Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1978 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. 80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 465
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Despite what other reviewers seem to think, Fallout 3 is in fact only similar to Fallout: New Vegas in the same way that Tesco Value cola isDespite what other reviewers seem to think, Fallout 3 is in fact only similar to Fallout: New Vegas in the same way that Tesco Value cola is to Coke: a product with the same base but that will leave you wanting something far more fulfilling.

    Compared to Fallout 3, New Vegas actually tries to continue the superb legacy left by the first two games, with a rich, compelling storyline that pushes you onwards mixed with an open world to explore when you feel that you've done enough of the main storyline for now. With the previous game, it felt that the storyline, and the world created, were a mere afterthought tacked on after the game engine had been created and they thought "Hold on, we need a setting for our game!". With Fallout New Vegas it is clear that Obsidian have thought through each of the choices and routes a player can take to the finale, spent time crafting the personalities of the various important characters involved in this vibrant world and actually decided that they'd like to include a colour scheme in this game (believe me, grey gets boring VERY quickly!)!

    The gameplay tweaks mixed in, whilst not easily noticeable, also make the game a far more realistic world to play in. The addition of usable weapon mods makes keeping a weapon and upgrading it to improve its effectiveness a far more likely option in New Vegas, removing the need to constantly be on the lookout for newer, bigger guns at all times, and the companion wheel blends in seamlessly, dramatically improving companion interactions, although sometimes it does feel things could be done quicker through the old dialogue!

    Those who criticise it as dumbed down for the "new" generation of gamers, I would tell them to get lost and to actually play the game. With its basis in Fallout 3 (often criticised for being too hard for "new" gamers, especially in the way your accuracy and damage improved with your leveling) and with all of the new features and deep storyline (which doesn't just consist of help/don't help the wasteland like in Fallout 3) this game stands up alongside its old-school predecessors (Fallouts 1 & 2 for the morons out there) with a clever criticism of the human condition, mixed with a cracking sense of humour and stylishly difficult gameplay.

    Whilst you can criticise the game for bugs (a particular problem for Obsidian, if anyone remembers KOTOR2, and something that affects the entire industry these days) these often fall into the unnnoticeable category, and, with most of the major issues patched within days of release, are not really an issue as the game will now safely run for days at a time, and has been far more stable for myself over its lifetime than other, supposedly more polished releases such as the Total War, Civilization and Left 4 Dead series.

    Overall, New Vegas is an astounding return of the Fallout games to a fully rounded package for the first time since the release of Fallout 2 back in 1998, and provides the longest, most compelling and most fulfilling gaming experience I have played since Knights of the Old Republic (Mass Effect & its sequel were good, but lacked some of the humour/fun present in KOTOR/New Vegas)! Any issues in the game are minor, whilst the graphics may be a little dated, they still look damned good when turned up, and the gameplay/experience will take your mind away from these things in a flash. Quite simply, this is the best game of the last 5 years, and unlike its predecessor, actually deserves to be on any list of the best games of the last decade!
    Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    First, some stats. I played the game completely through once; I completed the ending two different ways from one save point; I had added overFirst, some stats. I played the game completely through once; I completed the ending two different ways from one save point; I had added over two dozen mods when I finished playing. Total time playing: +100 hours. Total time getting my mods to work: +10 hours. Second, the above should indicate that I have pushed the game to the breaking point - I ruined several save games - but kept coming back for more. Why? The game is that good. Playing with the amazing mods available for this game made it very engaging and compelling far beyond what the vanilla did. And the vanilla game was superb. Third, the game ran fine for me till I got over the dozen mod mark. In fact, most of my frustration with the mods came from one particular mod (New Vegas Bounties) that eventually corrupted save games after a certain objective had been accomplished. When it was me and the original game (first 40 hrs), I think the game crashed once. Once! That is a fairly stable game to me. Now I know that many people have had significant problems with the bugs in this game. I think Bethseda has smoothed those out for the most part. Bottom line: great game play, solid graphics, good plot, and a ton of replay value. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    I will say on Ps3 it is buugy it will freeze and you will cry because you were playing one of the best games you ever played and it just froze on you.
  5. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    People will see this game in many different views. I still remember how ground breaking Fallout was and how disappointed i was with it'sPeople will see this game in many different views. I still remember how ground breaking Fallout was and how disappointed i was with it's successors which slowly urbanised the vast, empty fallout world.
    I can tell you FO3 and FO:NewVegas are an improvement on the last installments I played and have to give credit to Bethesda, FO3 was great but felt like it needed to go further and i do think FO:NV hit the spot, it's expansive, beautifully designed and has the right mix of emptiness and urbanisation. It feels much more open ended that FO3 and people may compare it to other games around graphics and so on, but unless they have played the original Fallout games they will not understand what a great job Bethesda has done to bring the Fallout world back to life with more Cameos and references from previous Fallout games.
    It does have some bugs, granted, but if you play this game for 20 hrs and you feel disappointed with the experience you are given, well, your the type of person that does not have time to stop and smell the roses so to speak. Worth every penny !!
    Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    I absolutely loved Fallout 3, but Fallout New Vegas didn't have the same feel for me. Don't get me wrong, it was still an ok game, just not onI absolutely loved Fallout 3, but Fallout New Vegas didn't have the same feel for me. Don't get me wrong, it was still an ok game, just not on Fallout 3's level, and I will tell you why. A lot of people who started New Vegas felt lost at first. I understand it is an open world game and you can choose your own path, but they were almost too lenient with the path in this game. It has the same great mechanics as Fallout 3, killing and collecting, but at times you don't really know what to do next. Once I got to downtown Vegas I think the story actually further suffered and got more confusing. I felt at times that this game should have been an expansion to 3, it just didn't feel like a whole new game. I also have to mention that the one DLC I tried sent me into some weird world where my choices were limited and I was walking around killing ghosts, it was actually terrible and made me stop playing the game. I know this game is not terrible and would like to give it another shot someday, but probably won't have time with so many good titles out. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    Fallout 3. It brings back so many good memories of the Capital Wasteland, of heroism and sacrifice, of a amazingly deep and beautiful world.Fallout 3. It brings back so many good memories of the Capital Wasteland, of heroism and sacrifice, of a amazingly deep and beautiful world. Needless to say, I pre ordered New Vegas as soon as I could. Worst choice I ever made. I dropped 65$ on this peice of garbage. I gave up after 12 hours of bugs. It literally does not run for me. I was hoping patches would fix the game breaking issues, but instead, they made a DLC instead of fixing the game. I wasted 65$ on a alpha project that will never get updated. It looked like it had potential to be fun, but failed to live up. The weapons looked cool, but since they didn't make any noise... NPCs are bugged, landmine knock you down, and even if you don't die your stuck on the ground until you reload a old save or die. Thats just the start. Getting stuck in the planet, ect ect. I will never buy a product from Bethesda until it is in the 20-30$ price range. I'm just so disapointed. This gamehad sooooo much potential but unfortunently, IMHO, the worst game of all time. This coming from a hardcore F03 fan. If you need me, I'll be hanging with three dog. Expand

See all 465 User Reviews