Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the victim of a raw deal you must work alongside three other captured wastelanders to recover the legendary treasure of the Sierra Madre Casino. In Dead Money, your life hangs in the balance as you face new terrain, foes, and choices. It is up to you how you play your cards in the quest to survive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Really, though, it's the characters, not to mention their well done dialog, and story resolution that make the DLC something any fan of the main game should experience.
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    Falls just short of the oppressive tone it's aiming for but makes up for it with a satisfying and well-written narrative.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Chris Avellone and his team at Obsidian are great storytellers. They managed to create a thrilling and captivating experience that will make you remember why you once loved Planescape: Torment. [Apr 2011, p.95]
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    So ultimately I think I was happier with the idea of what the designers of Dead Money were trying to accomplish than what they actually created. They put a far above average plot and built a framework of gameplay that somehow managed to break away from the Fallout formula. In the end, however, it's just too much. Too much sneaking around, too many traps, too many reloads. And there are seven more of these things yet to come? God help us all.
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    The content of Dead Money can get frustrating quickly. Still, for the patient souls out there, this fresh spin on Fallout is a decent buy.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    68
    The adventures in the lifeless town are long and at times boring, but you will get your $10 worth of entertainment.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    10. For one reason. It is very, very, highly, highly unique. The story is very unique, the take on the story, the game play. All of it. But just because it's very unique doesn't necessarily mean it's "that" fun. On the fun scale out of ten, I give it more of a 6. But I give this game a 10 simply because it had many unique aspects. The radios linked to your collar that can blow you up. The hologram people. The interesting cool weapons. The environment. The poisonous gas in the air. The story. Etc. I played this mostly to explore, and even more than that for the story. The story is interesting and draws one in, but the game play to go through the story is semi painful at times. Ex. The collar on your neck (The entire DLC) is linked to radios that if you get near them cause your collar to beep, you have to back away or "blow the radio up" (if you can) before you do. It makes it hard to go anywhere, so it was annoying, but at the same time it was very unique. All the weapons were amazing, and they were fun to use, especially to bring back to the Mojave, but the people in the DLC were about 1 people, Ghost People, and that was all, boring right? The reason this gets a 10 is for its interesting well designed take on this story, and it's perks and weapons, rather, not game play. Expand
  2. May 18, 2011
    9
    Dead Money is different from the general open-ended style of New Vegas. It's more linear and cramped (understandable considering the setting), and there isn't much exploration. It also encourages much more cautious play - there are traps and toxic clouds everywhere - meaning you can't just run around and one-shot everything like you do in the original game. Most of the enemies in this DLC only die from dismemberment, obviously making them much more difficult to kill. I found myself often needing to shoot off their heads as they lie on the floor from 'dying' the first time. There are also holographic enemies that cannot be killed and must be avoided by sneaking by their narrow field of vision (think Metal Gear Solid). It feels very much like a zombie survival-horror type game, and is a nice change of pace from New Vegas. The characters and very interesting - more so than most of the ones in New Vegas. Voice acting is of very high quality. The story is also captivating (and depressing), and alone is worth the $10 to experience. Dead Money's gameplay is a good change of pace, though it may get tedious for some players. It is definitely worth a purchase if you're a Fallout fan and want more story. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    8
    I really liked it, great involving story and characters. It's true navigating the first half is very difficult though due to a rather rubbish map and houses all looking the same. But the other features easily outweigh this. You get some great gear to leave with, and bizarrely it's own currency you can continue to use in Fallout New Vegas in the entrance to the DLC (You can't go back to the Sierra Madre though which I think is a bit silly). Overall it was great roll on the next three! Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2012
    7
    I played it on hardcore, on hard and, at least at the beginning, it was not a cake walk by any means. You're naked bar some grease monkey suit and a collar and you just have to compulsively scavenge fountains for some casino tokens to buy food and whatnot. Granted later on that feeling of having to be on your toes and go against "ghosts" and hostile environment that literally eats you alive with next to bare hands, wanes quite dramatically, mainly because of the too much med packs and stuff you pick up along the way. But still it can be quite challenging. Also some unique features compared to vanilla and other dlcs make things more interesting: find holotransmitter to kill immortal holograms, dissmember ghosts or they rise again, find and destroy speakers before your head pops off and the like. Npcs are also miles more memorable then, say "honest hearts" had and couple of them are old acquaitances from "old world blues" and BoS questline and have some interesting revelations about them. Overall: Good: Interesting mechanics, npcs and gear, difficulty (at first), decent story and lore about your companions. Bad: Difficulty (halfway through it just turns from hard to easy), lack of enemies (you got ghosts, holos and that's it), dissapointing main baddie (he threatens you, then he's almost apologizing, then he's explaining everything like a teacher, then he threatens again, makes no sense), lame last fight (psst... Bethesda... gre-nades. Ok? Sitting behind the boxes and finishing fight in full health, when he has turrets on his side is not my idea of "great" fight. It's lame is what that was.) Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    A disappointing DLC, to say the least. I fear that the long and, dare I say it, boring storyline is repetitive and exceedingly tedious. The tense gameplay and constant sense of anticipation makes for good thrills early on, but the incessant state is definitely annoying as it continues. However, the addon was really well made with a storyline that was gripping and intriguing but, the gameplay was terrible to say the least. I think 5 is far too much based upon the gameplay but the storyline brings the average suitably close. I would not recommend this addon to anyone excluding speed-runners. Expand
  6. May 21, 2012
    4
    Good Plot and such really means little when you have terrible gameplay.

    This whole DLC was centered around dying and reloading to learn where
    things are. The DLC was glitched and I ended up being unable to complete the whole thing because of a single glitch in the middle that didn't allow me to see the ending. I decided this DLC wasn't good enough to play again for the ending and was glad that I saved before playing through this. Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    For this DLC 0/10 is even too much. My rate for this game is somewhere below 0.
    I feel to have wasted my time on this, and seriously.


    Let's begin saying, the whole DLC is based on the idea die-reload-retry.
    Untill you don't understand the right combination of action, you'll be stuck in that loop.
    And that is not only the WORSE way of making progress, but is also the most frustrating one.

    At the base level you have an explosive collar that will explode you head if you take the wrong path.
    Added to that, there are the enemies, that deal serious amount of damage, but even worse they can't die.
    Yes, because if you don't destroy, at least one, of their limb, they'll just go knok-out for a while.
    Even further there are the holographic enemies, that are unbelievably overpowered and can't be killed.
    Added with the chronic lack of ammo, all this stuff make the most powerful concentrated of frustratingness.

    Even if at the end you find 300'000k of caps, all the pain in it make them worthless.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews