Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tablesIn Old World Blues, releasing in June, you will discover how some of the Mojave’s mutated monsters came to be when you unwittingly become a lab rat in a science experiment gone awry. You’ll need to scour the Pre-War research centers of the Big Empty in search of technology to turn the tables on your kidnappers or join forces with them against an even greater threat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    95
    You will love it though if you chose the Weird Wasteland perk, loved the Vault filled with Garys in 3, or just don't mind playing through an extremely funny and well-written DLC pack that throws interesting surprises at you all the time, rewards exploration greatly, and packs more imagination and play-time in it than nearly every other full-priced game out there.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    90
    Put simply, if you own Fallout: New Vegas, this one's, well, a no-brainer.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    90
    Despite the limitations, this is probably the best DLC addon for Fallout period.
  4. Jul 28, 2011
    85
    The fun and funny Fallout: New Vegas - Old World Blues gushes personality and is the game's best add-on yet.
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    82
    Old World Blues is the best in the New Vegas add-on's so far, every part of its world is both exigent and motivating.
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    80
    A great surprise. Sure, the gameplay formula is typical Fallout -- fetch quests, exploration, killing, and moral decision making -- but it's wrapped in a genuinely humorous package.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Finally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets theFinally! A New Vegas DLC that was worth the wait. Better than Dead Money, and MUCH better than Honest Hearts, Old World Blues gets the exploration/combat/story mix exactly right. Sci-fi campy without going over into stupid, it's actually made me laugh a few times, and think, "Thats really twisted.." at others.
    The characters you meet are... unique, to say the least, but interesting and funny, too. The voiceovers are very well done and fit each NPC nicely. Some of the architectural design is a refreshing change from the standard "vault interior" we've all come to know so well, and is a pleasure to explore.
    Highly recomended. You're nuts if you don't pick this up! (IMHO)
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Easily the best DLC for a modern Fallout game, with hilarious characters and dialogue, a crazy (and quite clever) main plot, and a good lengthEasily the best DLC for a modern Fallout game, with hilarious characters and dialogue, a crazy (and quite clever) main plot, and a good length without dragging at any point. The various locations in the Big Empty are all interesting to explore and stuffed with fun new weapons and armour. I'd go so far as to so it's the most fun I've ever had with any of the Fallout games. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name
    If you don't run around shouting "WITH SCIENCE!" during every mundane activity after playing this DLC, then you have a heart of stone.

    Name your firstborn son Mobius.
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    This, in my opinion, is the only DLC for New Vegas worth purchasing. The characters and level design are interesting, the story is well putThis, in my opinion, is the only DLC for New Vegas worth purchasing. The characters and level design are interesting, the story is well put together, the weapons and armor are nice and fun to use. I enjoyed this DLC very much and it never gets old with different playthroughs. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    Definitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insaneDefinitely best NV DLC. Fallout remembered it's true nature and stopped trying to be too serious too often and made a dlc based on insane brains in tanks. World is full of challenging enemies, and the premise of romping around a secret tech base inside of a mountain is great. New weapons are funny, useful and cool.
    Now the negatives, the enemies are SUPER perceptive. I had sneak of 100, wearing a stealth suit. I have ninja perk, and i still could not sneak up on people, ever. for sneak crits, i HAD to use a medium range weapon at least, unless I got real lucky. melee crits (the most fun and satisfying) were impossible. Perhaps this was a glitch, since if they detect you, they will never go back to being safe mode, only "caution".
    Other negative, most of the locations are too shallow, go into a base, and its literally a single room with a couple robots and some ammo. I was expecting LOTS of computers with cools stories, background, and other cool stuff. Half done experiments maybe, experimental robots/bio-creatures. they didn't deliver. Though the rare story it did fill in was interesting. When i finished it i still had the "thats it?" feeling. Too few side quests and linear story.
    Still a great DLC, but I feel it could have been much better with added depth.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2011
    7
    While the dlc is much better then that of the previos 2. It still feels empty for its missleading name, the big empty, i was expecting muchWhile the dlc is much better then that of the previos 2. It still feels empty for its missleading name, the big empty, i was expecting much more in this place as from what i heard in the past fallout games but it leaves me very dissapointed. But the added new weapons is a great improvement from the last 2 dlc, the armor doesnt seem to matter at all besides the looks and the story is very fun and smart taht kept me in the game as did the exploring. Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2015
    1
    Repetitive, loud, cruel, long-winded and a sense of humor that will only appeal to some of the more immature gamers. (I have to admit, itRepetitive, loud, cruel, long-winded and a sense of humor that will only appeal to some of the more immature gamers. (I have to admit, it appealed to me for a short while but it got old rather fast).

    Imagine playing a Fallout game where:

    A) you have enemies that require so much ammo to destroy (on higher difficulties) that you constantly run out in an environment where ammo is already sparse;
    B) Enemies have silly cell-shaded colours;
    C) Enemies constantly yell things at you a mad-scientist might say;
    D) you have to play the same area over and over until you find all the objectives;
    E) All subject matter is so inherently cruel that you'd rather shoot everyone involved but are forced to participate any way

    Does that sound like a fun installment of Fallout to you? If you answered that question with "Yes!" then by all means, play Old World Blues.

    I loaded an older save game half-way through to be able to get out of the zone I was in. You see, it keeps you trapped until you finish it!

    Fallout has always had its zany moments but this one really takes the cake and it seems like a 15-year-old was allowed to call the shots on the script.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews