-based battles with neat RPG system that is remarkable for its several quest solving options and its motivating map exploring.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    75
    There's a force in this game that tells us that they tried to do something different, even though there are some aspects that should have been improved. Still, it is a good options for those interested in the genre or the topic.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Expeditions definitely has some strong points like the narrative, the choices or its dynamics. But when it comes to the presentation in general and the battle tactics it is not as strong.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Conqiustador's main problem is its small budget. You can't shake the feeling that lots of things weren't finished properly or were simply drafted. The developer's ambition was big, the end result is not that great. There are too few adventures, a too simple character development system, too schematic battles and the game lacks the option to act for yourself (instead, you always work for someone). All of this adds up to a sandbox game with an interesting universe and original story, that is boring and limited.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. May 30, 2013
    10
    Just got the game earlier today. This game seems to be a smart, very well done indie game. As with most indies, graphics aren't the selling point, but aren't bad considering. So far, it plays like a well done historical RPG with turn based combat, character development (for both the main character and the members of his/her party).
    If you are looking for a lot of special effects and over the top action, keep looking. If you want a deep, well thought out indie turn based RPG, this is definitely worth a try (especially if you value realism/history).
    Don't expect a AAA style release, but then the price reflects it's non AAA status.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    I've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW your party, they have personalities and you get to like them and agonize when you loose them(or in some cases hate them and consider loosing them!). It is not perfect, no game is, but it is well thought out and well executed. And the setting is brilliant. Can we have an expansionpack please? "Visit" the Mayans perhaps? Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    Absolutely great bang for your buck. If you're into isometric strategy (X-Com, Fire Emblem, Final Fantasy Tactics) you're going to like this game. No reason not to pick this up. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    First of all about this game: reading. If you don't like reading and using your imagination, don't even bother since those are the two pre requisites to playing this.
    The story tells you that you're a captain and an explorer and you're off to the New World to discover everything you can, be famous and bring glory to Spain. But before any of that happens, you must choose the name, gender and some qualities for your conquistador (like tactics, leadership, diplomacy etc), then you must choose 10 from a lot of different characters to bring on your adventure with you. Each one of them have 3 different attributes varying from Racist to Altruistic and that affects how you play the game, since choosing, for example, all peaceful followers will make you lose morale (a very important factor in this game) each time you enter a battle you could choose not to. Low morale means the risk of mutiny and the loss of the game, making you start it all over again. So, you have to think how you'll want to play the game before you even do so when choosing your followers and their characteristics.
    But that's not the end of that, each follower have a different class, from doctor to hunter, scholar, soldier and scout and they too play differently. Doctors are used manly for heal either inside or outside the battle. Soldiers will do the heavy work and guard your camp from thieves and raiders. Each class is unique and choosing the followers atributes along with their classes greatly changes the game, making for more a lot of replayability.
    After you're through with all that you actually begin the game, but the reading and the choices never cease. Every dialogue have more than one option to play out and every choice has an impact that will last not only in your group, but how the NPCs treat you and what they talk.
    Best part about that is: the writing in this game is done very nicely. You won't be tired of reading and reading because you'll actually care about what people are telling you and since the choices last for the whole game you'll really think about what you're going to do and how it'll affect you in the long term.
    I've seem a lot of people complain about the map, since you can't zoom out enough, making it difficult to choose a good path. I agree with them, but only to an extent. I think you should be able to see more of the map, but not all of it, since it'd ruin your exploration (making it too easy) and this game is all about walking around exploring everything. Making the map easier would do this game no good.
    The cons are, in my opinion, that the game starts way too hard and, at some point, it just gets way too easy. I had to restart the game 5 times until I've learned everything I was doing wrong but, when I learned, it was just a piece of cake and not challenging at all. I'd end up with so many rations, medicine, valuables, equipment and experience that I had no idea what to do with it but stock it up. That wasn't game breaking (far from it), but something felt missing. I'll still play it on a harder difficult to see if that makes it more challenging.
    Another con is not having the option to fast forward the enemy turn. Sometimes they'd have 12 soldiers to move and I had to wait each and everyone of them before I could start playing my turn or just retreat (if I knew I wasn't going to win). It felt like a waste of time, but even that is only a minor problem that I had.
    I've spent more than 30 hours in this game and I'm looking forward to going to my second playthrough with different followers and maknig different choices.
    I recommend this game, it delivers a lot for a fair price. If this review interested you, play it.
    If reading, choosing and not so good looking graphics turn you off, then you're better off not buying this.
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Pretty nice game with team management, tactical turn-based combats, great soundtrack and a feel of real adventure. Exploration is a large part of the game though, there are a lot of hidden treasures, side-quests, special events on the map. The camp system is pretty entertaining and I'd say all of the game systems are well-thought. So hopefully more RPG/TBS fans will check this game, it's worth it! Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    This game is rock solid. It has a high learning curve for map exploration and party management, and the turn-based battle strategy is fun and well-balanced. The battles were all fairly unique and didn't feel repetitive. The RPG aspect including dialogue, choices, consequences and party members' interactions are reminiscent of old school RPGs like Baldur's Gate. It's a good combination of strategy and RPG. However, every time your party runs out of movement points on the map, you have to manage your party as you put them to sleep (make sure someone hunts for food, make sure someone creates healing herbs, make sure someone guards the loot, make sure someone xxx). While this aspect of the game is captivating for the first 5-10 hours, it quickly becomes tedious. Other than this one drawback, however, the game is quite fun. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    game constantly hangs, crashes, save incorrectly loaded.
    would put 9 but only now 0 points.
    so it was necessary to ruin a good game.
    I hope
    to fix crash or hang. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews