Fallout 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2667 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice,[Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  2. A massive, enthralling achievement.
  3. The PC version's controls are certainly sharp and I found myself pulling off many more headshots and quick kills with a mouse and keyboard than I could on the console counterparts, but if you really do want to play with a gamepad, Fallout 3 does fully support the 360 controller on the PC as well.
  4. But Fallout 3 has fidelity to its predecessors in more important ways, such as offering an incredible depth of role-playing opportunities. [Holiday 2008, p.54]
  5. Thrillingly dark, gruesomely adult and one of the most atmospheric games ever. [Dec 2008, p.66]
  6. In Fallout 3 Bethesda has made a very good thing, though it is somewhat hampered by the lack of variable scenery and a VATS that plays less than perfectly.
  7. It’s a game that rewards the long-haul with deep, inventive missions which eschew the usual fetch and kill structure, ensuring that the many hours spent in Fallout 3’s wasteland aren’t wasted. [Christmas 2008, p.88]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 585
  1. AndrewW
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    While, its not perfect, this is probably the best game I will play all year. As for the people giving it low scores, they can't seem to While, its not perfect, this is probably the best game I will play all year. As for the people giving it low scores, they can't seem to get over the fact that the fallout franchise is being made by a new company. This game is worth your money. I played for about 10 hours and then restarted to build a better, stronger character once I had learned the ropes and am now looking at over a hundred hours of gameplay. Yes, it is similar to oblivion, but it is made with the same engine so their are going to be similarities. The dialogue is great, even if some of the voice actors are not. Final verdict, get this game. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is asking a lot. It asks to be forgiven for mediocre graphics, for a forgettable storyline, for poor AI, for poor animation and forFallout 3 is asking a lot. It asks to be forgiven for mediocre graphics, for a forgettable storyline, for poor AI, for poor animation and for linear directed characters. The funny thing is, this game is one of the greatest I have ever played. I can't really describe why, you just need to play the game for yourself. It manages to immerse you fully as you explore the Capital Wasteland. It manages to convey a feeling of pure epicness and you take out a super mutant with a sniper rifle from miles away while listening to the tunes of GNR. Fallout 3 expects us to play the game with a degree of leniency, and funnily enough, after playing for an hour or two most people forget the bugs and glitches that plague this game. Expand
  3. LoganS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far beyond simple lines of dialog, and many different paths for the player to choose. There is in fact far more content than any single playthrough needs to experience, promising greater replayability. Expand
  4. JackR
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This is an extremely good game. I did not like Oblivion for various reasons, but this game does away with most of what annoyed me in Oblivion This is an extremely good game. I did not like Oblivion for various reasons, but this game does away with most of what annoyed me in Oblivion (the bad combat system etc.). This game is a great First Person Shooter, but it has a lot of depth too. Under the surface, it's an RPG, so although the combat is as fun and visceral as an FPS, it is a lot less shallow because the game requires a lot more thought and care. You have to explore, pick the character traits that best suit your style of play, you have to build up your character's weapons and armour, and there is a real story with lots of real characters. So to me it's the best of both worlds. RPG's have depth but poor combat, and FPS's have good combat but are shallow. This game has the best of both worlds with great combat and lots of depth. It's just a fantastic game. I am constantly reminded of the magnificent System Shock games, and that is no small feat. Expand
  5. martijns.
    Dec 31, 2008
    8
    the best game i ever played so far bought it a week ago and bin playing it many hours now i started out playng it at normal level first but i the best game i ever played so far bought it a week ago and bin playing it many hours now i started out playng it at normal level first but i didnt get far cuz i didnt save game in a good way and no money for bullits and not strong enough leveled so i loaded back to the vault and play at very easy then the game becomes very good im not going into detail you just find out your selfs reason that i give it an 8 is that i hope there will be many more even more better games then this there i say masterpiece? game for the future to come so next will be 8.1 :D rating a 10 is so final for the future to come wich ofcourse is. Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2014
    7
    Bethesda did an amazing job at the one thing they always do - the exploration, in this case, the exploration of the post-apocalyptic wastelandBethesda did an amazing job at the one thing they always do - the exploration, in this case, the exploration of the post-apocalyptic wasteland in 3D open world was amazing, even the very start of the game is pretty impressive and for a while it looked like this could be a worthy successor in the Fallout series, but it slowly starts to show the shortcomings of Bethesda as well. Too many bugs, crashes and other technical problems mixed with quite bland story and not really interesting quests or characters. Even the thing you loved at the start will annoy you in the end, loads of invisible walls and running through chaotic subway systems. I still enjoyed the experience, roaming the wasteland and listening to the Pip Boy radio was good, even some of the trademark things from original Fallout like VATS and SPECIAL mechanics are still here, but it's just not the same level of premium quality. Maybe the lack of good writing, memorable characters, or fantastic music to create a proper atmosphere, there is definitely something missing here. The content got a bit better with all the DLC, but I would still highly recommend Fallout 1 & 2 or New Vegas as a much better experiences than this. 7/10 Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    Awesome game if you like having to save every 2 minutes as it crashed to desktop constantly, and has to be restarted, i persevered as it was aAwesome game if you like having to save every 2 minutes as it crashed to desktop constantly, and has to be restarted, i persevered as it was a lot of fun, but the constant crashing got too much and game was removed after about 30 hours game play Expand

See all 585 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.