Fallout 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3744 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice,[Metacritic's 2008 PC Game of the Year] Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Bethesda Game Studios
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, First-Person, First-Person, Western-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  2. A massive, enthralling achievement.
  3. The PC version's controls are certainly sharp and I found myself pulling off many more headshots and quick kills with a mouse and keyboard than I could on the console counterparts, but if you really do want to play with a gamepad, Fallout 3 does fully support the 360 controller on the PC as well.
  4. PC Gamer
    91
    But Fallout 3 has fidelity to its predecessors in more important ways, such as offering an incredible depth of role-playing opportunities. [Holiday 2008, p.54]
  5. PC Gamer UK
    90
    Thrillingly dark, gruesomely adult and one of the most atmospheric games ever. [Dec 2008, p.66]
  6. In Fallout 3 Bethesda has made a very good thing, though it is somewhat hampered by the lack of variable scenery and a VATS that plays less than perfectly.
  7. Edge Magazine
    70
    It’s a game that rewards the long-haul with deep, inventive missions which eschew the usual fetch and kill structure, ensuring that the many hours spent in Fallout 3’s wasteland aren’t wasted. [Christmas 2008, p.88]

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 96 out of 656
  1. MichaelR
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    I loved Fallout 2, but I love Fallout 3 more. Fallout 3 is damn near perfect. I bought it with a sceptical mind, and within a few hours the I loved Fallout 2, but I love Fallout 3 more. Fallout 3 is damn near perfect. I bought it with a sceptical mind, and within a few hours the game convinced me that it was a work of genius. I could write a long review why it's excellent, so all I will 'say' are these words: brilliant, detailed world; mature content; great quests; great graphics; wonderful atmosphere; imaginative enemies and monsters; great story and writing . . . . Buy it . . . you will not be disappointed. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I love this game. The customization is amazing, the world is huge and expansive and there isn't anywhere you can go without finding somethingI love this game. The customization is amazing, the world is huge and expansive and there isn't anywhere you can go without finding something interesting. Expand
  3. LoganS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far beyond simple lines of dialog, and many different paths for the player to choose. There is in fact far more content than any single playthrough needs to experience, promising greater replayability. Expand
  4. HeinN.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Personal preference
  5. VidM.
    Nov 12, 2008
    8
    Great game! Exceeded my expectations, which were damned high considering the countless times I played through the original games, loving Great game! Exceeded my expectations, which were damned high considering the countless times I played through the original games, loving every minute of it. Bethesda did a good job of mixing Fallout with what they do best in Elder Scrolls. Nice attention to detail and making good on the little things. Some broken quests and quirky graphical flaws keep an otherwise great game from being a perfect masterpiece. Another gripe is the needless watering down of the Fallout character building system. Tagging skills no longer spurs growth in those skills (no more two-for-one point-buy while under 100). Also, skills can no longer exceed 100, even though 100 does not guarantee success for any skill. However, the game is more accessible now that it stands up as a full-blown FPS, as well as an RPG with flavorings of survival horror at lower levels (no follower, no ammo, braving the ghoul-infested metro tunnels with a flashlight). Expand
  6. AndrewC
    Apr 14, 2009
    7
    I give it 7 as Oblivion with guns. If I were to score this as a game as a Fallout game the score would be 4. This game sufferes from all the I give it 7 as Oblivion with guns. If I were to score this as a game as a Fallout game the score would be 4. This game sufferes from all the problems of Oblivion.These being 1) A really stupid plot, with too short and linear a main quest. 2) Incredibly annoying unskippable mini-games. 3) Weak NPC scripting and poor voice acting. 4) An interface designed for consoles that doesn't take advantage of the PC's strengths. All that said, It also has Oblivions strengths, which are a beautifullly designed world to explore to your hearts content, as long as you ignore the main quest, and an eminently moddable game engine. Expand
  7. BethesdaSUX
    Oct 26, 2008
    0
    Take 1 good dead franchise, exhume it. Strap on some new grey graphics, leave all the flesh behind in the grave, add micronukes, and what do Take 1 good dead franchise, exhume it. Strap on some new grey graphics, leave all the flesh behind in the grave, add micronukes, and what do you get? FAILOUT 3. Bethesda -ruining your favorite franchise 1 micronuke at a time. Ignore all the reviewers comments, they have all been bribed. Just remember how bad the scaling in oblivion was? You build you character, and instead of geting better your enemies get so good that you might as well not have leveld up at all. This is the worst game ever made, it is grey, and by that i mean you will likely not even get to see another colour the entire game. Dogmeat? Yup, he only died in a forcefield 75 years ago, but WAIT! he's BACK! Mutants have become orcs, ghouls are now zombies. Yes, zombies. Not ghouls. Same thing if you are accustomed to making games like oblivion. When harold decides to eat my brain then i will tell these retards that they did not ruin fallout. Bethe$da are destroying fallout. Buy this game and kill a franchise. Oh, and there are mudcrabs too. and DRAGONS! YAY! I put on my daedric plate and my uber imba nuke launcher to fight a dragon with my 20 fire damage enchanted ammo. I think i will make a potion out of jet (only available in new reno, and only for 4 years or so) that i bought a few thousand kilometers from new reno. I will mix in some NOT heroin due to australian censorship, to get a restore fatigue potion and then repair my armour with a grandmaster armourers hammer. Dont waste your money. Expand

See all 656 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.