Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. May 25, 2011
    90
    Honest Hearts is one of the better DLC packs Bethesda has released yet, and it comes down to the combination of an interesting landscape and original story along with unique RPG choices, then layering the signature Fallout brand (at least, since Bethesda took over) of slightly off-kilter, but still intensely entertaining FPS combat on top.
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    A fresh perspective on what Fallout: New Vegas may be – very relaxing and calm game. [July 2011, p.117]
  3. May 18, 2011
    75
    The narrative could be stronger and there's a lack of variety in terms of creatures occupying the park, but these are minor complaints about an otherwise enjoyable time.
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    72
    Less story, action and poor characters, but a larger area to explore and lots of fights. Maybe that's what you are looking for, but a thrilling story and diverse quests would have been better.
  5. May 31, 2011
    70
    Honest Hearts proves once again that Obsidian is more experienced than Bethesda when it comes to DLCs.
  6. May 31, 2011
    70
    While Honest Hearts didn't quite grab me like Dead Money did, it's another satisfying few hours in a fresh Fallout location. Once you get over Joshua Graham being an actual person rather than a myth, his character is expansive and refreshing (it's rare that to find a religious NPC this nuanced in RPGs), and the hiking trails of Zion make for decent exploration. It definitely favours players who will stray off the guided track though, as those who focus exclusively on the main quests will miss out on some of the add-on's hidden narrative treasures.
  7. May 27, 2011
    70
    Fallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts is a conventional but enjoyable addition to the series.
  8. Jun 25, 2011
    66
    The story and decisions are bigger attractions than the limited-appeal loot and artificially toughened enemies.
  9. May 24, 2011
    60
    Can Honest Hearts be considered a must buy? For the survivors of the Mojave desert, drinking Sarsaparilla and eating radioactive scorpions, probably it is. For those who ended New Vegas without feeling the need to replay the various plots and side quests, it definitely isn't.
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    55
    The majority of the DLC is utterly devoid of surprises, treats or interesting characters and places, and you'll soon start getting bored.
  11. May 24, 2011
    40
    Strong concept, weak execution. Add in the dated look of the game, and numerous bugs and glitches new and old, and Honest Hearts isn't worth the $10.
  12. May 20, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. May 22, 2011
    3
    Very boring dlc, very bland, and it has nothing we haven't seen before in other fallouts. The only good thing is the scenery, which is really well done except for some confusing navigating. aside from that, it lasts about 2 or 3 hours and has a very straightforward plot that takes advantage of none of it's elements. The burned man is here, but aside from his bandages, and a few spoken lines, hes unremarkable. No legion assassin hunting him, or NCR rangers, or any other subplot you could think of (and there are many), to be seen. there only two tribes, and they are really just the same one but in two different camps. the side quests take literally 5 minutes apiece to complete, and there is almost no new gear to be had. whats more, like the Dead Money DLC, it has absolutely no bearing on the Mojave. but then again thats true of all FO/DLC Full Review »
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Fallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts has committed the most serious of gaming sins; it's boring.

    Centering around the infamous Burned Man, a war hero punished for failure by Ceaser by being covered in burning pitch and tossed into the Grand Canyon, the story had every chance to be interesting and dynamic. However this chance is squandered as the character in question hands the player plain and boring fetch or kill quests while spouting biblical prose. Instead of an angry, driven who should seem 10 feet tall, we encounter a totally bland anti-hero.

    Honest Hearts also suffers from some of the same bugs as New Vegas itself - AI frequently spawn inside world geometry and get stuck there; your companion AI often make bad decisions both in combat and navigation wise.

    All up, I can't say I recommend this as a worthwhile addition.
    Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2011
    7
    Compared to Dead Money: I definitely liked Dead Money more. The only thing I liked about HH was the environment and Joshua Graham's character... everything else went by far too fast and was just too bland. You barely get to interact with any of the tribes - the moment you meet them you're immediately put on generic fetch / kill quests. Fortunately, the environment is excellently done. The introduction sequence was also done very well, but I found it to be a downhill ride from there. I felt the ending sequences were very anticlimactic, mostly due to poor scripting, and the endings themselves didn't have any effect on me. Besides Joshua Graham, all the characters are very two-dimensional and feel like cardboard cutouts, especially one of the main characters you will meet called Daniel. In contrast, I found all the characters of Dead Money to be very interesting, and also felt it had a much better story. The endings of Dead Money are also much more satisfying and had a far greater effect on me than Honest Hearts'. Gameplay wise, Honest Hearts is very much like the base Fallout game - very open-ended and sandbox like. Unlike what seems to be a lot of people, I don't judge DLC based on the items / perks / whatever you get from them (would you pay $10 for a DLC that added a 9000 damage pistol and nothing else?)... and I think that Honest Hearts' narrative is on the weak side. If you don't have either DLC yet and want a more story and character-driven experience, get Dead Money instead. On the other hand, if you want to learn more about the Burned Man or think the very powerful guns in Honest Hearts is worth $10, get this instead. (Or just get both). Full Review »