Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the victim of a raw deal you must work alongside three other captured wastelanders to recover the legendary treasure of the Sierra Madre Casino. In Dead Money, your life hangs in the balance as you face new terrain, foes, and choices. It is up to you how you play your cards in the questAs the victim of a raw deal you must work alongside three other captured wastelanders to recover the legendary treasure of the Sierra Madre Casino. In Dead Money, your life hangs in the balance as you face new terrain, foes, and choices. It is up to you how you play your cards in the quest to survive. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    83
    Really, though, it's the characters, not to mention their well done dialog, and story resolution that make the DLC something any fan of the main game should experience.
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    Falls just short of the oppressive tone it's aiming for but makes up for it with a satisfying and well-written narrative.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    80
    Chris Avellone and his team at Obsidian are great storytellers. They managed to create a thrilling and captivating experience that will make you remember why you once loved Planescape: Torment. [Apr 2011, p.95]
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    70
    So ultimately I think I was happier with the idea of what the designers of Dead Money were trying to accomplish than what they actually created. They put a far above average plot and built a framework of gameplay that somehow managed to break away from the Fallout formula. In the end, however, it's just too much. Too much sneaking around, too many traps, too many reloads. And there are seven more of these things yet to come? God help us all.
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    The content of Dead Money can get frustrating quickly. Still, for the patient souls out there, this fresh spin on Fallout is a decent buy.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    68
    The adventures in the lifeless town are long and at times boring, but you will get your $10 worth of entertainment.
  7. Feb 23, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 12 out of 42
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    10. For one reason. It is very, very, highly, highly unique. The story is very unique, the take on the story, the game play. All of it. But10. For one reason. It is very, very, highly, highly unique. The story is very unique, the take on the story, the game play. All of it. But just because it's very unique doesn't necessarily mean it's "that" fun. On the fun scale out of ten, I give it more of a 6. But I give this game a 10 simply because it had many unique aspects. The radios linked to your collar that can blow you up. The hologram people. The interesting cool weapons. The environment. The poisonous gas in the air. The story. Etc. I played this mostly to explore, and even more than that for the story. The story is interesting and draws one in, but the game play to go through the story is semi painful at times. Ex. The collar on your neck (The entire DLC) is linked to radios that if you get near them cause your collar to beep, you have to back away or "blow the radio up" (if you can) before you do. It makes it hard to go anywhere, so it was annoying, but at the same time it was very unique. All the weapons were amazing, and they were fun to use, especially to bring back to the Mojave, but the people in the DLC were about 1 people, Ghost People, and that was all, boring right? The reason this gets a 10 is for its interesting well designed take on this story, and it's perks and weapons, rather, not game play. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What shocked me about Dead Money was how thoroughly Buddhist it was. The theme throughout is how stupid and self-destructive it is to become obsessed -- with gold, or revenge, or control, or anything. Every one of the characters suffers from a crippling obsession, and you can liberate all but one of them.

    The nightkin God is suffering from a split personality and an obsession with controlling his carnal self, Dog (making Dog a cutter was a stroke of genius -- psychologically perfect). Christine is obsessed with revenge for a long-ago broken heart, an obsession that leads her into traps again and again. Dean Domino is obsessed with humiliating some one two hundred years dead for reasons that were petty then and are utterly meaningless now. And Father Elijah, of course, is obsessed with the power that control of the Sierra Madre will give him to "wipe the slate clean," kill everyone else and rule over an empty world. I didn't mind the map design. This is the world of Desire, after all, and the ruin, the traps, and the poison red mist all seem appropriate. And I'm a bit puzzled by the remarks that everything looked alike -- the whole area was thematically similar, as should have been no surprise, but never absolutely identical. It was unpleasant and claustrophobic because it had to be.

    The speakers might have been placed better. There are a few points where the easiest way to get essential information is to engage in a series of "exploratory deaths," and that's always a bad thing in a video game. However, some of the most infernally frustrating parts are the result of not noticing some detail; you have to be very observant. If you keep your eyes peeled, you'll even be able to find the emitters for many of the holograms, and when they are destroyed the hologram disappears.

    And at the very end, you come to the vault and its golden stash -- packed in 35 lb. ingots. Without exploiting glitches, you are going to get away with at most three or four of these, since if you're overloaded you won't make it out. One humorous and ironic sidelight is the obsession many players have show for trying to take every bar of gold, no matter how they have to bend the rules to do it. In a game centered on obsession, at the end there's that proof that the player him/herself is obsessed as well.

    The endings vary, of course, but the only philosophically satisfying one is that in which all three of your companions reach at least a temporary peace with their own demons. Dog/God is the only one who attains something close to enlightenment, in which the two halves of his personality realize that they are the same after all and the wall between them, the struggle, is nothing but an illusion. That's one of the more moving passages I've seen in a video game. Christine doesn't quite get that far, but she stays in the Sierra Madre as its caretaker, free of her obsession if not entirely understanding it. Dean Domino remains the same thief and cheat that he always was, but even he "felt sad for a moment, and had no idea why." And Father Elijah gets his gold -- locked inside the vault to die slowly in the company of that which he thought was most necessary to him. Some will always refuse to be saved.

    The ending slideshow is very moving, with all the characters joining in the message, "It's not getting there that's the problem. It's letting go." But that isn't quite the last word Dead Money has for the player. There is one last sad farewell from the recorded voice of Vera Keyes, the woman for whom the Sierra Madre was built, putting into words what the player undoubtedly suspects, that the journey was his/her own obsession and it was taken in pursuit of goals that were already within the player's reach before he or she set off for the Sierra Madre. It's not a pleasant DLC to play (thank goodness you get back into the open air with Honest Hearts, and receive a massive dose of groaner humor with Old World Blues), but it's a very good one
    Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    8
    I really liked it, great involving story and characters. It's true navigating the first half is very difficult though due to a rather rubbishI really liked it, great involving story and characters. It's true navigating the first half is very difficult though due to a rather rubbish map and houses all looking the same. But the other features easily outweigh this. You get some great gear to leave with, and bizarrely it's own currency you can continue to use in Fallout New Vegas in the entrance to the DLC (You can't go back to the Sierra Madre though which I think is a bit silly). Overall it was great roll on the next three! Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While Dead Money features both a well written storyline and interesting set of characters, it is dragged down by a few serious design flaws. The problem isn't that the gameplay is slower paced, it's that the means of making it so end up being extremely tedious as the game goes on. The first problem is in the design of the Villa, which has almost no variance in architecture and makes up over half of the DLC. Areas look so similar that it doesn't even feel like you're exploring, instead it's like running around a hedge maze. The second problem is with the speakers mechanic, where you have to either run past the speakers or destroy them to avoid death. The problem with this is that you have no idea whether or not the speakers in a particular section are meant to be destroyed or ran past. This inevitably means that in most speaker sections, you have to run around looking for the speaker to see whether or not it is destroyable. But because the time you have before death is very short, it's almost guaranteed that you will die by that time if you don't know exactly where the speaker is, resulting in an endless string of quicksave-quickloads for all the speaker sections, which are present throughout the entire DLC.

    Overall it's a shame that these problems exist because as mentioned, the storyline is actually pretty good. But the gameplay leading up to those parts just feels like a chore.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2011
    5
    A disappointing DLC, to say the least. I fear that the long and, dare I say it, boring storyline is repetitive and exceedingly tedious. TheA disappointing DLC, to say the least. I fear that the long and, dare I say it, boring storyline is repetitive and exceedingly tedious. The tense gameplay and constant sense of anticipation makes for good thrills early on, but the incessant state is definitely annoying as it continues. However, the addon was really well made with a storyline that was gripping and intriguing but, the gameplay was terrible to say the least. I think 5 is far too much based upon the gameplay but the storyline brings the average suitably close. I would not recommend this addon to anyone excluding speed-runners. Expand
  6. May 21, 2012
    4
    Good Plot and such really means little when you have terrible gameplay.

    This whole DLC was centered around dying and reloading to learn where
    Good Plot and such really means little when you have terrible gameplay.

    This whole DLC was centered around dying and reloading to learn where things are. The DLC was glitched and I ended up being unable to complete the whole thing because of a single glitch in the middle that didn't allow me to see the ending. I decided this DLC wasn't good enough to play again for the ending and was glad that I saved before playing through this.
    Expand
  7. Jul 19, 2014
    0
    For this DLC 0/10 is even too much. My rate for this game is somewhere below 0.
    I feel to have wasted my time on this, and seriously.
    For this DLC 0/10 is even too much. My rate for this game is somewhere below 0.
    I feel to have wasted my time on this, and seriously.

    Let's begin saying, the whole DLC is based on the idea die-reload-retry.
    Untill you don't understand the right combination of action, you'll be stuck in that loop.
    And that is not only the WORSE way of making progress, but is also the most frustrating one.

    At the base level you have an explosive collar that will explode you head if you take the wrong path.
    Added to that, there are the enemies, that deal serious amount of damage, but even worse they can't die.
    Yes, because if you don't destroy, at least one, of their limb, they'll just go knok-out for a while.
    Even further there are the holographic enemies, that are unbelievably overpowered and can't be killed.
    Added with the chronic lack of ammo, all this stuff make the most powerful concentrated of frustratingness.

    Even if at the end you find 300'000k of caps, all the pain in it make them worthless.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews