Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On
  • Developer: Obsidian Entertainment
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Action RPG, First-Person, First-Person, Western-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fallout: New Vegas TV Ad
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 573
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is REAL fallout I expected. Fallout's identity is post-post apocalypse game, which tells us story of rising factions and rebuildingThis is REAL fallout I expected. Fallout's identity is post-post apocalypse game, which tells us story of rising factions and rebuilding society after nuclear war. Fallout 3 was just common post apocalypse game. I think there is just one defect in this game. Ending of this game, especially Lonesome Road DLC was not very good. But overall, this is really good game and I recommend this game strongly. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I just dont get the insane claims that this game is that much better or worse that Fallout 3. Nor can I see that the 2 recent games are so badI just dont get the insane claims that this game is that much better or worse that Fallout 3. Nor can I see that the 2 recent games are so bad or such an insult to the SACRED memories of Fallouts 1 & 2. This game is, like Fallout 3. And you can actually play either or both of them without the other game suffering for it. Its a glorious, huge wastelannd again, and unlike Skyrim, its full of great writing, interesting NPCs and great plots and stories. The UI is great. Character progression is great. Itemisation is awesome. There are so many different, enjoyable skill sets, weapon load out and play options that this game can be repyed numreous times and enjoyed all the way. A MASTERPIECE. Up there witht the best games ever! Brilliant game design! Expand
  4. May 30, 2011
    9
    Fantastic game in every way. But when comparing to it's predecessor Fallout 3, this game comes off as subpar. Only features that beat FalloutFantastic game in every way. But when comparing to it's predecessor Fallout 3, this game comes off as subpar. Only features that beat Fallout 3 would be it's interesting gun customization features which really mixes things up. Bethesda seemed to have maintained Fallout 3's game play and story line length with great replay value. Great game especially if you enjoyed Fallout 3 and defiantly worth playing. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    I'll start by saying that for me Fallout New Vegas is the real inheritor of Fallout 1 and Fallout 2. The return of factions is one solidI'll start by saying that for me Fallout New Vegas is the real inheritor of Fallout 1 and Fallout 2. The return of factions is one solid evidence. The depth to game's main plot, the huge amount of choices you can make in the game, the more intelligent dialogue throughout - those are few things that come to mind first. Not to mention the absolutely amazing (atmospherically speaking) Vault locations in the game - and what about the soundtrack? Return of some Mark Morgan dark ambient tunes, which tie the certain locations & characters to the past Fallout games (1 & 2) in a way that truly works. Ok, when it comes to technical side - Fallout New Vegas has its' share of bugs too, but it's so much less buggy than Fallout 3 was (at least in my PC's case) that it almost feels like "where are the bugs?". I've spent closer to 200 hours (and that's not counting Lonesome Road DLC yet) in Fallout New Vegas and experienced perhaps handful of fatal crashes. There are so much things to do and places to see in Fallout New Vegas that if a game could be stated as being "worth the money" - then Fallout New Vegas would be the best example of that. Replay value is very good. Easily the best Fallout game since Fallout 2. Even if it seemingly "does not offer anything new if compared to Fallout 3" - that might be the very initial impression, but take my word; don't let that fool you out. Expand
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    8
    Great game with many new aspects like Hardcore mode and Great amount of factions, but it is not FO3 FO3 is AMASING. Otherwise this is a GreatGreat game with many new aspects like Hardcore mode and Great amount of factions, but it is not FO3 FO3 is AMASING. Otherwise this is a Great game,but i personally prefer FO3 Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2018
    0
    **** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy**** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy anything from people who have been able to fix something like this for 5 years Expand

See all 573 User Reviews