User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 81
  2. Negative: 8 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 2, 2015
    8
    One of the more superior of the Fallout 3 DLC. The Pitt has by far the greatest story of all the DLC's, it is emotional, interesting, unique, and has some really difficult moral choices at the end. The world you are in is a perfect example of what a post-apocalyptic environment would be like, it is creepy, horrifying, and even rather sad. The only negatives I can think of is weak awardsOne of the more superior of the Fallout 3 DLC. The Pitt has by far the greatest story of all the DLC's, it is emotional, interesting, unique, and has some really difficult moral choices at the end. The world you are in is a perfect example of what a post-apocalyptic environment would be like, it is creepy, horrifying, and even rather sad. The only negatives I can think of is weak awards and not enough quests. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    Not much fun, slow, and more of the same. It's not a lot different than the rest of the game, more to shoot, less freedom. I bought the game of the year addition for $10 on steam, but you aren't missing anything with the DLC. (Maybe worth The Brotherhood of Steel)
  3. JeffA.
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    It has nice atmosphere, cool old steel mills and scary nasties, but the story and AI of your human enemies are really mixed up. People have conversations about stuff that has been undone, etc. I tried to play it guns a blazin, but it forced me to play by its rules, bah!!
  4. Dree
    Jul 31, 2009
    6
    Possibly the best DLC pack, but it is toooo short. I opened this DLC pack in GECK and noticed that this, The Pitt DLC, was made before Operation Anchorage. Possibly, in my opinion, the reason why this DLC is too short is because the dev ran out of time before the due date. (which is a bit shame.) It was worth my $10.00 (USD). and I would defintely pay another $10.00 for some DLC pack like Possibly the best DLC pack, but it is toooo short. I opened this DLC pack in GECK and noticed that this, The Pitt DLC, was made before Operation Anchorage. Possibly, in my opinion, the reason why this DLC is too short is because the dev ran out of time before the due date. (which is a bit shame.) It was worth my $10.00 (USD). and I would defintely pay another $10.00 for some DLC pack like this. Unlike all other DLC pack that dev released for Fallout 3, this is the only DLC pack that involves choice-making, morale concepts and deeper storyline that is very interesting. The ruined-urban settings and orange-smokey enviroment were done very well. However, there is almost no exploration to meet the satisfaction of average-single-player-RPG gamer's standard. The new worldspace is very large, but the collision markers block player from going other routes than the one that leads to the main quest. The new enemies (trog and wildman) aren't that impressive. The quest reward items are average items. and the NPC are just mediocre (meaning nothing special.. All they say to the player is "Scram!". Expand
  5. MadisonL
    Jul 2, 2009
    7
    Much better than Operation: Anchorage for sure, but there isn't that much fighting to do. It's obvious that the concept tried to differentiate itself from the rest of FO3, but it's still pretty much the same desolate, gutter-like and lawless environment the player will be in. The new items are okay, but they are quite redundant once you're done with The Pitt.
  6. RubenM
    May 20, 2009
    7
    This DLC is essentially the opposite of DLC: Operation Anchorage. You get a nice main quest with role-playing elements and a small but interesting area to explore at will. Its impact on the main game is less significant, though you receive some rather useful Perks and items including silenced assault rifles - which are just very nice to have. While the main quest can be done in 3-4 hours, This DLC is essentially the opposite of DLC: Operation Anchorage. You get a nice main quest with role-playing elements and a small but interesting area to explore at will. Its impact on the main game is less significant, though you receive some rather useful Perks and items including silenced assault rifles - which are just very nice to have. While the main quest can be done in 3-4 hours, the explorable area adds another few hours of gameplay meaning it can take several days to finish (as opposed to Operation Anchorage). I would say it is definitely worth it. Expand
  7. AmyF
    May 2, 2009
    7
    Conceptually, there's not enough new meat here to warrant a separate buy. I'm trying to look from the developer as well as the business side because it's that combination that users actually perceive in their analysis of quality nowadays. We all love Bethesda without a doubt, but they're no 2K or Source team in so far as dystopian sci fi adventure writing goes and Conceptually, there's not enough new meat here to warrant a separate buy. I'm trying to look from the developer as well as the business side because it's that combination that users actually perceive in their analysis of quality nowadays. We all love Bethesda without a doubt, but they're no 2K or Source team in so far as dystopian sci fi adventure writing goes and it's really overdue they bump up their technology a bit. A good engine would help them greatly. The Pitt is good proof of my meaning - while it would have made a super part of the FO3 world we bought for $50, it is ultimately lonely and tired by itself for $10 one full year later. That sort of poor business thinking reflects back on the creative team. Developers and gaming scriptwriters really must learn how to edit our storylines better - we no longer have the liberty of allowing the marketing bosses " to take care of that" anymore because they will do so and the result will be degraded art like FO3's The Pitt which should have never existed on its own. ISFA Bethesda's business decision to distribute the FO3 mods via MGWL exclusively ~ a move which defied reason unless it was Bethesda's goal to alienate their fans ~ I wouldn't recommend that strategy again. I sense Steam may have served all parties far better. Steam live and breathe pc gaming and understand this tiny but wonderful corner of the entertainment industry better than any generic mass marketing distributor. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The Pitt is a much more fleshed-out expansion than Operation: Anchorage could ever hope to be. Still, its four-or-so-hour campaign does not have as many choices as the original game, making it feel limited in some aspects. However, even after considering these issues, your trip to post-apocalyptic Pittsburgh is worth the ten dollars (or 800 Microsoft Points).
  2. Good fun, if a little short for the money. [June 2009, p.68]
  3. A fresh infusion of high-quality role-playing quests and new gear to Fallout 3, but The Pitt isn't an entirely glitch-free experience. [June 2009, p.80]