Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fans new and returning will now embark on an epic adventure, where the race for the crown is only the beginning of your spectacular journey. Five decades have passed since the events of "Fable II," and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom isFans new and returning will now embark on an epic adventure, where the race for the crown is only the beginning of your spectacular journey. Five decades have passed since the events of "Fable II," and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is at peril. In "Fable III," you will be called upon to rally and fight alongside your people, ascend to the seat of power, and experience the true meaning of love and loss. The choices and sacrifices you make while fanning the flames of revolution, and then as you rule as King or Queen or Albion, will lead to an ever evolving world of consequences that will be felt across your entire land. This sets the stage for unparalleled action and adventure that offers even more ways to fight and engage than ever before. Throughout your journey, you will encounter a colorful cast of characters that fans have come to expect from the off-beat style and humor in the “Fable” games. After determining whether these characters are your friends or foes, you will either join them or fight against them in explosive combat, alone or with a friend on Xbox LIVE. In your quest to plant the seeds of revolution, seize power and rule over your kingdom, the choices you make will change the world around you, for the greater good or your own personal gain. Who will you become? A rebel without a cause, the tyrant you rebelled against, or the greatest ruler to ever live? Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 17, 2011
    90
    The suffering world of Albion has arrived on the PC, and it is up to you to choose a side. Especially for casual action-rpg fans an easy-going and satisfying concept.
  2. May 18, 2011
    85
    Lionhead has done a good job with the PC version -a bit late maybe compared with the original 360 launch- and it offers a good chance to PC players to experience the wonder and draebacks of Albion. A nice action-adventure game with some great touches that will interest people looking for something different.
  3. May 25, 2011
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. May 20, 2011
    78
    Fable is a fast-aging brand, and on the PC market it's getting face to face with top notch exclusives. It's still a good choice if you love that fairy tale feeling, but the gameplay is indeed too easy for the hardcore market. What's more, it comes to PC late, and with no extras.
  5. Jul 12, 2011
    74
    A competent example of a PC port and of an RPG, but its obsessions with consumerism dampens the adventure. [Aug 2011, p.100]
  6. May 25, 2011
    70
    So it came to pass that Molyneux's latest epic was brought unto Windows. Though it was a port lacking in polish, with graphics below those of the modern age, the people embraced it as a rarity. Gritty but immature, dark yet not steeped in the occult, it stood out amongst the science fiction and horror-fantasy that dominated the marketplace.
  7. May 17, 2011
    58
    Fable III isn't a terrible game, it's just a disappointment, and suffers from a bad case of over-simplification. As entertaining as the characters and quests may be, they're weighed down by the increasingly simple gameplay. The biggest shame is that Lionhead made this fascinating and attractive world and then removed your ability to affect it in any real way.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 134
  2. Negative: 66 out of 134
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Fable 3 is an interesting RPG, it has unique elements much different from others. The combat system looks simply fantastic, the interface isFable 3 is an interesting RPG, it has unique elements much different from others. The combat system looks simply fantastic, the interface is great and the style is unique, it has a interesting storyline, the sense of humor is nice not great though, the atmosphere is nice seems lovely. Being a fan of Fable series i just don't think that Fable can be bad. It might not as good as tes(the elder scroll) but overall it a great way to pass some time. In other words is fantastic game. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Since it's clear by the score that I really like this game I'm going to put it out there right now what it was that I didn't like. The dog.Since it's clear by the score that I really like this game I'm going to put it out there right now what it was that I didn't like. The dog. It. Never. Shuts. Up. I'm saying this as a gamer to other gamers, don't give your dog the Five-Star Dog Potion or otherwise increase its treasure-seeking abilities because you'll spend the rest of the game hearing nothing but barks. Don't get me wrong, I appreciate that Lionhead went to great lengths to ensure that this game had a lot of content, but I don't need to dig up treasure two feet from the last one. Trust me, you're not missing anything if you pass up every dig spot in this game. It's always junk or a small amount of gold; that's hardly worth your time and effort.

    The only other negative thing I have to say about this game is the ending. Well not so much the ending but the final boss. Wow was that an easy fight. I saved 6,500,000 gold just to fight a monster that lasts ten seconds. Part of me just died.

    Having said all that I loved the game. Fable 3 manages to blend the majority of all the good elements from both Fable: TLC and Fable 2. Not only that they eliminated glaring problems, and then went above and beyond and made a damn fine game. This is one of the finest titles to come out in years. For those of you saying that it's too short and too easy, you're playing it wrong. Get into the role, suspend your disbelief, absorb yourself in this fictional world. You'll have a lot more fun than by just trying to get to beat the game.

    The graphics are top notch this time around. Even on lower settings this game still manages to look fantastic, and that's thanks in no small part to the design of the game world itself. You'll never find yourself remarking how terribly bland the environment is in Fable 3 I can assure you. Another thing that was changed for the better was making the locations inter-connective to each other like in Fable: TLC. I enjoy being able to look out into the distance and see a location that I can actually travel to far off in the background. It's little things like this that really immerses myself into games.
    Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    A very lighthearted and fun RPG. Great voice work and a brilliant setting let down with a casual fighting system and poor storytelling. TheA very lighthearted and fun RPG. Great voice work and a brilliant setting let down with a casual fighting system and poor storytelling. The content has been extremely dumbed down since Fable 2 resulting in the game feeling empty and small. Its a popcorn game really... The thing to buy just to waste some time. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    5
    WTF. They took everything fun from Fable 2 and threw it in the bin. Fable 3's graphics look very similar to Fable 2, gameplay is pretty muchWTF. They took everything fun from Fable 2 and threw it in the bin. Fable 3's graphics look very similar to Fable 2, gameplay is pretty much identical, AI is very stupid. The locations look good but again, set the next f***ing fable in another bloody world or country. Im sik of seeing the same detailed world, the same building designs and armours and weapons. It feels like Fable 2.

    But the positive side is that the story is good, you get lost in the Main story because the quest get all mixed up and you have to figure out what you were up to when you load the game. But I had heaps of fun with alot of the quest, had heaps of fun with the options the game gave you in its world and you could have quiet alot of fun with the co-op. But the gameplay is still fable 2 but more simple. Fable 4 better improve on Fable 2 and not 3.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2011
    3
    This game is overhyped garbage that was rushed to release and the game suffers from crippling bugs because of it. The game looks bad, theThis game is overhyped garbage that was rushed to release and the game suffers from crippling bugs because of it. The game looks bad, the sound is forgettable, the combat is way to easy, the story is blah. *sigh*
    There is no real map...at all. You must rely on buggy golden pathways to get about. I've said enough, save yourself some money and don't buy this game. Play the Witcher 2 or Dragon age 2 instead. =)
    Expand
  6. May 22, 2011
    2
    Good:
    - it finally came out on the PC
    - an RPG that has a sense of humor ~~Bad: - graphics are bad; it's not completely bad but at least the
    Good:
    - it finally came out on the PC
    - an RPG that has a sense of humor

    ~~Bad:
    - graphics are bad; it's not completely bad but at least the graphics should have been enhanced for the PC platform.
    - economy system is trash; players can earn millions of gold but there isn't really anything that is worth buying.
    - a story that is empty and bland; save the country and that's it.

    ~~Conclusion:
    it is not worth the full price.
    Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    I am super impressed with this game! Its nothing less than amazing! How they took this unique world, beautiful universe and KILLED IT! THEYI am super impressed with this game! Its nothing less than amazing! How they took this unique world, beautiful universe and KILLED IT! THEY F*CKING RUINED IT. Dont buy this ever. Ever! How People can like this is beyond me. Any critic reccomending this is either extremely high, hates money pr is getting paid by developers. This game derserves a 0 score anytime Expand

See all 134 User Reviews

Trailers