Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2013 sees Codemasters introducing a new F1 Classics mode, opening up circuits and drivers from the 1980s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    95
    F1 2013 is easily the best game in the series and it makes me even more hopeful in terms of what Codemasters have in store for us next-gen.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a great take on the World Championship but it has the same problems of the last edition. Above all there are the classic cars from the 80's, which are more fun to drive than the actual cars.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a better and more varied game than its predecessor - Codemasters fixed issues and filled in some missing gameplay options. The new F1 Classics mode is great, but has far too little content. There's no revolution in the virtual Formula 1 world, just a simple return to the right path. The new F1 is a well made and really pretty racing game that generates lots of fun - and that's the most important thing.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Tough but gratifying, F1 2013 is not a startling improvement from the already robust F1 2012, but it’s certainly Codemasters’ best and most confident crack at F1 to date.
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    77
    F1 2013 is a pretty ambiguous package. On one hand it's the best lightweight F1 simulation ever, but on the other hand it feels like an another season update with overpriced DLC's and burden of current gen consoles. I think it really would benefit from updates like warmup laps and all the drama surrounding F1 circus. [Nov 2013]
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    So again, there's a solid engine at work under the hood of this one, but it still gives you lots of opportunity to get really angry at it at the same time.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Arguably the best in the series, but also very much a retread of F1 2012. [December 2013, p.95]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 13 out of 25
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Best F1 game from Codemasters yet! Great car handling and brilliant addition of the classic content make this a must buy for anyone interested in racing games. A great range of assists help anyone who is new to the sport. So what are you waiting for?! BUY BUY BUY! Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    7
    Very good game if you own steering wheel for pc, its really hard to win qualifications , win race is almost impossible even when you play on easy difficulty. If you understand f1 strategies and tactics (fuel, pit stops, tires and lot more options) you will love this game for sure. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    This game can be summarized with the following: The the graphics in this game are a more polished version of F1 2012 and the controls are clearly different from its predecessor as well. The most important factor of the two is that the controls do seem 'stiff'. This is most evident when all assists are off. Now this does not by any means imply that the controls have been simplified for easier gameplay. No where in the gameplay did I see that to be overwhelmingly evident. Now let me emphasize that the stiffness or tightness feel of the controls is only clear if you have played previous versions of the game. Now, the big question that remains is whether or not Codemasters have produced a state of the art F1 simulation. Unfortunately, I do not believe I have the experience nor knowledge to make a useful observation. In fact, I don't think anyone does unless they are an F1 driver. Hence, my rating is solely based on the experience gameplay, and since the game really did not have anything truly different from its predecessor except the classic content, I feel a 7 is a modest score. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    I guess we can all rest easy and pretty much not play this game, unless this is your thing. I couldn't really recommend this to anyone besides die-hard fans of the other games. It feels more like a rehash with tighter controls.

    I am uninspired.
    Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2013
    3
    1 FPS BUG more FPS more speed.
    2 Online problems
    3 Cheaters in world TT
    4 Random bot speed and time in wet race.
    5 system of penalties
    and flags became even worse
    I have f1 2010, 2011, 2012. F1 2013 worst in the series.
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    1
    I'll rather go play Grand Prix 4 than this s*it. Horrible physics combined with so-so graphics and terrible sound design. Don't do the same mistake as me, get yourself some old Dirt game (1,2) from Amazon. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    Impossible to recommend this buggy piece of mess to anyone. Corner cutting bugs, AI bugs/cheats, understeering bugs, oversteering bugs... Play it only if you want to experience maximum frustration. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews