Fallout: New Vegas - Old World Blues Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tablesIn Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tables on your kidnappers or join forces with them against an even greater threat. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    95
    You will love it though if you chose the Weird Wasteland perk, loved the Vault filled with Garys in 3, or just don't mind playing through an extremely funny and well-written DLC pack that throws interesting surprises at you all the time, rewards exploration greatly, and packs more imagination and play-time in it than nearly every other full-priced game out there.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    90
    Put simply, if you own Fallout: New Vegas, this one's, well, a no-brainer.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    90
    Despite the limitations, this is probably the best DLC addon for Fallout period.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    85
    The fun and funny Fallout: New Vegas - Old World Blues gushes personality and is the game's best add-on yet.
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    82
    Old World Blues is the best in the New Vegas add-on's so far, every part of its world is both exigent and motivating.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    A great surprise. Sure, the gameplay formula is typical Fallout -- fetch quests, exploration, killing, and moral decision making -- but it's wrapped in a genuinely humorous package.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Finally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets theFinally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets the exploration/combat/story mix exactly right. Sci-fi campy without going over into stupid, it's actually made me laugh a few times, and think, "Thats really twisted.." at others.
    The characters you meet are... unique, to say the least, but interesting and funny, too. The voiceovers are very well done and fit each NPC nicely. Some of the architectural design is a refreshing change from the standard "vault interior" we've all come to know so well, and is a pleasure to explore.
    Highly recomended. You're nuts if you don't pick this up! (IMHO)
    Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    beautiful....simply magnificent, it combines technology with insanity, or instability. 10/10 good job Bethesda, you made a DLC both fun,beautiful....simply magnificent, it combines technology with insanity, or instability. 10/10 good job Bethesda, you made a DLC both fun, difficult, slightly irritating and addicting, if you buy this DLC you will not be disappointed it was amazing to play, the zone looks small...but it is chock full of amazing places to explore, for example, finding the legendary bloatfly(the hardest of all legendary's) unique weapons, a barking machine gun, and all the energy weapons you can handle, be warned , bring lots of caps, because you will need to repair your stuff often, bring armor piercing bullets, or max charged cells, there are also fun new melee and unarmed weapons...but seriously, armor piercing....max charge, lots of caps be warned now. if you only buy one DLC...get this one, it is well worth it. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name your firstborn son Mobius.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Probably the most open-ended and diverse DLC for New Vegas. Plenty of humor and dialogue, though the first half-hour of the Think Tank arguingProbably the most open-ended and diverse DLC for New Vegas. Plenty of humor and dialogue, though the first half-hour of the Think Tank arguing amongst themselves gets tiresome, especially the excess of phallic jokes. Toaster is a riot. Blind Diode Jefferson is my personal favorite AI, though I can't really explain why. Players will find that Big MT is the cradle of the Mojave's Cazadors and Nightstalkers, as well as the holograms of the Sierra Madre (Dead Money), and Rex's Cyberdog brethren. There are plenty of new killing toys to play with too. Old World Blues could almost stand as a game on its own. Recommended. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insaneDefinitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insane brains in tanks. World is full of challenging enemies, and the premise of romping around a secret tech base inside of a mountain is great. New weapons are funny, useful and cool.
    Now the negatives, the enemies are SUPER perceptive. I had sneak of 100, wearing a stealth suit. I have ninja perk, and i still could not sneak up on people, ever. for sneak crits, i HAD to use a medium range weapon at least, unless I got real lucky. melee crits (the most fun and satisfying) were impossible. Perhaps this was a glitch, since if they detect you, they will never go back to being safe mode, only "caution".
    Other negative, most of the locations are too shallow, go into a base, and its literally a single room with a couple robots and some ammo. I was expecting LOTS of computers with cools stories, background, and other cool stuff. Half done experiments maybe, experimental robots/bio-creatures. they didn't deliver. Though the rare story it did fill in was interesting. When i finished it i still had the "thats it?" feeling. Too few side quests and linear story.
    Still a great DLC, but I feel it could have been much better with added depth.
    Expand
  6. Rem
    Dec 15, 2016
    7
    Old World Blues is easily the strongest of the New Vegas DLCs. It sports a healthy dose of sidequests, new weapons, lore, and monikers theOld World Blues is easily the strongest of the New Vegas DLCs. It sports a healthy dose of sidequests, new weapons, lore, and monikers the classic Fallout dark humor in all its glory. Speaking of humor, the ones that exist here are the strongest in the franchise with more brilliant fourth wall breaks and expositional dumps that aren't as hard to chew through as one might imagine. Although that seems pleasing, it takes an incredibly long amount of time for the game to actually get started and it hurts the overall pacing of the game.

    Your companions (appliances) are some of the best characters in the Fallout universe by downplaying their serious motivations given that they are household electronics. They are a lovable bunch and actually play a role gameplay wise. Gameplay wise, Old World Blues does its absolute best to integrate classic New Vegas gameplay into the mix given it takes place in one giant complex and it works..for the most part. While the usual caveat of stealth action and some new perks are great throwaways, the enemies do very little to challenge you and makes encountering them monotonous for the most part. The locations you are confined to explore in addition are not particularly interesting save for the lore that exists within this decently sized area that should take you about 5 hours to see all the ins and outs of Old World Blues.

    The funniest Fallout addition has quirks in keeping you interested when playing and exploring, but its combination of classic humor and general nuttiness is something so refreshing if you tire of the spells of seriousness that exist in the other DLCs, which makes this one the strongest of the bunch,
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    1
    Worst DLC ever.
    Boring and repetitive quests, stupid robots everywhere, never ending nonsensical crap talk all the time about stuff i don't
    Worst DLC ever.
    Boring and repetitive quests, stupid robots everywhere, never ending nonsensical crap talk all the time about stuff i don't give a damn about.
    Also i want to add that the settings are quite terrible in this occasion. The soporific and idiotic sense of humor ruins everything.

    Not sure what were they thinking, but this is seriously boring as hell. I'm starting to give up hope about ever seeing an epic DLC as it was Point Lookout, The Pitt and Broken Steel on FO3.

    My verdict: Don't even bother with this, it's absolute garbage content, not even worth a goddamn cent. Go buy some bubble gums or Antidepressant. This reminds me of FFXIII, it was so damn boring that i couldn't beat it no matter how hard i tried.

    My Rating: 1/10
    Legendary failure DLC of the year.
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews