Fallout 3 PC

Fallout 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3565 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice,[Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  2. A massive, enthralling achievement.
  3. The PC version's controls are certainly sharp and I found myself pulling off many more headshots and quick kills with a mouse and keyboard than I could on the console counterparts, but if you really do want to play with a gamepad, Fallout 3 does fully support the 360 controller on the PC as well.
  4. PC Gamer
    91
    But Fallout 3 has fidelity to its predecessors in more important ways, such as offering an incredible depth of role-playing opportunities. [Holiday 2008, p.54]
  5. PC Gamer UK
    90
    Thrillingly dark, gruesomely adult and one of the most atmospheric games ever. [Dec 2008, p.66]
  6. In Fallout 3 Bethesda has made a very good thing, though it is somewhat hampered by the lack of variable scenery and a VATS that plays less than perfectly.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    It’s a game that rewards the long-haul with deep, inventive missions which eschew the usual fetch and kill structure, ensuring that the many hours spent in Fallout 3’s wasteland aren’t wasted. [Christmas 2008, p.88]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 640
  1. MiKE
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! You will be addicted, hooked! The game is simply amazing, once you start playing it, you will not want to stop! I DO NOT BUY THIS GAME! You will be addicted, hooked! The game is simply amazing, once you start playing it, you will not want to stop! I played the PS3 first and I was impressed, and now I am playing the PC version and you just can't compare the two! The PC version is alot better, the graphics are crisp, the animation are better, and the controls feel like this game was made for the PC. Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 equals pure nostalgia for me. It was probably the second RPG game I payed, after KOTOR. I recently replayed the game and yeah, I didFallout 3 equals pure nostalgia for me. It was probably the second RPG game I payed, after KOTOR. I recently replayed the game and yeah, I did notice flaws,quite a bit of them,that I hadn't taken into account when I was younger. However, the game is still a wonderful, immersive open world experience. A lot of the criticism stemmed from the fact, that many game mechanics were taken from "TES IV: Oblivion". I think that was a good decision though. Bethesda took the good elements from Oblivion and the original Fallout games and combined them to create a fantastic game. The progression system is the prime example of how well this worked out. There are many ways to develop your character and at the same time the games is free from the traditional class restrictions. I'm not saying the system is perfect, there are some perks,which are quite honestly useless, others are blatantly overpowered. At higher levels your character will become a little too powerful, having DLC installed can further amplify this effect. I remember during a playthrough with one of my stealth characters I had acquired the Chinese stealth armor and the Gauss Rifle from Operation Anchorage, at about lvl 22 (I had Broken Steal as well) I was able to one-hit-kill Super Mutant Masters and Glowing Ones using sneak attacks. This shows a recurring flaw in Bethesda's post "Morrowind" open world RPGs. The level progression is very unbalanced. At the start of the game you are quite underpowered and if you are unlucky enough to come across say, a deathclaw, then your private anal space shall be violated in a rather unpleasant way, however when you reach the higher levels you simply become too powerful as I stated above. For some reason Bethesda doesn't seem to be addressing this problem, in fact it's even more prominent in "Skyrim" then in any other previous game. Thankfully there exists a very large modding community for "Fallout 3", as well as all other Bethesda games, which is something the company should be given credit for. Not a lot of big Gaming companies support modding in such a way, unfortunately. Story was quite interesting ,though the main quest's short length did not allow for it to be developed as extensively as I would have liked. Another reviewer and clearly a hardcore fan of the Fallout series stated the game did not capture the feel of the original. While I really liked his review, as it was written very well and gave me another point of view on this game, I must disagree with him. It is true, that this was the first Fallout game I played, but It did give me a pretty good sense of what the Fallout universe was like. I like how Bethesda attempted social commentary through elements of the game's world, which was something present in the originals. It was subtle and done very well, but unfortunately I haven't seen Bethesda attempt this in any of their newer games. And although this element could not be developed very well due to the short and linear nature of the main quest and the fact that it feels so disconnected with the Side activities, the overall feel of the game was solid. "Fallout 3" succeeds in creating a haunting, post apocalyptic atmosphere, although at times the color gray is too overwhelming and one cannot help but feel that Bethesda was a little lazy in the interior design. Most importantly, though, the game was and for me still is very fun to play. No doubt, this is the game, in which i have invested the most gameplay hours. Wandering the wastes aimlessly, finding little oddities and wondering how they ended up where they are, or what exactly happened in the building. "Fallout 3" offers an incredibly immersive experience. It can also be a great stress relief if you're a sick f*** like me who likes to shred people to little peaces. Tell me my friends, has there ever been anything more satisfying than killing an oversized cockroach with a handheld nuclear weapon? To sum it all up, "Fallout 3" is an amazing game, despite it's flaws. Expand
  3. LoganS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far beyond simple lines of dialog, and many different paths for the player to choose. There is in fact far more content than any single playthrough needs to experience, promising greater replayability. Expand
  4. EricM
    Nov 4, 2008
    9
    I will say this right off the bat: I have not played any of the original Fallouts so I do not know how this game measures up to them. Also, I I will say this right off the bat: I have not played any of the original Fallouts so I do not know how this game measures up to them. Also, I am primarily a FPS gamer, not an RPG gamer. With that said, Fallout 3 is a genuinely fun and entertaining game. The detail of the Fallout world is amazing and the weapon selection is awesome. However, the game does lose a point for poor physics and the way it seems to chug along at random points. However, I am accustomed to Valve games where the physics and smoothness are incredibly fluid. Anyway, overall: worth the $50. Not even close to finished and I feel like I got my money's worth. Expand
  5. billT
    Jan 15, 2010
    8
    I'm seeing some bad reviews and they are a bit low for this game first off if you think there are only 5 different pieces of armor your I'm seeing some bad reviews and they are a bit low for this game first off if you think there are only 5 different pieces of armor your exploration in the wasteland included starting out searching the suitcase in the first town killing mr. burke and doing the questline, the main quest isnt realy the main focus of the game the main focus is to explore the wasteland. although there are parts i agree with the weapons are a bit off and vats is overused but this is an RPG it isnt meant to be realistic in an rpg when you get a high level you can take about 300 bullets. I also agree they couldve put more effort into the speech arm movements ect. but it wasnt my main concern. the quest also could use some work but they do have a bit diversety of the old kill and fetch (while there are many) there are a few that are unmarked that are interesting such as saving a girl from a perverted man. But the main reson i love this game is you do whatever you want in your little box of wastleland you can kill almost everyone except kids of course or decide to save someones life you can sell people off as slaves blow their pants off set offf a nuke or do common repairs whatever you like you can do it. this was my first fallout game and i enjoyed it. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    As much as I love this game, it just turned in the wrong direction. It doesn't really feel like a Fallout game, but more like a completely newAs much as I love this game, it just turned in the wrong direction. It doesn't really feel like a Fallout game, but more like a completely new game. This game is the Fallout game of Empire: Total War basically. Expand
  7. BethesdaSUX
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    Take 1 good dead franchise, exhume it. Strap on some new grey graphics, leave all the flesh behind in the grave, add micronukes, and what do Take 1 good dead franchise, exhume it. Strap on some new grey graphics, leave all the flesh behind in the grave, add micronukes, and what do you get? FAILOUT 3. Bethesda -ruining your favorite franchise 1 micronuke at a time. Ignore all the reviewers comments, they have all been bribed. Just remember how bad the scaling in oblivion was? You build you character, and instead of geting better your enemies get so good that you might as well not have leveld up at all. This is the worst game ever made, it is grey, and by that i mean you will likely not even get to see another colour the entire game. Dogmeat? Yup, he only died in a forcefield 75 years ago, but WAIT! he's BACK! Mutants have become orcs, ghouls are now zombies. Yes, zombies. Not ghouls. Same thing if you are accustomed to making games like oblivion. When harold decides to eat my brain then i will tell these retards that they did not ruin fallout. Bethe$da are destroying fallout. Buy this game and kill a franchise. Oh, and there are mudcrabs too. and DRAGONS! YAY! I put on my daedric plate and my uber imba nuke launcher to fight a dragon with my 20 fire damage enchanted ammo. I think i will make a potion out of jet (only available in new reno, and only for 4 years or so) that i bought a few thousand kilometers from new reno. I will mix in some NOT heroin due to australian censorship, to get a restore fatigue potion and then repair my armour with a grandmaster armourers hammer. Dont waste your money. Expand

See all 640 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.