User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 126
  2. Negative: 28 out of 126

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed Dead Money. The unique thing about Dead Money is that it isn't a endgame bonus like other DLC content is for other games, but is more like a really long additional quest thrown in the middle of the game your already playing. The game recommends you not playing until level 20, but I started at 19 and I really don't see a problem besides having lower overall health starting anywhere in the late teens. Okay to make this short, the problem with this is yes there is a bit of trail and error and saving will be at all time high for this overall experience. You have to make your way through the trap infested villa area which is outside of the casino the Sierra Madre to assemble your group of 3 shady partners to get inside the likewise unsafe casino. There is really only two types of bad guys, the Ghost People and the Holograms (there are radroaches but they are just normal). You could suggest that the 3rd bad guy is the Sierra Madre itself much like Rapture was in Bioshock. This DLC will start you out with almost nothing but a holorifle (an energy weapon that starts out pretty weak but after much improvement becomes a decently strong weapon) makes you take a fresh approach to the game. I've beat the regular Fallout New Vegas prior to this DLC and never once felt unprepared and vulnerable. This DLC will give you that feeling, a bit of fear of dying. A lot of creepy moments and new and interesting weapons, new weapon/food recipes and lot of loosely connected substories to the main game make this worth the 10 bucks. There are some similarities to this DLC and bioshock. Vending machines, the story of the creator Sinclair (i.e. Ryan) and the ghost people are vaguely similar to Big Daddys. Even if you don't like the DLC it is worth it if this is your first play through the regular game just for the weapon you get at the end of the game and the possibility of treasure making you rich. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    10. For one reason. It is very, very, highly, highly unique. The story is very unique, the take on the story, the game play. All of it. But just because it's very unique doesn't necessarily mean it's "that" fun. On the fun scale out of ten, I give it more of a 6. But I give this game a 10 simply because it had many unique aspects. The radios linked to your collar that can blow you up. The hologram people. The interesting cool weapons. The environment. The poisonous gas in the air. The story. Etc. I played this mostly to explore, and even more than that for the story. The story is interesting and draws one in, but the game play to go through the story is semi painful at times. Ex. The collar on your neck (The entire DLC) is linked to radios that if you get near them cause your collar to beep, you have to back away or "blow the radio up" (if you can) before you do. It makes it hard to go anywhere, so it was annoying, but at the same time it was very unique. All the weapons were amazing, and they were fun to use, especially to bring back to the Mojave, but the people in the DLC were about 1 people, Ghost People, and that was all, boring right? The reason this gets a 10 is for its interesting well designed take on this story, and it's perks and weapons, rather, not game play. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    Great DLC. I had no issues with the difficulty curve, played it through the first time on hardcore, no problems. If you're used to storming around without any caution I imagine you'd die a lot. I'm more of a stealth player and explorer. I doubt I'm that extraordinary a player (!) so to those complaining about difficulty I'd have to say, L2P. I'm not a huge fan of puzzles and am impatient that way, but had no issues with them in Dead Money. It's challenging, tense, atmospheric, with a great story and the most interesting NPC's I've met in Bethesda's Fallout so far. Definite thumbs up. Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    I heard a lot of comments on this DLC which made me skeptical. When I played I felt like I was in a world like BioShock. You are dumped on the steps of the Sierra Modre which is a Casino hotel and I guess a residential community? Didn't make a whole lot of sense to me nether. Any how there is a great amount of loot as well as a new casino to gamble (which pays out in Pre-War Money) to break the bank. If you are looking for more Fallout look no further. Expand
  5. May 18, 2011
    9
    Dead Money is different from the general open-ended style of New Vegas. It's more linear and cramped (understandable considering the setting), and there isn't much exploration. It also encourages much more cautious play - there are traps and toxic clouds everywhere - meaning you can't just run around and one-shot everything like you do in the original game. Most of the enemies in this DLC only die from dismemberment, obviously making them much more difficult to kill. I found myself often needing to shoot off their heads as they lie on the floor from 'dying' the first time. There are also holographic enemies that cannot be killed and must be avoided by sneaking by their narrow field of vision (think Metal Gear Solid). It feels very much like a zombie survival-horror type game, and is a nice change of pace from New Vegas. The characters and very interesting - more so than most of the ones in New Vegas. Voice acting is of very high quality. The story is also captivating (and depressing), and alone is worth the $10 to experience. Dead Money's gameplay is a good change of pace, though it may get tedious for some players. It is definitely worth a purchase if you're a Fallout fan and want more story. Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What shocked me about Dead Money was how thoroughly Buddhist it was. The theme throughout is how stupid and self-destructive it is to become obsessed -- with gold, or revenge, or control, or anything. Every one of the characters suffers from a crippling obsession, and you can liberate all but one of them.

    The nightkin God is suffering from a split personality and an obsession with controlling his carnal self, Dog (making Dog a cutter was a stroke of genius -- psychologically perfect). Christine is obsessed with revenge for a long-ago broken heart, an obsession that leads her into traps again and again. Dean Domino is obsessed with humiliating some one two hundred years dead for reasons that were petty then and are utterly meaningless now. And Father Elijah, of course, is obsessed with the power that control of the Sierra Madre will give him to "wipe the slate clean," kill everyone else and rule over an empty world. I didn't mind the map design. This is the world of Desire, after all, and the ruin, the traps, and the poison red mist all seem appropriate. And I'm a bit puzzled by the remarks that everything looked alike -- the whole area was thematically similar, as should have been no surprise, but never absolutely identical. It was unpleasant and claustrophobic because it had to be.

    The speakers might have been placed better. There are a few points where the easiest way to get essential information is to engage in a series of "exploratory deaths," and that's always a bad thing in a video game. However, some of the most infernally frustrating parts are the result of not noticing some detail; you have to be very observant. If you keep your eyes peeled, you'll even be able to find the emitters for many of the holograms, and when they are destroyed the hologram disappears.

    And at the very end, you come to the vault and its golden stash -- packed in 35 lb. ingots. Without exploiting glitches, you are going to get away with at most three or four of these, since if you're overloaded you won't make it out. One humorous and ironic sidelight is the obsession many players have show for trying to take every bar of gold, no matter how they have to bend the rules to do it. In a game centered on obsession, at the end there's that proof that the player him/herself is obsessed as well.

    The endings vary, of course, but the only philosophically satisfying one is that in which all three of your companions reach at least a temporary peace with their own demons. Dog/God is the only one who attains something close to enlightenment, in which the two halves of his personality realize that they are the same after all and the wall between them, the struggle, is nothing but an illusion. That's one of the more moving passages I've seen in a video game. Christine doesn't quite get that far, but she stays in the Sierra Madre as its caretaker, free of her obsession if not entirely understanding it. Dean Domino remains the same thief and cheat that he always was, but even he "felt sad for a moment, and had no idea why." And Father Elijah gets his gold -- locked inside the vault to die slowly in the company of that which he thought was most necessary to him. Some will always refuse to be saved.

    The ending slideshow is very moving, with all the characters joining in the message, "It's not getting there that's the problem. It's letting go." But that isn't quite the last word Dead Money has for the player. There is one last sad farewell from the recorded voice of Vera Keyes, the woman for whom the Sierra Madre was built, putting into words what the player undoubtedly suspects, that the journey was his/her own obsession and it was taken in pursuit of goals that were already within the player's reach before he or she set off for the Sierra Madre. It's not a pleasant DLC to play (thank goodness you get back into the open air with Honest Hearts, and receive a massive dose of groaner humor with Old World Blues), but it's a very good one
    Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Dark, depressing, challenging and rewarding. This DLC really stands for what RPG is for. Building a great atmosphere through thrilling environment, mind boggling characters and a motivated villain. This is not your easy casualized fun you've grown used to in today's games. This is a thrill ride through the creative minds of Obsidian Entertainment that somehow managed to deliver a whole RPG gaming experience in a single DLC. Dead Money will have your heart beating faster, will turn you into a careful master of micro managing and above all, will teach you when's the time to just let go. Expand
  8. May 22, 2011
    9
    Survival horror meets Fallout. A fantastic ensemble cast, a perfect film-noir heist setup and a myriad tiny goodies make this one of the best pieces of Fallout DLC ever made. Don't be put off by "professional reviews" or idiotic comments about "The collar being annoying". Dead Money had me scampering for junk food, looking constantly over my shoulder for Ghosts and triumphing at every hidden stash I found. A whole-hearted 9. Expand
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    9
    In my opinion, it was the best DLC. Fresh environment, very exciting, and you weren't on a wild goose chase for fancy gear the whole time. It kept me on my toes for its duration. On top of the quality of the expansion, it's possible to become rich upon completion if you have the correct perks or are very patient. The downside is not being able to return to the location.
  10. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    First of all, this is one of the best DLCS that I ever played, there is something BIOSHOCK STYLE on this particular one. NOW, To all that are and ranting about this DLC being too hard and being too difficult, the only thing I know is that YOUR FAULT that we're getting games dumber easier nowadays.

    You guys should go back to your ANIMES where everything is colorful and pervert. I think
    the atmosphere and sense of danger and expectation we can find on DEAD MONEY IS something that I've just found on BIOSHOCK 1. This DLC is really something. Despite of being a little bit LINEAR is very dark and immersive. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    70
    For ten dollars, I had enough content to enjoy myself and certainly liked it more than some of the other Fallout related DLC I have completed in the past.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Really, though, it's the characters, not to mention their well done dialog, and story resolution that make the DLC something any fan of the main game should experience.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Chris Avellone and his team at Obsidian are great storytellers. They managed to create a thrilling and captivating experience that will make you remember why you once loved Planescape: Torment. [Apr 2011, p.95]