Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1849 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. 80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 53 out of 445
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    One of the best RPGs I've ever played. Still, it doesn't compare to the original Fallout games in its complexity. Bethesda's idea of turn-based combat, the VAC system, slows the game down unnecessarily. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    First of all, this game was developed by Obsidian Entertainment, not Bethesda. Obsidian, a.k.a Black Isle has an impressive resume which includes Baldur's Gate 2. This is not Fallout 3. The game engine is the same, as well as the interface and the combat system, but the voice acting, dialogue and sheer volume of quests surpasses Fallout 3 in any way. If you're looking for something 100% revolutionary. If you did not like Fallout 3 at all, or found Fallout 3 to be a mediocre game, you might be better off skipping New Vegas.

    But, if you even kind of liked Fallout 3, NV is worth picking up. I enjoyed Fallout 3, but I'm not a huge fan. New Vegas blew me away and continues to impress me every time I pick it up.
    Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Only buy this game if you like questing, exploration, retro-futurism and classic western music. You can mod, or not, to your tastes, but the retail game is a exploration rpg with strong Cold War overtones. As a long time fan of the Fallout universe, I would say this is my favorite Fallout game. I liked Fallout 3, but was frustrated by the lack of imagination in the world architecture, and banality of the quests. If you like more of a open world feel, as I do, this is might be the game to get of the two. There are quite a few minor bugs throughout (especially in Old World Blues DLC), but not any game breakers. You will have to reload here or there, and the graphics are dated (they date back to at least 2007). If you are a level capper, but don't want to do all the DLC, you will be frustrated, as you probably will have to depopulate the world significantly to reach level cap. The mainline story is easy to finish even on hardcore mode, but if approached as an exploration rpg it is a fun game. If you do not enjoy exploring or doing side quests then this is not the game for you. Also, this game is best played in first-person mode and with a game controller (I prefer XBOX 360). It is a console port, but playable. The menu is intentionally bad (in the vein of retro-futurism). Think BASIC meets plasma/laser weapons. Glass soda bottles and type writers meets holo-projectors (Dead Money DLC). It's a wacky game world but it's worth giving a look. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    The atmospheric post-apocalyptic setting of Fallout New Vegas has seen me rack up 150 hours of gameplay and I'm still nowhere near the end. The graphics are nothing great but OK, but that's not why we play this kind of thing, right? It's got what you'd expect from an Action/RPG - quests galore, skills and attributes, companions, a sprawling game world - but without the hackneyed medieval/Tolkein setting, which is a nice change. I really like the music on the radio too, although it gets somewhat repetitive after a while (too few tracks). Great fun to play and well worth the 20 smackeroos I paid for it. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Time for more Fallout 3. FNV is a good game, but it would have been much better in the absence of the original Fallout 3. There are some changes, but many of them either have little to no effect on the gameplay, or just make it more annoying. There are some good things that came out of changes like factions and reputation, which helps you define a path and place for yourself in the wasteland. Gun mods are a step in the right direction, but they usually either have very little effect on combat or have an effect that doesn't suit the weapon for which they were designed (10mm pistol extended magazines). Actually, more mods might have been nice, as well as greater effects from mods, and mods that disallow the use of other mods, so that when you modify your arsenal, you can modify to satisfy your gameplay style, rather than make an inconsequential change to a gun (revolver long barrel, +3 damage). I also had a problem with the fact that rather than having a bunch of different types of ammo and guns that you may use based on hte situation, there were too many instances of guns or ammo types being eclipsed and never seing use again (.22LR). Once you have a fair amount of MF cells and .45-70Government ammo, no other ammo will ever be used again, due to the relatively weak guns by which they are used (except for .50MG, which is used by the game's most powerful weapon, the anti-material rifle). The sudden drops in framerate and crashing were annoying, but those can be easily remedied with better hardware and frequent saving. The types of glitches that really get to you are the ones that make quests impossible to finsih, whether that be an event not triggering, or killing a key person without being notified (it usually gives you a "quest failed" message to the side if you kill certain people). I was sneaking are the Fort with a stealth boy, and it ran out in Caesar's tent, which held an objective item for a side quest I was performing. I was spotted and attacked due to my reputation with the Leigon, and just barely managed to escape. Later, as part of the main quest line, I must speak to Caesar to recieve a platinum poker chip, but whenever I see him, he turns hostile, even when I wear Leigon armor. Since all factions require me to speak with him for the main quest line, I cannot advance. A note about side quests: there are far too many, and many of them are miniscule. There are some trademark long side quests with their own little storylines, but you have to weed through too many other miniature side quests to find them. Obsidian bit off more than they can chew there. Gambling is now present, but plays a much more minor role than advertised. At least they got the real world aspect of getting kicked out and banned for winning to much at a casino. One big thing about difficulty: you can save at any time, then reload if things don't go the way you had hoped. This seriously diminishes the consequences of death and losing when gambling; you can simply reload a save before that happened and try again. Hardcore mode is a nice addition and helps to add some realism to the game. Of course, you could always just raise the difficulty too, but that doesn't provide all of the added aspects of hardcore mode, like hunger, thirst, and need for sleep. Mods and many new weapons are great, as well as the addition of gambling, but there are still some problems with the game that need fixing, like accidentally making quests impossible. Only then, can it really become a great game instead of another slightly more involved, yet slightly less polished, Fallout 3. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Bought another Bethesda game only to be disappointed once again. If you ever decide to change you graphic settings at all your game will bug out and you will be stuck on the loading screen forever. then you will be forced to reinstall the game to fix it because Bethesda is too **** lazy to patch their PC games.. just like Skyrim (another piece of **** game with bugs they refuse to fix) this game is probably better on the console. So yeah don't waste your money or time on it unless you feel like having a few headaches. Expand

See all 445 User Reviews