Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tablesIn Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tables on your kidnappers or join forces with them against an even greater threat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    95
    You will love it though if you chose the Weird Wasteland perk, loved the Vault filled with Garys in 3, or just don't mind playing through an extremely funny and well-written DLC pack that throws interesting surprises at you all the time, rewards exploration greatly, and packs more imagination and play-time in it than nearly every other full-priced game out there.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    90
    Put simply, if you own Fallout: New Vegas, this one's, well, a no-brainer.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    90
    Despite the limitations, this is probably the best DLC addon for Fallout period.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    85
    The fun and funny Fallout: New Vegas - Old World Blues gushes personality and is the game's best add-on yet.
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    82
    Old World Blues is the best in the New Vegas add-on's so far, every part of its world is both exigent and motivating.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    A great surprise. Sure, the gameplay formula is typical Fallout -- fetch quests, exploration, killing, and moral decision making -- but it's wrapped in a genuinely humorous package.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Finally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets theFinally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets the exploration/combat/story mix exactly right. Sci-fi campy without going over into stupid, it's actually made me laugh a few times, and think, "Thats really twisted.." at others.
    The characters you meet are... unique, to say the least, but interesting and funny, too. The voiceovers are very well done and fit each NPC nicely. Some of the architectural design is a refreshing change from the standard "vault interior" we've all come to know so well, and is a pleasure to explore.
    Highly recomended. You're nuts if you don't pick this up! (IMHO)
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name your firstborn son Mobius.
    Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    One of the best dlc's on the market, right up there with red dead redemption's undead nightmare and episodes from liberty city and shiveringOne of the best dlc's on the market, right up there with red dead redemption's undead nightmare and episodes from liberty city and shivering isles. This is the best dlc for the entire fallout franchise. Bar none. With some of the most quirky characters, it is absolutely huge - with worthwhile content. Lot's to do. Interesting quests (for the most part). It expands on the game in all the right ways. The humor is more hit than miss - and a lot of the game carries back into vanilla new vegas. Totally and utterly recommended. I would even say essential to the new vegas package. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Probably the most open-ended and diverse DLC for New Vegas. Plenty of humor and dialogue, though the first half-hour of the Think Tank arguingProbably the most open-ended and diverse DLC for New Vegas. Plenty of humor and dialogue, though the first half-hour of the Think Tank arguing amongst themselves gets tiresome, especially the excess of phallic jokes. Toaster is a riot. Blind Diode Jefferson is my personal favorite AI, though I can't really explain why. Players will find that Big MT is the cradle of the Mojave's Cazadors and Nightstalkers, as well as the holograms of the Sierra Madre (Dead Money), and Rex's Cyberdog brethren. There are plenty of new killing toys to play with too. Old World Blues could almost stand as a game on its own. Recommended. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insaneDefinitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insane brains in tanks. World is full of challenging enemies, and the premise of romping around a secret tech base inside of a mountain is great. New weapons are funny, useful and cool.
    Now the negatives, the enemies are SUPER perceptive. I had sneak of 100, wearing a stealth suit. I have ninja perk, and i still could not sneak up on people, ever. for sneak crits, i HAD to use a medium range weapon at least, unless I got real lucky. melee crits (the most fun and satisfying) were impossible. Perhaps this was a glitch, since if they detect you, they will never go back to being safe mode, only "caution".
    Other negative, most of the locations are too shallow, go into a base, and its literally a single room with a couple robots and some ammo. I was expecting LOTS of computers with cools stories, background, and other cool stuff. Half done experiments maybe, experimental robots/bio-creatures. they didn't deliver. Though the rare story it did fill in was interesting. When i finished it i still had the "thats it?" feeling. Too few side quests and linear story.
    Still a great DLC, but I feel it could have been much better with added depth.
    Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    I thought the voice work was uneven and character interaction is uneven. I didn't get much of a story about the place like you do in theI thought the voice work was uneven and character interaction is uneven. I didn't get much of a story about the place like you do in the other DLCs and the main game. I'm mixed about the exteriors and the interiors are few and are more of the same. Not very much interns of good loot, so bring lots of armor and hard hitting guns. You are more often than not mobbed by large groups of tough enemies. The DLC really pushes you toward unarmed, melee and energy weapon skills which are of dubious use in the rest of the game, IMHO. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    1
    Worst DLC ever.
    Boring and repetitive quests, stupid robots everywhere, never ending nonsensical crap talk all the time about stuff i don't
    Worst DLC ever.
    Boring and repetitive quests, stupid robots everywhere, never ending nonsensical crap talk all the time about stuff i don't give a damn about.
    Also i want to add that the settings are quite terrible in this occasion. The soporific and idiotic sense of humor ruins everything.

    Not sure what were they thinking, but this is seriously boring as hell. I'm starting to give up hope about ever seeing an epic DLC as it was Point Lookout, The Pitt and Broken Steel on FO3.

    My verdict: Don't even bother with this, it's absolute garbage content, not even worth a goddamn cent. Go buy some bubble gums or Antidepressant. This reminds me of FFXIII, it was so damn boring that i couldn't beat it no matter how hard i tried.

    My Rating: 1/10
    Legendary failure DLC of the year.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews