User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 645 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 645

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Bought it in '99 and still playing it after 12 years...that's all I have to say. The greatest RPG game of all time. Even with many bugs the game is almost perfect.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Incredible Game. Expands on the first game exponentially. It is many times larger, longer, and much more fun to play. While the first game was such a revolutionary concept for its time, Fallout 2 is simply a blast to play even today with its incredibly outdated (even for 1998) birds-eye view graphics. The only true fault is the near suffocating amount of inane pop culture references thatIncredible Game. Expands on the first game exponentially. It is many times larger, longer, and much more fun to play. While the first game was such a revolutionary concept for its time, Fallout 2 is simply a blast to play even today with its incredibly outdated (even for 1998) birds-eye view graphics. The only true fault is the near suffocating amount of inane pop culture references that are thrown in at every opportunity, which can at times detract from the often dark and serious tone of the game. 9/10 Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    I have been a fan of the Fallout series since I grabbed the first game way back when, the first one was great, but I've never been able to finish the second, I played through the story line at least twice and get stuck at the same spot every time. There are a lot of great improvements to the second from the first, but I don't feel it completely lived up to Fallout 1
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I think I've played this game about 10 times, each time polishing character just to reveal as many quest as it was possible and each ime finding new. Addictive as jet. Surprising in so many ways (have you ever died traveling the wastelands after using too much jet? hey, steroids my save your life when taken at right time)! Once one of my friends finished the game fighting with bare handsI think I've played this game about 10 times, each time polishing character just to reveal as many quest as it was possible and each ime finding new. Addictive as jet. Surprising in so many ways (have you ever died traveling the wastelands after using too much jet? hey, steroids my save your life when taken at right time)! Once one of my friends finished the game fighting with bare hands only! It was amazing to see his character actually doing this. Ahhh, nobody rocks anymore like Valve Software.
    (Arcanum rocks as hell as well ;-)
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    If you're looking for a good introduction to computer RPGs of the past and don't want to over complicate things, this is the perfect game for that. A lot of the mechanics are faulty, and a lot of things are completely useless and may deceive the newer player, but that's to be expected in this game where moving alongside the coast will most likely get you killed for reasons you won'tIf you're looking for a good introduction to computer RPGs of the past and don't want to over complicate things, this is the perfect game for that. A lot of the mechanics are faulty, and a lot of things are completely useless and may deceive the newer player, but that's to be expected in this game where moving alongside the coast will most likely get you killed for reasons you won't understand until much later. Spend some time with this one, even if it seems daunting at first.

    It's quite a departure from the content scaling of Fallout 3 and followers, and oh so refreshing.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    As amazing as the original, some bits where a bit tough to work out and if you didn't search every section of one area there is a good chance you'll have to do a good bit of backtracking. Despite this it is an amazing game and deserves a play just for the storyline, only one bug which is the same as the fallout 1 which is the colours, same fix in the ddraw.ini file (google it) and I can'tAs amazing as the original, some bits where a bit tough to work out and if you didn't search every section of one area there is a good chance you'll have to do a good bit of backtracking. Despite this it is an amazing game and deserves a play just for the storyline, only one bug which is the same as the fallout 1 which is the colours, same fix in the ddraw.ini file (google it) and I can't mark it down for it as it is a problem with modern computers not the game.

    Give it a chance and if you get stuck there's no shame looking at a guide, lots to do, large areas, plenty of gameplay, so many years on and still a great game.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Surely the best RPG I ever played, with Fallout 1 and well, Baldur's Gate 2, coming very close.
    Just look for the "The Ultimate guide to Fallout 2" on the Internet and make sure you do every quest while reading the walkthrough. I hope Brian Fargo make something comparable in Wasteland 2, with the new graphics.
  8. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    This game just improves on everything the first game did, and made it better. The graphics are sharper, the locations are grander the quests are more epic. So what's wrong with it? For all it does right it also doesn't introduce too much new to the gameplay. In essence it looks and feels exactly like the first game, just allot sexier. A shame that they didn't take a few more risks. ButThis game just improves on everything the first game did, and made it better. The graphics are sharper, the locations are grander the quests are more epic. So what's wrong with it? For all it does right it also doesn't introduce too much new to the gameplay. In essence it looks and feels exactly like the first game, just allot sexier. A shame that they didn't take a few more risks. But none the less, it still is a fantastic game and a worthy successor to the original. Expand
  9. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    This is a true classic, if you want a deep and compelling RPG than this game is for you(if you dont mind the age of the game).Personally I think this game never gets old it is one of my favorite RPGs of all time and I have played it for years and years and it never gets old. It's a shame that Fallout 3 was such a big disappointment.
  10. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    How can anyone give a 9 to this game?I guess they didnt try to play it with an unarmed specialist like I do.The game is perfect.One of the best games for the PC that will never lose its value.
  11. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    While not quite as amazing as the original (which is just like saying x mountain isn't as tall as Everest) this is still one of the legendary RPGs of all time. If you have even a slight interest in top down RPGs, you need to get this.
  12. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Fallout 2 is simply a great game. There's lots to do and the environment is great, especially when you mod the game with sFall and killap's unofficial patch that fixes a lot of the bugs that were in the original game. I also like the fact that it's a game where everything doesn't always go your way (even though a lot does go your way :) ). There's also lots of comical dialogue, events andFallout 2 is simply a great game. There's lots to do and the environment is great, especially when you mod the game with sFall and killap's unofficial patch that fixes a lot of the bugs that were in the original game. I also like the fact that it's a game where everything doesn't always go your way (even though a lot does go your way :) ). There's also lots of comical dialogue, events and random encounters.

    Now, even for some of the game's faults, it's still a great game. The faults of the game include silly moments, quests that end abruptly and well, bugs. However, like I said a lot of this can be fixed with Killap's patch.

    I'm not going to complain about graphics, it's an old game, doing so would be very silly and stupid. In fact, in my opinion the graphics are charming. Sprites are a little low res and textures too, however, compared to other 2D games it's still great! The textures and such can be improved with sFall and the high res pack, if you want to use nicer graphics.

    Edit: Look at some of the negative reviews. Bashing this game for the single reason that they enjoy Wasteland 2 and they have heard people saying Fallout 2 is better one too many times. Now I won't name any names, but yeah... Then they went here and saw it had a better score, thus they just had to put in a "revenge review" and put 0/0. Even though the two games are really similar except for the story and setting (which is still very similar) . Quite silly, but I suppose you're not allowed to think FO2 is better. Their main argument therefor always falls to complaining about the graphics.

    Don't get me wrong, Wasteland 2 is great too, both games are, and there's nothing wrong from enjoying both of the games.
    Expand
  13. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    My personal all-time favorite CRPG. I've been playing since it came out in 1998. The things I love are: great post-apocalyptic atmosphere, awesome turn-based combat, non-linear playthrough and a variety of gamestyles/ways to solve quests/ways to win battles etc, variety of items/guns/ammo/armor, numerous sidequests, memorable NPCs...you name it! I'm hoping for a revival for this kind ofMy personal all-time favorite CRPG. I've been playing since it came out in 1998. The things I love are: great post-apocalyptic atmosphere, awesome turn-based combat, non-linear playthrough and a variety of gamestyles/ways to solve quests/ways to win battles etc, variety of items/guns/ammo/armor, numerous sidequests, memorable NPCs...you name it! I'm hoping for a revival for this kind of games to come! Expand
  14. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    This game is really a masterpiece .Fallout 1 had maybe better story and atmosphere, but Fallout 2 got the better game play, more funny quotes of characters, more options, less linearity and much more. I really miss Black Isle studio.
  15. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    I have purchased fallout 1 and 2 twice. Once, back in 2000 but the game suffered from so many bugs that it was definitely difficult if not impossible to finish the game. It definately wasn't possible to finish every quest. Even the final encounters were buggy and potentially game breaking. The answer? Save more... I had forgotten how many hundreds of hours I poured over Fallout 1 and 2I have purchased fallout 1 and 2 twice. Once, back in 2000 but the game suffered from so many bugs that it was definitely difficult if not impossible to finish the game. It definately wasn't possible to finish every quest. Even the final encounters were buggy and potentially game breaking. The answer? Save more... I had forgotten how many hundreds of hours I poured over Fallout 1 and 2 back in 2000. Buying the collection on steam for 8 bucks(original cds long lost) has definately reminded me how genius the storyline and gameplay are. Everything is much deeper than you initially believe. You definitely have to install "Killap's Unofficial Fallout 2 Patch." It fixes 99% of the nonsense. You will need the high-res patch as well. Even with the high res patch the graphics will be the worst part of the experience. Time has not been kind. I have so much fun playing that I can look past that weakness. Be warned though the Steam version is definately the one containing the last patches released by interplay 10 years ago or whenever. This version on steam is minus 1000's of bug fixes by fans. You MUST install the fan patches to have the games run properly. Out of the download box the game was 400x800 and displaying a rainbow all over the screen. Still a 10. Expand
  16. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Game for the ages, the best creation in the gaming industry.Huge variability, interesting stories, amazing world and a giant study of the gaming universeThis is one of those games that will please everyone. And what beautiful music here! Depressive motives they drive into depression and create an incredible atmosphere. 10 out of 10, the best game.
  17. Feb 22, 2015
    9
    Brilliant classics for post apo fans !
    I played it a lot in the past and now it is the right moment to come back to the roots.
    The game has a good design on its own.
  18. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    after 15 years still the best game i've ever played with it's atmosphere, skills, perks, turn-based system, possible endings, characters, details and background -2014-
  19. Aug 3, 2014
    9
    The legend continues. Excellent continuation of one of the best games of all time with twice as much content. Double the gameplay time, double the character level, very good writing, all the shortcomings of the first Fallout fixed (quest logs, companions control..) and on top of that add a new shiny post-apo car for your desert travelling. Hmmm. On the other hand, the overall experienceThe legend continues. Excellent continuation of one of the best games of all time with twice as much content. Double the gameplay time, double the character level, very good writing, all the shortcomings of the first Fallout fixed (quest logs, companions control..) and on top of that add a new shiny post-apo car for your desert travelling. Hmmm. On the other hand, the overall experience isn't as masterfully compact as it is in the original Fallout and it's basically the same thing all over again, samey visuals, music, experience etc. But when you got your favourite, the most delicious food in the world, can you complain when you get it again and in double the portion? I certainly can't, both Fallout 1 and 2 are classics of the genre and must plays for all cRPG's or post-apocalyptic lovers. 9/10 Expand
  20. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    This is the BEST Rpg ever made! A real rpg thats not only shooting killing; but also based on intelligence, changing dialogue options. Make fun of politics, social events (for example you will see Mike Tyson in game:) words are not enough just play it. Also fallout 3 is not like f2, not like we expected
  21. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    One of the best single player post nuclear games I've ever played. Not even Fallout 3 has managed to touch this game in terms of plot/writing/choices.
  22. Mar 24, 2015
    9
    What can you say about a legendary game Such as Fallout 2? This game is arguably the one that really put the Fallout franchise on the map. You play the grandchild of the Vault Dweller, who grew up in a small tribe isolated from the rest of the world. As the Vault Dweller's grandchild you are naturally the Chosen One in the village. A drought has plagued the village, the cattle are dying,What can you say about a legendary game Such as Fallout 2? This game is arguably the one that really put the Fallout franchise on the map. You play the grandchild of the Vault Dweller, who grew up in a small tribe isolated from the rest of the world. As the Vault Dweller's grandchild you are naturally the Chosen One in the village. A drought has plagued the village, the cattle are dying, crops withering, and children are sickly. The only ray of hope is the legend of the Garden of Eden Creation Kit, or G.E.C.K. which has the power to save the village. But saving your village will be more complicated than just retrieving this artifact, of that you can be sure.

    The good: While the gameplay is nearly identical to it's predecessor much of the gameplay has been improved. You can now loot multiple corpses if they fall on the same hexagon which is a massive improvement. The item transfer box is now capped at 99,999 and the counter moves much faster for precision item transfers, like money. The music is still great and lends to the atmosphere of a wasteland, top talent like Ron Perlman who returns to as the voice of the Narrator, and Michael Dorn who voices the super mutant sheriff of Broken Hills, named Marcus. There are also more than double the items, more weapons, armor, and tools are at your disposal in your quest to save Arroyo, your village. With more companions, more humor, more everything. Also the option of a car that makes travelling across world map much faster, and gives you a mobile storage container for those goodies you might need, but can't carry. The down side of course is that the car eats up energy from Microfusion Cells and Small Energy Cells like crazy, both of which are the ammunition for your energy weapons. Which means that at some points you can get stuck deciding on weather to fuel the car, or have use of your exotic guns.

    The bad: Too many pop culture references, there are far more then necessary. The lucky part is that if you don't get the joke it generally doesn't get in the way. Due to being top down isometric it suffers some of the same flaws as it's predecessor. If enemies are close to the edge of an area they can die in places you can't loot them in, and sometimes they end up in places you can't shoot at them in. Luckily your companions can shoot enemies outside the screen area.

    Final thought: An overall improvement on the original game, with a more user friendly interface. The game is overall double the size of the original with twice, or more the weapons, armor, locations, characters, side quests, and companions. A must have for RPG fans.
    Expand
  23. Mar 31, 2015
    9
    Played this for the first time in 2014 and enjoyed it tremendously. It's bigger and more over the top than it's original brother. There's a lot of pop culture references and tongue in cheek jokes, which make the game a lot of fun. It also has more weapons, items and perks than the first one. The amount of quests is incredible and you get a different ending for each city depending on yourPlayed this for the first time in 2014 and enjoyed it tremendously. It's bigger and more over the top than it's original brother. There's a lot of pop culture references and tongue in cheek jokes, which make the game a lot of fun. It also has more weapons, items and perks than the first one. The amount of quests is incredible and you get a different ending for each city depending on your choices.

    However the plot is slightly less focused and the story is less convincing than those of it's predecessor. Which is why i prefer the original fallout. I'd rate this one a 9.2/10 compared to a 9.8/10 for fallout.
    Expand
  24. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I got caught messing with a farmers daughter, forced into marriage at gunpoint, got addicted to jet then pimped my wife while I went to run guns and star in porn.

    THAT my friends is a ROLE PLAYING GAME

    Possibly not just the greatest RPG of all time but GAME of all time.

    Black Isle Studios, we miss you.
  25. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    This is a great game! The best of the Fallout serie. A true RPG. Few games can be copared with this one.
  26. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When I played I was a BLAST, it was the first one of the RPG games I've ever played, and as the people say you'll always remember the first one. It is a highlight in the RPG business. Realistically I have no words to qualify this one if I could I'll give it a 1000 or even a 1000000. Please have in mind that the interface is an old one nothing like the ones we are used now please be patientWhen I played I was a BLAST, it was the first one of the RPG games I've ever played, and as the people say you'll always remember the first one. It is a highlight in the RPG business. Realistically I have no words to qualify this one if I could I'll give it a 1000 or even a 1000000. Please have in mind that the interface is an old one nothing like the ones we are used now please be patient it will be worth it I promise Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This game is legendary! They don't make RPGs like that anymore! Gripping story, hundreds of hours of gameplay, a huge free word to explore, killable children (It might sound sick, but it is about the freedom the developers gave to the player. If you don't want to hurt them... don't do it, but 'Black Isle' won't restrain you from doing it!). The game was a perfect blend of funny and adultThis game is legendary! They don't make RPGs like that anymore! Gripping story, hundreds of hours of gameplay, a huge free word to explore, killable children (It might sound sick, but it is about the freedom the developers gave to the player. If you don't want to hurt them... don't do it, but 'Black Isle' won't restrain you from doing it!). The game was a perfect blend of funny and adult content, with dozens of memorable dialogs. The way the turn based combat mechanics worked was great (a certain amount of action point could be used during combat to shoot, crouch, heal yourself, move etc.) The character stat system was also great. It was divided into four categories: attributes, skills, traits and perks. The player is governed by the system called "S.P.E.C.I.A.L." (an acronym for Strength, Perception, Endurance, Charisma, Intelligence, Agility and Luck). There are also 18 different skills in the game. Perks are a special element of the level up system. Every three levels (or every four if the player chooses a certain trait), the player is presented with a list of perks and can choose one to improve their character. All these had great impact on gameplay (smart character had more dialog option etc,). The post-apocalyptic word of the game was rich and the story is very memorable. Arroyo is suffering from a drought. The village elder tasked the direct descendant of the Vault Dweller (Main protagonist of Fallout 1) referred to as the Chosen One to perform the quest of retrieving a Garden of Eden Creation Kit for the village. The player is given nothing more than the Vault Dweller's jumpsuit, a RobCo PIPBoy 2000 handheld device, a Vault 13 water flask, a spear and some cash to start on his quest. During his quest the Vault Dweller will face foes like the Enclave, mutants, raiders and many more. I enjoyed the visual direction of the game very much. The music was also very memorable!
    I can only recommend this game!
    Expand
  28. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    A great game that got me into CRPGs, it has everything that was missing in fallout 1. Memorable characters, more customization, another great story, epic ending, no time limit ... WAR ... WAR NEVER CHANGES
  29. May 13, 2012
    10
    Fallout 2 should definitely get more points than 10 out of 10 :) I've lost track of how many times I have completed this game since 1999 and each time is was fun.
  30. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This game is a true example of how good classic games can be. The graphics are excellent even for an old game, it doesn't match up to newer games but it also doesn't hurt your eyes like the textures of many older games do. The story is great and it uses cut-scenes to give a realistic sense of urgency to the players main quest. I have NEVER run into any bug surprisingly, I don't know whatThis game is a true example of how good classic games can be. The graphics are excellent even for an old game, it doesn't match up to newer games but it also doesn't hurt your eyes like the textures of many older games do. The story is great and it uses cut-scenes to give a realistic sense of urgency to the players main quest. I have NEVER run into any bug surprisingly, I don't know what people saying this to have tons of glitches is about. The gameplay is great as well, absolutely flawless. You get absolute freedom, you can even kill children in this game if you like. Expand
  31. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Bigger and better than F1 in every way. The amount of freedom offered by this game is simply unmatched. And considering the crap that passes as a cRPG these days, it'll most likely stay unmatched for a very long time.
  32. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    A truly amazing game. As long as you don't mind having to read a lot, you will absolutely love this game. A definite contender for the best RPG of all time.
  33. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Fallout 2 is simply without a doubt, one of the most underated rpg games in history! It is similar to the first Fallout in which i will say, if it aint broken, dont fix it! This game will be another one of the classic gems that will forever be rememberd and respected by me!
  34. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    one of the thing that i probably will never understand, it's how fallout 2 is still so obscure to the big public.
    after the release of fallout 3, i thought that f1 and f2 would have seen their importance recognized, but they are still semi unknown. this makes me sad :(
    anyway... if you never played fallout 2, grab it now and thanks me later.
  35. Jul 21, 2013
    8
    Fallout 2 is the definition of a sequel that actually succeeds in going bigger and better than the first. Though, I lightly say it. As everything in this is amped up to it's full potential and doesn't disappoint, there are two major glaring issues that just make the first Fallout a better game.

    It's thoroughly addicting, more so than the first Fallout, as it tightens up certain gameplay
    Fallout 2 is the definition of a sequel that actually succeeds in going bigger and better than the first. Though, I lightly say it. As everything in this is amped up to it's full potential and doesn't disappoint, there are two major glaring issues that just make the first Fallout a better game.

    It's thoroughly addicting, more so than the first Fallout, as it tightens up certain gameplay elements are smoothed up and some major improvements are put in (companion controls!). The scale of the map is massive, and feels like the largest Fallout to date. The amount of things to do will keep glued to this game for at least 50 hours.

    Writing is also substantial, featuring more NPC interactions, large choices on what dialogue to choose is awesome.

    But, the too biggest issues are the story and the pop culture references. The story is essentially a re-hash of the first Fallout. Replacing the water chip with the GECK, and mutants with the Enclave. It's more forgivable because the amount of things Fallout 2 offers and is essentially an excuse to go out exploring. The second would be the pop culture references. In Fallout 1, the pop culture references were fun and memorable because they were balanced out and didn't try too hard. Fallout 2 has an excessive amount of pop culture references and it looses it's charm and kind of kills the atmosphere.

    Still, Fallout 2 is an addicting and fun game. Worth a playthrough or two.
    Expand
  36. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Story wise, this is the best fallout game ever. The gameplay holds up ptetty well, and the violence is way overthe top in a good way. There are numourous pop cultar references. Less serious than the first fallout at times, and way darker at others. If gpu like games with a good story, this is for you.
  37. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    OH MY GOD. How can anyone dislike this game? If your PC bugs out then get rid of your friggin viruses. No replay value? If you don't change the way you play it, then I guess it could seem so.
    This is a top cult classic game, which rocks the socks out of any other game ever made. PERIOD.
    I'd bet the reason "new kids" won't appreciate it is because they have no patience these days.
  38. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Far ahead of its time non-linear RPG. Comparable to the Ultima series & Deus Ex in terms of influence and advances in virtual world building. This game is not very politically correct, it's only concerned with being a masterpiece.
  39. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    This is very likely the best RPG of all time. Certainly its age shows somewhat, but not nearly as much as most games even 5 years old. This game must have simply had a magical assortment of a development team because WOW it shows. Even creating a character is better than most RPGs today due to the SPECIAL stat system with perks and skills which is the best RPG stat system I have seen toThis is very likely the best RPG of all time. Certainly its age shows somewhat, but not nearly as much as most games even 5 years old. This game must have simply had a magical assortment of a development team because WOW it shows. Even creating a character is better than most RPGs today due to the SPECIAL stat system with perks and skills which is the best RPG stat system I have seen to date. The characters you can recruit are varied and interesting, and build their character through in depth dialogue as much as through combat and (in some cases) reactions to your choices. The factions of the game feel like they are more from the real world than most games, few characters, even the NPCs are complete caricatures. The exploration is just the right blend of time spent exploring and traveling. SOME backtracking makes the world feel a lot more interconnected than simply walking from one town to the next like a Final Fantasy game. Very open style where you can skip towns, visit out of order(to some extent, as the game does not change due to your level, but there is some leeway), or even ignore the main story if you want. Hundreds of fun small moments, great uses of skills(though the overall balance is certainly leaning towards certain skills- no game is perfect.) Humor is nice but the idea of being able to skip it in New Vegas was certainly the way to go - One of the only serious flaws in Fallout 2 is the fight between being a serious game and being a humorous one. You can have humor in a serious game but sometimes this one can go over the top. One of the greatest games of all time but probably not for someone that really loves RPGs at this point as the ISO view and old UI do make it a bit of a chore to get through. If you can get through that though you will have an incredible time playing this game. Expand
  40. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    The Greatness of this game is not nostalgia or wishful thinking. The greatness of this game is in the writing. In the mad excessive glory of the plot lines and the openess of the role playing to do what you want and play it anyway you could dare to imagine. There will come a day when developers gain the ambition to try and rebuild this with contemporary graphics or even make somethingThe Greatness of this game is not nostalgia or wishful thinking. The greatness of this game is in the writing. In the mad excessive glory of the plot lines and the openess of the role playing to do what you want and play it anyway you could dare to imagine. There will come a day when developers gain the ambition to try and rebuild this with contemporary graphics or even make something better. I hope they try, because if someone could do something like this in 2012 it would rock the gaming world with greatness Expand
  41. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    Best of the Interplay FO series and stands head and shoulders with the Bethesda games FO2 expands on the first game by leaps and bounds with a great immersive story loads of character customization choice, flexibility, challenging, rewarding, no timer, mods FO2 is still one of the best RPG's out there.
  42. Aug 12, 2013
    7
    Fallout 1 was a perfect game, but this one feels over-stretched. They sacrificed story quality and filled it with cheezy humor. The atmosphere just can't compare to the original.
  43. Aug 18, 2013
    5
    About twice the size of the first Fallout, with less than half the strenght.
    A series of disconnected locations until you get to Navarro near the end of the game.
    Better companions, some of them very difficult to acquire, and that's it. Less dialogues, no "Tell me about" and poor resolution. Too many easter eggs and pop references. Definitely less polished and less memorable than the
    About twice the size of the first Fallout, with less than half the strenght.
    A series of disconnected locations until you get to Navarro near the end of the game.
    Better companions, some of them very difficult to acquire, and that's it. Less dialogues, no "Tell me about" and poor resolution. Too many easter eggs and pop references.
    Definitely less polished and less memorable than the first game.
    Expand
  44. Oct 2, 2014
    0
    Old piece of **** which is worst than Wasteland 2 If somebody say something other, he is lier. This game has old ugly Graphic, stupid story, many bugs, story is really short and stupid.
  45. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    I guess I should have played this when it came out to appreciate it. I bought it just recently because I loved Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas. It's just too much of a chore to play. I also hate the gun play in the games of this era (FO Tactics, Jagged Alliance 1&2, etc) where your guys can't hit anything they are not standing next to. It suck immersion out of a game when your guys is 5I guess I should have played this when it came out to appreciate it. I bought it just recently because I loved Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas. It's just too much of a chore to play. I also hate the gun play in the games of this era (FO Tactics, Jagged Alliance 1&2, etc) where your guys can't hit anything they are not standing next to. It suck immersion out of a game when your guys is 5 meter away with a machinegun and doesn't hit once. Expand
  46. Mar 26, 2014
    7
    Much easier and more accessible than it's predecessor. With the learning curve being not quite so steep here and the game not regularly killing you at the drop of a hat, the game is much more playable than the first. There's a lot more content, the story is better, and you have a lot more options as to how you choose to play the game. From a gameplay perspective this game blows the firstMuch easier and more accessible than it's predecessor. With the learning curve being not quite so steep here and the game not regularly killing you at the drop of a hat, the game is much more playable than the first. There's a lot more content, the story is better, and you have a lot more options as to how you choose to play the game. From a gameplay perspective this game blows the first Fallout away, but from a technical perspective the game is lacking.

    There are still numerous bugs an glitches that plague the game. One such recurring glitch forced me to have to leave and restart the game periodically. It's frustrating to no end, but these glitches do not ruin what is otherwise an excellent RPG experience that feels ahead of it's time. The only other complaint I have is that occasionally it can be hard to figure out how to progress the main quest. This can lead to extended periods of just mindless wandering, or forced trips to online guides and walkthroughs. Overall that is a minor complaint and the only real issue I have with the game is the amount of glitches it has.

    So this is one I can recommend. It's got issues but I still had a lot of fun with it. I was incredibly impressed with how modern a lot of the features in this game feel. The interface obviously shows age, but the amount of player choice here is staggering at times. It's a shame that the game has irritating technical issues, because otherwise it feels ahead of it's time. Still this is one I recommend if you enjoy post apocalyptic games or just god RPGs. I give it a 7.5/10-Good.
    Expand
  47. Feb 20, 2015
    4
    This game is an overrated turd.

    Turn based combat makes the combat incredibly tedious, clunky and boring. Why would I wait politely while the enemy make a move on me before then taking my own action, what a load of rubbish. You have almost no control over what your companions do in combat; you can't issue attack orders or tell them to fall back and they can go running off blindly
    This game is an overrated turd.

    Turn based combat makes the combat incredibly tedious, clunky and boring. Why would I wait politely while the enemy make a move on me before then taking my own action, what a load of rubbish.

    You have almost no control over what your companions do in combat; you can't issue attack orders or tell them to fall back and they can go running off blindly into packs of enemies. When they do decide to retreat due to taking a lot of damage they sometimes run off into another group of enemies.

    The movement is hex based so depending on which direction you are traveling you can't always move in a straight line. To this day I still don't understand what the obsession is with hex based systems. Personally I think they are a crutch used by lazy developers.

    When attacking you are given a percentage chance of succeeding but even with fairly high skill values the chance to hit is absurdly low. There doesn't appear to be any concept of flanking or attacking from behind; you also can't take cover.

    One of the first companions you meet has a giant sledge hammer but he does almost no damage to enemies and it's not uncommon to see him miss 4-5 times in a row. Enemies like Golden Geckos that have a fairly decent chance of killing or badly injuring this companion give a pathetic amount of XP for killing them. Enemies are ridiculous bullet sponges that don't appear to suffer any ill effects from being shot in the face.

    So we've established that the combat in this game is contrived, nonsensical, unsatisfying rubbish. This on its own wouldn't be a big deal except that the game is so biased towards combat orientated characters. They have a sneaking skill in the game but no XP is awarded for sneaking past enemies, only killing them.

    I don't see the point in adding in loads of different skills when most of them are situational at best. It seems that unless you're taking small guns, lockpick and speech then you're deliberately gimping yourself. Why do I need to try and lock pick some rotting old door when I have a crowbar and sledge hammer at my disposal? (EDIT: Turns out you can hit doors with weapons, but my character has low strength and doesn't have a chance, unfortunately since there is NO companion control I can't order my team mate to hit it with their sledge hammer!)

    From what I have seen so far the dialogue is interesting and humorous but this combat makes the game so infuriating and dull that I just can't be bothered to continue. Only people giving this game a high score appear to be frothing at the mouth fanboys.
    Expand
  48. Mar 22, 2015
    6
    Poor character system (only maybe 1-3 workable builds, some stats are useless, most perks and skill are useless, only 2 slots on character for weapon and armor), combat is **** involves no tactical decision making, slow and annoying, a lot of uninteresting quests that are fetch quests and simple go from point A to point B quests (Find weakness in Tyler's gang guarding the church, GetPoor character system (only maybe 1-3 workable builds, some stats are useless, most perks and skill are useless, only 2 slots on character for weapon and armor), combat is **** involves no tactical decision making, slow and annoying, a lot of uninteresting quests that are fetch quests and simple go from point A to point B quests (Find weakness in Tyler's gang guarding the church, Get permission from Metzger for gang war)
    The den was almost full of them, no direct control of companions, **** plot, no natural progression of events (basically boils down on find the geck that takes ages to complete and when destroying enclave, thrown up on top of it for **** and giggles), main objective reduced to a side quest, areas are mostly settlements and looks identical
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Perhaps even more so than its predecessor, Fallout 2 contains dozens of subtle and more often not-so-subtle references to cult movies, television icons, and other aspects of popular culture.
  2. Fallout 2 is a worthy successor to Fallout, and one that deserves a place in every dedicated role-playing gamer's collection. Don't be without it!
  3. The warm, fuzzy, post-apocalyptic world has all the little details and exactly the right tone. The immersive story has kept me up until the wee hours of the morn on many occasions.