Expeditions: Conquistador PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Expeditions: Conquistador is a story-driven tactical roleplaying game with a touch of strategic resource management and a pinch of choose-your-own-adventure.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    90
    A perfect balance between an RPG and a strategy game, between turn based gameplay and lively action. Although it has some flaws, I was able to turn a blind eye to them, as it offers at least 20 hours of great, absorbing fun. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.70]
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    85
    At the very least, Conquistador's acceptance of player failure makes it possible to experience its excellent writing.
  3. Mar 11, 2014
    85
    Expedition: Conquistadors is very entertaining strategic role playing game, about an interesting subject, too [Nov 2013]
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    80
    Engaging turn-based battles with neat RPG system that is remarkable for its several quest solving options and its motivating map exploring.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    75
    There's a force in this game that tells us that they tried to do something different, even though there are some aspects that should have been improved. Still, it is a good options for those interested in the genre or the topic.
  6. Jun 27, 2013
    73
    Expeditions definitely has some strong points like the narrative, the choices or its dynamics. But when it comes to the presentation in general and the battle tactics it is not as strong.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Conqiustador's main problem is its small budget. You can't shake the feeling that lots of things weren't finished properly or were simply drafted. The developer's ambition was big, the end result is not that great. There are too few adventures, a too simple character development system, too schematic battles and the game lacks the option to act for yourself (instead, you always work for someone). All of this adds up to a sandbox game with an interesting universe and original story, that is boring and limited.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. May 31, 2013
    10
    I've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW yourI've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW your party, they have personalities and you get to like them and agonize when you loose them(or in some cases hate them and consider loosing them!). It is not perfect, no game is, but it is well thought out and well executed. And the setting is brilliant. Can we have an expansionpack please? "Visit" the Mayans perhaps? Expand
  2. May 30, 2013
    10
    Just got the game earlier today. This game seems to be a smart, very well done indie game. As with most indies, graphics aren't the sellingJust got the game earlier today. This game seems to be a smart, very well done indie game. As with most indies, graphics aren't the selling point, but aren't bad considering. So far, it plays like a well done historical RPG with turn based combat, character development (for both the main character and the members of his/her party).
    If you are looking for a lot of special effects and over the top action, keep looking. If you want a deep, well thought out indie turn based RPG, this is definitely worth a try (especially if you value realism/history).
    Don't expect a AAA style release, but then the price reflects it's non AAA status.
    Expand
  3. omi
    Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This is an excellent heroes of might and magic style game putting you in the command of an expedition team adventuring in colonization timesThis is an excellent heroes of might and magic style game putting you in the command of an expedition team adventuring in colonization times America. Complete with turn based tactical warfare and RPG elements. It is quite complex due to moral choices you make on game events which may effect party members morale inadvertently. are you pious, racist open minded all that take into account. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2013
    8
    I am about seven hours into my first play through and I am loving it. Picture the oregon trail but actually a game and a fun one at that. TheI am about seven hours into my first play through and I am loving it. Picture the oregon trail but actually a game and a fun one at that. The combat is a tactical turn based action game focusing on strategy and classes.Expeditions also features an overhead map that allows you to find loot and materials that turn into valuable resources. If you want a fun indie RPG/strategy game give this one a shot it's defiantly worth the $20. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    8
    To preface this review I have so-far only played ~5 hours. This game is a gem, in my opinion. It is a nice strategy/rpg game when we have aTo preface this review I have so-far only played ~5 hours. This game is a gem, in my opinion. It is a nice strategy/rpg game when we have a sore lack of good ones that aren't a decade old. The setting is fantastic and original and so far the story isn't disappointing. Being able to select who you want to bring and the customization is fantastic. Although I would like to see a bit more and have it a little deeper it is still good as is. The randomization is nice and makes you have to play dynamically and with ironman turned on it is a pleasure. I will have to re-rate when I finish but preliminary review says it is very good. I am a but worried about replayability, however. I was hoping it would be sort of like x-com replayability but the terrain looks like it will be the same each time you play.

    Bottom-line: if this seems even remotely interesting to you you should definitely pick it up.
    Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    This game is rock solid. It has a high learning curve for map exploration and party management, and the turn-based battle strategy is fun andThis game is rock solid. It has a high learning curve for map exploration and party management, and the turn-based battle strategy is fun and well-balanced. The battles were all fairly unique and didn't feel repetitive. The RPG aspect including dialogue, choices, consequences and party members' interactions are reminiscent of old school RPGs like Baldur's Gate. It's a good combination of strategy and RPG. However, every time your party runs out of movement points on the map, you have to manage your party as you put them to sleep (make sure someone hunts for food, make sure someone creates healing herbs, make sure someone guards the loot, make sure someone xxx). While this aspect of the game is captivating for the first 5-10 hours, it quickly becomes tedious. Other than this one drawback, however, the game is quite fun. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    0
    game constantly hangs, crashes, save incorrectly loaded.
    would put 9 but only now 0 points.
    so it was necessary to ruin a good game. I hope
    game constantly hangs, crashes, save incorrectly loaded.
    would put 9 but only now 0 points.
    so it was necessary to ruin a good game.
    I hope to fix crash or hang.
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews