Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2013 sees Codemasters introducing a new F1 Classics mode, opening up circuits and drivers from the 1980s.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    95
    F1 2013 is easily the best game in the series and it makes me even more hopeful in terms of what Codemasters have in store for us next-gen.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a great take on the World Championship but it has the same problems of the last edition. Above all there are the classic cars from the 80's, which are more fun to drive than the actual cars.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    F1 2013 is a better and more varied game than its predecessor - Codemasters fixed issues and filled in some missing gameplay options. The new F1 Classics mode is great, but has far too little content. There's no revolution in the virtual Formula 1 world, just a simple return to the right path. The new F1 is a well made and really pretty racing game that generates lots of fun - and that's the most important thing.
  4. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Tough but gratifying, F1 2013 is not a startling improvement from the already robust F1 2012, but it’s certainly Codemasters’ best and most confident crack at F1 to date.
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    77
    F1 2013 is a pretty ambiguous package. On one hand it's the best lightweight F1 simulation ever, but on the other hand it feels like an another season update with overpriced DLC's and burden of current gen consoles. I think it really would benefit from updates like warmup laps and all the drama surrounding F1 circus. [Nov 2013]
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    70
    So again, there's a solid engine at work under the hood of this one, but it still gives you lots of opportunity to get really angry at it at the same time.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Arguably the best in the series, but also very much a retread of F1 2012. [December 2013, p.95]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 13 out of 24
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Best F1 game from Codemasters yet! Great car handling and brilliant addition of the classic content make this a must buy for anyone interested in racing games. A great range of assists help anyone who is new to the sport. So what are you waiting for?! BUY BUY BUY! Expand
  2. May 27, 2014
    7
    Very good game if you own steering wheel for pc, its really hard to win qualifications , win race is almost impossible even when you play on easy difficulty. If you understand f1 strategies and tactics (fuel, pit stops, tires and lot more options) you will love this game for sure. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    This game can be summarized with the following: The the graphics in this game are a more polished version of F1 2012 and the controls are clearly different from its predecessor as well. The most important factor of the two is that the controls do seem 'stiff'. This is most evident when all assists are off. Now this does not by any means imply that the controls have been simplified for easier gameplay. No where in the gameplay did I see that to be overwhelmingly evident. Now let me emphasize that the stiffness or tightness feel of the controls is only clear if you have played previous versions of the game. Now, the big question that remains is whether or not Codemasters have produced a state of the art F1 simulation. Unfortunately, I do not believe I have the experience nor knowledge to make a useful observation. In fact, I don't think anyone does unless they are an F1 driver. Hence, my rating is solely based on the experience gameplay, and since the game really did not have anything truly different from its predecessor except the classic content, I feel a 7 is a modest score. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    A beautiful looking and sounding game has once again been ruined by Codemasters' insistence on catering for the lowest common denominator. It is ruined by such terrible steering wheel controls as to make the game virtually unplayable, and feels through and through like it was designed for the console generation to be played on a controller. A massive shame that leaves this title thoroughly unimproved from the previous year.

    Watch the on-board footage from any Formula One race and watch out for any moment when the driver takes his hands away from their default "quarter to three" position. It never happens. Yet despite Codemasters providing a Logitech G25 preset for the game, thus acknowledging that players are using this wheel as a viable option, the steering is nowhere near sensitive enough. The first time you come across any corner that is more than a slight kink, let alone a hairpin, and you will find yourself turning the wheel more than a full revolution, necessitating a hand movement. Now compare this with the on-screen hands. These should match up, but far too much input is required from your wheel to get even the slightest movement on-screen in a slow speed corner.

    Now combine this with the straightening of the wheel on corner exit. Even if you instantly straighten the steering wheel, there is some "lingering" in the steering that reeks of a concession to the controller, where the game is trying to accommodate corner exits on a less than suitable control method.

    Off-road car physics is appalling and nowhere near realistic. There is far too much grip on grass and cars simply glide over gravel as though it's not there. Again, Codemasters concede and resort to the arcade mentality they are so often sucked into, as the game artificially slows the car when it's off the road, rather than relying on accurate physics.

    Another concession to the console generation is that the car has almost no warning of loss of grip. I recognise that these are 750hp monsters racing on the brink of what is possible, but as a driver with 20 years' experience with racing simulators, the game does not provide enough information through the steering wheel to correctly establish the attitude of the car, so finding that line between perfect corner exit and a slide into the barriers is more about guesswork than learning to read the car and the controls.

    It might well be that the game work beautifully on a controller (or even another steering wheel; I haven't got another) with full driving aids enabled, but that is of no interest to me. I have a keen interest in true motor racing simulation, and that is how the game was sold, yet there's the strong sense that Codemasters have tailored this game to the 13-year-old Xbox gamer who just wants a bit of light-hearted fun and knows nothing about driving physics or cornering style.

    I admit that it is possible, with a lot of trial and error, to get the Logitech G25 to a point where the car is driveable in this game, but only barely driveable and it never feels comfortable. The G25 preset should be set up to accurately provide a realistic control method, not having to yank the steering wheel through 270 degrees every time through Grand Hotel at Monaco. Default force feedback setting is OFF, even in the G25 preset. Why would I buy a £250 steering wheel and not use force feedback? More to the point, how am I supposed to tell what the car is doing without force feedback?

    On the plus side, the game looks and sounds brilliant, and there is a wide range of different events including, for the first time, cars from the sport's history. Unfortunately they are all terribly similar and there is no real feeling that you're driving something special, or even different. It's worth mentioning that Codemasters have done a money grab and sold the 90s classics (and tracks from the era) at additional cost, so the true star of the collection, the Williams FW14, is available only at a premium.

    Multiplayer is a clear "checklist" afterthought, and there are no dedicated servers. This means constant disconnections. Perplexingly, there is no ability to join a session in the middle of qualifying, and the default for voice chat is always on. This is inexcusable, and no developer should ever do this. Worse, once you're in a session there's no way to disable voice chat, so you have to quit out and permanently disable it. This is a crime as there IS a push to talk setting, but it's just not default.

    A massive missed opportunity made by developers more interested in making large profits from ignorant teens rather than a true effort at a simulation. Trying to play F1 2013 with a steering wheel is like trying to fry an egg with a cigarette lighter: it works, but you'll get mightily frustrated in the process. After the huge failure of Grid 2 this year, Codemasters need to go back to the drawing board. But as long as the ignorant masses continue to part with their money for games like this, there'll be no improvement.
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    2
    First of all, i am a huge fan of F1 2012 and played it ever since. But then i bought the new game and it is extremly awful. They tried to make it more like a simulation. That works, when your using the key buttons BUT NOT when i use a xbox wireless wheel. The control without help settings is unbearable. So either way, i will start playing F1 2012 again Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    1
    I tried giving this game a chance, believe me I did.
    I had played this game as a part of the Steam free weekend, running a Mac Mini
    Late-2010. First off, it said my graphics card was not compatible with the game. I swapped over to a different computer, and they said I had to update it to the latest version. (As if the game wouldn't work with 10.8 anyway... it's recent enough.)

    The tutorial was excessively long, and when I had gotten to the second day with 10 long tutorials, I had given up on the tutorial, and just skipped it all. And I'm glad I did because it was clear I didn't need to know anything other than acceleration, braking, and turning. When I got to the game, I couldn't help but be very bored. I was unable to focus on the game, it had no interest and boring gameplay. You could get a better racing game out of Tetris, it's that bad. I had tried almost all the gamemodes except for the classic vehicles.

    Multiplayer servers are nearly impossible to join. Also there is no way to turn off mic chat- which I personally do not wish to use.

    The only good thing about it were the graphics. However it was still probably bad enough to accept my graphics card.

    I am ashamed with you CodeMasters and Feral Interactive. You usually do better.
    Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    Impossible to recommend this buggy piece of mess to anyone. Corner cutting bugs, AI bugs/cheats, understeering bugs, oversteering bugs... Play it only if you want to experience maximum frustration. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews