Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes is an expansion to Stardock's popular Fallen Enchantress fantasy strategy game. The world of Elemental needs your help. The Fallen Enchantress seeks to destroy the fragile civilizations that have arisen from the ashes of the cataclysm. Fortunately, your fame has spread far and wide attracting the great heroes to aid you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    92
    The kind of 4X that brings my relationship with strategy games to a lofty peak. It is engaging and yet oddly meditative, almost relaxing to play rather than nerve-wracking and brain-frying.
  2. May 23, 2013
    88
    This is a good expansion/patch to a good game. It fixes some bugs, adds some interesting features, and slips in lots of changes to quietly improve gameplay and balance. It's definitely worth $20 for “Fallen Enchantress” owners, and $40 for anybody looking for a good 4X fantasy TBS.
  3. May 29, 2013
    85
    None of Legendary Heroes' rough spots keep it from being an excellent game that I recommend with no reservations. Stardock has finally delivered on the promise that Elemental once held, back in the halcyon days of 2009. You don't have to be any kind of strategy savant to appreciate what this exceptional release has to offer.
  4. May 28, 2013
    80
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes becomes a stronger game by weakening its hero characters.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    With its intuitive gameplay and in-game tutorials and hints, Legendary Heroes should be quick to pick up even for the 4X uninitiated.
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    75
    This DLC passes the fun test in a way the previous games didn't. [Sept 2013, p.97]
  7. May 22, 2013
    50
    At first glance the lack of direction appears to be a weakness, but in actuality Legendary Heroes requires you to assist it, to give it the direction it needs.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. May 24, 2013
    10
    While being far from perfect, this is the best civ-building strategy-game incorporating magic as a major feature ever made. The overhaul has improved the original Fallen Enchantress a bunch, and it has the same "just-one-more-turn" effect on me as the good civ-games have. A gem, this one. Expand
  2. omi
    May 23, 2013
    10
    A lot of improvements to its base game. Especially graphic haul is impressive.
    I strongly recommend this to any fan of turn based strategy
    game and tactical battles.
    Game play is fun details are amazing. AI seems a little bit feeble at the moment I have experienced but I haven't tried high settings.
    I applaud developers for sticking with their game, and making it shine I hope they deserve the well earned recognition for this.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    A fantastic turn-based fantasy 4X game! Great combat, awesome city management and loads and loads of customisation of pretty much everything! This is a must have for everyone who loves strategy games! Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    9
    Outstanding! If you like the mod for Civ 4 called Fall from Heaven 2 then you should like this. It was developed by the same guy and now backed by a reputable company in Stardock. This is Civ 4 set in a fantasy realm and done very well.

    The graphics might look a little cartoony but who cares. So did Borderlands, X-Com, and Torchlight. I'll take a point off for diplomacy as it could use a little love but not a biggie. The game is stable and runs smooth. And above all else...it's a finished product. (are you listening StarDrive?)

    Honestly, I have no idea what game the reviewer from Thunderbolt played. "Building an army is a complex endeavor?" What? I want to build a Spearman...click. Done. Ok, now I want to build Spearmen riding a horse...click, click. Done. Did the reviewer think that Civ 4 or 5 was complex?

    Folks, if you like 4x games then this is a good addition to your library.
    Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Great game with very addicting gameplay. I put some 30hr in it and had only some minor bugs here and there (ver 1.5). After you get familiar with the game I suggest you grab some mods from the nexus that make it even better. My only complain are the maps options, they are to small and lack in variety. Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    8
    The game is an almost even mix between the strategic elements of Civilization (city building, resource management, diplomacy) and tactical elements of Heroes of Might and Magic (hero development, army management, battles). Compared to the obvious inspiration Master of Magic, the focus of LH shifts more towards the strategic side of things and less towards magic as the main tool of the game.

    After going through two installments and a pretty enjoyable effort with Fallen Enchantress, this expansion has finally shaped up to become a standout 4X fantasy game with sensible features. Costumization of the world, factions, your Sovereign and even your units is big, strategic choices are plentyful, especially at the very beginning of the game, tactical combat relies heavily on positioning and special attacks/abilities but stops short on more in-depth elements like morale or terrain modifiers. Living with and if you are strong enough going against the neutral monsters in the world is a blast and always provides a nice challenge. The world is filled with quests, items and lands to explore.

    Issues still arrive with the lackluster diplomacy system and the erratic behaviour of enemy factions. The AI has been significantly improved, especially concerning the use of magic on the strategic map, but still has problems when it comes to army composition and prioritizing which/where to construct its buildings/units. Bugs will also find their way more often than not and the performance tends to become unstable after a certain amount of game time.

    If you are even vaguely interested in turn-based strategy games in a fantasy world, you should really check out this game and maybe watch some videos. At first it might be hard to get into the specific rules of the economy and combat due to a shallow Tutorial, but once you understood all the concepts it can provide for a hapy long-term relationship. Modders are already at work.
    Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    0
    Legendary heroes is a step backwards to me. I liked recruiting things on the map not handed to me or the ai on a silver platter. Fallen Entrantress was progressing along quite fine until they jumped backwards two steps. Also my pride and joy the beastmaster is worthless not in favor of some summoning snobs...pfft. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews