Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    70
    For ten dollars, I had enough content to enjoy myself and certainly liked it more than some of the other Fallout related DLC I have completed in the past.
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    The content of Dead Money can get frustrating quickly. Still, for the patient souls out there, this fresh spin on Fallout is a decent buy.
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    So ultimately I think I was happier with the idea of what the designers of Dead Money were trying to accomplish than what they actually created. They put a far above average plot and built a framework of gameplay that somehow managed to break away from the Fallout formula. In the end, however, it's just too much. Too much sneaking around, too many traps, too many reloads. And there are seven more of these things yet to come? God help us all.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    68
    The adventures in the lifeless town are long and at times boring, but you will get your $10 worth of entertainment.
  5. PC Gamer UK
    Mar 20, 2011
    65
    A fantastic story and great characters, but hours of tedious traps and mazes shows why Fallout is best without walls. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    65
    Trial-and-error frustrations diminish the impact of this add-on's great characters and dialogue.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 49
  2. Negative: 17 out of 49
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for otherI thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for other games, but is more like a really long additional quest thrown in the middle of the game your already playing. The game recommends you not playing until level 20, but I started at 19 and I really don't see a problem besides having lower overall health starting anywhere in the late teens. Okay to make this short, the problem with this is yes there is a bit of trail and error and saving will be at all time high for this overall experience. You have to make your way through the trap infested villa area which is outside of the casino the Sierra Madre to assemble your group of 3 shady partners to get inside the likewise unsafe casino. There is really only two types of bad guys, the Ghost People and the Holograms (there are radroaches but they are just normal). You could suggest that the 3rd bad guy is the Sierra Madre itself much like Rapture was in Bioshock. This DLC will start you out with almost nothing but a holorifle (an energy weapon that starts out pretty weak but after much improvement becomes a decently strong weapon) makes you take a fresh approach to the game. I've beat the regular Fallout New Vegas prior to this DLC and never once felt unprepared and vulnerable. This DLC will give you that feeling, a bit of fear of dying. A lot of creepy moments and new and interesting weapons, new weapon/food recipes and lot of loosely connected substories to the main game make this worth the 10 bucks. There are some similarities to this DLC and bioshock. Vending machines, the story of the creator Sinclair (i.e. Ryan) and the ghost people are vaguely similar to Big Daddys. Even if you don't like the DLC it is worth it if this is your first play through the regular game just for the weapon you get at the end of the game and the possibility of treasure making you rich. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    I was a huge fan of the Fallout New Vegas game but this DLC pack is truly a work or garbage. The constant trial and error of trying to performI was a huge fan of the Fallout New Vegas game but this DLC pack is truly a work or garbage. The constant trial and error of trying to perform the same task over and over again until you get it done in the specific order the game wants is extremely frustrating. I am not sure that this DLC pack is worth the money as there is about 5 hours of content here at best. This DLC pack is a definite thumbs down. Full Review »
  3. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    For this DLC 0/10 is even too much. My rate for this game is somewhere below 0.
    I feel to have wasted my time on this, and seriously.
    For this DLC 0/10 is even too much. My rate for this game is somewhere below 0.
    I feel to have wasted my time on this, and seriously.

    Let's begin saying, the whole DLC is based on the idea die-reload-retry.
    Untill you don't understand the right combination of action, you'll be stuck in that loop.
    And that is not only the WORSE way of making progress, but is also the most frustrating one.

    At the base level you have an explosive collar that will explode you head if you take the wrong path.
    Added to that, there are the enemies, that deal serious amount of damage, but even worse they can't die.
    Yes, because if you don't destroy, at least one, of their limb, they'll just go knok-out for a while.
    Even further there are the holographic enemies, that are unbelievably overpowered and can't be killed.
    Added with the chronic lack of ammo, all this stuff make the most powerful concentrated of frustratingness.

    Even if at the end you find 300'000k of caps, all the pain in it make them worthless.
    Full Review »