Fallout: New Vegas PC

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2643 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 529
  1. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    great game even if there are bugs its story is a vast improvement over fallout 3. I think I have replayed this game over 15 times to try togreat game even if there are bugs its story is a vast improvement over fallout 3. I think I have replayed this game over 15 times to try to get every ending possible. I find fallout new vegas incredibly addicting and it is definitely on my top 10 list Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Made me go buy Fallout 3 which showed me how wise they were in New Vegas to decrease the popcap minefields that they calledBest game ever. Made me go buy Fallout 3 which showed me how wise they were in New Vegas to decrease the popcap minefields that they called the 'game map'. Only bad part about this game is that it ends - but its an amazing ride. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    I will say on Ps3 it is buugy it will freeze and you will cry because you were playing one of the best games you ever played and it just froze on you.
  5. Nov 28, 2015
    8
    Compatibility not that good with newer machines, crashes a lot. The in-game world really is very big so the walking and scavenging can beCompatibility not that good with newer machines, crashes a lot. The in-game world really is very big so the walking and scavenging can be boring, but pretty good for the most part. Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    The problem with F:NV isn't that there's not enough "new", there's plenty. The problem is that it's just not as polished as the original, atThe problem with F:NV isn't that there's not enough "new", there's plenty. The problem is that it's just not as polished as the original, at least where the PC version is concerned. It seems strange to me that I was able to run the original on full settings without a hiccup out of the box on older hardware, while this version never ceased to give me difficulties (on new hardware), exacerbated by having to exit out of the game entirely in order to tweak settings. The game play itself hasn't really changed (the new companion option is pretty sweet, but nothing really dramatic), and the story and quests are both phenomenal, so if you liked the last installment, you owe it to yourself to at least give this one a chance. Just be warned that as far as the PC goes, this one is a much rougher model than the last. Hopefully it'll be fixed up in a patch or two. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    Bethesda is now infamous for its laggy, buggy, and glitchy games. Fallout: New Vegas is no exception and continues in the proud tradition ofBethesda is now infamous for its laggy, buggy, and glitchy games. Fallout: New Vegas is no exception and continues in the proud tradition of making a mockery of customers by charging $60 for a broken piece of plastic garbage.

    Now, is it fun? I suppose it is some fun in the traditional fallout sense.

    Admittedly most bugs, glitches, and lags aren't quite game-breakers. However, the save-game file sizes and the constant need to turn the PS3 on and off just isn't worth the hassle.

    Will Bethesda ever patch up the thing, though? I doubt it. One needs only take a look at Bethesda's record of shoddy patching.

    Bethesda's quality control borders on the criminal.

    Now, I know people vary wildly in personal opinion and expectations of the game, but the fact that this piece of garbage got 7.9 is nothing less than a conspiracy on the part of critics and if not, Bethesda lied to EVERYONE.
    Expand

See all 529 User Reviews