F1 2012 PC

F1 2012 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2012 spotlights all of the official teams, drivers and circuits from the 2012 FIA Formula One World Championship.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    This installment of F1 series is another great hit from Codemasters. The PC Version is blessed with major technical improvements that let it overtake the console ones.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    Newcomers will find F1 2012 a shock to the system compared to more conventional racing games, but the ample tools provided to get into the sport provide a gratifying experience with just a little bit of commitment on the player's part.
  3. Sep 26, 2012
    88
    This year's F1-Game is much more than an update. With its improved gameplay and graphics and the many Formula-1-contents F1 2012 is one of the best racing games available – although the rules-system and the AI aren't perfect yet.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    It's true that F1 2012 will never compete with iRacing for hardcore driving realism and authenticity, but it doesn't need to. It's a lovingly rendered and refreshingly accessible game that gives racing fans of all backgrounds a prime seat in the world's fastest and most exhilarating form of motorsport.
  5. Oct 2, 2012
    80
    New details, great presentation and more balanced gameplay. F1 2012 is the best Formula One racing game on the market, and it's not because there are no other titles. In short, Codemasters do a good job - they listen to the community, they keep the good stuff in the series, they always get wiser because of their previous mistakes. Throughout the evolution F1 2012 is one step closer to the racing game perfection. However, a revolutionary shift in the genre is still awaited.
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    The great thing is, everybody can decide for themselves how much depth and realism they want from F1 2012. Granted, there might not be too much new stuff in this iteration, judged on its own merits, it is still a very satisfying experience, though.
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    65
    The only problem is that there's really very little reason to upgrade from F1 2011 other than the inclusion of new teams, cars and two new tracks. If Codemasters had resolved the numerous bugs and gameplay issues that have been present since day one of the reboot it'd be a different story, but if they can't do it by now, chances are they never will.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rateThe game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Formula One 2012 for me has been over one hundred hours of fun and relaxation. This game mixes the realism I look for in a simulator, the funFormula One 2012 for me has been over one hundred hours of fun and relaxation. This game mixes the realism I look for in a simulator, the fun I expect from a video game, and the fast-paced action I want from Formula One.

    This game can be picked up and played by anyone really. There’s the Young Driver Test, which serves as the games tutorial. It’s completely optional whether or not you finish the whole thing, as it can go on for quite a bit. There are a number of settings in this game that assist new players, such as braking assists and the racing line. After you set the game up, you can jump in to any of the game modes.

    The game is stocked with game modes. With the casual quick race and career modes, to the new season challenge and champions mode. Each of these game modes can provide hours of fun. My personal favorite is the career mode. You start out on a small team and work your way up to the top tier teams by winning races and earning points.

    One thing that really sticks out to me in this game is how amazing the physics are. I’m not one to try and crash all my opponents (you actually get severely penalized for doing so), but when it happens to you, or you accidentally do it to someone else, the physics are spot on. Codemasters does a good job with this in this game. I can’t say for sure if they do in their other games, like Dirt 3, but it’s just an overall well done job in this game.

    The career Mode is really in depth, but sadly only five years. If you’re a big fan of this game like me, you want to be able to keep playing this through, but you can easily start your career over once you’ve finished it. There’s an option for it in the settings menu. But that’s not really a complaint. I don’t have any complaints with this game. As of right now, I have ninety-eight hours plus in this game according to Steam. The biggest complaint I’ve read off of other user reviews on this website is the penalties are too strict. That’s really not the case at all. If you learn to play the game properly, you wouldn’t have to worry at all about those penalties. Even if you want to get speeding at two-hundred miles per hour into someone’s rear end, you can turn the penalties down to reduced. Seriously, if you take the time to learn the track, and learn when to break, you can avoid these easily. The game gives you the option to have an hour long practice session before qualifying, just like in real Formula One. This is not a problem, the community is the problem.

    The graphics for the game are beautiful. The rain splashing back onto your helmet from the car in front of you is just stunning. Codemasters has done similar work in the Dirt series, but this game too has some pretty impressive graphics.

    Overall, I’m giving this, my current favorite game, a ten out of ten. This game is loaded to the brim with fun things to do and a lot of replay value. I’d recommend this game to any gamer and especially any racing fan!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    Codemasters does racing games, thats what they do and I FKIN LOVE THEM. Both Dirt and Grid are awesome but If you specificaly love F1 thenCodemasters does racing games, thats what they do and I FKIN LOVE THEM. Both Dirt and Grid are awesome but If you specificaly love F1 then there is no doubt, this is the best F1 game I've ever played. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    The best F1 game i ever played... the new modes are good and welcome. The graphics are fantastic, lights and physics really good. This is aThe best F1 game i ever played... the new modes are good and welcome. The graphics are fantastic, lights and physics really good. This is a good game, faster than 2010 and 2011. [ 9 / 10 ] Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    6
    Although F1 2012 is probably the best F1 the Codies have made, when it comes to simulation they are quite literally decades behind GeoffAlthough F1 2012 is probably the best F1 the Codies have made, when it comes to simulation they are quite literally decades behind Geoff Crammond. I have done about 1000 race laps and I have seen 1 yellow flag, no crashes and certainly no safety car. Scalectrix anyone? The difficulty level has had no thought behind it whatsoever - Intermediate is too easy (P1,Q1,R1 with Caterham), Professional is annoying (Pos 19 no matter what you do). It seems Codemasters like making one thing better but apparently intentionally making another thing worse?? Weird.
    They have taken out any feeling of belonging to a F1 team by using a crappy simple front end. Any feeling of me being the driver went out the window when he lifted his visor to show he had brown eyes! Imposter! That's not me! I have blue eyes. Its like Judge Dread taking his helmet off. NO!!
    For once though the **** cam is actually useable which is about the only thing that has improved since F1 2010 (didn't play 2011).
    Codemasters need to put more effort into F1 2013 or let someone else do it because I'm getting sick and tired of seeing an F1 title that still can't match what Geoff Crammond did in 1992! But if you're an F1 junkie F1 2012 is the best you're gonna get.
    Collapse
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    4
    This game, if you do not have a wheelm it's a complete mess, playable only in the dumb "please help me with a lot of aids!" mode. GamepadThis game, if you do not have a wheelm it's a complete mess, playable only in the dumb "please help me with a lot of aids!" mode. Gamepad optimization is really poor, expecially consodering this is not a simulator. So, well, with the wheel? Since this is not a simulator, but an arcade game that requires a wheel to be enjoyed (at least) this suck. Have to set up a wheel? Well, gotta play rFactor or iRacing not this hybrid.Why? Because of realism. IA in this game is simply ridicolous, so it's the multiplayer mode. Try again please, F1 need a better game. Or we just continue to paly really better mods, as with a PC we can. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    The multiplayer in this game does not work in Canada or the U.S. Buyers beware!

    My user profile randomly got corrupted. Had to start career
    The multiplayer in this game does not work in Canada or the U.S. Buyers beware!

    My user profile randomly got corrupted. Had to start career from scratch.

    Then steam decided the game wasn't even installed on my pc.

    TOO MANY BUGS!
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews