Face Noir PC

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    85
    Face Noir is a game I can easily recommend. It executes well on every level (save the voice acting), and offers great puzzles, enjoyable characters, fabulous art design, and a fun (if pulpy) noir plotline. If you're interested in the Depression-era setting and enjoy a solid point-and-click adventure, you should absolutely check this one out.
  2. CD-Action
    Aug 28, 2013
    70
    Neither weak voice acting nor outdated visuals managed to ruin this skilful homage to Chandler. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.59]
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Face Noir is a genuinely entertaining adventure for fans of private eye mysteries, and a solid debut for a promising developer, even if it’s only half of a story.
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    70
    Face Noir is a solid adventure that plays safe instead of taking some risks. There are some new ideas that need to be further developed and a well thought story that often slips into genre cliché. All in all a good debut that could lead to interesting improvements in its second chapter.
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    70
    Face Noir is a good adventure game, very strong with the basics and limited only by its graphic engine. A nice surprise for an debutant Italian team.
  6. Jan 4, 2013
    65
    Face Noir is a decent adventure game that suffers, however, obvious limitations in the technical sector and in some questionable choices.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 9, 2013
    60
    Jack Del Niro is no Philip Marlowe, not a mite. However, if you're willing to accept compromises, then this classical "noir" Detective Story will know how to warm your heart. [Issue#233]
  8. Aug 19, 2013
    59
    And so, overall, Face Noir isn’t a game I’d recommend. I don’t really like dumping on the debut effort of a new developer, but there just aren’t many positives to work with here.
  9. Jan 7, 2013
    55
    Face Noir is an adventure game developed by Mad Orange, an Italian independent team. The main character is Jack Maria Del Nero, a detective with the vice of alcoholism who lives in a small and dusty apartment. The America told by Mad Orange is in full commercial crisis and for Del Nero there's a new job from which will begin a new adventure, in jazz rhythm and noir tint.
  10. Oct 24, 2013
    50
    A boring point-and-click adventure game offering some good ideas. Unfortunately, they are buried under a big pile of junk, unimpressive voice-acting, uninteresting intermezzos, and low production value. This is why a gamer will fall asleep instead of having fun.
  11. Jul 25, 2013
    50
    For some, the promise of a genuine noir adventure will be enough to capture their interest, but absent a love for the genre, its strange mix of cynicism and romanticism. Even staunch adventure game fans might find that Face Noir has a few too many problems.
  12. Jul 18, 2013
    50
    As a whole, Face Noir is a forgettable disappointment. Nothing stands out or inspires discussion other than its inherent blandness. With boring dialogue that drags on too long, bad facial animations and frustrating gameplay, even the most committed adventure game players will have a hard time staying involved. There’s potential for something interesting here, but Face Noir simply isn’t worth your time to play.
  13. Aug 4, 2013
    42
    For the hard boiled gamer with very old style gaming, you may find something hidden in Face Noir that can hold your interest.
  14. Jul 17, 2013
    40
    Face Noir tries its best to be a compelling Raymond Chandler-esque film noir detective adventure and falls flat on its noirish face. The story is boring, characters are either bland or straight-up racist, acting is mediocre, writing is worse, cutscenes are mostly static photos, and the puzzles are a string of “find the important thing the designers have hidden” moments rather than any genuine brain-teasers.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    A good homage with a few typos.

    Face Noir did a very good job of giving me the noir-style storyline I was hoping for complete with twists
    A good homage with a few typos.

    Face Noir did a very good job of giving me the noir-style storyline I was hoping for complete with twists and turns, but was not a total success do to the introduction of certain supernatural elements that felt a bit contrived. Overall, the game was interesting with puzzles that tested my skills and characters that (while numerous) I cared about deeply.

    Pros include a cool mechanic where you connect facts to formulate new questions, a dark storyline with a bit of humor mixed in, and a great soundtrack with some nice instrumental jazz to set the mood.

    Cons include Italian-to-English conversion problems, issues with historical accuracy, and a horrific options menu including no possible way to change aspect ratio.

    If you're into film noir, then you'll like Face Noir provided you're not a stickler for historical accuracy and you're willing to forget a little supernatural deus ex machina. It did well and considering that it's their first game, it did better than I expect.

    As always, full video review on my YouTube channel.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    I rarely play games with such smart gameplay and atmosphere. It require common sense, which is something rare these days on video games ^^;I rarely play games with such smart gameplay and atmosphere. It require common sense, which is something rare these days on video games ^^;

    Almost everything makes sense on this game, and the gameplay is smart enough to prevent the player to simply randomly click everywhere to unlock events without knowing what hes doing.

    The characters are also nice and well made.

    One of the problem/weakness I noticed was the streets and others locations were a bit too clean and lacking some population. Would have been nice to meet some random people on the streets. People asking you for a smoke, lose womens, poor souls sleeping on the street, angry people on phones, cats walking, ect... But no big deal. I read there was only 2 devs, and the amount of work they provided is just insane.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    6
    Many years ago, this game may have been a bit more appealing. Voice acting and artwork are reasonable. The story is "not bad" like a middayMany years ago, this game may have been a bit more appealing. Voice acting and artwork are reasonable. The story is "not bad" like a midday movie that you don't bother turning off because it's not offensive. It offers an interesting "join the dots/clues" mechanic, but other than that, it's not what I'd call progress in Adventure Gaming. Full Review »