Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 127 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2013 sees Codemasters introducing a new F1 Classics mode, opening up circuits and drivers from the 1980s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    95
    F1 2013 is easily the best game in the series and it makes me even more hopeful in terms of what Codemasters have in store for us next-gen.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a great take on the World Championship but it has the same problems of the last edition. Above all there are the classic cars from the 80's, which are more fun to drive than the actual cars.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a better and more varied game than its predecessor - Codemasters fixed issues and filled in some missing gameplay options. The new F1 Classics mode is great, but has far too little content. There's no revolution in the virtual Formula 1 world, just a simple return to the right path. The new F1 is a well made and really pretty racing game that generates lots of fun - and that's the most important thing.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Tough but gratifying, F1 2013 is not a startling improvement from the already robust F1 2012, but it’s certainly Codemasters’ best and most confident crack at F1 to date.
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    77
    F1 2013 is a pretty ambiguous package. On one hand it's the best lightweight F1 simulation ever, but on the other hand it feels like an another season update with overpriced DLC's and burden of current gen consoles. I think it really would benefit from updates like warmup laps and all the drama surrounding F1 circus. [Nov 2013]
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    So again, there's a solid engine at work under the hood of this one, but it still gives you lots of opportunity to get really angry at it at the same time.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Arguably the best in the series, but also very much a retread of F1 2012. [December 2013, p.95]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 13 out of 26
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Best F1 game from Codemasters yet! Great car handling and brilliant addition of the classic content make this a must buy for anyone interestedBest F1 game from Codemasters yet! Great car handling and brilliant addition of the classic content make this a must buy for anyone interested in racing games. A great range of assists help anyone who is new to the sport. So what are you waiting for?! BUY BUY BUY! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2014
    8
    I suck at this game. Actually, I suck at racing simulators. Yet, I really like this game. Maybe it's because it's Formula 1, my favoriteI suck at this game. Actually, I suck at racing simulators. Yet, I really like this game. Maybe it's because it's Formula 1, my favorite sport, and you can drive some cars and tracks from the 80's. And I love the 80's too. It's a game hard to master, and I don't know if the controls are bad or if it's meant to be that way, but I find it fun trying to be a better pilot, cranking the difficulty up a little after a couple of races. The only problem with annual series it's that you won't buy them every year. But since F1 2014 kinda sucked for everyone that played it, you should take a look at F1 2013 while 2015 is not released, primarily because of the 80's tracks and cars.

    P.S. The translation to Brazilian Portuguese (my native language) is pretty good, and that is really rare, actually.
    Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2014
    7
    Very good game. Really hard to win qualifying and races even on easy mode. If you understand f1 like i do you will love the game. The detailVery good game. Really hard to win qualifying and races even on easy mode. If you understand f1 like i do you will love the game. The detail on many levels is fantastic. The best racing game around or maybe because I'm a big F1 fan. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    I guess we can all rest easy and pretty much not play this game, unless this is your thing. I couldn't really recommend this to anyone besidesI guess we can all rest easy and pretty much not play this game, unless this is your thing. I couldn't really recommend this to anyone besides die-hard fans of the other games. It feels more like a rehash with tighter controls.

    I am uninspired.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    3
    As a fan of the series since the F1 2010 game, this is a huge disappointment, as was F1 2012. As other reviewers have stated the steeringAs a fan of the series since the F1 2010 game, this is a huge disappointment, as was F1 2012. As other reviewers have stated the steering controls in particular for this game are awful, as is the massively over-played traction and an almost inability to mess up, even with all assists off.

    The steering is horrible and vague, the tyres offer more grip than is ever viable and attempting passes that would sent a real F1 car smashing into a wall are pulled off without a hitch. For a game that is supposed to represent the cutting edge of motorsport where cars are constantly held on the limit, this game is far too easy when you want to dial it into the hard setting. This is a game to avoid if you are after a simulation. Having recently lent my F1 2011 game to my dad, I had another go on it and found that it was so much more realistic (and difficult!) than the previous two generations, and would recommend this as the most “simulation” style of racing game. The first time out on this game, no setup done, no prep, I got pole in a Force India in Melbourne (hardest difficulty).

    A quick note on classic mode: other than gear ratios and the cars revving faster, the classic cars don’t feel ultimately different than the new cars. Cars from the 80-90’s were on the edge, cars that you had to muscle around the tracks. Not in this game; no spins, no spills, huge downforce (unrealistically so). Great for the visuals, no challenge to master what should be a very challenging car.

    Graphically, there have been some changes (hard to tell whether they’re for better or worse). Actually, scratch that, they’re worse. The textures are AWFUL and I play on a PC capable of maxing every setting. Melbourne springs to mind; the second to last corner is just one bit swathe of green from the kerb to the top of the tyre wall whereas in the 2012 game there was detailed grass shown. It’s unacceptable for an official game to slip backwards this dramatically in terms of graphical quality. None of the other textures seem to have the clarity of the previous iteration and all I can hope is that F1 2013 is opened to the Steam Workshop so that someone competent can make a HD Texture pack.

    There are other gripes, but I think that a side of A4 is enough for a review.

    In conclusion, this game shows the sad progression of a series that started out as a challenging simulator-style game where the rough edges were forgiven due to the excellent racing, into an arcade style “easy-for-everyone-regardless-of-setting” point-n-squirt game which presents next to no challenge. However, this time it isn’t even a polished example graphically. The only improvement, graphically, is that the from-driver perspective is lower down, and so more realistic. The AI is slightly improved too.

    I hesitantly say that this was released before it was ready. Codemasters, if you’re reading this, please take some time, patch this up, add the proper textures (or even the ones from last years game), fix the steering, fix the grip and give your customers value for money.
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    1
    I'll rather go play Grand Prix 4 than this s*it. Horrible physics combined with so-so graphics and terrible sound design. Don't do the sameI'll rather go play Grand Prix 4 than this s*it. Horrible physics combined with so-so graphics and terrible sound design. Don't do the same mistake as me, get yourself some old Dirt game (1,2) from Amazon. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    Absolute **** compared to 2011 and 2010 . This stupidification of games have to stop.
    Either they have screwed up support for my G27 racing
    Absolute **** compared to 2011 and 2010 . This stupidification of games have to stop.
    Either they have screwed up support for my G27 racing wheel or everything just feels stale and unresponsive. The AI is absolutely retarded, even at highest settings. You really notice they get better lap times due to physics override rather than "skill".
    Graphically it is not an upgrade since 2011 (no surprise there since it launched for the potatos as well). My recommendation is to buy F1 2011. Looks just as good, but with better wheel support and better driving characteristics.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers