Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Really, though, it's the characters, not to mention their well done dialog, and story resolution that make the DLC something any fan of the main game should experience.
  2. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Chris Avellone and his team at Obsidian are great storytellers. They managed to create a thrilling and captivating experience that will make you remember why you once loved Planescape: Torment. [Apr 2011, p.95]
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    Falls just short of the oppressive tone it's aiming for but makes up for it with a satisfying and well-written narrative.
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Obsidian delivers a first DLC that matches their Fallout: New Vegas : tense, captivating, despite its linearity. With a tiny bit more difficulty! Once more, we'd almost forget about the aging 3D engine of Bethesda and the poor AI. I experienced it like a little pen & paper RPG scenario of a single night. My thanks to the Obisidian Game Master.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 46
  2. Negative: 15 out of 46
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for otherI thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for other games, but is more like a really long additional quest thrown in the middle of the game your already playing. The game recommends you not playing until level 20, but I started at 19 and I really don't see a problem besides having lower overall health starting anywhere in the late teens. Okay to make this short, the problem with this is yes there is a bit of trail and error and saving will be at all time high for this overall experience. You have to make your way through the trap infested villa area which is outside of the casino the Sierra Madre to assemble your group of 3 shady partners to get inside the likewise unsafe casino. There is really only two types of bad guys, the Ghost People and the Holograms (there are radroaches but they are just normal). You could suggest that the 3rd bad guy is the Sierra Madre itself much like Rapture was in Bioshock. This DLC will start you out with almost nothing but a holorifle (an energy weapon that starts out pretty weak but after much improvement becomes a decently strong weapon) makes you take a fresh approach to the game. I've beat the regular Fallout New Vegas prior to this DLC and never once felt unprepared and vulnerable. This DLC will give you that feeling, a bit of fear of dying. A lot of creepy moments and new and interesting weapons, new weapon/food recipes and lot of loosely connected substories to the main game make this worth the 10 bucks. There are some similarities to this DLC and bioshock. Vending machines, the story of the creator Sinclair (i.e. Ryan) and the ghost people are vaguely similar to Big Daddys. Even if you don't like the DLC it is worth it if this is your first play through the regular game just for the weapon you get at the end of the game and the possibility of treasure making you rich. Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    I was a huge fan of the Fallout New Vegas game but this DLC pack is truly a work or garbage. The constant trial and error of trying to performI was a huge fan of the Fallout New Vegas game but this DLC pack is truly a work or garbage. The constant trial and error of trying to perform the same task over and over again until you get it done in the specific order the game wants is extremely frustrating. I am not sure that this DLC pack is worth the money as there is about 5 hours of content here at best. This DLC pack is a definite thumbs down. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2012
    4
    Good Plot and such really means little when you have terrible gameplay.

    This whole DLC was centered around dying and reloading to learn where
    Good Plot and such really means little when you have terrible gameplay.

    This whole DLC was centered around dying and reloading to learn where things are. The DLC was glitched and I ended up being unable to complete the whole thing because of a single glitch in the middle that didn't allow me to see the ending. I decided this DLC wasn't good enough to play again for the ending and was glad that I saved before playing through this.
    Full Review »