User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 106
  2. Negative: 13 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2011
    7
    The environment is gorgeous, the trees, the plants, the sky, all of it. But the game play itself lacks. The story is too short, and the story is honestly pretty boring. They tell you the "White Legs" are very dangerous people! But they aren't. They tell you the story is deep and rich, but it's not. Etc. That's my point. It lacked in too many regards. Sure it had some really neat newThe environment is gorgeous, the trees, the plants, the sky, all of it. But the game play itself lacks. The story is too short, and the story is honestly pretty boring. They tell you the "White Legs" are very dangerous people! But they aren't. They tell you the story is deep and rich, but it's not. Etc. That's my point. It lacked in too many regards. Sure it had some really neat new weapons that's cool, and a few cool new perks, but overall the game play lacked. But I will give it a 7 for being a gorgeous landscape to explore. Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2012
    6
    It's an entertaining DLC with good back story for the main game and some interesting internal stories, but overall it was short and primarily good for getting experience and gear. It's best to get it on sale and do it as early on as you can.
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    7
    Although, inferior to the other DLC. This concludes the mystery of Joshua Graham perfectly, the world is like hell within heaven, it is beautiful but extremely chaotic and full with dangerous creatures. The story is even better than that of Dead Money's one, but the character development hangs on a thread. For example, the main villain has hardly any description or biography whatsoever.Although, inferior to the other DLC. This concludes the mystery of Joshua Graham perfectly, the world is like hell within heaven, it is beautiful but extremely chaotic and full with dangerous creatures. The story is even better than that of Dead Money's one, but the character development hangs on a thread. For example, the main villain has hardly any description or biography whatsoever. All we know is he's the leader of the White Legs and he is ruthless, and Joshua Graham hates him. Not much else, but it is still a good DLC nonetheless. Expand
  4. May 19, 2011
    7
    Compared to Dead Money: I definitely liked Dead Money more. The only thing I liked about HH was the environment and Joshua Graham's character... everything else went by far too fast and was just too bland. You barely get to interact with any of the tribes - the moment you meet them you're immediately put on generic fetch / kill quests. Fortunately, the environment is excellently done. TheCompared to Dead Money: I definitely liked Dead Money more. The only thing I liked about HH was the environment and Joshua Graham's character... everything else went by far too fast and was just too bland. You barely get to interact with any of the tribes - the moment you meet them you're immediately put on generic fetch / kill quests. Fortunately, the environment is excellently done. The introduction sequence was also done very well, but I found it to be a downhill ride from there. I felt the ending sequences were very anticlimactic, mostly due to poor scripting, and the endings themselves didn't have any effect on me. Besides Joshua Graham, all the characters are very two-dimensional and feel like cardboard cutouts, especially one of the main characters you will meet called Daniel. In contrast, I found all the characters of Dead Money to be very interesting, and also felt it had a much better story. The endings of Dead Money are also much more satisfying and had a far greater effect on me than Honest Hearts'. Gameplay wise, Honest Hearts is very much like the base Fallout game - very open-ended and sandbox like. Unlike what seems to be a lot of people, I don't judge DLC based on the items / perks / whatever you get from them (would you pay $10 for a DLC that added a 9000 damage pistol and nothing else?)... and I think that Honest Hearts' narrative is on the weak side. If you don't have either DLC yet and want a more story and character-driven experience, get Dead Money instead. On the other hand, if you want to learn more about the Burned Man or think the very powerful guns in Honest Hearts is worth $10, get this instead. (Or just get both). Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2011
    5
    Story isnt that great but realy, this is the video game genre, its about gameplay not prissy fan boys that rate their games by the story, the gameplay is well, F3/FNV gameplay, i found the exploring more fun then the mojave and the fighting is realy fun when you get into it. The beggining is also pretty dark but in a good way.
  6. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    It is a nice DLC, adds some new weapons and the ability to go back to map where it plays after you finished the all the quests.
    The quests them self aren't to challenging and in fact a bit easy to figure everything out. The perks you gain add some sweet extra stuff and the level cap increase isn't bad at all.
    After completing each quest you'll gain at least 3 levels. Overall: A.I. Is good,
    It is a nice DLC, adds some new weapons and the ability to go back to map where it plays after you finished the all the quests.
    The quests them self aren't to challenging and in fact a bit easy to figure everything out. The perks you gain add some sweet extra stuff and the level cap increase isn't bad at all.
    After completing each quest you'll gain at least 3 levels. Overall:
    A.I. Is good, didn't experienced any problem at all.
    Quests are short and not really challenging (however a minimum level of 25 is useful).
    New perks are always nice, can't complain about it.
    New weapons, sadly enough the weapons require ammunition which isn't to common in New Vegas, but the weapon damage for each weapon is reasonable.

    I had a great time playing trough this even if it is a bit short.
    Expand
  7. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    The middleground of the bunch. A new worldspace that is different and interesting. Some extra content that is interesting. A completely separate story that is mildly interesting. The graphics take a big hit for some reason in this dlc. The red rocky landscape is really low resolution. It's passable. And fun to explore. One thumb up, one thumb sideways.
  8. Aug 3, 2013
    6
    A mediocre, but improved DLC offering over Dead Money, an interesting new ambiguous character and the Indian inspiration still leave a little bit to be desired.
  9. Apr 30, 2013
    6
    Honest Hearts is probably the most similar to the core game as you'll get out of 4 DLCs. You get a new wasteland to explore, characters to interact with, and items to find. It told a decent story and was moderately fun.
  10. Aug 4, 2012
    5
    In my opinion, one of the shorter downloadable content lasting around 4-5 hours. The landscape is nice and the area offers many places to explore, but the quests get boring and started losing interest after the first hour or so. Also, my game crashed 5 or so times while playing this.
  11. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    Very good environment,too short game length and the story isn't good as it should be,when it was interesting tribes and very interesting main characters i think its a makeshift story work and i think that there should be an option to choose to ally with White Hands if you had a good reputation with legion (and not be from the beginning of the game hostile to you!!!)(like to be appointed byVery good environment,too short game length and the story isn't good as it should be,when it was interesting tribes and very interesting main characters i think its a makeshift story work and i think that there should be an option to choose to ally with White Hands if you had a good reputation with legion (and not be from the beginning of the game hostile to you!!!)(like to be appointed by Caesar to travel to Zion Canyon and help the Caesar allies The White Hands to destroy the other tribes or make a peace treaty (Which you can take the one or the other side and help them to negotiate the treaty and stop the war (Like TES:Skyrim when you have to negotiate peace treaty to win Alduin) and the loser side leaves(And go to the NV environment or to a new environment like Dead Horse Point (And you can visit them and help them win the new war against the tribe living on these lands(Not for the white hands cause they have already some other lands except Zion Valley)or losses some lands and you can persuade Caesar not to assimilate the white hands if they win or do a quest like the Great Khans and persuade the White Hands to break their alliance with Caesar and do many quest with the tribes like become their leader or persuade them (For example) to turn from raiders to farmers or to gun dealers or to technology collectors(Like brotherhood of steel) or to a democracy (Like NCR) or raise their army make new encampments or settlements and some other quests about citizens differences,about stop the Legion or NCR or other factions assassins to kill their leaders,about make alliances and about fortify their settlements building new (wood mostly) houses and other building(Like assassins creed 3 homestead) and many other quests.And i think they must had grow the map (make it at least 3 times bigger have more tribes,citizens,factions (like Caesar's Legion and NCR)and more place to make some more villages and other places and more story.
    In conclusion i think that this whole dlc was an sketchy work and had a lot of things to bean added!!!
    (And It is ridiculous when the white hand leader the Salt-Upon-Wounds loses the battle and cry like a little girl to not been executed i think that he had to deal with it with bravery!!!
    Expand
  12. Aug 3, 2014
    5
    After playing the highly imaginative and original Dead Money DLC, Honest Hearts felt pretty weak and unnecessary in comparison. It's still a good Fallout trip among the Indians into the Zion national park with it's nice stoney nature to explore, but other than that, the experience was quite short, not even 5 hours and pretty average. 5/10
  13. Dec 5, 2014
    5
    It's sort of alright. Interesting location, but way too short. I thought you should be able to have more choice, to choose which side you want to fight for. Sorrows or the White Legs. And not just be lumped with The Sorrows. This DLC could of been much better.
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    55
    The majority of the DLC is utterly devoid of surprises, treats or interesting characters and places, and you'll soon start getting bored.
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    66
    The story and decisions are bigger attractions than the limited-appeal loot and artificially toughened enemies.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    A fresh perspective on what Fallout: New Vegas may be – very relaxing and calm game. [July 2011, p.117]