User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 97
  2. Negative: 31 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    4
    At first, Operation Anchorage feels a little bit more like one of the older Call of Duty titles than it does Fallout 3. You are given the false impression of something new and exciting; Unfortunately, it only lasts for about 20 minutes or so before you realize you're just running on a treadmill of combat and pointless dialogue. Once you wake up to the fact that that the full heath and ammoAt first, Operation Anchorage feels a little bit more like one of the older Call of Duty titles than it does Fallout 3. You are given the false impression of something new and exciting; Unfortunately, it only lasts for about 20 minutes or so before you realize you're just running on a treadmill of combat and pointless dialogue. Once you wake up to the fact that that the full heath and ammo checkpoints make for an easy and hollow combat experience, you lose interest real fast, and it becomes a boring grind to simply get it over with. The ONLY reason to complete OA is for the indestructible power armour at the very end (or possibly the Chinese stealth armour if you care about stealth gameplay). If it's experience points you're after, your time could be much better spent elsewhere. The combat might be a welcomed relief if it weren't so repetitive. The fact that you can't take anything you find in the simulator back into the regular game, and the complete lack of karma and dialogue choices completely removes the RPG side of the game (a part that makes FO3 so awesome). In short, there's really no reason to play this expansion except to say that you did it and retrieve the rewards at the end and move on. Definitely a disappointing experience. Expand
  2. CF
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    An absolutely uninspired, shallow, linear experience harking on all the worst bits of Fallout 3. Is this what the expansion pack has become? Throw-away DLC nothings, most of which should have been in the game in the FIRST place (you know, letting you play after that crap main quest)? Thank god I pirated it.
  3. Dree
    Jul 31, 2009
    3
    Worst example of what $10.00 (with +$1 for registering at GFWL). DLC pack can be. - No Roleplaying. (meaning No choice/decision making and follow-up consequence.) - 45 minutes of boring meiocre shooter genre game. - the reward items are all bugged. - and there is no replayability value at all. (and even if you want, you cannot go back unless you restart.) - then why am i giving a generous Worst example of what $10.00 (with +$1 for registering at GFWL). DLC pack can be. - No Roleplaying. (meaning No choice/decision making and follow-up consequence.) - 45 minutes of boring meiocre shooter genre game. - the reward items are all bugged. - and there is no replayability value at all. (and even if you want, you cannot go back unless you restart.) - then why am i giving a generous 3/10 instead of 1/10? well, the winter envirnoment is done very well. It does offer a refreshing feeling to the player upon entering the VSS simulation. It is one unique feeling that I got from this particular DLC. but other than that, it surely wasn't worth $10.00. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I hate how everyone is hating on this DLC. This is for people like me who did not enjoy Fallout 3 because it was too slow and didn't use the VATS system to its optimal use. I honestly loved OA because of these reasons. I'm not one to care about story, atmosphere, graphics, acting, voice acting, or any of that stuff. The final boss was horrible, though(Extremely glitchy and far too hard).I hate how everyone is hating on this DLC. This is for people like me who did not enjoy Fallout 3 because it was too slow and didn't use the VATS system to its optimal use. I honestly loved OA because of these reasons. I'm not one to care about story, atmosphere, graphics, acting, voice acting, or any of that stuff. The final boss was horrible, though(Extremely glitchy and far too hard). At least I got excellent rewards. Expand
  5. spencerm
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    I don't know why ppl r bashin it but it is a great expansion and explains the randomnes of the outcasts with lots of new goodies and a higher level cap with new skills.
  6. Nathan
    Apr 23, 2009
    9
    Solid fighting action and a great deal, this expansion is worth the measly 10 bucks. I loved the game play, and got a bit of action rather rping all the time or having to scavenge the whole wasteland to find enemies, it provides a break from the fun and time consuming role play features of the game and makes use of its other features, like VATS. Only downside: bodies disappear when people Solid fighting action and a great deal, this expansion is worth the measly 10 bucks. I loved the game play, and got a bit of action rather rping all the time or having to scavenge the whole wasteland to find enemies, it provides a break from the fun and time consuming role play features of the game and makes use of its other features, like VATS. Only downside: bodies disappear when people are killed in the simulation D: Other than that, great price, great expansion. Expand
  7. AlexanderThoma
    Mar 22, 2009
    2
    Boring "linear" shooter, even Bethesda calls it "RPG". No different "hit zones" (apart head and all other) For a RPG it would get 0 , as Metacritic "First Person Shooter" describes Bethesdas last games better, I will give it a 2. (But since level 6 you feel already like in a god mode)
  8. JeremyH.
    Mar 22, 2009
    5
    Decent, I suppose. The fighting just got really old after a while, I mean the first encounter with the stealthed dragoon guys was pretty cool, but, when you kept running around corners into stealthed snipers just sitting around, it got really old. I didn't even get 3 hours out of this, I was done in about 30 minutes or so. There was no real excitement after the first few minutes, Decent, I suppose. The fighting just got really old after a while, I mean the first encounter with the stealthed dragoon guys was pretty cool, but, when you kept running around corners into stealthed snipers just sitting around, it got really old. I didn't even get 3 hours out of this, I was done in about 30 minutes or so. There was no real excitement after the first few minutes, just walking up to a corner and going 'I bet a flamer troop is gonna come around there.........yep'. The only real weapon loadout to use that was any good was the sniper pack as a missle launcher and a pistol was useless since you fight one unit that you really need missles for (actually, the Chimera goes down pretty easy without it); an assalt rifle which is also useless as just about all enemies are all stealthed with snipers sitting on rocks; and close combat was useless for the same reason. It was weird the way enemy stealth units would just sit and watch until you shot them to attack you, even as you were slaughtering their buddies and they had perfect shots lined up. The end was stupid, everyone just gets into a rumble over whether I got to take any of the useless crap in the armory, didn't even give me a chance to say 'no thank you, I'll just be on my way'. 5/10 for being somewhat enjoyable at the beginning. Though I wonder when Bethesda will let us climb like that. Expand
  9. RubenM
    May 20, 2009
    7
    If i were to rate Operation Anchorage based on its new missions alone, it would receive a very poor rating. At first it shows promise by giving you a self-selected team and restricted equipment, then it turns out the game is so short you barely get to use them. The OA missions are boring and linear, even though stealthed enemies are a nice distraction. By itself, it would earn a rating of If i were to rate Operation Anchorage based on its new missions alone, it would receive a very poor rating. At first it shows promise by giving you a self-selected team and restricted equipment, then it turns out the game is so short you barely get to use them. The OA missions are boring and linear, even though stealthed enemies are a nice distraction. By itself, it would earn a rating of 3/10. The real value is in the items received after the simulation, however. A weapon that knocks down enemies, a sword that destroys most of them and a steal armour making the required critical hits much easier to get turn you into a killing machine. Being able to simply walk past enemies is also very nice, and gives you more options to play the game (a la Deus Ex). On top of this you get several other goodies, including special power armour and the training to use it which normally happens 2/3rds into the main quest. Nice. In summary, a poor set of missions but a brilliant addition to Fallout 3 itself. 7/10 Expand
  10. MaximeG
    May 24, 2009
    5
    This expansion didn't have enough contents to call this a "pack" ... not enough gameplay ( can easily beat Operation Anchorage in 30-45 minutes ) and the items you obtain only worths it when you're at the beggining. If you finished the game and downloaded it, it would be completely useless in my opinion ... Oh and for those who says it give a higher level cap , you are mistaken This expansion didn't have enough contents to call this a "pack" ... not enough gameplay ( can easily beat Operation Anchorage in 30-45 minutes ) and the items you obtain only worths it when you're at the beggining. If you finished the game and downloaded it, it would be completely useless in my opinion ... Oh and for those who says it give a higher level cap , you are mistaken with the latest pack : Broken Steel. Expand
  11. Jul 8, 2011
    5
    This is a DLC for the wrong game. It keeps me wondering did the developers know that they are not making a DLC for first person shooter. Operation anchorage is fallout 3 without any kind of role playing elements, characters or anything else which makes fallout 3 to be fallout. It tries to be some kind of FPS action game based on war against China at Alaska. The story in this DLC is veryThis is a DLC for the wrong game. It keeps me wondering did the developers know that they are not making a DLC for first person shooter. Operation anchorage is fallout 3 without any kind of role playing elements, characters or anything else which makes fallout 3 to be fallout. It tries to be some kind of FPS action game based on war against China at Alaska. The story in this DLC is very stupid and unconvincing. I have to say that fallout 3 is not optimal game to turn into FPS. Everything just feels so old and all modern FPS standards are thrown into garbage bin.. After you complete the Operation Anchorage you get some overpowered equipment which makes your character way too powerful against the other enemies. If you can avoid this DLC at any costs, it almost ruins the whole game. I cannot get anything good into my mind about this DLCâ Expand
  12. May 4, 2013
    2
    This DLC does everything wrong that Fallout 3 does right. More often than not there's only a single path to take and when there's choice you'll find doors locked behind you to make sure you cannot explore the other option. Sometimes you cannot leave the room until you've figured out which button to push. And so on. This DLC constantly bosses you around and tells you how exactly to play it.This DLC does everything wrong that Fallout 3 does right. More often than not there's only a single path to take and when there's choice you'll find doors locked behind you to make sure you cannot explore the other option. Sometimes you cannot leave the room until you've figured out which button to push. And so on. This DLC constantly bosses you around and tells you how exactly to play it. Make 100% sure you save before you start the DLC so you can opt out of this crap. I didn't and now I have to bite the bullet and finish it to return to the real game. Expand
  13. Jul 22, 2017
    6
    This DLC will reward you with a generous amount of experience points, and some very good loot. The premise of the DLC is certainly interesting and fits within the Fallout 3 theme very well. Unfortunately, the DLC seems to attempt to emphasize the FPS elements of Fallout 3, which are in my opinion one of its weaknesses. In fact, the DLC overall was very reminiscent to an old-school FPS.This DLC will reward you with a generous amount of experience points, and some very good loot. The premise of the DLC is certainly interesting and fits within the Fallout 3 theme very well. Unfortunately, the DLC seems to attempt to emphasize the FPS elements of Fallout 3, which are in my opinion one of its weaknesses. In fact, the DLC overall was very reminiscent to an old-school FPS. Relatively linear, find ammo caches and health pickups, and there's even 10 collectible "intels". For FPS gameplay, Fallout 3 is not the game you want to be playing. Still, something kept me coming back. No characters stood out to me as being overly interesting, but I think the overall map and locations within the DLC were interesting and nice to explore, relative to Fallout 3 visuals that is. Still, the DLC was only a few hours total, if it was anymore than that I would probably have a more negative opinion. I wouldn't really say that this DLC is good or bad, it just is. Give it a play if you are bored. Expand
  14. Jan 30, 2015
    5
    Definitely the most inferior DLC of Fallout 3, there are positive aspects though but are still in equal with that of the negatives. The story is unique but rather dull and linear, the character development is very poor, and there isn't much of a challenge whatsoever. The positives are the rewards and that is it, trust me you will forget about this whole DLC and just love the rewards thatDefinitely the most inferior DLC of Fallout 3, there are positive aspects though but are still in equal with that of the negatives. The story is unique but rather dull and linear, the character development is very poor, and there isn't much of a challenge whatsoever. The positives are the rewards and that is it, trust me you will forget about this whole DLC and just love the rewards that you receive at the end. Expand
  15. Aug 8, 2016
    2
    It's an FPS. And it's linear. What else is there to say ? There is no exploration, no choices, no RPG elements... I mean, it's not even a good FPS.

    Want to know why I don't rate it 0 ? Because I like the outcasts outpost as my new home, and because at last some opponents use sneaking tactics against me (who sneaks the entire game.)
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. I love Fallout 3. I love it to an almost indecent extent. It was far and away my game of 2008, and doesn't look like being knocked out of my personal top spot for a good while yet. But when you sift out its role-play, the ammo-box inspection and the exploration and draft in a fleet of health and ammo regeneration points to compensate... well, affairs just feel shallow and somewhat naked.
  2. What's left if you remove the roleplay elements from an action-based RPG? In this case it's three hours of uninspired action. Everything that made Fallout 3 a good game has been removed, obviously to rip off gamers who already explored the whole wastelands - and for those players it's totally worthless.
  3. 78
    The entire download only took me about three hours to finish which isn't a whole lot of time considering the $10 price tag. I had fun while playing Operation:Anchorage despite a few bugs and a couple of game crashes, and the items you get for completing the missions are awesome. If you get a kick out of watching heads fly in VATS like me, you'll find a lot to like in Operation: Anchorage.