Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Really, though, it's the characters, not to mention their well done dialog, and story resolution that make the DLC something any fan of the main game should experience.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Chris Avellone and his team at Obsidian are great storytellers. They managed to create a thrilling and captivating experience that will make you remember why you once loved Planescape: Torment. [Apr 2011, p.95]
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    Falls just short of the oppressive tone it's aiming for but makes up for it with a satisfying and well-written narrative.
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Obsidian delivers a first DLC that matches their Fallout: New Vegas : tense, captivating, despite its linearity. With a tiny bit more difficulty! Once more, we'd almost forget about the aging 3D engine of Bethesda and the poor AI. I experienced it like a little pen & paper RPG scenario of a single night. My thanks to the Obisidian Game Master.
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    70
    For ten dollars, I had enough content to enjoy myself and certainly liked it more than some of the other Fallout related DLC I have completed in the past.
  6. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    The content of Dead Money can get frustrating quickly. Still, for the patient souls out there, this fresh spin on Fallout is a decent buy.
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    So ultimately I think I was happier with the idea of what the designers of Dead Money were trying to accomplish than what they actually created. They put a far above average plot and built a framework of gameplay that somehow managed to break away from the Fallout formula. In the end, however, it's just too much. Too much sneaking around, too many traps, too many reloads. And there are seven more of these things yet to come? God help us all.
  8. Mar 14, 2011
    68
    The adventures in the lifeless town are long and at times boring, but you will get your $10 worth of entertainment.
  9. Mar 20, 2011
    65
    A fantastic story and great characters, but hours of tedious traps and mazes shows why Fallout is best without walls. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    Trial-and-error frustrations diminish the impact of this add-on's great characters and dialogue.
  11. Feb 23, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 11 out of 38
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for other games, but is more like a really long additional quest thrown in the middle of the game your already playing. The game recommends you not playing until level 20, but I started at 19 and I really don't see a problem besides having lower overall health starting anywhere in the late teens. Okay to make this short, the problem with this is yes there is a bit of trail and error and saving will be at all time high for this overall experience. You have to make your way through the trap infested villa area which is outside of the casino the Sierra Madre to assemble your group of 3 shady partners to get inside the likewise unsafe casino. There is really only two types of bad guys, the Ghost People and the Holograms (there are radroaches but they are just normal). You could suggest that the 3rd bad guy is the Sierra Madre itself much like Rapture was in Bioshock. This DLC will start you out with almost nothing but a holorifle (an energy weapon that starts out pretty weak but after much improvement becomes a decently strong weapon) makes you take a fresh approach to the game. I've beat the regular Fallout New Vegas prior to this DLC and never once felt unprepared and vulnerable. This DLC will give you that feeling, a bit of fear of dying. A lot of creepy moments and new and interesting weapons, new weapon/food recipes and lot of loosely connected substories to the main game make this worth the 10 bucks. There are some similarities to this DLC and bioshock. Vending machines, the story of the creator Sinclair (i.e. Ryan) and the ghost people are vaguely similar to Big Daddys. Even if you don't like the DLC it is worth it if this is your first play through the regular game just for the weapon you get at the end of the game and the possibility of treasure making you rich. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    I was a huge fan of the Fallout New Vegas game but this DLC pack is truly a work or garbage. The constant trial and error of trying to perform the same task over and over again until you get it done in the specific order the game wants is extremely frustrating. I am not sure that this DLC pack is worth the money as there is about 5 hours of content here at best. This DLC pack is a definite thumbs down. Full Review »
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    10. For one reason. It is very, very, highly, highly unique. The story is very unique, the take on the story, the game play. All of it. But just because it's very unique doesn't necessarily mean it's "that" fun. On the fun scale out of ten, I give it more of a 6. But I give this game a 10 simply because it had many unique aspects. The radios linked to your collar that can blow you up. The hologram people. The interesting cool weapons. The environment. The poisonous gas in the air. The story. Etc. I played this mostly to explore, and even more than that for the story. The story is interesting and draws one in, but the game play to go through the story is semi painful at times. Ex. The collar on your neck (The entire DLC) is linked to radios that if you get near them cause your collar to beep, you have to back away or "blow the radio up" (if you can) before you do. It makes it hard to go anywhere, so it was annoying, but at the same time it was very unique. All the weapons were amazing, and they were fun to use, especially to bring back to the Mojave, but the people in the DLC were about 1 people, Ghost People, and that was all, boring right? The reason this gets a 10 is for its interesting well designed take on this story, and it's perks and weapons, rather, not game play. Full Review »