Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 17, 2011
    90
    The suffering world of Albion has arrived on the PC, and it is up to you to choose a side. Especially for casual action-rpg fans an easy-going and satisfying concept.
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    85
    This is almost the same game released on the Xbox 360 months ago, and is still a very unique game. It is a very limited game compared to most PC RPGs, but it is also different.
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    85
    What instead stays with the player is the fantastic setting, awesome quests, cool customisation that develops as the player progresses, and unusual gameplay.
  4. May 18, 2011
    85
    Coming with a slightly annoying 3D feature powered by nVidia 3d Vision, but beside this technical gimmick, there is not much difference from the Xbox 360 version – which is definitely not a bad thing!
  5. May 18, 2011
    85
    Lionhead has done a good job with the PC version -a bit late maybe compared with the original 360 launch- and it offers a good chance to PC players to experience the wonder and draebacks of Albion. A nice action-adventure game with some great touches that will interest people looking for something different.
  6. May 18, 2011
    83
    Fable III PC is a great game, but you shouldn't buy it (unless the Steam version doesn't falter as much as the Marketplace one.)
  7. May 27, 2011
    82
    It may be a simple game, but who cares- The low difficulty makes it possible to enjoy the fairy tale world where you can be a benevolent hero and king – or just the opposite.
  8. May 18, 2011
    82
    Fable III is also a fun adventure game on PC for casual players with a radiant world, amazing characters, and with the astonishing chance to wear a king's crown as we have never seen in a game like this. This game gets Peter Molyneux closer to delivering its grandiloquent promises in the end, but at the same time gets the Fable series further from its RPG roots.
  9. May 25, 2011
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    An excellent interactive fairy tale. Due to interesting moral choices, it has a lot of replay potential. [June 2011]
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    Fable 3 interacts with the player like no other, bringing the moral decisions to a whole new level. It can be too simple and limited at times for an RPG, but it's still great. And it has Albion, which we couldn't help but admire. [July 2011, p.103]
  12. 80
    Console conversion succeeded but it just came a little later than it should have. Still, Fable is a great game for anyone who wants to enjoy some easy action RPG. [June 2011]
  13. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Definitely think about getting an Xbox 360 controller before you wade into this adventure.
  14. May 18, 2011
    80
    The PC version of Fable III is better than the console version. The new difficulty level is what hardcore gamers asked for, and you'll get all the contents of the Collector's Edition at a lower price. If you like long and story-driven games, you should consider buying it.
  15. May 17, 2011
    80
    It's hard not to see flaws in this Fable III, which is less convincing in many areas than the previous one. Its inconsistent production values (sometimes beautifully executed, sometimes lacking a lot of polish), the over-simplification of some things that are sometimes not that efficient, the less than inspired bestiary : potential reproaches are numerous. But despite all those, Fable III, like it predecessors, remains so charming and mesmerizing that it works. The coop mode is a bliss (at last), and even though the "being King gameplay" is clearly underwhelming, one cannot be bored by this new Albion. Yes, Fable III could have been better polished and more ambitious, but it's still a game unlike any other.
  16. May 17, 2011
    80
    I thoroughly enjoyed going back to Albion and can't wait for more from Peter Molyneux and Lionhead Studios.
  17. May 16, 2011
    80
    Fable's greatest problem is that it sets such high standards in some areas that the gaps elsewhere seem all the more noticeable.
  18. May 10, 2011
    80
    Fable III was released in October of last year and, somewhat bizarrely, is only now getting a PC port. The good news is that the PC version comes prepackaged with the contents of the Limited Collector's Edition and all of the DLC packs. The bad news is that the keyboard and mouse controller arrangement is awkward, with particular problems involving camera angles during combat. While you're manipulating the WASD keys to move your character, you'll also be utilizing the mouse to move the camera -- so you'll often find the camera is looking the one way you don't need it to. Using a console controller solves this problem, but PC purists will wish the game was better mapped to keyboard and mouse controls.
  19. May 17, 2011
    79
    While the porting process didn't harm the game, Fable III has a solid yet decidedly dated core. Combat is fun but has a slew of issues that detract from what it otherwise could have been, and that's a sentiment that could just as easily to be applied to most of the game.
  20. May 20, 2011
    78
    Fable is a fast-aging brand, and on the PC market it's getting face to face with top notch exclusives. It's still a good choice if you love that fairy tale feeling, but the gameplay is indeed too easy for the hardcore market. What's more, it comes to PC late, and with no extras.
  21. Jul 1, 2011
    75
    To keep it short and simple: the PC version is a solid port. Do not expect wonders or any efforts to radically improve the game. Let's be honest – it's the weakest installment of the trilogy. [June 2011, p.59]
  22. May 24, 2011
    75
    Fable III is a good game but not everyone will feel equally entertained by it. It's a game aimed at a gamer who does not look for many paths of character growth, doesn't measure statistics and wants only to run around a fairyland and complete some very funny quests. If you manage to approach Fable III with such an attitude, Lionhead's game will guarantee many hours of great, fun gameplay. But if you're looking for an RPG - just forget about Lionhead and Peter Molyneux.
  23. May 18, 2011
    75
    A fascinating mishmash of concepts that don't always mesh well.
  24. Jul 12, 2011
    74
    A competent example of a PC port and of an RPG, but its obsessions with consumerism dampens the adventure. [Aug 2011, p.100]
  25. Jun 18, 2011
    72
    Obsessed with teaching a lesson in morality, Fable III loses focus on its charm, and is far less interesting for it. [Aug 2011, p.64]
  26. Jun 6, 2011
    72
    Despite some welcome attention to detail in this port, it's still not enough to raise it to the heights of 'must play' for an action RPG whose charm, humour and some genuinely interesting ideas aren't strong enough to battle against how unchallenging it is and how repetitive a lot of tasks can become.
  27. 70
    Fable III proves to be a pretty unstable mix, with good visual value, but an excessive simplification of the gameplay. You might get to finish it once and then go on with any remaining secondary missions. Still, there's no life after that; the fights are boring, enemies stupid and the story too thin.
  28. May 25, 2011
    70
    So it came to pass that Molyneux's latest epic was brought unto Windows. Though it was a port lacking in polish, with graphics below those of the modern age, the people embraced it as a rarity. Gritty but immature, dark yet not steeped in the occult, it stood out amongst the science fiction and horror-fantasy that dominated the marketplace.
  29. May 25, 2011
    70
    Fable's wide open world is beautifully designed and wonderful to explore. The programming effort to shape the destiny of a nation in a fantasy setting was achieved only in part though. While its deep social interaction shines, the real gameplay is flawed by poor and uninteresting mechanics, from the quests to the shallow combat system.
  30. May 21, 2011
    70
    Fable III lands on the PC with graphical enhancements and tougher combat, but simplified gameplay and a lack of moral choices still distract from the fun.
  31. May 18, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  32. May 17, 2011
    70
    Lionhead haven't spent much efforts on bringing this to the PC. It's still too simplified in everything from the choices you make to the story.
  33. May 17, 2011
    70
    Fable III is a good game but the original contents of the PC version do not convince and, at the same price, there are other more interesting titles.
  34. May 17, 2011
    70
    As I said, this is still Fable III which means it's as divisive as ever.
  35. Jun 13, 2011
    65
    In Fable III you can purchase houses, buy businesses, get married, and have kids. Like B&W you have a pet, a dog in this case, but he's more useful and less idiosyncratic, and you can train him to help you in combat and he sniffs out treasure for you. By and large good stuff. Those things work. And in general dealing with the leaders of the various towns to get them to ally with you is good RPG fodder (and deciding later whether or not to keep the promises you make is an interesting wrinkle). But the dreary nature of performing menial tasks repeatedly with individual people to scrape experience? Not so much. In fact as an activity it likely ranks down there with gold farming. And while it was ludicrous as a god to be expected to find every lost child, as a prince trying to stabilize an entire kingdom it's only slightly less asinine. And in Fable III it's all been linked together, inextricably.
  36. May 31, 2011
    65
    An acceptable, lighthearted RPG that's often too simple, too staid and too black and white to be much fun.
  37. Jul 10, 2011
    60
    A fun, light-hearted romp, but one that pales in light of its predecessors. [Aug 2011, p.68]
  38. May 17, 2011
    60
    For a game that tries so hard to get under your skin, Fable III rarely manages to do much more than scratch the surface.
  39. May 17, 2011
    58
    Fable III isn't a terrible game, it's just a disappointment, and suffers from a bad case of over-simplification. As entertaining as the characters and quests may be, they're weighed down by the increasingly simple gameplay. The biggest shame is that Lionhead made this fascinating and attractive world and then removed your ability to affect it in any real way.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 492 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 131
  2. Negative: 64 out of 131
  1. May 23, 2011
    3
    I was really anticipating this game's launch. I had heard the hype that it wouldn't feel like a console port. However, after playing for about 20 hours, it feels exactly like a console port. I still can't get over how poorly the UI is designed. Very simple tasks are made ridicously painful, things such as switching clothing requires walking into a seperate room. I guess I didn't realize how underappreciated simple PC controls were in other RPGs, but you would think mundane tasks would be made more fluid. Combat - I think this is where the game fails most.. combat is an utter joke. You can simply spam most attacks without any thought as to strategy. Even on the challenging difficulty, it was a cake walk. I really don't want extremely painful gameplay, but I would like a little bit of challenge to keep it interesting. The story line is ok.. it has its moments to where it becomes good, but then it sorta drops off flat again. Maybe the developers were to ambitious and just couldn't bring it all together.. I don't know, but the entire time, I felt like it was missing alot and the tasks were very repetitive. Some were a bit humours, but the novelty of kicking chickens wears off pretty quick. Overall, if you enjoy console rpgs, then you will most likely enjoy this game. If you are more of a pc gamer whom is used to traditional style rpgs, you will probably get bored quickly and find the game a bit shallow. Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2011
    2
    Good: - it finally came out on the PC - an RPG that has a sense of humor ~~Bad: - graphics are bad; it's not completely bad but at least the graphics should have been enhanced for the PC platform.
    - economy system is trash; players can earn millions of gold but there isn't really anything that is worth buying.
    - a story that is empty and bland; save the country and that's it.

    ~~Conclusion:
    it is not worth the full price.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Huge fan of the first Fable game, not-so-huge fan of the 2nd game. But I had to give Fable III a try. After about 15 hours of gameplay, I had some pc issues and had to reinstall my os. I tried my best to backup the savegames but the result was "corrupted savegame." This got me furious, I had to start all over again. So I did, and I played trough it. I did just about everything. Collected 50 gnomes. 50 Silver keys. /Spoiler sort of: I even managed to make all the good decisions AND save the entire people. Yet, the feeling I was left with in the end was disappointment and regret. Too many aspects of disappointment in a game I regret I ever played! The Fable series have pretty much been heading downhill since the 1st game, and this is no exception. I am not sure the game could be made any more noob-friendly, and that is NOT a good thing. Anti-aliasing setting is melted together with other effects, such as bloom. The inventory system is just weird: The sanctuary can hold all the weapons in the entire world, but it can't hold a pie and a celery at the same time. I can purchase warrior armor for as little as 12k and it offers no more protection than running around naked. It is impossible to get killed. The story and the characters are boring. Final boss and ending was disappointing. The graphics are cartoonish, and should've been better. Combat is no improvement. "Summon creatures" and "slow" time are potions.... Just to make the spellweaving system possible (which is hyped up bs.) Too many kill, retrieve or escort quests. Lip sync, no such thing. I never got the feeling this was connected to any of the earlier Fable games. I wanted to know what happened to the spire, and what Theresa did with it. And why did my character go trough a long and scary cave to get the first guild seal, when I can get one just by touching random people. I am not sure if it is an object or experience. Somehow the game kept me bewitched until I completed it. I can't deny the fact that it was entertaining. The humor is familiar. Some references to the previous games. (Chesty's games) But I think pretty much every negative thing that has been said or written about this game is true. Full Review »