User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 478 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 23, 2011
    3
    I was really anticipating this game's launch. I had heard the hype that it wouldn't feel like a console port. However, after playing for about 20 hours, it feels exactly like a console port. I still can't get over how poorly the UI is designed. Very simple tasks are made ridicously painful, things such as switching clothing requires walking into a seperate room. I guess I didn't realize how underappreciated simple PC controls were in other RPGs, but you would think mundane tasks would be made more fluid. Combat - I think this is where the game fails most.. combat is an utter joke. You can simply spam most attacks without any thought as to strategy. Even on the challenging difficulty, it was a cake walk. I really don't want extremely painful gameplay, but I would like a little bit of challenge to keep it interesting. The story line is ok.. it has its moments to where it becomes good, but then it sorta drops off flat again. Maybe the developers were to ambitious and just couldn't bring it all together.. I don't know, but the entire time, I felt like it was missing alot and the tasks were very repetitive. Some were a bit humours, but the novelty of kicking chickens wears off pretty quick. Overall, if you enjoy console rpgs, then you will most likely enjoy this game. If you are more of a pc gamer whom is used to traditional style rpgs, you will probably get bored quickly and find the game a bit shallow. Expand
  2. May 22, 2011
    2
    Good: - it finally came out on the PC - an RPG that has a sense of humor ~~Bad: - graphics are bad; it's not completely bad but at least the graphics should have been enhanced for the PC platform. - economy system is trash; players can earn millions of gold but there isn't really anything that is worth buying. - a story that is empty and bland; save the country and that's it.

    ~~Conclusion:
    it is not worth the full price.
    Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2011
    5
    It feels like a step in the wrong direction. Fable 2 was a large improvement over Fable 1, and I expected the same thing to happen going from Fable 2 to Fable 3. Not so. The developers have made strange interface changes that immediately feel like they're hindering the game. The combat is nearly identical in the way it plays in Fable 2. That's not necessarily a bad thing. But add on to that the absence of a large variety of weapons and armor and combat soon grows dull. Combining spells is a nice touch, but having fewer spells than the last game is NOT a good decision. I like the weapons that slowly change throughout the game, but why not have that AND large supply of other weapons to use? The environments are larger but seem more empty than Fable 2. The graphics are pretty nice but you'll need a very hefty PC to play on max settings. They haven't added enough new features to the game and the one they have don't make up for it or don't even work. There's some good stuff here, but it's hindered by lack of variety and innovation. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Huge fan of the first Fable game, not-so-huge fan of the 2nd game. But I had to give Fable III a try. After about 15 hours of gameplay, I had some pc issues and had to reinstall my os. I tried my best to backup the savegames but the result was "corrupted savegame." This got me furious, I had to start all over again. So I did, and I played trough it. I did just about everything. Collected 50 gnomes. 50 Silver keys. /Spoiler sort of: I even managed to make all the good decisions AND save the entire people. Yet, the feeling I was left with in the end was disappointment and regret. Too many aspects of disappointment in a game I regret I ever played! The Fable series have pretty much been heading downhill since the 1st game, and this is no exception. I am not sure the game could be made any more noob-friendly, and that is NOT a good thing. Anti-aliasing setting is melted together with other effects, such as bloom. The inventory system is just weird: The sanctuary can hold all the weapons in the entire world, but it can't hold a pie and a celery at the same time. I can purchase warrior armor for as little as 12k and it offers no more protection than running around naked. It is impossible to get killed. The story and the characters are boring. Final boss and ending was disappointing. The graphics are cartoonish, and should've been better. Combat is no improvement. "Summon creatures" and "slow" time are potions.... Just to make the spellweaving system possible (which is hyped up bs.) Too many kill, retrieve or escort quests. Lip sync, no such thing. I never got the feeling this was connected to any of the earlier Fable games. I wanted to know what happened to the spire, and what Theresa did with it. And why did my character go trough a long and scary cave to get the first guild seal, when I can get one just by touching random people. I am not sure if it is an object or experience. Somehow the game kept me bewitched until I completed it. I can't deny the fact that it was entertaining. The humor is familiar. Some references to the previous games. (Chesty's games) But I think pretty much every negative thing that has been said or written about this game is true. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    2
    I thought it was going to be a great game. It seemed very childish to me. It seems geared toward a younger crowd. I feel it's a total waste of money. The trailer with the chicken is the greatest thing about the game. Very disappointed.....
  6. May 25, 2011
    1
    Possibly the worst game in history of games. I want to pay lion-head studios 50 to keep this crap of the internet. First off none stop cut scenes and voice overs none stop i mean cut scene cut scene cut scene , saving , saving , saving , loading ,loading , talk, talk , talk, than you get to play 2 minutes of killing crappy npcs that on challenging are super easy to kill b4 it goes into more cut scenes and voice overs. The camera is angles and twitching is going to make u vomit. On top of that the game crashed my computer upon exiting it for the night and the next day when i get on all my saved files are now corrupt and none playable. Do a Google search everyone is having issues with corrupt game saves. Expand
  7. May 28, 2011
    0
    Well, what can i say about this game, prepare because I have a lot to say.
    They claim it is not a console port. Let me tell you, this game feels more like a console port than any other game I have played thus far.
    The story is bland, slow, boring and stupid. They never fully finish or explain anything at the end.
    Do not make a new character after you finish the game because it will
    completely delete your original character.
    It is optimized extremely poorly. (What did i expect its a port)
    All the RPG elements that were in the first game are completely gone, you can only use one spell at a time (2 if you upgrade) It auto aims all your attacks for you so combat is just a silly non-nonsensical spamming of LMB until all your enemies are dead.
    The game is extremely easy I never ever used a single potion throughout the game and I was a melee character which is supposedly harder than anything else.
    The game just feels like it was made on a Friday if you know what I mean.
    The game punishes you for being "Good"
    Game is over-simplified to the point that it is almost insulting:
    Armor has no stats Weapons just say "Damage 100"
    There is no health bar There is no will power bar
    There is no "leveling up" like there was in the first now you just collect these guild seal things and spend them on some road to rule crap opening chests
    There are no "cool" spells and abilities that you could get like in the first for example the sneak steal and all the guild abilities are gone they are now wrapped up into one thief package that allows you to walk up to cash registers and steal thats it no sneaking into houses at night and taking stuff out of people's drawers and stuff anymore no killing people in there sleep and then running away from town nope thats gone!
    There are no stats like guile strength and will like there was in the first.
    Weapon customization is gone no longer can you put gems and stuff into the weapons now its just kill 100 of X monsters and you gain 10% damage at night
    Remember demon doors? Well now there are only 5 and they seem to have gotten tired of making up riddles so now they straight up tell you marry someone in front of me, be good, hit me in the face etc.
    Interacting with people is really really really sloppily designed, if you want to be friends with someone you have to dance with them to get them to like you for five minutes
    The game just feels awkward when talking to people because out of nowhere someone will just burst out DO YOU WANT A PIE????? or whatever they say
    The volume in this game is adjusted very strangely, the voices seem to quieter than the music which is louder than the action (even with adjusting the sound in the options its still just weird)



    Overall: If you played the first one and thought it was great, you might not want to play this one or wait for the price to come down because it was nothing like the first one.
    Expand
  8. Jul 13, 2011
    2
    This game is the epitome of bad. It has the groundwork to be an okay game, with a large dynamic world which you can grow and interact with, but...

    The story is childish. The characters are forgettable. The combat system is trash. The objectives are tired. The interaction with the world is fairly limited and much too varied in tone. There's no sense of urgency, no empathy, no coherent
    theme. It's a game that is without challenge and grows stale quickly, with no redeeming features. Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2011
    3
    This game is overhyped garbage that was rushed to release and the game suffers from crippling bugs because of it. The game looks bad, the sound is forgettable, the combat is way to easy, the story is blah. *sigh*
    There is no real map...at all. You must rely on buggy golden pathways to get about. I've said enough, save yourself some money and don't buy this game. Play the Witcher 2 or
    Dragon age 2 instead. =) Expand
  10. Jun 6, 2011
    2
    This game is horribly easy, even on challenge mode.... it has not lived up to the hype at all, has pretty terrible combat of mash keyboard to win and requires no tactical thinking. A game for children that does not stand up to the standards of modern games, the only redeeming quality is that it is kinda fun to watch your money pile build (which is again a little too easy to be enjoyable to earn)
  11. Aug 16, 2011
    1
    This is the LEAST-FUN game I have ever played. I just registered to post my opinion. Fable III gets a 2 instead of a 0 because the world graphics are impressive. This game is so tedious, you could train a monkey with a Drinking Bird toy to beat it (the monkey could beat the game without the Drinking Bird toy, but the monkey would die of boredom if it had to beat the game without a little help). How to make someone like you: go up to them and press A
    How to make a friend: press A, press A, press A, press and hold A, press A watch animation
    How to make a lover: press A, press and hold A, press A, press A, press and hold A, press and hold A, press and hold A, press A, press A, press and hold A

    Just follow the gold trail in front of your character and press and hold A. When in combat, use magic to destroy your enemies. IT IS SO EASY AND TEDIOUS. Why do you have to press and hold A for 2 seconds to do things??? Why do i have to go through 20 load screen and teleport to my "sanctuary" to change my weapon. Why don't different weapons do anything different? Why did I just spend 15 minutes, literally 15 minutes, flapping my arms like a chicken, dancing with a man, running all over town, buying things, delivering messages in this side-quest? Why? Because that's what this game is about - spend time doing something pointless to earn "guild seals" so you can go to the "Road to Rule." You need to earn guild seals to upgrade your weapons and learn new pointless expressions. Nothing you do matters - your appearance might change slightly, which is cool I guess, but did I mention that the game is boring? Monotonous? Talk about Grinding.... You have to be a small child or a moron to enjoy this game. The main story quest is LINEAR. Nothing you do changes or affects the story line. It doesn't matter if you're good or evil. You want to deviate from the gold-line in the ground that tells you what to do? Maybe do a mind-numbingly boring side-quest! The environment is pretty as I've already said, but you can't enjoy it because it's impossible to get anywhere (no on screen minimap) and even though it looks really open, gameplay feels more like a dungeon-quest type game, except there are flowers and fences and buildings painted on the walls. I hate this game. I wanted to be able to do something meaningful with my gold, have items that do something significant in the game, have characters that I care about, have my decisions mean something. I WANTED TO HAVE TO THINK. Not just press the interact button, then press the open door button, then press the interact button. The screen tells you what button to press. When you press it, you have to watch a super-boring animation and then you are rewarded with being able to progress to the next stupid thing.

    I'm repeating myself - you get the point (if you've made it this far). The point is, the game Fable III is just like this review... it keeps repeating itself. Its like watching animated grass grow, except not as difficult or fun as the grass-growing game would be. Like, in the grass growing game, maybe if you chose the wrong fertilizer, the grass wouldn't grow as fast or if you didn't defend it with spray, the bugs would get it. In Fable your decisions have no bearing on the gameplay, just your appearance... nothing meaningful for the story. At least, they could have made the combat fun.
    Expand
  12. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    A very lighthearted and fun RPG. Great voice work and a brilliant setting let down with a casual fighting system and poor storytelling. The content has been extremely dumbed down since Fable 2 resulting in the game feeling empty and small. Its a popcorn game really... The thing to buy just to waste some time.
  13. May 26, 2011
    5
    Fable 3 got its moments but it is a very average story most of the time.

    This game is very easy, it becomes so easy that it almost gets annoying. You donâ
  14. May 17, 2011
    10
    Fable 3 is an interesting RPG, it has unique elements much different from others. The combat system looks simply fantastic, the interface is great and the style is unique, it has a interesting storyline, the sense of humor is nice not great though, the atmosphere is nice seems lovely. Being a fan of Fable series i just don't think that Fable can be bad. It might not as good as tes(the elder scroll) but overall it a great way to pass some time. In other words is fantastic game. Expand
  15. May 21, 2011
    10
    If you have played the Xbox 360 version, you may have noticed bugs, long load times, and framerate skipping. Annoying right? Well the PC version has fixed all of that and has even added upon the fable 3 experience, with all the DLC included right out of the box, a new "hardcore" mode, superior Mouse and Keyboard controls, and the stunning new Nvidia 3D functionality. Pros: -Majority of game bugs fixed with PC release -Hardcore mode actually adds enjoyment to this game for the gamers who found the 360 release to be too easy. -3D mode is very stunning -Support a wide variety of Xbox 360 controllers -New graphical details added exclusively for PC -Achievements (if you care about those, I don't) -Mouse and Keyboard works great Cons: -Still too easy (no real penalty for dying other than loss of guild points) -Some minor GFWL interface issues (don't listen to the other reviews, game works fine and this isn't as big of an issue as they claim) -Can't choose the expressions you want when interacting with other character like in Fable 2 -Crossplatform co-op is not included Final words: Don't listen to the negative reviews, if you have a gaming PC (or even a decent PC for that matter) and a Xbox 360 gaming console, buy this PC version. It's pretty much better in every way unless you have friends that only own the Xbox 360 version and even then this game is still enjoyable by yourself. Expand
  16. May 29, 2011
    2
    Picked up this game after being a fan of the Lost Chapters (Fable 1). I had hopes that the developers were sincere in saying this wasn't a console port. I was wrong to put my faith in that. And now I've spent $50 on this game and I wish I could give it back. The graphics are bad. Not kill the game bad, but the ghosting/rendering is almost there. There are a ton of graphical bugs that carried over from consoles; why weren't these fixed? The story is a bit bland and way too short considering the second half is....what it is. The interface is terrible; we're in clear console-port territory again here. Saving for example requires you to hit Esc and go to your sanctuary. Then go and click your game management menu. Then run through the Game management "room" to a save icon. Then save it. Yeesh.
    Overall a huge disappointment for me. And definitely not worth $50. Wait til this pile of garbage goes on sale for like 9.99 before even thinking about it.
    Expand
  17. Jun 3, 2011
    2
    Fable I was a really promising game, I skipped fable 2 because well it was on xbox, I bought fable 3 as soon as it shown up on steam and... wel...
    Good ideas that were in fable 1 are no longer there (like seeing your moral orientation affect your character skin), the story is just completely boring (it is not the story itself which is not that bad it is just the way you feel when playing
    it).
    The game is utterly repetitive, in short if you liked fable 1 run away from this one !!
    Expand
  18. Jun 27, 2011
    7
    Voices and music: superb - worlds and graphics: imaginative and great - story and gameplay: ah well, nice...
    Pressing mouse-buttons 20 times a second is really, really boring.
    Playing the game is just not as much fun as just watching the worlds and listening to the sounds.
    If there were a good game to play in Fable 3, I'd certainly rate it higher. It is beautiful.
  19. Jun 3, 2011
    1
    I was really anticipating this game. But then, when it finally comes out to PC.. Well, in short words its just fail for me. I was, and i am now, fan of F:LC but this is nothing. For 1, its to easy, hell.. Hero cant even die, half of cool-looking RPG elemets just got dumped, and then there's a story, its just NOTHING, really. And well.. I guess i just dont like such "Kiddo-tales" any more.
  20. May 19, 2011
    10
    As a huge fan of the first one, I had high hopes for this one as well. Not only did Fable 3 meet my expetations, but it exceeded them as well. I didn't play the second one, so I can't comment on that, but it takes everything from the first one and improves it. It is a worthy successor.
  21. May 17, 2011
    9
    I've never played the first Fable - however fable 3 made me want to. I've never played any fable, however Fable 3 is a great RPG. It's got simple, slick combat(that's too easy)It looks great, the art style is unique, the writing is solid. The humour seems forced at times, but it works. It's got no deal breakers, however you are not in for a challenge.
  22. Jul 18, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This... is a terrible game. The story is bland, the combat is the worst I have ever witnessed, in any game, across any platform. I am one of the worst gamers ever,and would have completed it on the hardest difficulty, WITHOUT DYING, if the save system hadn't DELETED MY CHARACTER when I tried to start the game again.The morality system is far too infantile to be of any use. There is either good or bad in 90% of places, and in the very few (I noticed about 3) occasions in which you are given a neutral choice, it DOESN'T EVEN MAKE SENSE! for example, at one point you are given the option to set taxes. You can either lower them (good), keep them the same as your brother (neutral) or raise them (bad). Now, the whole point of the game was to overthrow your brother because the taxes were too high, i.e. he was EVIL! Keeping them the same is therefore still morally wrong. If I save you from a murderer then kill you myself, am I commiting a crime? Of course! On the subject of the morality system, it is almost impossible to complete the game as a good character if you don't know exactly what's going to happen. You see, if you are playing a good character, you will have about -500,000 money (gold?). So, throughout the game, you have to buy up properties in order to have any money in the treasury at all. There is ONE "good" choice that will add money to the treasury.

    All this would perhaps be permissible if the storyline and interface was good. Guess what? They aren't! The storyline is this: Your brother is evil. Kill him. Now choose to be evil or good. Oh, by the way, theres this evil thing that was the reason your brother was being evil. You have to kill it. Interface: Direct console port. You have to go to different rooms in order to change clothes. There is a suit of armor that offers absoloutely NO protection whatsoever. The voice actors are good, admittedly. This is perhaps the game's only good point. However, Lionshead even went and ruined that by writing the worst script I have ever seen in a game. It is trying FAR too hard to be funny. It is also failing. The graphics aren't even anything special. Lionshead's idea of an open world is about 5 linear paths per zone, with unavoidable encounters every meter. This game is inferior to TES IV in every conceivable way except voice acting - graphics, length, storyline, price. Worth approximately half of something I stepped in yesterday.
    Expand
  23. May 31, 2011
    3
    A depressingly bad game. Humor is pressed and the good/evil choices are simplistic in design while the game remains shorter than ever. The game is incredibly easy with absolutely no challenge for anyone over the age of 5.
  24. Jun 6, 2011
    3
    So many issues, where to start. The game is too easy. You cant die, you only lose some kind of progress toward your objective. The interactions with the ai inhabitants are limited, I.E very superficial and based on economics like having to all ways give something to make people happy. Its too easy to get gold in this game so it doesn't feel like you are accomplishing anything accept bordem. all the items in the game is like a girl you dont know giving you candy all the time, you dont have to work for it, and that for the most part is really insulting. It still feels like a console port even though they said it was changed for the pc. The list goes on and on and on not a very well designed game IMHO and a waste of money. Expand
  25. Jun 7, 2011
    6
    It's more of a Monopoly + Sims game rather than a hardcore fantasy RPG, but there's nothing wrong with that if it's what you're looking for. Game glitches like your dog floating around 10 feet in the air and landscape texture blanking are distracting. Played FIII through once and got the best possible ending, but I have no desire to finish all the little collection games, max all my weapons out, or get any more achievements. It's not a horrible game, and you can "get into it" after two hours or so, but there's no must-experience moments here. Expand
  26. MTR
    Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Pantallazo azul al salir a windows, perder las partidas grabadas, .... Totalmente imposible jugar :S No puede ser tan complicado es hacer un port de 360 a PC !!!
  27. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    Fable III takes what made the original two games 'slightly interesting' and throws it all into a mainstream box. It throws in fart jokes, streamlines the already streamlined systems, and removes any vague remnants of depth that the series might have aspired towards. The game assumes that the general public are all braindead xbox-headset wearing 12 year olds. No. I take that back. Even they are a smarter, deeper audience than this game demands. Horrible, rancid game. Apparently the next game is going to be a connect on-rails shooter. Somehow that does not surprise me. Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Fable 3 is a epic RPG game , it have it own environment, great game-play and unique locations that you can work , steal , sleep and have sex and more!
  29. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    I really don't understand all the negative critics I see here, this game is brilliant and gives you much fun. Yes, it is not an FPS, but that should not be if it is an RPG, is it? Buy it, it gives you hours and hours of fun, and much additional content is already available at very affordable costs, to keep you playing and playing.
  30. Aug 14, 2011
    0
    I really did not enjoy this game. It was short and really didn't stay with the Fable theme, sad, I was looking foward to this game but there was nothing i liked about this game. The game play was just like Fable 2 so i wasn't really impressed. The ending was horrible. nothing good about this game.
  31. Aug 14, 2011
    0
    The worst game I've ever purchased. Not worth the $55 I paid. There is no 'free will' in this game it's all mechanical and generic script following. There is no real impressive skill-cap required to play this game. If you can listen and follow the glitter you win. The game play is monotonous and repetitive. This game is the epitome of rpg hell. I have had more fun with Duck Hunt or a good book.
  32. Jul 16, 2012
    3
    After Fable The Lost Chapters was ported to PC and vastly improved on the bog standard Fable; and after the second game vastly improved on Fable TLC there was a lot of expectation for this game to deliver. And a lot of Peter Molyneux's usual standard of over hyping everything to make it seem like it absolutely would and beyond.
    And the game starts of somewhat promising, at least storyline
    wise.

    It quickly becomes apparent that this game has failed in nearly every way.

    Gameplay? The ONLY improvement was the ability to combine magic spells. That's it. Everything else was worse than Fable 2.
    UI? Has been made almost completely inaccessible to you.
    And the levelling system is just outright bonkers.
    And the worst crime? Probably the fact that you have no health bar. So when you are close to death and need to use a potion you have no idea, the game itself warns you about a split second before you die that "hey your going to die!"

    But I persevered because the storyline seemed promising, and kind of interesting. I can forgive a lot if its got good story.
    But then you reach the part of the game that SHOULD have been the end game, within about 12 hours if you work hard at stretching it out; and then the storyline collapses completely into nonsense and irrelevance.

    And thus combined becomes unplayable and the lamest game ever.

    I seriously feel like I am being generous giving it a 3 out of 10 here, because honestly if you asked me to name anything I liked about Fable 3?
    The only thing I could tell you is the new combination magic. For me the game was worse than Fable 2 in every single way. And it getting a PC port, and not Fable 2, is mind boggling. Seriously.
    Expand
  33. Jul 16, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love Fable. In fact - Im somewhat of a fangirl. With that - before I could play, I had to make some sort of Microsoft account. I had a ton of issues so I had to call support. After 2 hours on hold, someone helps me and I got the account thing set up.

    I start playing and it say's I have a illegal copy. I call support back with a shorter hold time (30 mins). Im kinda upset - he asked where I got it from, and trouble shoots me. After doing some technical stuff (I have no clue what he made me do) but it worked! Im happy now. I get to playing and after beating it. (It didnt take too long, maybe 2 - 3 days off and on), I was disappointed. It didn't feel like an RPG really. And please - do not get me started on the "collect 10 million gold" part....

    Anyways - the game was ok, but I want more! It's missing something, but I dont know what.
    Expand
  34. Mar 10, 2013
    5
    This game was extremely disappointing. The entire game you will notice the lack of attention and half assed efforts. Do not mistake this game for an RPG, it is an "action adventure game". One of the developers actually claimed this game would be better than Skyrim. To make that claim you need to produce a game that actually seems like they put some effort into it. This game feels like it was designed for minors who watch their parents play big boy games.
    Not worth the price, if you simply must try it out, get it on sale.
    Expand
  35. Mar 25, 2012
    1
    I really enjoyed the first Fable game, and was anticipating this one quite a bit. Having never played Fable 2 because I don't own an xbox I was happy to hear this was to be released on PC aswell as xbox 360.
    However I was massively disappointed with this game. It is a console port, and it is a very very bad one at that. The game took an extra half a year to get to the PCs, I wonder what
    they used all that time for, certainly wasn't spent on the UI, controls or graphics.
    Every time you dig up something or open a treasure chest you have to watch a 10 second cinematic bit, which is cool the first time. But after not very many times it gets very tedious, and I started to avoid chests/dig-spots completely.
    The gameplay is sluggish and slow, every action takes forever to complete, and using the aim controls for guns and magic it is VERY clear this was not made for, or even adjusted for mouse controls.
    There is very little variety in the quests and tasks you get to do, and the game quickly turns into a grindfest
    The story is downright bad, it is uninteresting and riddled with bad cliches. The moral choices is always a choice between being an oblivious do-gooder and a maniacal **** There is no sense of separation of time in the game, it feels like the last event in the game and the starting tutorial plays out on the same day.
    I would rate this at 0, but the voice-acting is actually phenomenal, Stephen Fry, John Cleese and the rest of the characters is really the only thing I enjoyed in this game.
    Boring, Bland and badly designed and ported.
    Expand
  36. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    All I'm going to say is too little far too late.

    I've turned my back on the fable series and will never pay for another one these games, even though fable 1 was one of my favorite games of all time.
  37. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    Fun game, i enjoyed playing fable series but the controls are some what lame for PC loin-head should have made more PC friendly controls but that was the only major issue i had with fable 3 other then that i found it be amusing
  38. May 30, 2011
    2
    I felt tricked- it wasn't what I had hoped or expected- the NPC interactions were rudimentary, the multiplayer wasn't interactive (if another player tried to participate in my world by speaking with NPC's there was a chance the game would lock up.), and much much more. If this is where they intend this franchise to go, I won't be purchasing another game in this series.
  39. May 31, 2011
    5
    I was really looking forward to playing FABLE III as I have just completed FABLE TLC a few days ago. I expected huge improvements in gameplay and User interface. However, I was in for a huge disappointment. The sanctuary was troublesome and unnecessary! A simple inventory menu would have sufficed. Combat was over-simplified and tedious, felt more like a chore. All the wonderful spells in FABLE TLC are gone. Left with a few boring spells to use and melee combat felt underpowered in comparison to guns and spells. The only fun and engaging part of the game came when you had to choose to keep or break your promises as a king. If you are looking to buy this game because of the combat and gameplay, save this game for the bargain bin. After playing for 20 hours, the game just felt like a chore even till the end. Expand
  40. Jun 13, 2011
    3
    Repetitive relationship quests that compare to an MMO grind fest. Too many similar looking NPCs. Unbalanced combat system. Feels more like a platformer than an RPG. The humor is nice when you start, but gets old real quick.
  41. Jun 22, 2011
    3
    Terrible interface. If I wanted to play like that, I'd be using a console not a PC.

    Devs should really get their heads out of their asses. PC gamers are not the same as Console gamers.
    All the hype couldn't save a half a55ed interface and arcade like fighting.
  42. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    A very light RPG with the light elements of the genre, it isn't as good as the first and second one from what ive been told i haven't played them my self, but still i think Fable 3 is more of the rent than a buy in my opinion since its quite short, unless you like to do all the extra side quests and re-build the city.
  43. Nov 27, 2011
    1
    this was a big lie ! all they said about this game is a lie!!!!
    they said 10 times better weapons from the oblivion where is that?
    all i saw was u take one weapon and to improve it u will make it look like **** !
    the story was a little bit of stupid ! u will never fight see a big and dangerous fight u may use pottion one time or 2 ... the co op was better than fable 2 but there is nothing
    good for ur friend everyone will ignore him/her and u will be forced to send coppies of the game if u want to improve ur weapon !
    u will see how it sucks when u want to be friends with someone and to do that u need to dance with him like a gay dance or hold hands ... the is nothing like an rpg u dont level up u just open chest to improve ur 3 skill (yeah guns sworld or magic nothing more) and there is no treasures like all the rpg games if u want fable best to play Fable: The Lost Chapters if u have played Fable: The Lost Chapters then PLAY IT AGAIN coz there is nothing good on the 3rd one ...
    Expand
  44. Oct 18, 2011
    2
    If your familiar with Lionhead and black and white, then you will recognize Fable 3. The problem with that is they screwed up the fable franchise. They took time management and money management they like to use in black and white and added it into fable 3. While the game is fun you can probably beat it in 8 hours. It feels very shallow and rushed together. I would value this game at a 5 dollar buy. Expand
  45. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    Definitely a step in the wrong direction, but are we really surprised? Lionhead has yet to deliver a good RPG. Fable III has to be one of the most disapointing games on the PC and Xbox 360.
  46. Dec 14, 2011
    4
    Very disappointing and just plain bad. The only two good things I can say about this game is that is has gorgeous graphics, and it has a few funny moments. Everything else is rubbish. You don't care about any of the characters whatsoever, the story is boring and cliche, combat is dull and repetitive, the gameplay is often atrocious and the decisions you make throughout the game are overly simplistic and have little impact.

    Bad, short and overpriced.
    Expand
  47. Aug 1, 2012
    1
    If they had copy pasted Fable I and given it a bigger world and a graphical update it would have been better than this. The combat is horrible and uninteresting, the interface took a massive dump, why? No idea. I like it when people try new things I really do but it's entirely different to take a dump on the paradigm and offer nothing. The length of the game I usually try not to gripe about but this was extremely short and unsatisfying. For the price of this game you could go out to dinner and have more fun. This isn't a death by hype game, on its own, it is **** Expand
  48. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I just finished playing this game and was astounded at what I saw. The graphics were wonderful and the voice acting was far above average. The story was well done and the music was absorbing. This is how RPG's are meant to be made.

    I cant believe the user score is so low, did I play a different game than them?

    Beautiful game and I highly recommend it.
  49. Jun 11, 2011
    6
    I've never played the other fables, so I guess my opinion is going to be pretty objective. I think the art direction doesn't fit the atmosphere the game was going for, which at times is funny but other times a little dark. Graphically it's good, while it won't challenge new machines what so ever, that means it should be more accessible to a larger spectrum of PC gamers. That shouldn't be important if a game genuinely has good aesthetics and is fun to play. Of which it is fun to play, and the combat is flashy and enjoyable (I liked the magic system, but it could have been so much better.) Also, I switched to a controller as soon as I could. The PC controls are rather poor if left at default, but I also found that turning off V-sync dramatically improved my control's response time. Mostly, I really wanted a walk button so I could take in the pretty sites that there were rather than run around them and ignore them (here's where a joystick made more sense for me). Sound and music is fine as well. Character animations are over the top (which is mostly fine), but at times they lack polish to really pull off the character. Of all that, I say the game gets a 7, or a 6. Now about the story and gameplay... this is very black and white, and where I'm largely disappointed. Even the characters are either good, chaotic, lawful, or evil, but never truly interesting. The choices you make are like-wise two dimensional, and never really allow you to believe you can be anything but good or evil. I find the social system in the game could have been dramatically improved and given more variety as well. In short, this is an overly simplified "M" rated game, to which I point out that it could have been toned down to be a great early teen's game. Of that I'm sure it would have been, but for a mature audience I think it's only saving grace is that it is fun to romp around for a bit, and there is some entertaining level of customization to be had here. As it stands, it's likely not worth the full asking price for most people, but on a good sale it's worth looking into. If it had tried to make itself bigger than offering you 2 dimensional characters and a 2 dimensional story, tighten down and add sensible variety to the social system, then it would have been a much better game than what we see here. I was going to give it a 7, but with a 6 I can say that while it might be fun at times it's not worth paying $50 for a game that seems like it still needs more flushing out if it's trying to appeal to a mature audience. It's probably worth getting on a good sale, or when the price drops to below $20. Otherwise, buy at your own risk. Expand
  50. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    Let's face it, us Fable fans love the humor, scenery and simplistic gameplay of Fable. We love to drink our characters into a stupor and get really fat. Kill tons of villagers and guards and fart in people's faces. This game still has all of that. But the fighting is kind of frustrating really. What happened to being an unstoppable hulk? This game is all about blocking and flourish attacks...how boring. Still no chain lightning will power either. Also, the game takes on a very serious tone with lots of death and tyranny and stuff like that. I guess that's to win over the critics though it doesn't save the generic plug and play storyline from being boring. Character customization has gotten really weird. Now you purchase all of your stuff and bring it back to a dressing room. Which I guess is kind of the lazy approach and its nice to not have to repurchase stuff. Though that never bothers me because I always have tons of gold early on in Fable games. Oh and your inventory is GONE. How many silver keys have I picked up? I can't find out unless I pick up another one and it tells me...Also, still no hotkeying items or I'm just missing something. And the HUD is pretty much gone, no health information. No nothing. Peter M. Please go and purchase a copy of Fable: The Lost Chapters and actually play it! The game is phenomenal and only needs a few of the upgrades from Fable 2 and 3:

    Fable 3's real estate interface.
    Fable 3's king sequence (with more to do)
    Fable 2's character customization potions (weight gain/loss, height gain/loss, etc)
    Fable 3's dying system (tattoo colors and clothes)
    -Please no more dog, unless you make him something actually interesting rather than a digging spot finder and an achievement kill stealer.
    Expand
  51. May 18, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my mind the best Fable out of the three, although it does suffer from a lot of problems. The pre-king gameplay is just too long and so many of the fights are dragged out way too long, even still once you reach the "ruler" part of the game it actually gets boring really quickly plus Lionhead threw in the stupid deadline thing where you have to get a certain amount of money in a certain amount of time or else Albion is destroyed. Every single one of the decisions you make on issues are either "your people will like you, but you'll lose a ton of money" or "your people will hate you, but you'll gain a bunch of money" so it pretty much screws you over.

    The amount of fun you have through all this really knocks all the negative stuff out of the park though, it really is a great game.
    Expand
  52. May 21, 2011
    10
    What an absolutely wonderful game.
    I was on the fence about buying this game based on some of the reviews from the Xbox 360 version. Thankfully Lionhead have rebuilt the game and made the PC version what I believe to be the definitive version of the game.

    The story is very pleasantly told and engaging. Right from the opening moments you are gripped and want to find out more. This game has
    kept my interest by feeding new skills, scenarios and features as time progresses.

    The sanctuary menu system is a stroke of genius and flawlessly implemented on the PC version of this game. Voice acting is superb and so many celebrities lending their talent to the project makes this a game well worth playing.

    This has exceed my expectations and right now I am chosing to play this OVER the witcher2 which i also recently purchased!
    Expand
  53. May 20, 2011
    8
    Pleasantly surprised by this after all the negativity. Combat is nothing special but fun, acting is fairly good and the world is charming. Story is a little weak but overall this is a fun experience, where your decisions really feel like that they matter and levelling up is quite addictive.
  54. Oct 22, 2011
    4
    If this were the first game of the saga, sure it's good but as a player of all three fables there's just not enough evolution here. The gameplay is simplistic in every way interaction with npc's is still playing paty-cake with them. The game looks great in the same way that it's pre-desecors have I.e exactly the same as fable 1. Sound design is average at best.

    Am I being un-reasonable
    expecting more from the franchise by it's 3rd outing? save your money and get a real rpg, any of the fallouts or any of bethesda's games, dragon age these franchise's work hard to earn your loyalty whereas fable seems to delight in provideing the bare minimum and then charging you for more lack luster content through dlc. Expand
  55. May 25, 2011
    10
    This is a very good action/adventure RPG. Lets start with the combat, you've got your melee, range and then spell. You can combine these to good effect, it is quite enjoyable but can be a bit repetitive. The leveling system is different from fable 1+2. Although I prefer the old leveling system its still nice. The best thing about this game is the humour. From the quests to the gravestones to truly enjoy this game you need to have a sense of humour. Anyone who does not enjoy fable has no sense of humour. Expand
  56. May 22, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was fun. Surprisingly fun, actually. Good old Peter has a habit of breaking promises, but the promise of the PC version being a 'real' PC version is actually kept. Graphics aren't great, but that's not exactly what is important anyway. The design and look of the game is gorgeous and quite immersive. The controls work fine, the music is as good as in any Fable game (which is very good, in case you were wondering), voice acting is great (as usual) and the story is... alright, I guess. It's not particularly good, but the moment when you get shipwrecked and first encounter the Crawler is extremely well done. Very memorable gaming moment for me. Some things tend to suck a bit, like the map not teleporting you where you need to go and the golden trail leading you nowhere, but overall, it's a nice experience. Good for a playthrough or two. Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The game is so poorly optimized to be unplayable. I was hoping some features would be fixed in the PC port, but they made things even worse.

    Don't buy unless you exceed the maximum requirements (maybe not even then).
  58. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Fable III is a really nice RPG game. The story and the graphic is very good. You can do a lot of things in this game and if you not rush, you can play more than 15 hour with this game. The best Fable game ever.
  59. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    I wanted to like this game, I really did. Iâ
  60. Jun 14, 2011
    5
    Lets see. Fable 1 - Great replay value, i finished it at least 5 times(yes my social life went on the back burner for some time).
    Fable 3- I finished it for the sole purpose of saying i did that. nothing was a challenge, graphics looked almost as if they used the fable 2 engine, story line was average and your choices didnt really effect how the game played out. the spell weaving idea was
    pretty fun though i felt, making lightning strike enemies while they were being blown around in a mini tornado felt pretty good. no fight was a challenge though. it was missing something fable 2 also lacked. the boss element. i mean c'mon Jack of Blades was one of the funnest fights I've done in any game. being evil just made you look like you hadn't slept for 3 weeks, no horns, no fire at your feet. all in all - this game took one weekend out of my life and i'd now like it back Expand
  61. Jun 15, 2011
    4
    VERY disappointed in this game... really anticipated it seeing that i played a counted 400 hours of the lost chapters.. Its combat is fun but a bit button mashy and repetitive after a while.. graphics are very nice if you have the system to play it... as for the bad parts of the game, it is VERY short game and lacks depth, *spoiler warning* where you become king you would have kept promises before and you can choose to keep them by trying to make the kingdom better (VERY expensive but people will love you and you get good points) or you can choose to break them (this is the evil side people will hate you BUT you will have A LOT of money), i chose to play the good side of things and it turned out to saved the kingdom from an attack i had to make 6,500000 gold. Now that will add many hours to the game but very BORING hours. *end of spoiler warning*
    Coop is awful... its very hard to get a game where someone doesnt kick you out of theirs and if you do try and join a game you need the exact same dlcs as they do (sucks for me cause i have pre ordered free items) My recomendation: Buy the first fable (Fable: The Lost Chapters) and play that.. it has much more depth is much more enjoyable and an overall better game.
    Expand
  62. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    You don't want this game. Disjointed plotline. Cant decide if it wants to be serious (must stop my evil brother!) or stupid (heh heh farts).

    Basic combat system isn't too bad I suppose. Then you get into the second half of the game and .... what the heck just happened! Did i just insert some other game disk in?

    Fable 2 was better on every level and that wasn't exactly a marvellous game!
  63. Jan 21, 2012
    1
    The saved game files corrupted 1/2 way through the game. ALL OF THEM. Now I went back to play the game and cant remember the Microsoft login I was FORCED to make to even play. Now the 50$ I spent is down the drain... Even though I payed through steam so I couldn't have pirated it I still need to log in to Microsoft. DO NOT PAY FOR THIS.
  64. Sep 18, 2011
    6
    Fable III doesn't really continue the series from a certain point or anything like that, although it does revisit many of the places of the original two. The Graphics are very nice but the PC version comes with some beefy requirements. It does come across as too linear, in fact almost like "playing" a story, or an interactive movie, rather than a game. Where it really excels is that it offers a very casual gaming experience, you don't have to fret about buying different equipment (though you can do that too), and deciding which skills to level is a breeze. The multiplayer mode doesn't offer a lot and the interactions with AIs has actually "devolved". While it wasn't a bad game particularly it fell short of Fable: The Lost Chapters and Fable II. This is pretty well agreed on in the community. It's too bad because the game had great potential with the amazing graphics. The game is super easy, so if you want a bigger challenge just refrain from spamming magic. Otherwise, you may be very disappointed. Expand
  65. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    Fable III is basically more Fable with all its pros and cons. What is disappointing is that it's a console port and that rolling on the ground for 15 minutes is pretty much how all battles turn out...
  66. May 5, 2012
    2
    One of the biggest mistakes I have made was playing this game. As a huge fan of Fable: The Lost Chapters, this was a triumphant letdown. I could hardly call this an RPG; character customization is shallow and uninteresting. You do not age and your alignment doesn't affect your appearance like it did in Fable. There are also substantially less cosmetics such as tattoos and hairstyles. Moral choices are ridiculously black and white, quests are dull and uninspired, the story is god awful and characters are bland and 2-dimensional. Leveling up consists of choosing to either increase melee, ranged, or magic damage. There are no stat points, and no life or magic meters. Your health is represented through a glow on the screen, and regenerates on normal difficulty. There is not longer a combat multiplier. The combat itself is not bad aside from the slow-motion killing moves that take forever and are mind-numbingly aggravating to watch again and again. The camera and controls in general are **** crippled on PC. The camera is feels like it's being held by a retard and is very frustrating, they obviously didn't modify it to feel natural on a mouse. About the controls, I can understand having the player hold down a key for things like moral choices which might have serious ramifications if mis-clicked, but it's rather annoying when it forces you to do so when you want something as simple as opening a chest or picking up an item. Also some **** at lionhead decided it would be neat to make the ESC key teleport you to the little guild room instead of, you know, bringing up the options menu. This has been standard for what, several decades of games now? Can't speak much about the graphics, I know it's meant to be cartoon-ish. The music is recycled from the older games. There is limited weapons and armor to buy, as your weapons level with you. Everything in this game seems tailored to casual gamers. You literally do not have to try an ounce in this game. There is very little penalty for "death," when all you do is get knocked out and lose your progress to your next exp point, and you re-spawn right where you were, as if nothing happened. The game constantly holds your hand and wants you to take a pre-tailored path everywhere and is very restrictive. It's also an obvious, terrible port. The game uses only 5 or 6 keys on the keyboard. There is no inventory screen. You have to go to your stupid little dressing room if you want to change your equipment or hair/makeup. It's hard to get engrossed in a world with **** like this. There are only 3 types of potions, and no health+ or mp+ exlixirs to find (like i said there is no health meter, and magic is unlimited). Overall this game is and i stress IS (it's **** fact not just my opinion) dumbed-down, casual, repetitive, short, uninspiring, boring, simple, a waste of money. I could go on all day comparing this to Fable: TLC. I award this game 2 stars for excellent voice acting. Once again the genius of Molyneaux is spoiled by Microsoft studios. Expand
  67. May 19, 2011
    8
    I decided to give this game an 8, because while it is a good game there are a couple of niggling issues.
    For a start, this game is horribly optimised for PCs. My gaming PC (which has no trouble playing almost every other recent game I've tried) lags for no reason while playing this game, and on my laptop (which can play Dragon Age 2 and MW2 on High) won't even play Fable III.
    Secondly,
    it's a bit... boring. At the very beginning. Although it did have it's good moments!
    For example, you have to make a really hard decision in the first half hour of playing which really livens things up and makes you realise just how much of an effect your choices can have in this game. The graphics aren't that great, but the art style works and the gameplay is pretty fun.
    Overall, I recommend this game, but only if you have a powerful PC because it looks crap without the highest setting and you need a stupidly powerful PC to do so.
    Expand
  68. May 26, 2011
    10
    in the realm of console rpgs fable 3 stands near the top, but in the realm of computer rpgs it's trash. combat is repetitive and didn't challenge me even on the higher difficulty settings. Also the story is pretty lacking so there is really no need to get this game on the computer. get it for xbox it's much more enjoyable. let's be serious here, if you want to play an rpg on the computer go for dragon age origins, the witcher 2 or WOW. this game just isn't worth my time. Expand
  69. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    After an initial neutral reaction, this game grew on me. It first comes across like a combat version of the "sims," Incredible customization, minimal depth. What bumped it up from a 5 to a 7 was the sense of humor and decent storyline that went into the game. I finished it with a sense of satisfaction and will probably play through again.
  70. May 29, 2011
    7
    Well I have never played any of the other Fable games so I was a bit nervous starting this but I have to say I loved it. It played really well on my average pc and I loved the humour so much. I noticed so many of the npcs have different voices and the males who I romanced were all a little different in many ways. It was quite sweet being able to hug and kiss and tickle your family members or any npc (hehe) The story was classic fairytale with relatively happy ending and that pleases me as a happy ending is a must for me. I would have liked a bit more deph in the main male npc romantic interest, perhaps more shared missions and activities as he was such a sweetie. I liked the ways there were of making money, very unique from my perspective because I got a bit sick of doing favours for villagers.
    It was quite a different experience for me and I will replay this game for sure.

    One complaint....my female hero was taller than everyone else and that bugged me big time, how ridiculous that she grew and no one else seemed to, even her true love needed a box to kiss her. :(

    But I think overall this gets an 8.5 from me.
    Expand
  71. Jul 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At times this game manages to be depressingly linear while at the same time impossible to play without the help of the golden trail. However, it is still good fun. The story has an amusing twist in the middle and some of the quests are really good. But I guess the studio expects you to have ADD; the final battle takes like ten minutes. I was still disappointed in the story several times. Spoiler: I (armed to the teeth) stood there pusillanimously impassive while one of my companions gets publicly (publicly!) shot by one (one!!) palace guard. What the hell?! One of my friends, a professional soldier veteran (guess what? armed to the teeth as well) is even standing next to me.
    The economy system allowed me to become millionaire long before I even got halfway through the game, but what is the point? There is nothing you can buy more costly than about 15 k.
    The fighting system was amusing though. While this game is completely dwarfed in every aspect when compared to say, an Elder Scrolls Title, it managed to make a mildly amusing sword-fighting system. Magic and Guns were not done so well though.
    The weakest point however is the end: It leaves you feel alone and disappointed. I've played games where I played dozens, hundreds even, of hours after the story line was finished, but here I had nothing to do after half an hour...
    Overall (with everything done) game time approximately 25 hours.
    I was certainly entertained but there are better games out there for you to buy.
    Expand
  72. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Since it's clear by the score that I really like this game I'm going to put it out there right now what it was that I didn't like. The dog. It. Never. Shuts. Up. I'm saying this as a gamer to other gamers, don't give your dog the Five-Star Dog Potion or otherwise increase its treasure-seeking abilities because you'll spend the rest of the game hearing nothing but barks. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate that Lionhead went to great lengths to ensure that this game had a lot of content, but I don't need to dig up treasure two feet from the last one. Trust me, you're not missing anything if you pass up every dig spot in this game. It's always junk or a small amount of gold; that's hardly worth your time and effort.

    The only other negative thing I have to say about this game is the ending. Well not so much the ending but the final boss. Wow was that an easy fight. I saved 6,500,000 gold just to fight a monster that lasts ten seconds. Part of me just died.

    Having said all that I loved the game. Fable 3 manages to blend the majority of all the good elements from both Fable: TLC and Fable 2. Not only that they eliminated glaring problems, and then went above and beyond and made a damn fine game. This is one of the finest titles to come out in years. For those of you saying that it's too short and too easy, you're playing it wrong. Get into the role, suspend your disbelief, absorb yourself in this fictional world. You'll have a lot more fun than by just trying to get to beat the game.

    The graphics are top notch this time around. Even on lower settings this game still manages to look fantastic, and that's thanks in no small part to the design of the game world itself. You'll never find yourself remarking how terribly bland the environment is in Fable 3 I can assure you. Another thing that was changed for the better was making the locations inter-connective to each other like in Fable: TLC. I enjoy being able to look out into the distance and see a location that I can actually travel to far off in the background. It's little things like this that really immerses myself into games.
    Expand
  73. May 19, 2011
    8
    Fable 3 - very interesting game , good story and graphics looks very good. Charming world, beautyfull colors and, I like the first Fable, of course :) . Well, I agree maybe it's to easy combat. But so what? it;s nice entertainment. Great RPG.
  74. May 22, 2011
    9
    Fable 3 is very good role-playing game on PC. It has good quests, interested story, nice graphics and fascinating gameplay. But Fable 3 has a very strong competitor on this platform. Recently The Witcher 2 came on PC.
  75. May 26, 2011
    8
    I liked Fable1. I still play in it from time to time. Fable III - 8 / 10. Decent quality, but nothing surprising. Combat is too easy for me, but it's a little problem. Colorful, welcoming the world, nice graphics. I recommend - really good entertainment. This is a really good action / adventure RPG
  76. May 30, 2011
    8
    Oh ... pretty cool game! I prefer Fable III than DA2. Definitely.
    Colorful world, nice graphics, interesting story, easy fight. This is not Fable 1, but still good entertainment.
  77. Jul 11, 2011
    6
    Was expecting so much more!!

    Loved 1, missed out on 2 as i'm not a console gamers... 3 had such a great hype about it... but that's just it... it's all hype... Great names providing funny moments through voice acting isn't enough to carry a game... It's all one big attempt to sell you more stuff in-game, I have not finished it and don't think I will anytime soon. It was ok, and maybe more
    to other people's liking. But after the great stories and games like Mass Effect and Dragon age... it just falls short Expand
  78. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    It is nice, it is awesome, it is boring
    real good game at first but after you play it for a longer time you notice, what the hell am I thinking this is so bad.. I wished it was more like fable lost chapters look that was a good story, compare the UI for fun the good thing is that the story was nice and that it was very bug proof and I love how they put the line of the story, the controls
    are superb to X360 controller or Mouse and Keyboard they work fine

    Sealreth,
    Expand
  79. Nov 2, 2011
    5
    Gonna say what I've said about every single fable game ever...

    MEEEEEHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH....it's okay I suppose.
  80. Oct 26, 2011
    6
    I payed 40 euros for this game. Its a short-great story written game, but again..it was way to short. Lionhead seems to be putting all kinds of DLC in but that also will cost you money, most of the DLC are costumes anyway that are only just for the eyes. A small variety on weapons, because 1 weapon will overthrow the other for a very long time. The guild seal system is great, but easy. Spend a little bit of time and you got your upgrades already.
    Moneymaking is quite annoying in the start, everytime the same thing: Pressing 1, 2 or 3. Its kinda challenging in the start, but gets linear. Once you get to buy shops and houses moneymaking just becomes a thing you do if you idle. Leave your pc on and you have alot of money coming in.
    Fighting is quite easy as well, the real challenging monsters will occur only a couple of times.
    The missions and the co-op system are the things that kept me in the game. The story and graphics were great, easy to follow and it was nice to play. You could also help others online with their campaign.
    But again, everything is way to short and it is not worth(for me atleast) to buy DLC.
    Pretty much of a mediocre game overall, its not bad..its not good either. I give it a 6, I wont go higher.
    Expand
  81. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Runs pretty badly, even on a great system but the story and game itself are very enjoyable. At least to the point where I could be bothered to complete it. This is definitely the ugly stepchild of the series though.
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    WTF. They took everything fun from Fable 2 and threw it in the bin. Fable 3's graphics look very similar to Fable 2, gameplay is pretty much identical, AI is very stupid. The locations look good but again, set the next f***ing fable in another bloody world or country. Im sik of seeing the same detailed world, the same building designs and armours and weapons. It feels like Fable 2.

    But
    the positive side is that the story is good, you get lost in the Main story because the quest get all mixed up and you have to figure out what you were up to when you load the game. But I had heaps of fun with alot of the quest, had heaps of fun with the options the game gave you in its world and you could have quiet alot of fun with the co-op. But the gameplay is still fable 2 but more simple. Fable 4 better improve on Fable 2 and not 3. Expand
  83. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    If your looking for a lazy game, with little skill involved to relax when tired then this is the one. If you fly through the game in one day, which is possible - then you won't like the ending. However, if you take your time with it and really be adventurous and patient then the ending will be more pleasant. It can get a little repetitive. Nice that it links to GFWL that can make it more entertaining. Sadly the concept during this game is confused - some quests are definately geared towards the adult population, but the the gameplay is just really childlike. But 7 for chilling out with. Buy at a reduced price or you may be disappointed. Expand
  84. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    Fable 3 is very different from Fable Lost Chapters and I don't think all "improvements" have improved gameplay at all. Most spells, abilities and items have been stripped and all side characters feels distant. Last fight is really letdown since in is so short and easy. Still some sidequests are really funny and game is visually good
  85. Apr 24, 2013
    3
    Meh... Just like all the other fable games. Boring story (This one is probably the best of the 3 boring stories the fable series has to offer). Button mashing combat with bad spell system. Silly good and evil system that does not compare to any of the other games that have done it, and a totally worthless economy structure. End up with more money than you could possibly ever need with nothing to buy. Fable has always been over hyped, and just plain garbage. Expand
  86. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    The most embarrassing game of the year. This game is complete tripe. It's like nobody actually played the game. They made everything un-fun. It's literally a hack+slash game with a bad story and bad side-stuff. This is literally Diablo 3 on easy mode except the environments and map design are worse than a stupid pony level. I rated it a zero because the PC version had horrible framerates and the graphics didn't mean jack as absolutely nothing was interesting to look at. No matter how cheap this game would be, it would still be a waste of money. Buy a box of fireworks with friends, have a party or buy another game. Expand
  87. Dec 27, 2011
    6
    I have just bought the game, and have not even played it, and I am already annoyed to the point of just forgetting. Had I known that I am required to be logged into a Games for Windows live account, then spent 15 minutes jumping through hoops, to create some account somewhere that I don't even want, AFTER paying for the game, I wouldn't have bought the game. Horrible experience. Screw you, Microsoft. Expand
  88. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    Disapointing on every level - and I've still purchased it. Horrible interface (sanctuary...), constantly wasting time on absolutely common things, even more limited than Fable 2, boring combat, not many changes when it comes to enemies, weak story with abysmal ending, no epic moments like in Fable 1, music is uninspired and nothing like in Fable 1, and yeah, the art style is nice. That's the only positive thing you can say about this game. I'm not going to do the same mistake again when Fable 4: The bad, the boring and the ugly comes out. Expand
  89. Jun 17, 2012
    5
    The concept of this game is not bad; saving an empire of your family is interesting and it made me to buy this game. However, I didn't feel like I was saving an empire. That's one failure. Battle of this game is too easy somehow. There is a magic that can beat any enemies easily and make you invulnerable. It's bad. I hate Games for WIndows Live (I don't remember the name). It's suck, I could not download some of the DLC I bought. Luckily, they were cheap but it was very annoying. Expand
  90. Sep 3, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fable 3 is nowhere near the potential from it's predecessor, Fable 2, and even more so for Fable 1. Everything that you would come to expect from an open world RPG can't be found on Fable 3, from a user-friendly map system, to a more broadening and interactive set piece for the world of Albion. I don't tend to like RPG's who use the corridor system, or as I like to call it, a "Spiderweb" RPG world, and it's especial with Fable 3. the bread crumb trail still iffs me at times, as i constantly ignore how it sends me to dead ends or just doesn't appear at all, whilst I desperately try to ignore the cursed thing and get a glimpse of the world that is ignored by this stupid trail brought all the way back from Fable 1. Customization is extremely poor and cash cowed in for an RPG, with 90% of content that would actually be useful for creating your avatar on a DLC, which also ruins the co-op play as you HAVE TO HAVE every single dlc that the person your playing with has, especially considering that the story wasn't webbed into a meaningful co-op setting. but perhaps the worst thing that Fable 3 destroyed about it's franchise is the whole good/evil alignment. Your outward appearance as being good or evil has been hyped down from previous titles, and the story itself betrays the whole meaning behind good or evil with how you end the game. You can be the good guy as long as you sacrifice all the money you spent protecting everyone from the darkness, thus potentially killing everyone in the end, while, if you're the bad guy, sure, everyone will hate you, but you'll have enough funds to potentially save everyone. and who isn't to say you could be bad from the start, and once the darkness is defeated (and note, the darkness is defeated in the most rushed in **** way possible) you could be good again? And the whole being a king business isn't really worth it in the end, you don't to go to parades, you don't feel appreciated by anyone whether being good or bad, and the only way you can beat the game is if you had played the game in a very specific manner, thus destroying the whole concept of a meaningful RPG element. RPG is supposed to be about doing what you can with what you have, not doing exactly this and exactly that to get exactly what you want. and one final note to the always over-enthusiastic Peter Molyneux: Do be optimistic, but please be honest with us. We don't want to spend a 5 days running a city to their dooms when we were told we'd be given a WHOLE YEAR to do so. and stop making this game a "less for more" concept. We've had enough of it as it is. Expand
  91. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    My favourite of all the Fable titles. Thoroughly enjoyed this one, even if the social aspect was a bit lacking at first. i enjoyed the Albion metamorphosis and I really liked their take on the Bowerstone Industrial Revolution. Excellent sense of humour, fun battles, and of course the freedom to be good or bad and go and do whatever you like. Lighthearted and just all-around enjoyable.
  92. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    A nice game,from the beginning to the end.And i have to apologize for my cheats(in order to gain a good end i have to use a speed change software to make money more efficently ),i just feel afraid to the bad end and i only watch the bad end scenes on the Internet,somewhat like the sytle of bethesda,but the behavior of adding some sexy contents is to be discussed.
  93. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    I am super impressed with this game! Its nothing less than amazing! How they took this unique world, beautiful universe and KILLED IT! THEY F*CKING RUINED IT. Dont buy this ever. Ever! How People can like this is beyond me. Any critic reccomending this is either extremely high, hates money pr is getting paid by developers. This game derserves a 0 score anytime
  94. May 30, 2013
    0
    Bought the game from steam couldnt even get to play it since microsofts account thing would just die on me all time made account but it wouldnt regonize it GG 0/10
  95. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    The Fable saga has been ruined since the release of Fable 2. Some people say that Fable 2 was ok, but imo it is horrible. I couldn't play it more than once. Fable 3 is goddamn awful. Just watch a gameplay video and you will see what I mean. Even worse for PC gamers since this is a horrible port.

    What happened to you Lionhead? You made the amazing Fable: Lost Chapters and then you up an
    entire saga. Expand
  96. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    How to get your money back? You can't, but you can get your money's worth. Simply grab some lighter fluid and matches and set it on fire. Don't give to a friend. Don't return to the store (you'll only get ~50 cents for it). If you love your family and friends, don't waste any of their time with such a bug ridden game, overly simplistic weapon system (sword vs axe, pistol vs rifle). I bought the game 2 years after its release, and it crashed during a chicken race, 1 hour into the game. Whats even worse? You can't go to a previous save because it saves automatically, with no option to save in other slots. Hands down, the worst game I ever played and wasn't even worth the $8 I payed for it on Black Friday last year. This grossly over hyped, half-baked game is now dead to me. Expand
  97. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    The game itself may be good but it simply has way too many technical issues (really poor PC port). To start with: if you enable v-sync you'll be capped at 30 fps no matter what your refresh rate. Of course you can disable v-sync but then you'll get horrible tearing. Also the frame rate is really inconsistent even with v-sync off even on hardware that's way more powerful than the game requires.
  98. Dec 28, 2013
    5
    There are loads of reviews down there to read. So, because so many say what I would have wrote in this review-I'm just going to write my whole experience in a nutshell here: LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN LOAD SCREEN Expand
  99. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    I loved the game's concept of developing your character as a monarch. But the combat system is not funny at all and is what prevents me to play this game twice just to see the other alternative ending.
  100. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    Fable 3 will not "Wow" many players. It's a solid game but has quite a few flaws, but lets start with the pros. The game is quite immersive, having very little HUD, and no real menus to speak of. The game looks great and is not very demanding, even on low settings the graphics are still appealing. A short list, yes, but please read the flaws and you'll see why I gave this game a 5~ even though I'm rarely generous with scores. The combat has the right idea, it's engaging, you can flow seamlessly between the 3 combat styles(Guns, swords, magic). Where it falls short is that the combat is not difficult. Even on it's highest difficulty it is still far, far too easy. Dodge rolling provides too many invincibility frames and doesn't have enough of a time frame between when you recover from a roll and when you can attack again. Another problem is the loot system. You're constantly stopping to crack open chests, most of the time, you'll only end up getting a measly 200 gold or gem, rather than clothing/tattoos. It wouldn't be so bad if there weren't a 10 silverkey chest in the second town you go to that gives 50,000 gold, which you can then invest into buying up all the property you have access to. When you're making 2000-7000 gold every 5 minutes, it's hard to justify spending as much time as you will digging up loot. The game could also do with a lot less chatter. Be it your butler harassing you while you're changing outfits or you're walking through town getting screamed at by the dozen NPCs that are surrounding you. The game could definitely stand to have a slider to adjust how much banter there is, because it /will/ wear on you, and quickly. Another quirk about the game is that it's tone is all over the place. The story is serious, but your character is a walking jack in the box. You can slaughter an entire town or save little girls, but your talk options are limited to farting in peoples' faces and whistling little tunes. Your one true love is locked up in a tower and one of your driving motivations is to save her, but you can participate in massive orgies. What I'm trying to say is the main story and your actual actions don't...really...mesh well. This is a good entry RPG, but anyone familiar to gaming will have a hard time enjoying this title. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    An excellent interactive fairy tale. Due to interesting moral choices, it has a lot of replay potential. [June 2011]
  2. Jul 12, 2011
    74
    A competent example of a PC port and of an RPG, but its obsessions with consumerism dampens the adventure. [Aug 2011, p.100]
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    60
    A fun, light-hearted romp, but one that pales in light of its predecessors. [Aug 2011, p.68]